Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    If you like the retro-look and if you have fun with jump'n'runs, you should definitely get this.
  2. Jun 20, 2012
    90
    A sharp contrast to Renegade Kid's technically stellar DS games, Mutant Mudds wraps up retro-inspired charm, pixel art that pleases the eyes, and a boatload of challenge, all making highly effective use of the 3DS slider switch, all in one affordable downloadable package.
  3. Jan 26, 2012
    90
    This is yet another outstanding addition to the 3DS eShop, and the old school presentation and enjoyable gameplay more than justifies the $8.99 asking price. One of the best games we've had the privilege of playing on Nintendo's handheld.
  4. Jan 25, 2012
    90
    Mutant Mudds is platforming distilled to its essence. It cuts the fat in order to deliver a pure, satisfying experience. More than anything, it demonstrates that "retro" should not just be pixel graphics and chiptunes but rather a thorough understanding of the basics that made a genre popular in the first place.
  5. Jan 25, 2012
    90
    Despite these issues, Mutant Mudds is an immediate purchase for fans of platformers. It offers up hours of entertainment alongside of crisp retro graphics and an amazing soundtrack, among tons of other throwbacks and homages that are sure to please fans both old and new.
  6. 90
    Mutant Mudds is a top-tier eShop title, and deserves to be played by any fan of 2D platformers. Outside of the 3D effects, it doesn't do anything too radical, but it doesn't have to. Renegade Kid's first 2D platformer is a sweet, sincere effort that will remind you of the great platformers of the early '90s.
  7. Jan 23, 2012
    90
    With its crafty level designs and unique visual style, Mutant Mudds offers up the best of both 8-bit and 16-bit worlds, all the while giving fans of the genre a classic 2D platformer. Mutant Mudds might very well be the best eShop game to date, and one no platformer fan should miss.
  8. Jul 21, 2012
    88
    An exemplary platformer, and a treat to play with the 3D on. [Aug 2012, p.102]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    I LOVE this game. I have been following Mutant Mudds since it was first announced in Nintendo Power.

    GAMEPLAY: The gameplay is flawless. The
    I LOVE this game. I have been following Mutant Mudds since it was first announced in Nintendo Power.

    GAMEPLAY:
    The gameplay is flawless. The platforming challenge is perfect. The difficulty curve is just right. Some people may whine about it being too difficult, but like anything challenging the reward is great.

    ART:
    The art is an incredible blend of 8-bit and 16-bit. I think they called it 12-bit. :-) The 3D effect when you go into the background is really fantastic.

    SOUND:
    The music is authentic NES style music, which might sound bad, but it sounds really amazing.

    REPLAY:
    I found this game really addicting. Even now that I have completed it 100% I find myself going back for more. It is just fun to navigate the levels, jumping, hovering, and shooting the Muddies.

    BOTTOM LINE:
    Buy it. I joined Metacritic just so I could leave a review for this fantastic game. Bravo Renegade Kid. I look forward to your other eShop games.

    10/10
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    To start off: gamerHeaven rated this game a 1. In case you can't tell, that is a very biased score. Some of the complaints include "you end upTo start off: gamerHeaven rated this game a 1. In case you can't tell, that is a very biased score. Some of the complaints include "you end up replaying a level dozens of times until you perfect the move required to pass the point that you are stuck at", and while this a bit true, it REALLY gets easier once you start getting it down. So it's not really a developer's mistake, just a skill factor. It takes awhile to get better and better at parts in each level, but really that adds to the game. And if it were super easy, the game would be over in a few seconds.
    Moving on: There's really nothing amazingly fantastic that makes you jaw-drop. But theres really not much to complain about. The jet-pack controls may not be perfect, in my opinion, but its really only a matter of practice. Mutant Mudds is a solid game that took me 10 hours to completely beat. And a special unlockable at the very end gives me reason to replay with a new file. The game looks really nice, and again it is DEFINITELY a nicely-challenging and solid platformer. Worth the money for me.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2012
    9
    Mutant Mudds is really good. I like NES/SNES games, and Mutant Mudds is a great blend of the things I like about the 8-bit/16-bit era - butMutant Mudds is really good. I like NES/SNES games, and Mutant Mudds is a great blend of the things I like about the 8-bit/16-bit era - but with modern touches.

    The game is quite challenging in parts. I felt very rewarded when I completed the game 100%.

    This is a superb addition to the eShop. Well worth $8.99.

    Go buy it.
    Full Review »