Mutant Mudds 3DS

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 79
  2. Negative: 19 out of 79

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 4, 2012
    5
    Average platformer that does nothing new other than the add a 3-dimensional gimmick. I really do not see why this game has such a high MetaScore. It's pretty difficult, but other than that and the 3D, it doesn't break any new ground and plays like every other platformer.
  2. May 7, 2012
    7
    I've been hearing a lot about how Mutant Mudds is the best 3rd party game on the eShop. After playing it for myself, I've come to find it's a very good game, but has a few issues that keep it from true greatness. GAMEPLAY: the gameplay was tight and very solid. With that said, it's jump and shoot gameplay was kind of a letdown after enjoying MSF's and VVVVVV's more unique approaches to theI've been hearing a lot about how Mutant Mudds is the best 3rd party game on the eShop. After playing it for myself, I've come to find it's a very good game, but has a few issues that keep it from true greatness. GAMEPLAY: the gameplay was tight and very solid. With that said, it's jump and shoot gameplay was kind of a letdown after enjoying MSF's and VVVVVV's more unique approaches to the platforming genré. DIFFICULTY: the game is rather difficult (which isn't a bad thing), and most of the time it's handled very well, but in the later levels I noticed that there were some enemies that would attack off screen, and there were also a few "leaps of faith". It was a little disappointing to see the dev resort to those kinds of cheap tricks to ensure difficulty in the later moments. LENGTH: the game is a tad overpriced, but you'll still get quite a bit from this game (especially if you play all the bonus levels). GRAPHICS: it has a very charming retro look, but it's not sure whether it wants to be an homage to the 8-bit or 16-bit era, instead it seems to be a mix of the two that doesn't fully envoke the kind of nostalgic feeling it would have, had it chosen one era more specifically. With that said, the 3D effect is utterly fantastic, and is used to great effect. SOUND: while not the best soundtrack in the world, it captures that retro vibe perfectly. STORY: befitting of the retro era, it takes a very minimalist approach to storytelling. The concept (kid fighting mud monsters with water gun) feels uninspired, and something a child might come up with. CONCLUSION: if you can get past the fact that the game is a little "safe" in design and concept (and the cheap difficulty tactics later on), you'll find a solidly built retro styled platformer that's fun to play. Expand
  3. Mar 9, 2012
    7
    This is a rather decent game, though it's not quite spectacular. The biggest reason for this is its very short gameplay. The game forces you to replay every level over 2-3 times to truly beat it. This is its biggest flaw; I really feel this game could have been much better with more content. When I first saw the level screen, with all the doors leading off to the various levels, I assumedThis is a rather decent game, though it's not quite spectacular. The biggest reason for this is its very short gameplay. The game forces you to replay every level over 2-3 times to truly beat it. This is its biggest flaw; I really feel this game could have been much better with more content. When I first saw the level screen, with all the doors leading off to the various levels, I assumed this was only world 1. But no, that was the entire game's worth of levels. Still, the game has some solid controls, and the graphics are great. I don't think the art style of the game is overly fantastic (it kind of reminds me of the style of Drawn to Life on the original DS), but it gets the job done. It lies somewhere between a retro throwback and a modern platformer. And to the people whining about the difficulty, it's that difficult because it's a retro throwback game, and most older games are very difficult (go play Castlevania 3, then come back and tell me this game is hard.) All-in-all, I think this is a solid, well designed game that fell short of its potential. Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2012
    0
    I was excited about this game through the first few levels. The gameplay is fun but I cannot get past the overall design mechanics. This is one of those games that presents you with a near impossible task, usually having to do with timing, and then starts you at the beginning of the level when you die. Consequently, you end up replaying a level dozens of times until you perfect the moveI was excited about this game through the first few levels. The gameplay is fun but I cannot get past the overall design mechanics. This is one of those games that presents you with a near impossible task, usually having to do with timing, and then starts you at the beginning of the level when you die. Consequently, you end up replaying a level dozens of times until you perfect the move required to pass the point that you are stuck at. That mechanic draws bad memories and I get frustrated very quickly due to my experiences with other games with this same problem. Therefore, due to the developer's making a mistake this big, I am rating the game a 1. Collapse
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    There's a lot of depth for a downloadable title game, and Mutant Mudds contrasts strikingly with the first wave of DSiWare games, showing how the service is evolving.
  2. Jul 29, 2012
    70
    Mutant Mudds is a nice interpetation of old-school action platforming, lacking in depth but succeeding in providing a genuine gameplay experience.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jul 24, 2012
    83
    A treat for anyone raised on a screen the size of a custard cream. [Sept 2012, p.107]