Mutant Mudds Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mutant Mudds is an exciting new platform game for the Nintendo 3DS from award-winning developer, Renegade Kid. This marks the company's first self-published title, available exclusively on the Nintendo 3DS eShop in 2011.

    Our hero may be a 2D sprite, but he can take advantage of the third
    dimension by jetting between the background and the foreground playfields in this unique dimensionally-woven platform adventure (the stereo 3D effect looks amazing on the 3DS).

    Armed with a heavy-duty water cannon and H20-powered jet pack, Max steps out onto the porch of his (parents') home; determined to thwart the filthy plans of the Mutant Mudd army by blasting and hovering his way across the soiled landscape.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Jan 23, 2012
    90
    With its crafty level designs and unique visual style, Mutant Mudds offers up the best of both 8-bit and 16-bit worlds, all the while giving fans of the genre a classic 2D platformer. Mutant Mudds might very well be the best eShop game to date, and one no platformer fan should miss.
  2. Jan 25, 2012
    90
    Mutant Mudds is platforming distilled to its essence. It cuts the fat in order to deliver a pure, satisfying experience. More than anything, it demonstrates that "retro" should not just be pixel graphics and chiptunes but rather a thorough understanding of the basics that made a genre popular in the first place.
  3. Jul 9, 2012
    90
    If you like the retro-look and if you have fun with jump'n'runs, you should definitely get this.
  4. Feb 1, 2012
    83
    Well-made, well-considered, and well-designed. It has its shortcomings, sure, but it marks yet another solid digital release for the increasingly robust 3DS software library. Any fan of hard-as-nails classic platformers is bound to love it.
  5. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    It's not an easy or forgiving game. Disappearing platforms require excellent timing, and not thinking ahead can often mean leaping on to a platform already occupied by one of the many alien invaders, sapping one heart from your meter.
  6. Aug 6, 2012
    70
    There's a lot of depth for a downloadable title game, and Mutant Mudds contrasts strikingly with the first wave of DSiWare games, showing how the service is evolving.
  7. Jun 27, 2012
    65
    Mutant Mudds is a decent game, but it could have been better. We love the retro style, both artistically and gameplay wise, but it has some irritating flaws in level design. Anyway, Mutant Mudds is destined to that public who love classic games and classic challenges.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    I LOVE this game. I have been following Mutant Mudds since it was first announced in Nintendo Power.

    GAMEPLAY:
    The gameplay is flawless. The
    platforming challenge is perfect. The difficulty curve is just right. Some people may whine about it being too difficult, but like anything challenging the reward is great.

    ART:
    The art is an incredible blend of 8-bit and 16-bit. I think they called it 12-bit. :-) The 3D effect when you go into the background is really fantastic.

    SOUND:
    The music is authentic NES style music, which might sound bad, but it sounds really amazing.

    REPLAY:
    I found this game really addicting. Even now that I have completed it 100% I find myself going back for more. It is just fun to navigate the levels, jumping, hovering, and shooting the Muddies.

    BOTTOM LINE:
    Buy it. I joined Metacritic just so I could leave a review for this fantastic game. Bravo Renegade Kid. I look forward to your other eShop games.

    10/10
    Expand
  2. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    One of , if not the best game on the eShop right now. Fans of classic platforming will love this game. The 3D effect is used brilliantly and the game itself oozes charm.

    This is a must own for any 3DS owner, no doubt about it.
    Expand
  3. May 4, 2012
    10
    This is an awesome retro looking and feeling platformer. It uses the 3D capabilities of nintendo 3DS very well, and Renegade Kid is a very good developer. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2012
    8
    While it's difficulty may turn away some people (not to mention it's tad-inflated price tag), it's a faithful shooting/platform homage to NES games (also, the Game Boy and Virtual Boy bonus levels are a treat). Expand
  5. Jul 19, 2013
    8
    This charming retro platformer is sure to have you hooked. Following a mutant invasion, Max sets out with his squirt gun and jetpack to bring those mudds to justice. But what keeps it from being an unoriginal platformer? First, Max has a jetpack that can let him glide for a limited time. Enemies are all invincible to anything but his squirt gun, you'll need to use strategy to avoid and shoot them. But what makes Mutant Mudds unique is its 'layer-hopping' idea. While Donkey Kong Country Returns included this before, Mutant Mudds has many different layers on top of each other, so it's not doing it for show as much as DK Country. This great idea is dragged to, and past, its full potential: you get clouds that blow you forwards to the layer in front, and enemies generally navigating between layers. It makes such good use of the 3D effect that Mutant Mudds is very frustrating without the 3D on, as you find yourself trying to avoid enemies that are on another layer, and making stupid mistakes due to confusion. This means that Mutant Mudds is at home on 3DS and wouldn't work on any other platform. The graphics are simple but charming, a lovely throwback to a by-gone era. The chiptune soundtrack is excellent. Generally, Mutant Mudds' presentation is truly great. The price is a bit too high for only 40 levels, but you're still getting several hours of enjoyment. But Pullblox was round about the same price and had a potential sixty hours in it. This is how a level editor would have really helped Mutant Mudds. It's not a complicated platformer, so a level editor would've been ideal. It would also make the price a lot more worthwhile. Still, this is one of the best platformers on eShop, and you must, without a doubt, download it. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2012
    8
    This game works very well on the 3ds and it manages to keep the retro-gaming feel without feeling like it's pandering to the player. surprisingly large amount of content for such a well priced game. the difficulty curve is about what you'd expect for a game of this generation... the earlier levels might feel way too easy (or i may just be seasoned enough as a gaming veteran that the difficulty wasn't as tough as it would be for a younger/less-seasoned gamer.)

    still, it's a good value for the price and if you're not sure you would enjoy it, currently (as of this writing) there is a demo you can try in the eShop.
    Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2012
    1
    I was excited about this game through the first few levels. The gameplay is fun but I cannot get past the overall design mechanics. This is one of those games that presents you with a near impossible task, usually having to do with timing, and then starts you at the beginning of the level when you die. Consequently, you end up replaying a level dozens of times until you perfect the move required to pass the point that you are stuck at. That mechanic draws bad memories and I get frustrated very quickly due to my experiences with other games with this same problem. Therefore, due to the developer's making a mistake this big, I am rating the game a 1. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews