Nano Assault EX 3DS

Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Apr 3, 2013
    68
    It looks good and delivers short-term fun – but controls and dynamics need improvement.
  2. Apr 21, 2013
    70
    Fast and frenetic, Nano Assault Ex is a game that will test your reflexes in a series of short bursts perfect for that bus ride home.
  3. Mar 14, 2013
    60
    Nano Assault EX is a solid upgrade over the original game, but the shortcomings remain unaddressed. That said, it's still very much a decent experience filled with enjoyable moments, and if you're intent on playing Nano Assault, you should get the eShop version.
  4. Mar 13, 2013
    60
    Some serious 3D eye candy and an interesting concept are spoiled by a pretty shallow gameplay in this Nintendo 3DS re-release.
  5. Apr 21, 2013
    70
    Nano Assault EX turns out to be an enjoyable and challenging game for the genre of shooters of two and three dimensions.
  6. Mar 18, 2013
    60
    Nano Assault arrives in Europe in this Ex no the e-Shop, sold at a competitive price. And is the quality/price ratio, rather than the new addictions, to save the Shin'en title.
  7. Games Master UK
    May 9, 2013
    62
    Too flat to truly recommend. [June 2013, p.79]
  8. Mar 23, 2013
    65
    Not too challenging, not too long, with some gameplay flaws and not very original, but all in all Nano Assault EX can entertain who is looking for a quick, easy pick-up shooter. Circle Pad Pro is supported and recommended.
  9. Better than the Wii U version... It's beautiful and slightly boring. [May 2013, p.86]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    It's one of those games you want to tell everybody to give a try.It goes from exploring a cell with a sense of "Mario Galaxy style" to findIt's one of those games you want to tell everybody to give a try.It goes from exploring a cell with a sense of "Mario Galaxy style" to find the DNA parts and kill all of those nasty microbes, to fly around and shoot a lot of bugs coming to you in the classic shooting style. And the 3D effect is just fantastic (except for a few bugs). Full Review »
  2. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    I never played the retail version of this game but now I wish I had. This is an excellent experience that I wasn't quite expecting. This oneI never played the retail version of this game but now I wish I had. This is an excellent experience that I wasn't quite expecting. This one ups the retail version in a few ways. Graphics have been slightly enhanced. We also now have cpp support which I would've like to have used but I own the XL version. Without it it still works fine but I can see at time where a second analog would greatly benefit the controls. Add in a survival mode along with online leader boards and that makes this the definitive version. The Star Fox style levels are where the shooting controls aren't quite as good but that's only 25% of the game. If you have the cpp don't even hesitate and dl. All this for only 14.99 is well worth the download. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2017
    8
    Game: Nano Assault EX
    Genre: Sidescroller Shooter
    Developer: Shin'en Multimedia System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS) Total Score: 77/100 Value
    Game: Nano Assault EX
    Genre: Sidescroller Shooter
    Developer: Shin'en Multimedia
    System: Nintendo 3DS (3DS)
    Total Score: 77/100
    Value Score: 7.7/10

    • Story: 5/10
    • Characters: 6/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 8/10
    • Music: 7/10
    • Length: 6/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 8/10

    Pros
    +Story Mode with 32 levels, alongside that you have a Arcade mode where you can earn points and get Nano coins
    +Use Nano coins to buy items from the Nano Shop which unlock artwork for the gallery
    +Boss Rush Mode and Survivor mode becomes available as you play the game which offers replay value and challenge
    +Game's difficulty changes depending on how you play (how often you win or lose a stage)
    +Visuals and OST are well made
    +Controls are unique in design compared to other shooters

    Cons
    -For better control, Circle Pad Pro is recommended
    -Game's difficulty can get frustrating at times
    -Story is minimal
    -Getting Nano Coins from Arcade mode can be tedious and time consumin
    Full Review »