User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 285 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 48 out of 285

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Its my 250th game review on metacritic! Personally, I find NSMB2 to be an overall better package than the merely okay Super Mario 3D Land, and thats saying a lot considering that I usually prefer the 3D games in the series more than the sidescrollers. Sure, you may complain and say that its the same game, but you can be assured that the product here is of high quality. A few new powerups, an addicting coin rush mode, and just the right difficulty is enough to make this one of the best handheld games of the year. My only criticism is that the overused "Mario saves Peach from Bowser" story is still being used to this day. They need to change the story formula a bit. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and think well this really was a one in a life time experience, though it won't because thanks to the dlc you could get more juice out of the awesome gem called NSMB2.
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Really awesome game, i did not play the older New super Mario Bros., so this is new to me. Love the level design, music, and the new Coin Rush mode. I really like the hidden areas, and the boss battles too. The only problem i had was that the 3D didn't work well for the game, it just blurred out the background, and i would much rather see the the nice design for them instead. The other thing i did not like was that it was WAYYYYY to easy to gain lives, and you gained the FAST! I like games that give me a challenge, not just fork over extra lives like there just random coins. I do plan on playing this for a long while, and collect everything, all on my new rd 3DS XL. ( which is also very awesome!) Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This game is prove that fun is what nintendo does best, from level 1 to defeating bowser you have tons of joyful times and incredible moments that you can only get in a mario game, add an addictive mode in coin rush and great level design, and you get an awesome game.
  5. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best Mario games in the 3DS. I don't know why people complain about the artwork, it works and it's beautiful. Also, the new concept of getting a lot of coins is fun and makes it last longer. They only thing could be multi-player, but the game feels complete enough, plus the DLC leaves a spark of hope in this title .
  6. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    easily the most fun game this year, and really addictive, new super mario bros takes you back to the old days when games were about gameplay and having tons of fun, but with great graphics and an awesome multiplayer. superb level design and as always great music.
  7. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    Buy it !! Nintendo is your father. Do not forsake your father____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Hardcore Big N Fan here with a small but informative review. This game has been getting lots o' flak for a bunch of reasons. But the bare bones about it is that it is a fun, memorable game. Its classic Mario platforming! Comparing it to past mario games is easy because its easy but the truth is that the new coin collecting mode is a blast. It really has me glued to this game and loving trying to get to 1 Million coins (no mattter the reward). If you dont like collecting every last secret in mario games, or any game for that matter, you will probably roll through this game in a 4-5 hours. If you like collecting and have ever enjoyed a side scrolling platformer before. This is the game for you. Expand
  9. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    This is a fine game. However, it doesn't live up to the 'New' part. I feel Nintendo simply made this because they are in need of money. This is still a great game, but I feel the upcoming New Super Mario Bros. U will be much better.
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I've played all year. This is an extremely fun platformer, with top notch level design, perfect controls, and amazing graphics. It's no wonder that Mario is the best selling game franchise of all time; the games are consistantly good, some of the best quality money can buy.
  11. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This game is impressive ! I played it till the very end and the amount of secret stuff is enormous. The 3D effect should be like that, no ? It is blurry, because it's the background whom you actually don't completely see ! No problem here !

    I enjoy the DLC's they brought to the eShop !

    Thanks Nintendo !
  12. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Even though this is a basic repeat of the other Mario games, this one I have found addicting more than even Super Mario 3d land! New Super Mario Bros.2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levels on the Nintendo 3DS. There is also a few new power-ups and enemies. Some of those power-ups include: Gold Ring, The Gold Flower, Gold Mushroom, Gold Block and Coin Rush Mode. The new enemies of this game include: Bone Goomba’s, Bone Piranha Plant, Big Bone Piranha Plants, Mini Urchins and Boohemoth. Expand
  13. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    It's been a really long time since I've played a Mario game, and after playing this I'm ready to get back into Mario. The game is fantastic and, as always, has fantastic gameplay, graphics, and sound. There is a new emphasis on collecting coins as they are pretty much everywhere. It's much less challenging than other Mario games, making easier for less skilled gamers to get into, and if you die a lot on one level you'll get the super tanooki suit that will make you almost completely invincible (you'll still die in lava and pits), and while I enjoyed the easier gameplay (I'm finally able to beat a Mario game XD) I feel like this might turn away hardcore side scroller fans who enjoy the challenge that the older Mario games brought, because they'll no doubt blow through this in no time at all. There's also a Coin Rush mode you play for high scores. One thing that disappointed me about the game is how it really didn't take advantage of the 3DS features, you've got some stuff that works with Street Pass, but the 3D effect the system has makes the beautiful backgrounds of the game blurry and really just doesn't benefit the game at all so you really don't want to play this game with it turned on, which is a real disappointment considering this is a 3DS exclusive and therefore should have great 3D effects. Sure the game could have been longer and tougher, but it's still a fantastic side scroller for you 3DS. Expand
  14. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I have completed it all it is fun being Luigi and there is challenges along the way it's fun taking down the bad guys but it's also fun to be golden Mario coin rush is the best thing that's fun
  15. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    A pretty good game overall. The soundtrack is nearly the exact same as the previous game, but personally, it wasn't a problem because the soundtrack is great! Also, it is way too easy to gain lives because of the massive amount of coins in the levels. It would have made it harder if the levels were harder. 9/10.
  16. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great! The co-op is not forced upon you or missed when playing alone but it adds a great amount of fun too! The game is alot like the 2d mario I wish we could have had after super mario bros 3. This game might as well be super mario bros 4 because it adds interesting versions of enemies and a great new refreshing way to enjoy mario as a new. The speed runs are amazing too :) the difficulty can get pretty challenging at times, but not bosses Expand
  17. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    The game itself is the best "New" Super Mario game to date and a perfect example of reviewer stupidity. Take the same game and scrap the different worlds in favor for one big world and call it New Super Mario World and we all would be looking at a Metascore of at least 85 right now. The game is good, don't be fooled.
  18. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    NSMB2 is what you expect in a Mario game and tries something new with its obsessive fascination for gold. While the boss battles may lack much challenge, star coins are hidden much better than in SM3DL, and the added Coin Rush mode adds just enough of a twist to the standard game play to make a quick session before work worth your while. I've not played the original DS version, and have only played a few bits of the Wii edition, and so maybe I'm generally more receptive to NSMB2. It is a fantastic game, and while SM3DL seemed more like a tech demo for the 3Ds, NSMB2 feels more like a finished product. The 3D won't knock your socks off, nor is it meant to. All in all, a worthy purchase and a welcome addition to an ever growing 3Ds library. Expand
  19. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    Great game, fun a lot, the gold appel, wow, amazing.
    Just turned NSMB1 in a medium game.
    Classic mario gameplay with some cool visuals, lots of levels to play along with the coin rush mode which is very fun and addictive. One of the biggest parts of the game is collecting as many coins as you can which is pretty addicting. The soundtrack is awesome. I really like the hidden areas, and
    the boss battles too. Expand
  20. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This is another great entry in the Mario franchise but it doesn't feel as fresh as its predecessor. When NSMB 2 came out for the original DS, I was blown away. It truly felt like a next-gen Mario and I loved the way that they managed to recreate the franchise while still satisfying my craving for nostalgia. The Wii version was also excellent as it introduced four player multiplayer and the secret world was a true challenge for long time fans. This game didn't recapture that same magic for me as it feels too similar to the original. I enjoy the addition of the coin hunt and the local multilplayer but the game feels rather similar otherwise. I would have liked to have online multiplayer but this was probably excluded since the game wouldn't work well with network lag. That being said, there is still oodles of creativity here through the level design and the reintroduction of the raccoon suit is a welcome addition as well. The coin hunt is a good idea since it gives us something to work towards after beating the game .. almost RPG-like and the new game mode which focuses on this feature is fun and rewarding. An excellent game for Mario fans but don't expect anything groundbreaking like what we saw in the last iteration. Expand
  21. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    best 3d platform on the nintendo 3ds!
  22. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    his game is impressive I played it till the very end and the amount of secret stuff is enormous. The 3D effect should be like that, no It is blurry, because it's the background whom you actually don't completely see No problem here I enjoy the DLC's they brought to the eShop Thanks Nintendo
  23. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Coins, TONS of coins to collect. With a bunch of coins worldwide collected, we will be rewarded like free coin rush packs. Because of this, there is a reason why we should collect coins. Collecting coins is one major goal. Saving Princess Peach is another major goal. Getting tons of coins will be difficult, but saving the princess should be our first major goal. The levels we played are easy, so this game is for beginners. The coin rush mode is more like a challenge. Coin collectors would enjoy coin rush. If you only like challenges, pick another game, or you will find yourself playing a game for beginners. Expand
  24. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Another Mario game. You pretty much know what to expect here. I see a lot of complaints that there is nothing new brought to the table here, but in fact that is what I like about it. I hated the fact that I had to shake the Wiimote to play NSMB Wii. As stated the game revolving around coins is kinda a gimmick. The game is fun and many of the levels are chalenging, although this challenge is mitigated by the fact that it isn't that hard to rack up 100s of lives easily and the white racoon that you are given if you die on the same stage too many times. I put this game up there with SMB 3 and SMW as one of the finest, but one thing stops this from being a full 10 score. That is that the controls feel somewhat sluggish compared to the NES and SNES counterparts. Not bad enough not to play but enough to notice now and then. The graphics are nice and the 3D effect dosn't take away from the game or distract, it definatly dosn't try anything bold but in this type of game that is welcome.

    I purchased a 3DS XL to play this game and Kid Icarus Uprising and haven't been disappointed in the games yet. I currently also game on a PS3, PC, and iPhone. I have owned a Wii and a 360 in the past but gave the Wii to a nephew and the 360 had been repaired 6x so I gave up on it. After playing NSMB2 on the XL I can say that while the larger screen is welcome older players like myself still could use an even larger screen with better pixel density.

    Anyone out here who grew up on SMB titles should enjoy ths game. People who's first Mario title was Mario 64 or Mario Galaxy may not find this game enjoyable. There is always an amount of retro factor to account for in a game like this. While I wish Nintendo made these games to punish poor players so they would try and get better I understand why they wish to make them accessable to all skill sets. New players will never know what it's like to conquer a stage after having it bust your ass for a month or so.
    Expand
  25. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Although the New Super Mario Bros series is getting a lot of hate for being too much of the same, the simple coin idea featured in 2 is just enough to make the game seem a little more satisfying. Since most new Mario games are so easy, I never cared much to collect coins. Watching that meter go up over time as you play and coin rush to beat your friends records is an interesting experience in itself. Expand
  26. May 10, 2013
    9
    From the developers of the Original "New Super Mario Bro's" We have this sequel, which takes place on the more powerful Son of it's predecessor, The Nintendo 3DS, At first glance, not much has changed, the same as usual Mario gameplay, But this game has more depth, more re-playability and more Mario action, there is no reason to not own this title, This is another 3DS Must own.

    If I
    have but one issue; It's the Dull boss battles and somewhat short game, but since the first time I slotted this into my 3DS, it's been played for over 60 hours! More than I've played OOT3D and Super Mario 3D Land! This is a great game! Despite some of the Harsh reviews. Expand
  27. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    A great Mario game! I've played all Mario games so far and this one didn't disappointed me. Despite the critic that it is not "new enough" I thought it to has some great new features. If you like me love Mario, go out and get this one, you won't regret!
  28. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    New Super Mario Bros is basically a platform game where you have eight different levels and each time you complete one level you get a golden key to go to the next level. Mario is the main character of the game and there are special powers for Mario to make him go faster, go smaller, go bigger and the flower power.
    New Super Mario Bros is really suitable for any age range because it
  29. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game gives you the chance to understand how to play I mean that -if you download the DLC course packs in the Coin Rush mode- you will face the toughest levels ever in the history of the Super Mario Series and you will be able to play 30 more levels and try to get the highest score amount of coins by playing it as many times you want to boost the coins bar. Also, you earn achievements if you reach the total of 1,000,000 and 9,999,999 coins collected, which is an other reason to make you want play the game -achievements-. What's more, you enjoy for first time 3D game graphics in real, which is so influential! However, a disadvantage is that there are no mini games, like in the first New Super Mario Bros. Expand
  30. May 12, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed the first NSMB, so when I heard there was a sequel, I had to buy it. Turns out, people had complained about the first game's lack of coins... well, this is what you get. COINS! COINS! COINS! The game is all about coins, and while it sounds repetitive, it's actually a fun little game. There are lots of secret levels, bonus worlds, and even shout-outs to older games.
    I can't speak
    for the 3D, since I don't use it. But the graphics look good even in 2D mode, and there are no areas that require you to turn on the 3D. Overall, it's a great game for anyone: you can just pick it up and play, or you can sit for hours trying to unlock all the secret levels. So go out and buy it you won't be disappointed! Expand
  31. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Probably my favorite in the "New Super Mario Bros." series. The platforming is solid and tight, and the emphasis on coin collecting with the million-coin challenge adds quite a bit of replay value. I love the graphics and music, and the Gold Flower is among the very best (if not OP) power-ups in the entire series. One of the best titles for 3DS!
  32. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Jugabilidad(10): el control es facil de usar y el juego es super adictivo. Tecnologia(8.5): muy buenos graficos, muy buen espacio de juego. todo muy colorido. Graficos(10): los graficos son excelentes. Sonido(10): se escucha muy bien y las canciones no son para nada repetitivas, son muy buenas. yo las tarareo por que me encantan. Innovacion(9): es muy buena la idea de coleccionar monedas, te dan ganas de agarrarlas todas. tambien revive el traje tanooki que es muy divertido usarlo. Expand
  33. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty easy compared to other New Super Mario games, and plays it pretty safe by not innovating on much, but coin rush is addicting. despite the low difficulty of the main story, its still fun. I'm a sucker for platformers and mario games in general, so I really enjoyed it.
  34. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Great co-op game with decent graphics. This is by far the first game I played with my girlfriend and both of us enjoyed it. The difficulty is definitely not easy, especially if you are playing co-op, as players would affect each other's movement as well as only one player is "controlling" the screen. And that is why I like this game. This is a great game to play with your beloved ones.
  35. May 24, 2014
    10
    Wow now this is underrated I had great expectations for this and loved it. It's like super Mario bros 3 but with more coins I was sad that it wasn't very high but what do you get I give this a nice ten
  36. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    this game gets more hate than it deserves, even when its similar to new super Mario bros on the Nintendo ds, it does adds a new layer of fun with the coin collecting mechanic, now you have to get 1 million, this coin collecting thing adds replay value as well as a new way to approach platforming, the level design its really superb, fun, addictive challenging, star coins are harder to get in this game, even harder than in super Mario 3d land, graphical wise some models are reminiscent of new super mario bros on the nintendo ds, but sometimes it makes up with some details, and also the coins and the golden mario power up looks very nice, major fail is the fact that the 3d effect doesnt work at all, it even makes it worst since the backgrounds do blur when the effect is on, the second best plataform adventure on the nintendo 3ds, must have if you like mario and plataform games Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 70
    Long-lasting and entertaining Mario-platformer has got a new spirit thanks to coin collecting but its design is nothing to be proud of. [Oct 2012]
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 isn't really all that new anymore. What you get is basically the same game as the first one for the Nintendo DS, but with less engaging levels, fewer surprises in terms of power-ups and gameplay, and a boring gimmick set on capturing your inner kleptomaniac.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    85
    New Super Mario Bros. 2's tricks may be old, but they are still some pretty darn good tricks. Length is one of the game's rare shortcomings. [Sept 2012]