New Super Mario Bros. 2 3DS

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 405 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 58 out of 405
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This is a solid 2D side scrolling entry into the New Super Mario Bros. franchise. The level design and difficulty are not top notch however. It doesn't implement the 3D of the 3DS very well. It's charm shines in nostalgia and gameplay mechanics. The bonus downloadable course packs give it a large amount of replay value and much needed challenge. Virtually no improvement from itsThis is a solid 2D side scrolling entry into the New Super Mario Bros. franchise. The level design and difficulty are not top notch however. It doesn't implement the 3D of the 3DS very well. It's charm shines in nostalgia and gameplay mechanics. The bonus downloadable course packs give it a large amount of replay value and much needed challenge. Virtually no improvement from its predecessor but its still quite a bit of fun. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2012
    10
    Coins, TONS of coins to collect. With a bunch of coins worldwide collected, we will be rewarded like free coin rush packs. Because of this, there is a reason why we should collect coins. Collecting coins is one major goal. Saving Princess Peach is another major goal. Getting tons of coins will be difficult, but saving the princess should be our first major goal. The levels we played areCoins, TONS of coins to collect. With a bunch of coins worldwide collected, we will be rewarded like free coin rush packs. Because of this, there is a reason why we should collect coins. Collecting coins is one major goal. Saving Princess Peach is another major goal. Getting tons of coins will be difficult, but saving the princess should be our first major goal. The levels we played are easy, so this game is for beginners. The coin rush mode is more like a challenge. Coin collectors would enjoy coin rush. If you only like challenges, pick another game, or you will find yourself playing a game for beginners. Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Probably my favorite in the "New Super Mario Bros." series. The platforming is solid and tight, and the emphasis on coin collecting with the million-coin challenge adds quite a bit of replay value. I love the graphics and music, and the Gold Flower is among the very best (if not OP) power-ups in the entire series. One of the best titles for 3DS!
  4. May 24, 2014
    10
    Wow now this is underrated I had great expectations for this and loved it. It's like super Mario bros 3 but with more coins I was sad that it wasn't very high but what do you get I give this a nice ten
  5. Mar 12, 2015
    9
    This is a great NSMB game. My 3rd favourite one. The graphics are great for 3DS. The levels have good designs. The Koopaling fights are awesome. The controls work very well. New Super Mario Bros 2 is awesome and you should definitely get the game.
  6. Mar 10, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a very good game Nintendo has made; it is one of my favourites of all time. The controls are great, the graphics are great overall and for 3DS,The story and Characters are great, the bosses are awesome. This is more like a Super Mario Wourld because of Reznor and the Koopalings. My favourite Koopaling is Roy or Bully Koopa, even though he is pink, he acts like me. Buy this game and New Super Mario Bros. Wii and U if you haven't already. Seriously, this game is insanely fun. Expand
  7. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This game is prove that fun is what nintendo does best, from level 1 to defeating bowser you have tons of joyful times and incredible moments that you can only get in a mario game, add an addictive mode in coin rush and great level design, and you get an awesome game.
  8. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Hardcore Big N Fan here with a small but informative review. This game has been getting lots o' flak for a bunch of reasons. But the bare bones about it is that it is a fun, memorable game. Its classic Mario platforming! Comparing it to past mario games is easy because its easy but the truth is that the new coin collecting mode is a blast. It really has me glued to this game and lovingHardcore Big N Fan here with a small but informative review. This game has been getting lots o' flak for a bunch of reasons. But the bare bones about it is that it is a fun, memorable game. Its classic Mario platforming! Comparing it to past mario games is easy because its easy but the truth is that the new coin collecting mode is a blast. It really has me glued to this game and loving trying to get to 1 Million coins (no mattter the reward). If you dont like collecting every last secret in mario games, or any game for that matter, you will probably roll through this game in a 4-5 hours. If you like collecting and have ever enjoyed a side scrolling platformer before. This is the game for you. Expand
  9. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and think well this really was a one in a life time experience, though it won't because thanks to the dlc you could get more juice out of the awesome gem called NSMB2.
  10. Aug 19, 2012
    8
    I have never been a massive fan of the Mario games, with the exception of Kart which is just awesome. But when I heard about the new role collecting coins has in the game, I was intrigued. And yeah, its basically the same as every other side scrolling Mario title ever, and if that's all it was, I couldn't give it over 5 or 6. But when you start raking in the coins, coming up with newI have never been a massive fan of the Mario games, with the exception of Kart which is just awesome. But when I heard about the new role collecting coins has in the game, I was intrigued. And yeah, its basically the same as every other side scrolling Mario title ever, and if that's all it was, I couldn't give it over 5 or 6. But when you start raking in the coins, coming up with new ways to maximise coin to time spent ratio; it's extraordinarily hard to explain how addictive such a simple mechanic can be. Expand
  11. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    easily the most fun game this year, and really addictive, new super mario bros takes you back to the old days when games were about gameplay and having tons of fun, but with great graphics and an awesome multiplayer. superb level design and as always great music.
  12. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best Mario games in the 3DS. I don't know why people complain about the artwork, it works and it's beautiful. Also, the new concept of getting a lot of coins is fun and makes it last longer. They only thing could be multi-player, but the game feels complete enough, plus the DLC leaves a spark of hope in this title .
  13. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    Classic mario gameplay with some cool visuals, lots of levels to play along with the coin rush mode which is very fun and addictive. One of the biggest parts of the game is collecting as many coins as you can which is pretty addicting. On the down side the boss battles are not very challenging at all. Theres hidden areas to find and a few new power ups which is cool. If your a fan ofClassic mario gameplay with some cool visuals, lots of levels to play along with the coin rush mode which is very fun and addictive. One of the biggest parts of the game is collecting as many coins as you can which is pretty addicting. On the down side the boss battles are not very challenging at all. Theres hidden areas to find and a few new power ups which is cool. If your a fan of sidescroller mario titles this is a no brainer Expand
  14. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    best 3d platform on the nintendo 3ds!
  15. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    This game is impressive ! I played it till the very end and the amount of secret stuff is enormous. The 3D effect should be like that, no ? It is blurry, because it's the background whom you actually don't completely see ! No problem here !

    I enjoy the DLC's they brought to the eShop !

    Thanks Nintendo !
  16. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    Even though this is a basic repeat of the other Mario games, this one I have found addicting more than even Super Mario 3d land! New Super Mario Bros.2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed byEven though this is a basic repeat of the other Mario games, this one I have found addicting more than even Super Mario 3d land! New Super Mario Bros.2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levels on the Nintendo 3DS. There is also a few new power-ups and enemies. Some of those power-ups include: Gold Ring, The Gold Flower, Gold Mushroom, Gold Block and Coin Rush Mode. The new enemies of this game include: Bone Goomba’s, Bone Piranha Plant, Big Bone Piranha Plants, Mini Urchins and Boohemoth. Expand
  17. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Its my 250th game review on metacritic! Personally, I find NSMB2 to be an overall better package than the merely okay Super Mario 3D Land, and thats saying a lot considering that I usually prefer the 3D games in the series more than the sidescrollers. Sure, you may complain and say that its the same game, but you can be assured that the product here is of high quality. A few new powerups,Its my 250th game review on metacritic! Personally, I find NSMB2 to be an overall better package than the merely okay Super Mario 3D Land, and thats saying a lot considering that I usually prefer the 3D games in the series more than the sidescrollers. Sure, you may complain and say that its the same game, but you can be assured that the product here is of high quality. A few new powerups, an addicting coin rush mode, and just the right difficulty is enough to make this one of the best handheld games of the year. My only criticism is that the overused "Mario saves Peach from Bowser" story is still being used to this day. They need to change the story formula a bit. Expand
  18. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    Really awesome game, i did not play the older New super Mario Bros., so this is new to me. Love the level design, music, and the new Coin Rush mode. I really like the hidden areas, and the boss battles too. The only problem i had was that the 3D didn't work well for the game, it just blurred out the background, and i would much rather see the the nice design for them instead. The otherReally awesome game, i did not play the older New super Mario Bros., so this is new to me. Love the level design, music, and the new Coin Rush mode. I really like the hidden areas, and the boss battles too. The only problem i had was that the 3D didn't work well for the game, it just blurred out the background, and i would much rather see the the nice design for them instead. The other thing i did not like was that it was WAYYYYY to easy to gain lives, and you gained the FAST! I like games that give me a challenge, not just fork over extra lives like there just random coins. I do plan on playing this for a long while, and collect everything, all on my new rd 3DS XL. ( which is also very awesome!) Expand
  19. Aug 20, 2012
    8
    There's nothing new with this Mario game. It's pretty much the exact same game New Super Mario Bros. for the DS was a few years ago, just with a greater emphasis on the Coin Collecting aspect. That doesn't make it a bad game, far from it. It however is not as good as Super Mario Land 3D was last year as it doesn't exactly take advantage of the systems capabilities. This game is pretty muchThere's nothing new with this Mario game. It's pretty much the exact same game New Super Mario Bros. for the DS was a few years ago, just with a greater emphasis on the Coin Collecting aspect. That doesn't make it a bad game, far from it. It however is not as good as Super Mario Land 3D was last year as it doesn't exactly take advantage of the systems capabilities. This game is pretty much a standard Mario game at this point. If you've played one of the 2D games in the past, you'll find nothing new here. That also means it's still a solid platformer that you can still play in spurts, which is nice to play a level during a 5 min break at work or something then go back to what you were doing without worrying about not being able to save your game. So it's a decent game but it's nothing special at this point for Mario. I'd recommend the other Mario game for the 3DS before this one but this is still a game that people will enjoy. Expand
  20. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    It's been a really long time since I've played a Mario game, and after playing this I'm ready to get back into Mario. The game is fantastic and, as always, has fantastic gameplay, graphics, and sound. There is a new emphasis on collecting coins as they are pretty much everywhere. It's much less challenging than other Mario games, making easier for less skilled gamers to get into, and ifIt's been a really long time since I've played a Mario game, and after playing this I'm ready to get back into Mario. The game is fantastic and, as always, has fantastic gameplay, graphics, and sound. There is a new emphasis on collecting coins as they are pretty much everywhere. It's much less challenging than other Mario games, making easier for less skilled gamers to get into, and if you die a lot on one level you'll get the super tanooki suit that will make you almost completely invincible (you'll still die in lava and pits), and while I enjoyed the easier gameplay (I'm finally able to beat a Mario game XD) I feel like this might turn away hardcore side scroller fans who enjoy the challenge that the older Mario games brought, because they'll no doubt blow through this in no time at all. There's also a Coin Rush mode you play for high scores. One thing that disappointed me about the game is how it really didn't take advantage of the 3DS features, you've got some stuff that works with Street Pass, but the 3D effect the system has makes the beautiful backgrounds of the game blurry and really just doesn't benefit the game at all so you really don't want to play this game with it turned on, which is a real disappointment considering this is a 3DS exclusive and therefore should have great 3D effects. Sure the game could have been longer and tougher, but it's still a fantastic side scroller for you 3DS. Expand
  21. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    his game is impressive I played it till the very end and the amount of secret stuff is enormous. The 3D effect should be like that, no It is blurry, because it's the background whom you actually don't completely see No problem here I enjoy the DLC's they brought to the eShop Thanks Nintendo
  22. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    This is a fine game. However, it doesn't live up to the 'New' part. I feel Nintendo simply made this because they are in need of money. This is still a great game, but I feel the upcoming New Super Mario Bros. U will be much better.
  23. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    A pretty good game overall. The soundtrack is nearly the exact same as the previous game, but personally, it wasn't a problem because the soundtrack is great! Also, it is way too easy to gain lives because of the massive amount of coins in the levels. It would have made it harder if the levels were harder. 9/10.
  24. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    I have played every non-spinoff Mario Bros. game since I received my NES one Christmas in the early, so I think it is fair to say I have a good feel for the series. New Super Mario Bros. 2 feels closer to Super Mario World or Super Mario 3 to me than it does to NSMB Wii or NSMB. The latter two titles are good, but don't have that classic Mario feel to them. NSMB2 does, and it is aI have played every non-spinoff Mario Bros. game since I received my NES one Christmas in the early, so I think it is fair to say I have a good feel for the series. New Super Mario Bros. 2 feels closer to Super Mario World or Super Mario 3 to me than it does to NSMB Wii or NSMB. The latter two titles are good, but don't have that classic Mario feel to them. NSMB2 does, and it is a wonderful thing; bringing back the Raccoon Suit was a wonderful idea. The levels are all well thought out, and there are hidden coins and secret exits aplenty. The graphics are what you would expect on the 3DS, but I do feel that the 3D could have been better. Items on the screen just don't really pop at you like in other 3DS games. Just a minor quip, as the gameplay is what is truly important in a Mario Game, and they have that down solid. On another note, I feel that the coin collection gimmick is just that - a gimmick, and tacked on at that. Overall a wonderful game! A must buy for Mario fans. Expand
  25. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games I've played all year. This is an extremely fun platformer, with top notch level design, perfect controls, and amazing graphics. It's no wonder that Mario is the best selling game franchise of all time; the games are consistantly good, some of the best quality money can buy.
  26. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    Buy it !! Nintendo is your father. Do not forsake your father____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
  27. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I have completed it all it is fun being Luigi and there is challenges along the way it's fun taking down the bad guys but it's also fun to be golden Mario coin rush is the best thing that's fun
  28. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great! The co-op is not forced upon you or missed when playing alone but it adds a great amount of fun too! The game is alot like the 2d mario I wish we could have had after super mario bros 3. This game might as well be super mario bros 4 because it adds interesting versions of enemies and a great new refreshing way to enjoy mario as a new. The speed runs are amazing too :)This game is great! The co-op is not forced upon you or missed when playing alone but it adds a great amount of fun too! The game is alot like the 2d mario I wish we could have had after super mario bros 3. This game might as well be super mario bros 4 because it adds interesting versions of enemies and a great new refreshing way to enjoy mario as a new. The speed runs are amazing too :) the difficulty can get pretty challenging at times, but not bosses Expand
  29. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    The game itself is the best "New" Super Mario game to date and a perfect example of reviewer stupidity. Take the same game and scrap the different worlds in favor for one big world and call it New Super Mario World and we all would be looking at a Metascore of at least 85 right now. The game is good, don't be fooled.
  30. Aug 27, 2012
    9
    NSMB2 is what you expect in a Mario game and tries something new with its obsessive fascination for gold. While the boss battles may lack much challenge, star coins are hidden much better than in SM3DL, and the added Coin Rush mode adds just enough of a twist to the standard game play to make a quick session before work worth your while. I've not played the original DS version, and haveNSMB2 is what you expect in a Mario game and tries something new with its obsessive fascination for gold. While the boss battles may lack much challenge, star coins are hidden much better than in SM3DL, and the added Coin Rush mode adds just enough of a twist to the standard game play to make a quick session before work worth your while. I've not played the original DS version, and have only played a few bits of the Wii edition, and so maybe I'm generally more receptive to NSMB2. It is a fantastic game, and while SM3DL seemed more like a tech demo for the 3Ds, NSMB2 feels more like a finished product. The 3D won't knock your socks off, nor is it meant to. All in all, a worthy purchase and a welcome addition to an ever growing 3Ds library. Expand
  31. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    Great game, fun a lot, the gold appel, wow, amazing.
    Just turned NSMB1 in a medium game.
    Classic mario gameplay with some cool visuals, lots of levels to play along with the coin rush mode which is very fun and addictive. One of the biggest parts of the game is collecting as many coins as you can which is pretty addicting. The soundtrack is awesome. I really like the hidden areas, and
    Great game, fun a lot, the gold appel, wow, amazing.
    Just turned NSMB1 in a medium game.
    Classic mario gameplay with some cool visuals, lots of levels to play along with the coin rush mode which is very fun and addictive. One of the biggest parts of the game is collecting as many coins as you can which is pretty addicting. The soundtrack is awesome. I really like the hidden areas, and the boss battles too.
    Expand
  32. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This is another great entry in the Mario franchise but it doesn't feel as fresh as its predecessor. When NSMB 2 came out for the original DS, I was blown away. It truly felt like a next-gen Mario and I loved the way that they managed to recreate the franchise while still satisfying my craving for nostalgia. The Wii version was also excellent as it introduced four player multiplayer and theThis is another great entry in the Mario franchise but it doesn't feel as fresh as its predecessor. When NSMB 2 came out for the original DS, I was blown away. It truly felt like a next-gen Mario and I loved the way that they managed to recreate the franchise while still satisfying my craving for nostalgia. The Wii version was also excellent as it introduced four player multiplayer and the secret world was a true challenge for long time fans. This game didn't recapture that same magic for me as it feels too similar to the original. I enjoy the addition of the coin hunt and the local multilplayer but the game feels rather similar otherwise. I would have liked to have online multiplayer but this was probably excluded since the game wouldn't work well with network lag. That being said, there is still oodles of creativity here through the level design and the reintroduction of the raccoon suit is a welcome addition as well. The coin hunt is a good idea since it gives us something to work towards after beating the game .. almost RPG-like and the new game mode which focuses on this feature is fun and rewarding. An excellent game for Mario fans but don't expect anything groundbreaking like what we saw in the last iteration. Expand
  33. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Another Mario game. You pretty much know what to expect here. I see a lot of complaints that there is nothing new brought to the table here, but in fact that is what I like about it. I hated the fact that I had to shake the Wiimote to play NSMB Wii. As stated the game revolving around coins is kinda a gimmick. The game is fun and many of the levels are chalenging, although thisAnother Mario game. You pretty much know what to expect here. I see a lot of complaints that there is nothing new brought to the table here, but in fact that is what I like about it. I hated the fact that I had to shake the Wiimote to play NSMB Wii. As stated the game revolving around coins is kinda a gimmick. The game is fun and many of the levels are chalenging, although this challenge is mitigated by the fact that it isn't that hard to rack up 100s of lives easily and the white racoon that you are given if you die on the same stage too many times. I put this game up there with SMB 3 and SMW as one of the finest, but one thing stops this from being a full 10 score. That is that the controls feel somewhat sluggish compared to the NES and SNES counterparts. Not bad enough not to play but enough to notice now and then. The graphics are nice and the 3D effect dosn't take away from the game or distract, it definatly dosn't try anything bold but in this type of game that is welcome.

    I purchased a 3DS XL to play this game and Kid Icarus Uprising and haven't been disappointed in the games yet. I currently also game on a PS3, PC, and iPhone. I have owned a Wii and a 360 in the past but gave the Wii to a nephew and the 360 had been repaired 6x so I gave up on it. After playing NSMB2 on the XL I can say that while the larger screen is welcome older players like myself still could use an even larger screen with better pixel density.

    Anyone out here who grew up on SMB titles should enjoy ths game. People who's first Mario title was Mario 64 or Mario Galaxy may not find this game enjoyable. There is always an amount of retro factor to account for in a game like this. While I wish Nintendo made these games to punish poor players so they would try and get better I understand why they wish to make them accessable to all skill sets. New players will never know what it's like to conquer a stage after having it bust your ass for a month or so.
    Expand
  34. Aug 21, 2012
    8
    This game is a great game. It has a ton of replay value, and it's a long game, if you take the time to find all the secrets and get all of the star coins, and of course collect 1,000,000 coins. However, if you do not collect all of the star coins and secrets, the game can be finished in an our. Also, as a sidescrolling platformer, it's good, but, as a Mario game, it adds nothing new orThis game is a great game. It has a ton of replay value, and it's a long game, if you take the time to find all the secrets and get all of the star coins, and of course collect 1,000,000 coins. However, if you do not collect all of the star coins and secrets, the game can be finished in an our. Also, as a sidescrolling platformer, it's good, but, as a Mario game, it adds nothing new or nothing impressive, and it is too derivative of the other games in the series. It's nothing you've never played before, and it's just very uninnovative and soulless. This is still a great game, but if you're looking for something very long and new in a platformer, look elsewhere. Expand
  35. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    A great Mario game! I've played all Mario games so far and this one didn't disappointed me. Despite the critic that it is not "new enough" I thought it to has some great new features. If you like me love Mario, go out and get this one, you won't regret!
  36. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    New Super Mario Bros is basically a platform game where you have eight different levels and each time you complete one level you get a golden key to go to the next level. Mario is the main character of the game and there are special powers for Mario to make him go faster, go smaller, go bigger and the flower power.
    New Super Mario Bros is really suitable for any age range because it
  37. Aug 5, 2015
    9
    I thought it was really fun! It was entertaining and a little challenging. And I couldn't find a single glitch, someone said it was glitchy but it isn't.
  38. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    New Super Mario Bros 2 sticks to the guns in true saga-type fashion, popular with eastern audiences. Improvements over the original include brandishing the highly successful power-ups and bosses established in 1988 in Super Mario Bros 3, such as the raccoon suit and Koopalings- and fairly less obscurity and trial-and-error than its forerunner.
  39. May 19, 2015
    8
    Super Mario Bros in its purest form - fun running and jumping, with inventive level design, plenty of variety and, despite other reviews suggesting it is too short, it is actually longer than other SMB games I've played, including SM3D World on 3DS. Previous Mario games added to the run-to-the-flag gameplay by adding 3 big coins to find in each level. This game has this, but also adds anSuper Mario Bros in its purest form - fun running and jumping, with inventive level design, plenty of variety and, despite other reviews suggesting it is too short, it is actually longer than other SMB games I've played, including SM3D World on 3DS. Previous Mario games added to the run-to-the-flag gameplay by adding 3 big coins to find in each level. This game has this, but also adds an emphasis on collecting coins, the box itself asking if you can make it to 1 million. As the coins were always quite unnecessary, but still compelling to collect, this adds an interesting mechanic, which many new powerups pouring coins out of enemies or even out of Mario's head. The only complaint I would make, which to be fair is the same complaint you could make about any Mario game of the last 10 years, and indeed many Nintendo franchises including Donkey Kong Country Returns, is that you have WAY too many lives. I am on World 3, and have almost 200 lives thanks in part to gaining a life every 100 coins as usual, and with anywhere from 500 to 1000 coins in each level you soon build up a vast backlog of extras. This doesn't detract from the sheer joy of the game, but it does remove a lot of the challenge that has existed since the very first games in the series. Graphically this is a nice upgrade from the previous DS title, and the 3D as always adds a nice depth to the levels. The music is largely taken from the first game too, with the enemies dancing to emphasised points in the tunes, which I always enjoyed. Well worth a purchase, this is a lot of fun and deserves to be in any fan's collection. Expand
  40. Jan 25, 2013
    9
    Although the New Super Mario Bros series is getting a lot of hate for being too much of the same, the simple coin idea featured in 2 is just enough to make the game seem a little more satisfying. Since most new Mario games are so easy, I never cared much to collect coins. Watching that meter go up over time as you play and coin rush to beat your friends records is an interesting experienceAlthough the New Super Mario Bros series is getting a lot of hate for being too much of the same, the simple coin idea featured in 2 is just enough to make the game seem a little more satisfying. Since most new Mario games are so easy, I never cared much to collect coins. Watching that meter go up over time as you play and coin rush to beat your friends records is an interesting experience in itself. Expand
  41. May 10, 2013
    9
    From the developers of the Original "New Super Mario Bro's" We have this sequel, which takes place on the more powerful Son of it's predecessor, The Nintendo 3DS, At first glance, not much has changed, the same as usual Mario gameplay, But this game has more depth, more re-playability and more Mario action, there is no reason to not own this title, This is another 3DS Must own.

    If I
    From the developers of the Original "New Super Mario Bro's" We have this sequel, which takes place on the more powerful Son of it's predecessor, The Nintendo 3DS, At first glance, not much has changed, the same as usual Mario gameplay, But this game has more depth, more re-playability and more Mario action, there is no reason to not own this title, This is another 3DS Must own.

    If I have but one issue; It's the Dull boss battles and somewhat short game, but since the first time I slotted this into my 3DS, it's been played for over 60 hours! More than I've played OOT3D and Super Mario 3D Land! This is a great game! Despite some of the Harsh reviews.
    Expand
  42. Nov 1, 2015
    8
    This game is a solid mario game, although the gimmick regarding the number of coins in the game is never explained, nor is it really fully realized. There's not really any point to collecting all these coins (you're obviously going to have far more extra lives than you could possible need), but yet you do it anyway and it is kinda fun. At the same time, the game is just very standard-This game is a solid mario game, although the gimmick regarding the number of coins in the game is never explained, nor is it really fully realized. There's not really any point to collecting all these coins (you're obviously going to have far more extra lives than you could possible need), but yet you do it anyway and it is kinda fun. At the same time, the game is just very standard- nothing too exceptional about it. The multiplayer is fun to play with other people, and my wife and I beat it all the way through together. It does take some getting used to because you have two people on the screen and you have to watch out for each other, and the camera only follows one of you at a time, so one of you is just kinda there for support. I'm incredibly grateful that they included local multiplayer as a feature at all though because it was fun actually being able to play a videogame together that my wife enjoys. Overall, a good buy but nothing to get super ecstatic about. Expand
  43. Mar 20, 2015
    8
    It's a good game for the time. Such a gold rush. Collecting 1 million coins is just insane. New power-ups would've helped but maybe not much. The 3D effects are shallow until you get to the Dry Bowser level. It makes me wish that we're just as rich as Mario and Luigi. I highly recommend getting this game if you haven't played the first one.
  44. Dec 28, 2012
    8
    With the Super Mario series its easy to say the games are very repetitive but they do what they set out to do gameplay wise very well. New Super Mario Bros. 2 does just that and more by taking the traditional mario platforming and power ups that we all love and adding a new twist there is new incentive to get coins in this game. There is a meter that keeps track of your coins,a ring thatWith the Super Mario series its easy to say the games are very repetitive but they do what they set out to do gameplay wise very well. New Super Mario Bros. 2 does just that and more by taking the traditional mario platforming and power ups that we all love and adding a new twist there is new incentive to get coins in this game. There is a meter that keeps track of your coins,a ring that changes your enemy gold for a short period of time and when you kill them it adds to your coin tally and there's a coin flower that makes you gold (or platinum if your Luigi) and let's you shoot fireballs that when they hit enemies it also adds to your coin tally. While not overly impressive these features and the new coin rush mode to see how many coins you can get in a level before time runs out both add replay value to an otherwise VERY short game. If your a mario fan like me with a 3DS this one is a must have and while it is short and somewhat easy for seasoned players of the series it's fun gameplay,charming and colorful environments and good overall design are enough to keep you going back for more time and time again. Expand
  45. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game gives you the chance to understand how to play I mean that -if you download the DLC course packs in the Coin Rush mode- you will face the toughest levels ever in the history of the Super Mario Series and you will be able to play 30 more levels and try to get the highest score amount of coins by playing it as many times you want to boost the coins bar. Also, you earn achievements if you reach the total of 1,000,000 and 9,999,999 coins collected, which is an other reason to make you want play the game -achievements-. What's more, you enjoy for first time 3D game graphics in real, which is so influential! However, a disadvantage is that there are no mini games, like in the first New Super Mario Bros. Expand
  46. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 is, like the other titles in the New Super Mario Bros. series, a great game but this one only has 6 worlds and three special worlds (Which are quite short). It also takes out all the new power-ups in New Super Mario Bros. Wii. However, it also adds a new one as well as two returning ones. The new one is the gold flower. It turns bricks into coins. The two returningNew Super Mario Bros. 2 is, like the other titles in the New Super Mario Bros. series, a great game but this one only has 6 worlds and three special worlds (Which are quite short). It also takes out all the new power-ups in New Super Mario Bros. Wii. However, it also adds a new one as well as two returning ones. The new one is the gold flower. It turns bricks into coins. The two returning ones are the mega mushroom (From New Super Mario Bros.) and the tanooki leaf (From Super Mario Bros. 3). Unfortunately, there are no new enemies and they took away some instead. Also, there is a new mode called coin rush. You pick a pack, then 3 courses are randomly chosen and then you get 100 seconds (In some cases 50 seconds) to complete the courses whilst collecting as much coins as you can. Overall, this is a great game but there isn't much new and it's a bit short. Expand
  47. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    There's just something immensely pleasurable about collecting a crapload of coins, one after another, isn't there? This coin-craze forms the core of the NSMB2 experience, along with the perfect controls, dynamic gameplay, and Mario's udeniable charisma. Yes, this game does lack when it comes to originality of level design (unlike its older brother Super Mario 3D Land). It would be evenThere's just something immensely pleasurable about collecting a crapload of coins, one after another, isn't there? This coin-craze forms the core of the NSMB2 experience, along with the perfect controls, dynamic gameplay, and Mario's udeniable charisma. Yes, this game does lack when it comes to originality of level design (unlike its older brother Super Mario 3D Land). It would be even more enjoyable if it was a Super Mario 3-like answer to the first DS New Super Mario Bros. Nevertheless, as a 3D rehash of the classic Mario formula, it works in the most important way: being a very fun game that should get you hooked. Expand
  48. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    I like the golden flower because if you miss the enemy and hit you a wall behind it, it will die automatically and you will get 5 coins instead of 1. The goal is to get a score of one million coins. I like fighting Bowser and the powerups are good.
  49. May 12, 2013
    9
    I enjoyed the first NSMB, so when I heard there was a sequel, I had to buy it. Turns out, people had complained about the first game's lack of coins... well, this is what you get. COINS! COINS! COINS! The game is all about coins, and while it sounds repetitive, it's actually a fun little game. There are lots of secret levels, bonus worlds, and even shout-outs to older games.
    I can't speak
    I enjoyed the first NSMB, so when I heard there was a sequel, I had to buy it. Turns out, people had complained about the first game's lack of coins... well, this is what you get. COINS! COINS! COINS! The game is all about coins, and while it sounds repetitive, it's actually a fun little game. There are lots of secret levels, bonus worlds, and even shout-outs to older games.
    I can't speak for the 3D, since I don't use it. But the graphics look good even in 2D mode, and there are no areas that require you to turn on the 3D. Overall, it's a great game for anyone: you can just pick it up and play, or you can sit for hours trying to unlock all the secret levels. So go out and buy it you won't be disappointed!
    Expand
  50. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    "New Super Mario Bros. 2" may be awfully familiar to its past Mario games, but nevertheless, the game is still able to interest you with its new levels and new themes. With better animation than the previous game and its new format in 3D, "New Super Mario Bros. 2" will certainly be a wonderful addition to your 3DS games.
  51. Aug 26, 2013
    8
    A very solid entry in to the New Super Mario Bros. Series it is probably my third favorite and what I really like about it is it focusses the most on the single player mode.
  52. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    Jugabilidad(10): el control es facil de usar y el juego es super adictivo. Tecnologia(8.5): muy buenos graficos, muy buen espacio de juego. todo muy colorido. Graficos(10): los graficos son excelentes. Sonido(10): se escucha muy bien y las canciones no son para nada repetitivas, son muy buenas. yo las tarareo por que me encantan. Innovacion(9): es muy buena la idea de coleccionarJugabilidad(10): el control es facil de usar y el juego es super adictivo. Tecnologia(8.5): muy buenos graficos, muy buen espacio de juego. todo muy colorido. Graficos(10): los graficos son excelentes. Sonido(10): se escucha muy bien y las canciones no son para nada repetitivas, son muy buenas. yo las tarareo por que me encantan. Innovacion(9): es muy buena la idea de coleccionar monedas, te dan ganas de agarrarlas todas. tambien revive el traje tanooki que es muy divertido usarlo. Expand
  53. Mar 16, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty easy compared to other New Super Mario games, and plays it pretty safe by not innovating on much, but coin rush is addicting. despite the low difficulty of the main story, its still fun. I'm a sucker for platformers and mario games in general, so I really enjoyed it.
  54. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    This is the main reason that I bought a 3DS LL console cause I want to play this game since I had played the New Super 1 on NDSL, it's good that this series is more easier to play the cons is that this game do Not make strongly 3D visual effect.
  55. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    While it's more or less the same as its DS predecessor, it is pretty fun to focus the gameplay on collecting coins. I had fun with that at least. Although I'd understand it being too similar for some, it kind of is.
  56. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    I can't believe people give COD a 10, but give this an average score. The game is just a Mario side scroller, and you can't beat that. This game proves you don't need guns and men screaming "FIRE FIRE BREAKER NINER ALPHA CHARLIE REMOVE KEBAB" but a nice sidescroller is good once in a while.
  57. Apr 20, 2014
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a pretty average Mario game. Though i found the main gage small it has some replay value such as collecting 1.000.000 coins and getting Star Coins to unlock a new world, however this is kind of boring and repetitive. It doesn't introduces much to the series on my opinion.
  58. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Great co-op game with decent graphics. This is by far the first game I played with my girlfriend and both of us enjoyed it. The difficulty is definitely not easy, especially if you are playing co-op, as players would affect each other's movement as well as only one player is "controlling" the screen. And that is why I like this game. This is a great game to play with your beloved ones.
  59. Jun 1, 2014
    8
    "New Super Mario Bros. 2" was my first 3DS game! This is yet another fun Mario game. The worlds are diverse and fun to play through, and there are many secrets to find. The story is the usual bland "Princess gets kidnapped" Mario scenario, but it's made up for in the gameplay. The graphics are colourful and nice. The enemies can be annoying in they're attack routines, but are fun to step"New Super Mario Bros. 2" was my first 3DS game! This is yet another fun Mario game. The worlds are diverse and fun to play through, and there are many secrets to find. The story is the usual bland "Princess gets kidnapped" Mario scenario, but it's made up for in the gameplay. The graphics are colourful and nice. The enemies can be annoying in they're attack routines, but are fun to step on never the less. The music is catchy. Finally, the level design is smart, and is a good balance of hard, and easy. The ghost houses can be quite cryptic though. The boss battles can be fun, but they're painfully easy. The final boss, Bowser, may be extremely similar to other final boss fights (generally with the man himself, Bowser) in previous Mario games, but Bowser's battle is still very good. This game would have gotten a nine from me, had it not been for the white tanooki suit. This suit basically shows up if you keep dying in a level. It makes you invincible, you can fly, and it looks stylish...at least for a tanooki suit. The big issue I have with it, is that it takes all the difficulty out of a hard level. This makes the game generally easy to beat if you keep dying. In the end, it's still a great game, and sucked me in from the start. Expand
  60. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    this game gets more hate than it deserves, even when its similar to new super Mario bros on the Nintendo ds, it does adds a new layer of fun with the coin collecting mechanic, now you have to get 1 million, this coin collecting thing adds replay value as well as a new way to approach platforming, the level design its really superb, fun, addictive challenging, star coins are harder to getthis game gets more hate than it deserves, even when its similar to new super Mario bros on the Nintendo ds, it does adds a new layer of fun with the coin collecting mechanic, now you have to get 1 million, this coin collecting thing adds replay value as well as a new way to approach platforming, the level design its really superb, fun, addictive challenging, star coins are harder to get in this game, even harder than in super Mario 3d land, graphical wise some models are reminiscent of new super mario bros on the nintendo ds, but sometimes it makes up with some details, and also the coins and the golden mario power up looks very nice, major fail is the fact that the 3d effect doesnt work at all, it even makes it worst since the backgrounds do blur when the effect is on, the second best plataform adventure on the nintendo 3ds, must have if you like mario and plataform games Expand
  61. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    Just as amazing as the first one!

    PROS
    -Graphics
    -Secrets to explore
    -Challenging gameplay

    CONS
    -Story is a little dry .
  62. Nov 11, 2014
    8
    This game was so easy until the last level in which I just became so annoyed. The part where you have to climb whilst Bowser's destroying the platforms is such a struggle. But still a great game with updated graphics.
  63. Aug 11, 2015
    10
    So, what do I have to say about this game? One word: Masterful.                                                                                                           
  64. Sep 13, 2015
    9
    While some deride this game as formulaic and far too easy, this game flips the old 2D Mario platformer formula on its head by focusing on the coins. The coins, having long remained on the sidelines of Mario's quest to save Peach, suddenly take center stage in this game, in which your ultimate goal is to collect one million coins.

    Not only does this challenge appeal greatly to my inner
    While some deride this game as formulaic and far too easy, this game flips the old 2D Mario platformer formula on its head by focusing on the coins. The coins, having long remained on the sidelines of Mario's quest to save Peach, suddenly take center stage in this game, in which your ultimate goal is to collect one million coins.

    Not only does this challenge appeal greatly to my inner completionist, but this new coin-based focus is inherent in every level in the game. While there are more overt signs of Mario's newfound greed, such as the addition of a few inventive, coin-based powerups, there's more to it than just that. The very level design is fundamentally different from that of NSBM2's predecessor's, encouraging exploration and replay in a way in which previous Mario outings never have been able. For example, if Mario walks to a specific part of the level - for example, a spot underneath a bridge he might have normally overlooked - a series of coins might reveal themselves nearby, a mechanic unique to this game. In addition, hidden blocks have invaded the Mushroom Kingdom, with most levels sporting what I imagine to be at least 3-4 blocks that don't reveal themselves until you hit them. The level designers over at Nintendo leave nothing to chance; every hidden secret is marked by a clue in the level. For example, if you see a section of the level that seems to serve no purpose, try jumping over there, because it may reveal some hidden coins. Is there a series of three standard blocks floating in midair, with nothing but space above them? Try jumping while atop the middle one; you may well find one of the many hidden blocks. It's touches like these, alongside the multitudes of secret areas - all of which rewarding you with shiny, gold coins - that make the levels in NSMB2 a joy to play many times over.

    Are the environments and the music borrowing too heavily from Mario's previous handheld outing? Yes. But ultimately, the Mario games have never been about the graphics or music for me. For me, Mario has always been the joy of discovering all the clever little secrets in every well-designed level and guiding that happy little plumber through a giant turtle's medieval attempts at home security to save his off-again, on-again princess girlfriend. In that respect, NSMB2 is a complete success, and with unparalleled replay value and a relatively low price, I can't recommend this game highly enough to lovers of platformers.
    Expand
  65. Jan 12, 2015
    8
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 (or as I like to call it New Super Mario Bros. Wii 1.5) is the third installment in the New Mario series but it's not all new. In fact, it's the most unoriginal installment.

    NSMB2 rips all of its music straight from its console predecessor. There's not a single new track in the game. That is, unless you're counting some extra vocals in the music. The world map
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 (or as I like to call it New Super Mario Bros. Wii 1.5) is the third installment in the New Mario series but it's not all new. In fact, it's the most unoriginal installment.

    NSMB2 rips all of its music straight from its console predecessor. There's not a single new track in the game. That is, unless you're counting some extra vocals in the music. The world map and overall feel of the game is also the exact same as the Wii iteration. That's not to say it's a bad thing but I was hoping for a bit more originality. This is the biggest problem with the game: it's not enough new, it's too much old...so its title basically makes no sense whatsoever.

    As with all Mario games, the level design is great and it never actually gets boring. The difficulty is also more balanced in this game than the others. The first New Super Mario was too easy while the Wii version was a tad too hard. NSMB2 is just right, thanks to its new coin gimmick (more on that later). I never found myself getting tired of the levels and I was always eager to go to the next. I still don't like the idea of wasting your Star Coins on extra levels though. Super Mario 3D Land had handled that issue perfectly.

    The Koopalings are back though Bowser Jr. has a strange absence. Their fights are strikingly similar to the Wii version but to change the mood up a bit, Reznor from Super Mario World has been added as the fortress boss. The Raccoon Leaf from Mario 3 also makes a comeback complete with the outfit and P-Meter. It's nice to see this beloved power-up make a return. I find it to be superior to the Tanooki Leaf, which is basically the same thing without a P-Meter.

    The main feature in NSMB2 is the focus on coins. To quote Scott Moffitt at E3 2012, it's "all about the gold." This is strange as coins never really had much of a point in Mario games (unless you count the occasional earning a 1-up) but it did make the game somewhat easier. It always gave me a sense of satisfaction to collect a lot of coins at once though I never did reach a million.

    Overall, New Super Mario Bros. 2 feels like a bit of a rehash of the Wii iteration in the franchise but it has enough new things to keep me coming back. It's a great portable experience.
    Expand
  66. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    Its a solid sequel that I feel is well deserved compared to the Wii U version. It gave me a way more lot of challenge that Super Mario 3D Land man. It also has a lot of replay value I did not expect at all. the coin collection also makes it worth picking up again and that's cool because its not following the typical Mario formula
  67. Jul 23, 2015
    9
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a really fun and vibrant platformer for the 3DS. The game is filled with nostalgia and charm that we've grown to expect from Nintendo in recent years. NSMB2 is not the best installment in the NSMB series, but it scratches the itch for those who have a constant urge for more Mario. With the exception of the coin grabbing elements that are unique to this titleNew Super Mario Bros. 2 is a really fun and vibrant platformer for the 3DS. The game is filled with nostalgia and charm that we've grown to expect from Nintendo in recent years. NSMB2 is not the best installment in the NSMB series, but it scratches the itch for those who have a constant urge for more Mario. With the exception of the coin grabbing elements that are unique to this title (and don't add too much to gameplay or concept), NSMB2 feels like a direct port from NSMBWii. That's not necessarily a bad thing for a handheld Mario game. If there was something else to make NSMB2 stand out I'd give it a 10, but since it's reliving previous successes (although very fun), I'd say this game is a solid 9. Expand
  68. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    A fantastic addition to the New Super Mario Bros series! This game is awesome! People say that this is a bad game because it is just the first New Super Mario Bros game but with a lot of coins added in. That is not true! This game is different and fantastic! The levels are new and still very creative, the graphics are better than the first game's graphics, the music is still catchy andA fantastic addition to the New Super Mario Bros series! This game is awesome! People say that this is a bad game because it is just the first New Super Mario Bros game but with a lot of coins added in. That is not true! This game is different and fantastic! The levels are new and still very creative, the graphics are better than the first game's graphics, the music is still catchy and classically Mario, the game play is awesome, and the coins… Oh the coins! There are so many coins to collect! Billions of coins! Literally! This game is so fun! Expand
  69. Sep 21, 2015
    9
    More of the same, but still another fun 2D Mario platformer. The additional goal of collecting 1 million coins in total is a highlight that kept me playing.
  70. Jun 7, 2016
    8
    Of course New Super Mario Bros. 2 is left with many gold tricks and abilities as of that's pretty much the only thing unique about this game, but the gameplay begins to pack a fresh pack of blocks from Nintendo.
  71. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    This is one of the best 3DS games of all time. I mean it. The levels are short but well designed. The power-ups are brilliant. This is one of the best Mario games for a portable device. 10/10 :D. This game is beautiful on the level design.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 29, 2012
    70
    Long-lasting and entertaining Mario-platformer has got a new spirit thanks to coin collecting but its design is nothing to be proud of. [Oct 2012]
  2. Oct 27, 2012
    60
    New Super Mario Bros. 2 isn't really all that new anymore. What you get is basically the same game as the first one for the Nintendo DS, but with less engaging levels, fewer surprises in terms of power-ups and gameplay, and a boring gimmick set on capturing your inner kleptomaniac.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    85
    New Super Mario Bros. 2's tricks may be old, but they are still some pretty darn good tricks. Length is one of the game's rare shortcomings. [Sept 2012]