New Super Mario Bros. 2 3DS

New Super Mario Bros. 2 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 405 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levelsNew Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levels on the Nintendo 3DS system Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, New Super Mario Bros. 2 offers a nearly perfect Jump & Run experience. The levels and boss fights could be much more difficult.
  2. Aug 3, 2012
    85
    It is impossible not to be drawn in by the simple perfection of New Super Mario Bros 2's mechanics and level design – this is as pleasurable and effortless as 2D platforming gets. But it's also impossible not to be disappointed that it's over so quickly, and doesn't offer anything really new.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    85
    New Super Mario Bros. 2's tricks may be old, but they are still some pretty darn good tricks. Length is one of the game's rare shortcomings. [Sept 2012]
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Whatever the case, New Super Mario Bros. 2 is an ideal second course for 3DS owners that enjoyed Super Mario 3D Land so much.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    75
    Of course, New Super Mario Bros. 2 contains many elements at its core that are worth gold, but due to conformism, sometimes latent, is satisfied with not taking advantage of opportunities to worth more.
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    70
    Nothing on offer here is bad per se. It is very competent in all of the disciplines you'd expect a title with this pedigree to be competent in. But somewhere along the fast track into store shelves Mario's magic got lost. Coming out shortly after the much fresher and more inventive 3D Land didn't do it any favors. And as a successor, six years after the first NSMB, these little updates don't do enough to justify the '2' in the title. This might just be the first Mario game that has you playing it mostly because of twenty year old automatisms.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    60
    This New Mario is more than ever a gold-hungry race. There's not much novelty there, but an almost shoot'em up like approach to patterns and skill in order to reach the goal of 1 million coins. But the game remains easy, and with the addition of a DLC policy, it seems like even Nintendo itself doesn't care that much anymore for pushing the boundaries of game design and appearing different.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 132
  2. Negative: 16 out of 132
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and thinkThis is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and think well this really was a one in a life time experience, though it won't because thanks to the dlc you could get more juice out of the awesome gem called NSMB2. Collapse
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    10
    This game is great! The co-op is not forced upon you or missed when playing alone but it adds a great amount of fun too! The game is alot likeThis game is great! The co-op is not forced upon you or missed when playing alone but it adds a great amount of fun too! The game is alot like the 2d mario I wish we could have had after super mario bros 3. This game might as well be super mario bros 4 because it adds interesting versions of enemies and a great new refreshing way to enjoy mario as a new. The speed runs are amazing too :) the difficulty can get pretty challenging at times, but not bosses Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2015
    9
    More of the same, but still another fun 2D Mario platformer. The additional goal of collecting 1 million coins in total is a highlight thatMore of the same, but still another fun 2D Mario platformer. The additional goal of collecting 1 million coins in total is a highlight that kept me playing. Expand
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    I like the golden flower because if you miss the enemy and hit you a wall behind it, it will die automatically and you will get 5 coinsI like the golden flower because if you miss the enemy and hit you a wall behind it, it will die automatically and you will get 5 coins instead of 1. The goal is to get a score of one million coins. I like fighting Bowser and the powerups are good. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    Not really a BAD game, but it could be better. I think I'm just comparing it to the perfection of Super Mario 3D Land, so I had highNot really a BAD game, but it could be better. I think I'm just comparing it to the perfection of Super Mario 3D Land, so I had high expectations (I know that's a weird comparison, but c'mon, they're both Mario platformer games) The secrets are really cryptic, its too easy, and the graphics aren't that nice either. I also HATE how there is only 6 worlds instead of 8, even 3D Land had 8 worlds, and even 16 special worlds. Despite all of that, this game is still better than ok. Expand
  6. Aug 24, 2012
    6
    NSMB2 is a very fun game, there'a no denying that. But it's probably the laziest Mario game so far. All of the music is just stuff from theNSMB2 is a very fun game, there'a no denying that. But it's probably the laziest Mario game so far. All of the music is just stuff from the wii game with added "bah"'s here and there, and the only new boss fight is used in every tower in the game (by the way, it's a toned down easier super mario world boss). It also feels a lot less substantial than the DS version; no 2 player battle mode, no minigames, only 6 worlds, and the bonus worlds are small collections of levels, as opposed to full worlds like in the DS one. The new powerups are a lot of fun. The gold flower and gold block are surpzizingly satisfying, and it was nice of Nintendo to let us fly as Raccoon Mario again. One thing that saddened me about the new powerups is the fact the Mega Mushroom can only be used once or twice. You can only get it in stages and the houses that give you them are now gone. Did Nintendo forget how fun it was to rampage through stages as giant Mario? Overall, it's a fun game, but nothing "new" as the title suggests. If you didn't play the wii one I'm sure you won't get bored with this game as quickly as I did Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    This game is total fail, bad 3d quality and glitchy gameplay, avoid it

See all 132 User Reviews