New Super Mario Bros. 2 3DS

New Super Mario Bros. 2 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 375 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levelsNew Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levels on the Nintendo 3DS system Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, New Super Mario Bros. 2 offers a nearly perfect Jump & Run experience. The levels and boss fights could be much more difficult.
  2. Aug 3, 2012
    85
    It is impossible not to be drawn in by the simple perfection of New Super Mario Bros 2's mechanics and level design – this is as pleasurable and effortless as 2D platforming gets. But it's also impossible not to be disappointed that it's over so quickly, and doesn't offer anything really new.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 14, 2012
    85
    New Super Mario Bros. 2's tricks may be old, but they are still some pretty darn good tricks. Length is one of the game's rare shortcomings. [Sept 2012]
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Whatever the case, New Super Mario Bros. 2 is an ideal second course for 3DS owners that enjoyed Super Mario 3D Land so much.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    75
    Of course, New Super Mario Bros. 2 contains many elements at its core that are worth gold, but due to conformism, sometimes latent, is satisfied with not taking advantage of opportunities to worth more.
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    70
    Nothing on offer here is bad per se. It is very competent in all of the disciplines you'd expect a title with this pedigree to be competent in. But somewhere along the fast track into store shelves Mario's magic got lost. Coming out shortly after the much fresher and more inventive 3D Land didn't do it any favors. And as a successor, six years after the first NSMB, these little updates don't do enough to justify the '2' in the title. This might just be the first Mario game that has you playing it mostly because of twenty year old automatisms.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    60
    This New Mario is more than ever a gold-hungry race. There's not much novelty there, but an almost shoot'em up like approach to patterns and skill in order to reach the goal of 1 million coins. But the game remains easy, and with the addition of a DLC policy, it seems like even Nintendo itself doesn't care that much anymore for pushing the boundaries of game design and appearing different.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 126
  2. Negative: 15 out of 126
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and thinkThis is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and think well this really was a one in a life time experience, though it won't because thanks to the dlc you could get more juice out of the awesome gem called NSMB2. Expand
  2. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    The game itself is the best "New" Super Mario game to date and a perfect example of reviewer stupidity. Take the same game and scrap theThe game itself is the best "New" Super Mario game to date and a perfect example of reviewer stupidity. Take the same game and scrap the different worlds in favor for one big world and call it New Super Mario World and we all would be looking at a Metascore of at least 85 right now. The game is good, don't be fooled. Expand
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    A pretty good game overall. The soundtrack is nearly the exact same as the previous game, but personally, it wasn't a problem because theA pretty good game overall. The soundtrack is nearly the exact same as the previous game, but personally, it wasn't a problem because the soundtrack is great! Also, it is way too easy to gain lives because of the massive amount of coins in the levels. It would have made it harder if the levels were harder. 9/10. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    "New Super Mario Bros. 2" may be awfully familiar to its past Mario games, but nevertheless, the game is still able to interest you with its"New Super Mario Bros. 2" may be awfully familiar to its past Mario games, but nevertheless, the game is still able to interest you with its new levels and new themes. With better animation than the previous game and its new format in 3D, "New Super Mario Bros. 2" will certainly be a wonderful addition to your 3DS games. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2014
    7
    Not really a BAD game, but it could be better. I think I'm just comparing it to the perfection of Super Mario 3D Land, so I had highNot really a BAD game, but it could be better. I think I'm just comparing it to the perfection of Super Mario 3D Land, so I had high expectations (I know that's a weird comparison, but c'mon, they're both Mario platformer games) The secrets are really cryptic, its too easy, and the graphics aren't that nice either. I also HATE how there is only 6 worlds instead of 8, even 3D Land had 8 worlds, and even 16 special worlds. Despite all of that, this game is still better than ok. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2012
    6
    After Playing for about a week, the game seems to be nothing more than one of Nintendo's marketing ploys. "Coins, Coins and more Coins" I getAfter Playing for about a week, the game seems to be nothing more than one of Nintendo's marketing ploys. "Coins, Coins and more Coins" I get it! Mario's world revolves around coins as currency and gaining extra lives-which by the time I type this I have over 500- so you can complete the game! But here's the thing, Mario isn't all that greedy. Mario is mostly a hero that saves the girl in the end. I think that maybe this game would have been more appropriate if Wario was the protagonist instead. Wario Land's game play was always about "It's good to be Greedy" and "You have infinite lives". I mostly had to look up how to get to the secret exits, I usually found the secrets in Super Mario World easily and unexpectedly; now I needed help even finding the Star coins. I'd still be willing to see a new Wario Land game, the amount of coins in the old games were limited and it seems that the counter in New Super Mario Bros. 2 is in the millions. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    This game is total fail, bad 3d quality and glitchy gameplay, avoid it

See all 126 User Reviews