Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 309 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levelsNew Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levels on the Nintendo 3DS system Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, New Super Mario Bros. 2 offers a nearly perfect Jump & Run experience. The levels and boss fights could be much more difficult.
  2. Aug 3, 2012
    85
    It is impossible not to be drawn in by the simple perfection of New Super Mario Bros 2's mechanics and level design – this is as pleasurable and effortless as 2D platforming gets. But it's also impossible not to be disappointed that it's over so quickly, and doesn't offer anything really new.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    85
    New Super Mario Bros. 2's tricks may be old, but they are still some pretty darn good tricks. Length is one of the game's rare shortcomings. [Sept 2012]
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Whatever the case, New Super Mario Bros. 2 is an ideal second course for 3DS owners that enjoyed Super Mario 3D Land so much.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    75
    Of course, New Super Mario Bros. 2 contains many elements at its core that are worth gold, but due to conformism, sometimes latent, is satisfied with not taking advantage of opportunities to worth more.
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    70
    Nothing on offer here is bad per se. It is very competent in all of the disciplines you'd expect a title with this pedigree to be competent in. But somewhere along the fast track into store shelves Mario's magic got lost. Coming out shortly after the much fresher and more inventive 3D Land didn't do it any favors. And as a successor, six years after the first NSMB, these little updates don't do enough to justify the '2' in the title. This might just be the first Mario game that has you playing it mostly because of twenty year old automatisms.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    60
    This New Mario is more than ever a gold-hungry race. There's not much novelty there, but an almost shoot'em up like approach to patterns and skill in order to reach the goal of 1 million coins. But the game remains easy, and with the addition of a DLC policy, it seems like even Nintendo itself doesn't care that much anymore for pushing the boundaries of game design and appearing different.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 104
  2. Negative: 14 out of 104
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and thinkThis is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and think well this really was a one in a life time experience, though it won't because thanks to the dlc you could get more juice out of the awesome gem called NSMB2. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    best 3d platform on the nintendo 3ds!
  3. Aug 19, 2012
    9
    A pretty good game overall. The soundtrack is nearly the exact same as the previous game, but personally, it wasn't a problem because theA pretty good game overall. The soundtrack is nearly the exact same as the previous game, but personally, it wasn't a problem because the soundtrack is great! Also, it is way too easy to gain lives because of the massive amount of coins in the levels. It would have made it harder if the levels were harder. 9/10. Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This is a solid 2D side scrolling entry into the New Super Mario Bros. franchise. The level design and difficulty are not top notch however.This is a solid 2D side scrolling entry into the New Super Mario Bros. franchise. The level design and difficulty are not top notch however. It doesn't implement the 3D of the 3DS very well. It's charm shines in nostalgia and gameplay mechanics. The bonus downloadable course packs give it a large amount of replay value and much needed challenge. Virtually no improvement from its predecessor but its still quite a bit of fun. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    7
    First, let me make something clear. This is not an entirely new Mario game. Yes, there is a coin gimmick, but other than that it’s virtuallyFirst, let me make something clear. This is not an entirely new Mario game. Yes, there is a coin gimmick, but other than that it’s virtually the same- 8 worlds, including, a plain world, a jungle world, a volcano world e.t.c.
    There are some ‘new’ power-ups. There’s the racoon suit, oh wait that’s not new, it’s from super Mario bros 3. This lets you fly and glide. Then there’s the gold flower, which is new, except it isn’t- it’s basically a fire flower than can also turn blocks into coins upon contact with the fire. And as usual, the good ol’ fire flower returns. Not Nintendo at its most creative, but the design of the levels is great, and that’s what keeps you wanting more, even though it is too easy. You can play through the whole game with two players, but player 2 will need another copy of the game.
    Then there’s the coin gimmick. Basically all the levels in New Super Mario Bros 2 are bursting with coins and different ways to get them. This is where Nintendo get creative, placing all sorts of new ways to collect coins, and that’s where that rare gold flower comes in useful too. Just like any other Mario game, Bowser kidnaps Peach, and saving her is the goal. As usual, on top of that is star coins- three in each level, you know the story by now, and also secret exits. But now there’s also the goal of collecting 1 million coins. This takes a long time, but levels are overloaded with coins, and the more skill you have, the faster you’ll reach the goal of 1 million coins. What’s the prize, I hear you ask. I can tell you: a new main menu screen. That’s it. Coin redemption can be found in coin rush mode, though, when you play three randomly selected courses in a row and try to collect as many coins as you can, and reach the goal in a 100-second time limit. One death and it’s game over. You can trade high scores via streetpass, but there are no online leaderboards, which is disappointing. However, coin rush is a simple, addictive experience and I’m surprised nobody’s thought of it before.
    In conclusion, this is the first Mario platformer ever that isn’t essential. I’d recommend it, but it stays too true to Mario’s roots.
    Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    6
    Well, I have to say, This was one of the most disappointing games Nintendo has made in a LONG time. There was so little innovation I felt likeWell, I have to say, This was one of the most disappointing games Nintendo has made in a LONG time. There was so little innovation I felt like I was playing a dumbed down version of the wii predecessor , which is basically what this is. Everything is right about this game, but when I get down to how much time and over all enjoyment I got out of it, I'd say it's not worth the money. The story is the same as ever (Shocker) And it's really getting old. I just wish nintendo would stop relying on their trump card of their mario fanbase. I am a huge mario fan, really, but this game felt so lifeless and boring and REALLY way too easy. I felt almost as if I was playing a toddler game. The wii game had everything right. Nintendo, would it be possible for you guys to start being an innovative company in your games again? Also a longer, harder experience would be nice too. Possibly a difficulty option? I miss games like super mario world 2 , where you get difficult creative innovative levels that aren't impossible, but actually take more than 5 minutes to do. I'm just tired of lazy game making. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    This game is total fail, bad 3d quality and glitchy gameplay, avoid it

See all 104 User Reviews