Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levelsNew Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levels on the Nintendo 3DS system Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, New Super Mario Bros. 2 offers a nearly perfect Jump & Run experience. The levels and boss fights could be much more difficult.
  2. Aug 3, 2012
    85
    It is impossible not to be drawn in by the simple perfection of New Super Mario Bros 2's mechanics and level design – this is as pleasurable and effortless as 2D platforming gets. But it's also impossible not to be disappointed that it's over so quickly, and doesn't offer anything really new.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    85
    New Super Mario Bros. 2's tricks may be old, but they are still some pretty darn good tricks. Length is one of the game's rare shortcomings. [Sept 2012]
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Whatever the case, New Super Mario Bros. 2 is an ideal second course for 3DS owners that enjoyed Super Mario 3D Land so much.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    75
    Of course, New Super Mario Bros. 2 contains many elements at its core that are worth gold, but due to conformism, sometimes latent, is satisfied with not taking advantage of opportunities to worth more.
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    70
    Nothing on offer here is bad per se. It is very competent in all of the disciplines you'd expect a title with this pedigree to be competent in. But somewhere along the fast track into store shelves Mario's magic got lost. Coming out shortly after the much fresher and more inventive 3D Land didn't do it any favors. And as a successor, six years after the first NSMB, these little updates don't do enough to justify the '2' in the title. This might just be the first Mario game that has you playing it mostly because of twenty year old automatisms.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    60
    This New Mario is more than ever a gold-hungry race. There's not much novelty there, but an almost shoot'em up like approach to patterns and skill in order to reach the goal of 1 million coins. But the game remains easy, and with the addition of a DLC policy, it seems like even Nintendo itself doesn't care that much anymore for pushing the boundaries of game design and appearing different.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 111
  2. Negative: 15 out of 111
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and thinkThis is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and think well this really was a one in a life time experience, though it won't because thanks to the dlc you could get more juice out of the awesome gem called NSMB2. Expand
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    best 3d platform on the nintendo 3ds!
  3. Aug 24, 2012
    9
    It's been a really long time since I've played a Mario game, and after playing this I'm ready to get back into Mario. The game is fantasticIt's been a really long time since I've played a Mario game, and after playing this I'm ready to get back into Mario. The game is fantastic and, as always, has fantastic gameplay, graphics, and sound. There is a new emphasis on collecting coins as they are pretty much everywhere. It's much less challenging than other Mario games, making easier for less skilled gamers to get into, and if you die a lot on one level you'll get the super tanooki suit that will make you almost completely invincible (you'll still die in lava and pits), and while I enjoyed the easier gameplay (I'm finally able to beat a Mario game XD) I feel like this might turn away hardcore side scroller fans who enjoy the challenge that the older Mario games brought, because they'll no doubt blow through this in no time at all. There's also a Coin Rush mode you play for high scores. One thing that disappointed me about the game is how it really didn't take advantage of the 3DS features, you've got some stuff that works with Street Pass, but the 3D effect the system has makes the beautiful backgrounds of the game blurry and really just doesn't benefit the game at all so you really don't want to play this game with it turned on, which is a real disappointment considering this is a 3DS exclusive and therefore should have great 3D effects. Sure the game could have been longer and tougher, but it's still a fantastic side scroller for you 3DS. Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    There's just something immensely pleasurable about collecting a crapload of coins, one after another, isn't there? This coin-craze forms theThere's just something immensely pleasurable about collecting a crapload of coins, one after another, isn't there? This coin-craze forms the core of the NSMB2 experience, along with the perfect controls, dynamic gameplay, and Mario's udeniable charisma. Yes, this game does lack when it comes to originality of level design (unlike its older brother Super Mario 3D Land). It would be even more enjoyable if it was a Super Mario 3-like answer to the first DS New Super Mario Bros. Nevertheless, as a 3D rehash of the classic Mario formula, it works in the most important way: being a very fun game that should get you hooked. Expand
  5. Sep 19, 2013
    7
    This is a game that, although i enjoyed, is just another 2D Mario. Nothing stood out as really great to me. There was never really aThis is a game that, although i enjoyed, is just another 2D Mario. Nothing stood out as really great to me. There was never really a challenge throughout the game. I got the feel that they just wanted to shovel out a new game, and took elements from the other NSMB games and threw them together. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. Expand
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    6
    Well, I have to say, This was one of the most disappointing games Nintendo has made in a LONG time. There was so little innovation I felt likeWell, I have to say, This was one of the most disappointing games Nintendo has made in a LONG time. There was so little innovation I felt like I was playing a dumbed down version of the wii predecessor , which is basically what this is. Everything is right about this game, but when I get down to how much time and over all enjoyment I got out of it, I'd say it's not worth the money. The story is the same as ever (Shocker) And it's really getting old. I just wish nintendo would stop relying on their trump card of their mario fanbase. I am a huge mario fan, really, but this game felt so lifeless and boring and REALLY way too easy. I felt almost as if I was playing a toddler game. The wii game had everything right. Nintendo, would it be possible for you guys to start being an innovative company in your games again? Also a longer, harder experience would be nice too. Possibly a difficulty option? I miss games like super mario world 2 , where you get difficult creative innovative levels that aren't impossible, but actually take more than 5 minutes to do. I'm just tired of lazy game making. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    This game is total fail, bad 3d quality and glitchy gameplay, avoid it

See all 111 User Reviews