Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levelsNew Super Mario Bros. 2 is a traditional side-scrolling adventure game featuring Mario, Luigi and loads of other favorite characters from the popular Mario series. The game was created specifically as a pick-up-and-play experience that can be instantly enjoyed by players of all skill levels on the Nintendo 3DS system Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. 91
    With its well-balanced gameplay and the high long-term play value, New Super Mario Bros. 2 offers a nearly perfect Jump & Run experience. The levels and boss fights could be much more difficult.
  2. Aug 3, 2012
    85
    It is impossible not to be drawn in by the simple perfection of New Super Mario Bros 2's mechanics and level design – this is as pleasurable and effortless as 2D platforming gets. But it's also impossible not to be disappointed that it's over so quickly, and doesn't offer anything really new.
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    85
    New Super Mario Bros. 2's tricks may be old, but they are still some pretty darn good tricks. Length is one of the game's rare shortcomings. [Sept 2012]
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    Whatever the case, New Super Mario Bros. 2 is an ideal second course for 3DS owners that enjoyed Super Mario 3D Land so much.
  5. Sep 5, 2012
    75
    Of course, New Super Mario Bros. 2 contains many elements at its core that are worth gold, but due to conformism, sometimes latent, is satisfied with not taking advantage of opportunities to worth more.
  6. Aug 26, 2012
    70
    Nothing on offer here is bad per se. It is very competent in all of the disciplines you'd expect a title with this pedigree to be competent in. But somewhere along the fast track into store shelves Mario's magic got lost. Coming out shortly after the much fresher and more inventive 3D Land didn't do it any favors. And as a successor, six years after the first NSMB, these little updates don't do enough to justify the '2' in the title. This might just be the first Mario game that has you playing it mostly because of twenty year old automatisms.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    60
    This New Mario is more than ever a gold-hungry race. There's not much novelty there, but an almost shoot'em up like approach to patterns and skill in order to reach the goal of 1 million coins. But the game remains easy, and with the addition of a DLC policy, it seems like even Nintendo itself doesn't care that much anymore for pushing the boundaries of game design and appearing different.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 107
  2. Negative: 15 out of 107
  1. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    This is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and thinkThis is really the definition of fun, through the entire game you are experiencing pure joy until the sad day when you beat the game and think well this really was a one in a life time experience, though it won't because thanks to the dlc you could get more juice out of the awesome gem called NSMB2. Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    I have completed it all it is fun being Luigi and there is challenges along the way it's fun taking down the bad guys but it's also fun to beI have completed it all it is fun being Luigi and there is challenges along the way it's fun taking down the bad guys but it's also fun to be golden Mario coin rush is the best thing that's fun Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2014
    9
    Probably my favorite in the "New Super Mario Bros." series. The platforming is solid and tight, and the emphasis on coin collecting with theProbably my favorite in the "New Super Mario Bros." series. The platforming is solid and tight, and the emphasis on coin collecting with the million-coin challenge adds quite a bit of replay value. I love the graphics and music, and the Gold Flower is among the very best (if not OP) power-ups in the entire series. One of the best titles for 3DS! Expand
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    This is a solid 2D side scrolling entry into the New Super Mario Bros. franchise. The level design and difficulty are not top notch however.This is a solid 2D side scrolling entry into the New Super Mario Bros. franchise. The level design and difficulty are not top notch however. It doesn't implement the 3D of the 3DS very well. It's charm shines in nostalgia and gameplay mechanics. The bonus downloadable course packs give it a large amount of replay value and much needed challenge. Virtually no improvement from its predecessor but its still quite a bit of fun. Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    7
    Enjoyable music and gameplay as usual, but the 3d effect was pointless on this one so don't buy it for that. I was also pretty disappointed atEnjoyable music and gameplay as usual, but the 3d effect was pointless on this one so don't buy it for that. I was also pretty disappointed at the end boss of the secret world, it was the same fight as the normal world, exactly. I felt genuinely disappointed at that part. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2014
    6
    i love Mario games but this game is one of my least favorite ones,

    to start off with the good things in it, the game play is great the
    i love Mario games but this game is one of my least favorite ones,

    to start off with the good things in it, the game play is great the bringing back of the raccoon leaf is great, the worlds look nice and ten times better then the first game and nothing in the game is too hard but the best part of the game is that's its fun for the short time of playing it

    now for the bad the biggest issue with the game is content i cant name one other Mario game that has a lack of content i mean there are 6 main worlds and 3 special worlds that may seem like a lot but each world only as 6-10 levels which brings me to the next issue that it took me less then four hours to beat the game and that includes the 3 special worlds now i did enjoy every part of the game but when it came to an end i felt ripped off 30 bucks for 4 hours of content?i can think of indie games that are not even half that price but offer ten times more hours of content next the power ups feel the same and really there in not one new one the golden flower is new but the issue with it is that its only in 3 to 5 levels and you lose it after completing the level meaning that you only get maybe 10 minutes of using it (it is fun but needs to be used more)

    but having this being my most played game on my 2ds (with 20 hours clocked in) i would only tell die-hard Mario fans to get this game the game is fun but the only way to really get out all the content is re-playing it for all the stars/secrets and if that's not what you enjoy doing i would say get NSMB from 2006 on your ds/3ds/2ds or go and get one of the older Mario games on the virtual console
    Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2012
    0
    This game is total fail, bad 3d quality and glitchy gameplay, avoid it

See all 107 User Reviews