Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    75
    At the moment there's little on the E-Shop that feels quite like what NightSky has to offer, so I do feel like it's worth checking out, even if it's not quite a flawless experience.
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    80
    NightSky is a dream - the sort you never want to wake up from - wrapped in the most challenging of conundrums.
  3. Apr 10, 2013
    58
    Neat ambient tone is shattered by design confusion and physics frustration. [May 2013, p.79]
  4. Feb 26, 2013
    60
    It’s accomplished and inventive, but there’s not enough to quicken the pulse, and you feel relief, rather than satisfaction, when the trickier challenges are conquered. The constant metallic clanks are the sound of a game whose nuts and bolts are fully functional, but this tin man of a game is missing its heart.
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    89
    I really liked NightSky, but it's got one little flaw: the two modes (Normal and Alternative) are all there is to the game. This game doesn't seem to be made for multiplayer, but I'm surprised there's no puzzle editor, as I can only imagine what someone could create with everything in this game at their disposal.
  6. Oct 25, 2012
    80
    I would have liked to to see a little more story interspersed throughout the game, but I also respect the creative decision to keep the narrative to a minimum. Though the price may seem a little steep for a game of this complexity and length, there is no denying that NightSky accomplishes just about everything it sets out to do.
  7. Mar 5, 2013
    80
    What used to be an exclusive PC game, now is a great title for the Nintendo 3DS. NightSky delivers when it comes to dish up an array of levels that give you great puzzle experiences. It is an ideal game to play when you’re on your way to school or work!
  8. Oct 22, 2012
    100
    Nintendo fans have been waiting a long time for NightSky, and they won't be disappointed. The finished product is gorgeous, flawlessly designed and bracingly atmospheric, with perfect controls, clever puzzles, and an endlessly evolving play style that will never see you solving the same puzzle the same way twice. Hidden stars, a locked world and an advanced difficulty lend the experience significant replayability, but even if it offered only a single playthrough, it's not an experience that could soon be forgotten. At last, the 3DS eShop has its masterpiece.
  9. 60
    The wait for NightSky on a Nintendo platform has been long, and, unfortunately, may not have been worth it. While the graphical and aural presentation is worth celebrating, the actual gameplay comes up short, feeling like the primitive form of a much better game.
  10. One for the game-starved only. [May 2013, p.78]
  11. Nov 12, 2012
    91
    Ultimately, I may have mentioned multiple times that x or y was my favourite part, but in the end I really enjoyed everything this game had to offer.
  12. Mar 5, 2013
    75
    Despite the somewhat forced feel of the mysterious vibe, Nightsky is still a good game. The ten different worlds offer a good amount of levels that need to be solved in different ways. A good combination of puzzles and skill.
  13. Mar 8, 2013
    100
    No guns, no damsel in distress, no witty vocal main character, but easily one of the most memorable experiences anyone will ever have on a Nintendo 3DS.
  14. Mar 10, 2013
    75
    A small, simple, smart and very well made game, perfect for portable gaming, with a really nice atmosphere and good longevity. Nothing particularly new, though.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Looking for a game where ambiance, simplicity, creativity, and challenge coexist? This is your title. While the price could be slightly lower, after playing this title for a little over 2 hours (Non-stop), I still haven't finished the entire game. This game doesn't let you get frustrated so quickly either with it's ambient music and calming scenery.

    Should you buy it? If ambiance is a puzzle game appeals to you, seriously, don't hesitate.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    This games is really AWESOME!! The perfect game to play in bed using headphones. The art is really great, and the physics implementations and the sound are fabulous I'm really waiting a night sky 2 because this is one of the best games I've ever played in a handheld.I recommend Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This is possibly one of the best games on the 3DS, the simple graphics and the atmosphere is so relaxing, the music and sound effects are also very relaxing, and everything else is just relaxing. Full Review »