Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
Buy On
  1. Mar 26, 2011
    75
    They may not win best in show, but the adorable animals of Nintendogs + Cats are sure to win your heart.
  2. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    The bottom line is, if you enjoyed Nintendogs on your DS, there's still plenty to love about its 3D debut. And even if you're new to Nintendo's pet sim series, you could do much worse for a 3DS launch title. There isn't an awful lot of new content, but what's here works as well as it ever has. And if you're like me, you'll have a much better shot at getting your apartment's deposit back if you opt for one of these polygonal pups.
  3. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    A game with few new features compared to the 2005 version, but with great, realistic graphics, which look spectacular in 3D.
  4. Games Master UK
    Mar 31, 2011
    80
    Virtual pet sims aren't for everyone, but Nintendogs is by far the best in show. [May 2011, p.64]
  5. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    Nintendogs + Cats is most successful lovingly recreating the personalities of its animal stars, and even though isn't the quantum leap forward some will want, it'll likely be the pet simulator to beat over the 3DS's lifespan.
  6. Apr 12, 2011
    90
    As impressive as some of Nintendogs + Cats is on a technological level, I failed miserably to really get anything out of it. However, I'm not the target market in this case and my daughter had no problem awarding the game a very good score.
  7. Nintendo Power
    Apr 13, 2011
    75
    But as is, nintendogs + cats is still worth a look by everyone but the most black-hearted animal-haters. [April 2011, p.80]
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    78
    It's a nice tech demo for kids and fans of puppies. The third dimension adds a fine touch to the optics, but it can bring you some headache, too. With more replayability, this could have been a hit.
  9. May 16, 2011
    80
    It may not be leaps and bounds away from the original Nintendogs, but a few improvements and additions, regardless of gimmick factor, means that Nintendogs + cats does prove that the virtual pet genre is still alive and kicking.
  10. Lacklustre cats and familiar pooches, but still an engaging and adorable pet sim. [Apr 2011, p.102]
  11. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Simply put, it's a better looking, better functioning version of the original (voice recognition is noticeably improved). It's forgiving and accessible, almost to a fault, but rewards investment with those idiosyncratic movements that Nintendo do so well. And it makes nice use of the hardware. [Mar 2011, p.52]
  12. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Nintendogs + Cats isn't massively different from its predecessor, but its subtle enhancements mean it will prove even more irresistible to dog and now cat lovers, and that it towers in an even more colossal manner over other pet sims, no matter what their platform.
  13. Mar 24, 2011
    80
    If you liked Nintendogs you'll love this. Its adorable but could become forgotten about after some time.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jul 13, 2016
    7
    I'd love to train my Nintendog to be the best dog everyone's ever seen! Especially if it was on the 3DS! Sadly, that's all you can do inI'd love to train my Nintendog to be the best dog everyone's ever seen! Especially if it was on the 3DS! Sadly, that's all you can do in Nintendogs + Cats: French Bulldog & New Friends. Great for dog lovers. Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    As with the original, the voice commands need some work. The competition events aren't very good. Frisbee is fun, lure coursing is ok, butAs with the original, the voice commands need some work. The competition events aren't very good. Frisbee is fun, lure coursing is ok, but .... those voice commands are just so frustrating. The 3D in the game is nice and the visuals are much better than the DS version. Nothing really groundbreaking except maybe the addition of cats, which unfortunately don't do anything except look cute. Full Review »
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    I love this game! It's really fun and it's the best game in the Nintendogs series! I really recommend this for everyone who loves dogs andI love this game! It's really fun and it's the best game in the Nintendogs series! I really recommend this for everyone who loves dogs and cats. 10/10. Full Review »