Nintendogs + Cats: Golden Retriever & New Friends Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Interact with your virtual puppies and cats in 3D.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Lacklustre cats and familiar pooches, but still an engaging and adorable pet sim. [Apr 2011, p.102]
  2. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    Nintendogs + Cats is most successful lovingly recreating the personalities of its animal stars, and even though isn't the quantum leap forward some will want, it'll likely be the pet simulator to beat over the 3DS's lifespan.
  3. Nintendo Power
    Apr 13, 2011
    75
    But as is, nintendogs + cats is still worth a look by everyone but the most black-hearted animal-haters. [April 2011, p.80]
  4. Mar 18, 2011
    70
    Gentle, sweet, calming and very, very slight. It does what it sets out to do with perfect efficiency, targeting the brain's fragile cuteness receptors with merciless precision. It is a game constructed of gentle routine punctuated by organic, unexpected moments, never demanding much from you in return for its simple, innocent pleasures. It's exactly what you expect, then – but that's certainly no bad thing.
  5. Apr 3, 2011
    70
    nintendogs + cats embraces elements of the 3DS such as StreetPass and the cameras, introducing the novelty of kittens as it goes, but otherwise acts as a refinement of the first game more than anything else. However, a virtual pet simulator of this nature in 2011 is not as exciting as it was six years ago when the genre was less common on consoles, and disappointingly it does not do much to push the series forward.
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    70
    The cat selection is disappointingly limited, and it will be very familiar to players of the earlier entries, but this is shinier, more feature packed, and - of course - three-dimensional than any of the previous Nintendogs games.
  7. May 1, 2011
    50
    Nintendogs + Cats has been outmanouvered by other stationary virtual pet simulators for both Move and Kinect, but will still any animal cravings you may have during a trip. But at home it's more likely to collect dust than play catch.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    cute and fun. its one of those game that i like to call a pet sim. all kind of things to do. walk dog. and pet your cat. or your dog. it surecute and fun. its one of those game that i like to call a pet sim. all kind of things to do. walk dog. and pet your cat. or your dog. it sure is a great game for somone who loves dogs and cats Expand
  2. Jun 23, 2011
    10
    This is a cool assault game. Funny, nice grapics & really cool。i like the game and i share it to my friends,it reminds me of a game DogThis is a cool assault game. Funny, nice grapics & really cool。i like the game and i share it to my friends,it reminds me of a game Dog VS Cat.it has iphone verison.Friends can try to have a little fun. Expand
  3. Apr 27, 2012
    8
    A fun and very cute and adorable pet game. The graphics have improved from the previous Nintendogs. The game isn't very hard either and has aA fun and very cute and adorable pet game. The graphics have improved from the previous Nintendogs. The game isn't very hard either and has a couple of new features (for an example kittens) . While the kittens are very cute you can't walk,train(they can do tricks but not learn them) or enter them in competitions or do much,but just like real life you don't expect to teach a cat tricks.

    Final Grade: B+
    Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2011
    8
    Cute, adorable puppies. If that's what you're looking for in this game, it's perfect for you - although, you probably already know that. IfCute, adorable puppies. If that's what you're looking for in this game, it's perfect for you - although, you probably already know that. If you enjoyed the earlier ones, you'll definitely like this new one with even fuzzier looking dogs... and cats! Although, after an hour of playing it, you'll begin to run out of things to do until the next day, however, this game is quite fun, and is definitly one of the best games for the 3DS that has come out on the system's release date. I highly recommend it if you enjoy adorable games. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    7
    Good game with amazing graphics and the possibility to cuddle puppies and kittens. It's fun to train your dog and to take a walk with it, butGood game with amazing graphics and the possibility to cuddle puppies and kittens. It's fun to train your dog and to take a walk with it, but after a while it's a little boring. Collapse
  6. Jul 13, 2016
    7
    I'd love to train my Nintendog to be the best dog everyone's ever seen! Especially if it was on the 3DS! Sadly, that's all you can do inI'd love to train my Nintendog to be the best dog everyone's ever seen! Especially if it was on the 3DS! Sadly, that's all you can do in Nintendogs + Cats: Golden Retriever & New Friends. Great for dog lovers. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2011
    6
    If you want my opinion, don't get this game if you already own the original Nintendogs. You will be left feeling quite annoyed that manyIf you want my opinion, don't get this game if you already own the original Nintendogs. You will be left feeling quite annoyed that many things have remained the same. The graphics have obviously improved and the 3D effect works great, but as for the actual gameplay, it has more or less stayed the same. You will most likely be amazed by some of the few new features they HAVE included, however the excitement quickly wears down, and you feel like there's nothing more to do. Not the best launch title but a good game nonetheless. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews

Trailers