Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
Buy On
  1. Apr 12, 2011
    90
    As impressive as some of Nintendogs + Cats is on a technological level, I failed miserably to really get anything out of it. However, I'm not the target market in this case and my daughter had no problem awarding the game a very good score.
  2. Lacklustre cats and familiar pooches, but still an engaging and adorable pet sim. [Apr 2011, p.102]
  3. May 16, 2011
    80
    It may not be leaps and bounds away from the original Nintendogs, but a few improvements and additions, regardless of gimmick factor, means that Nintendogs + cats does prove that the virtual pet genre is still alive and kicking.
  4. Games Master UK
    Mar 31, 2011
    80
    Virtual pet sims aren't for everyone, but Nintendogs is by far the best in show. [May 2011, p.64]
  5. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    The bottom line is, if you enjoyed Nintendogs on your DS, there's still plenty to love about its 3D debut. And even if you're new to Nintendo's pet sim series, you could do much worse for a 3DS launch title. There isn't an awful lot of new content, but what's here works as well as it ever has. And if you're like me, you'll have a much better shot at getting your apartment's deposit back if you opt for one of these polygonal pups.
  6. Mar 29, 2011
    80
    Nintendogs + Cats is most successful lovingly recreating the personalities of its animal stars, and even though isn't the quantum leap forward some will want, it'll likely be the pet simulator to beat over the 3DS's lifespan.
  7. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Nintendogs + Cats isn't massively different from its predecessor, but its subtle enhancements mean it will prove even more irresistible to dog and now cat lovers, and that it towers in an even more colossal manner over other pet sims, no matter what their platform.
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    80
    If you liked Nintendogs you'll love this. Its adorable but could become forgotten about after some time.
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    80
    Simply put, it's a better looking, better functioning version of the original (voice recognition is noticeably improved). It's forgiving and accessible, almost to a fault, but rewards investment with those idiosyncratic movements that Nintendo do so well. And it makes nice use of the hardware. [Mar 2011, p.52]
  10. Mar 24, 2011
    78
    It's a nice tech demo for kids and fans of puppies. The third dimension adds a fine touch to the optics, but it can bring you some headache, too. With more replayability, this could have been a hit.
  11. Nintendo Power
    Apr 13, 2011
    75
    But as is, nintendogs + cats is still worth a look by everyone but the most black-hearted animal-haters. [April 2011, p.80]
  12. Mar 26, 2011
    75
    It serves as a good system launch game that shows off the 3DS' new features. Don't go in expecting deep entertainment and you'll likely enjoy this. Again, what it lacks in depth it more than makes up for in cuteness.
  13. Mar 26, 2011
    75
    They may not win best in show, but the adorable animals of Nintendogs + Cats are sure to win your heart.
  14. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    A game with few new features compared to the 2005 version, but with great, realistic graphics, which look spectacular in 3D.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    I'd never played the DS version of this game, so I cannot compare it with the previous version. However, after a month of purchasing this, II'd never played the DS version of this game, so I cannot compare it with the previous version. However, after a month of purchasing this, I still find myself feeding and training my poodle. My only criticism is that I can't have more than 3 pets at home at the same time. But definitely, this is one of the best in 3DS library so far. Full Review »
  2. Jul 13, 2016
    7
    I'd love to train my Nintendog to be the best dog everyone's ever seen! Especially if it was on the 3DS! Sadly, that's all you can do inI'd love to train my Nintendog to be the best dog everyone's ever seen! Especially if it was on the 3DS! Sadly, that's all you can do in Nintendogs + Cats: Toy Poodle & New Friends. Great for dog lovers. Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    As with the original, the voice commands need some work. The competition events aren't very good. Frisbee is fun, lure coursing is ok, butAs with the original, the voice commands need some work. The competition events aren't very good. Frisbee is fun, lure coursing is ok, but .... those voice commands are just so frustrating. The 3D in the game is nice and the visuals are much better than the DS version. Nothing really groundbreaking except maybe the addition of cats, which unfortunately don't do anything except look cute. Full Review »