Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 32
  2. Negative: 20 out of 32
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    70
    A lengthy and challenging JRPG based upon the Eiichiro Oda masterful manganime series, but lacks sophistication and variety.
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    65
    Only recommended for those who read this review and still want to buy the game anyway.
  3. Dec 19, 2013
    65
    Due to an unconvincing narrative aspect One Piece: Romance Dawn only works in half, revealing to be a product for a few fans.
  4. Dec 24, 2013
    60
    If you’re a One Piece noob, it’s a 6/10. It plays fine but suffers from a ‘this is for the fans’ attitude. This of course could also be a positive thing, and if you’re a huge fan of the series it’s probably going to be closer to a 7 or even an 8/10.
  5. Apr 13, 2014
    55
    We feel sorry to see that a great publisher like Namco Bandai, in possession of a good license such as One Piece, produced such a mediocre title, which will be attractive only to the hardcore fans of the series, and especially the younger among them.
  6. Dec 10, 2013
    55
    One Piece: Romance Dawn is a mediocre take on the JRPG genre which fails to appeal both fans and newcomers. It's a shame that battle system is quite interesting and some neat ideas are drowned within an ocean of disappointment.
  7. Mar 17, 2014
    50
    One Piece: Romance Dawn tries hard to tell the Straw Hats’ story, but you’d be better off just watching the anime.
  8. Feb 19, 2014
    50
    One Piece: Romance Dawn is easy to summarize: It just isn’t any fun.
  9. 50
    One Piece: Romance Dawn is a great idea that was poorly executed. While fans and newcomers will appreciate the story, the gameplay feels like an afterthought. It becomes bland after mere hours and starts to feel like you’re going through the motions. This is not the reaction you want in an RPG, especially a long one like Romance Dawn.
  10. 50
    One Piece: Romance Dawn is a case of missed opportunity. It is a product that fails in appealing to fans of the animated series and manga as for players with a Nintendo 3DS that want something different for Christmas.
  11. Jan 3, 2014
    50
    What should've been a nice RPG, turned out to be a mediocre, monotonous game. The battles can be spectacular, but the lack of strategy makes it somewhat redundant. There couldn't be a better anime to base an RPG on, but the way the story is told is bland and can even be irritating at times.
  12. Dec 31, 2013
    50
    One Piece Romance Dawn is a simple porting of the original JRPG developed for PSP long time ago. Nothing has been done in order to enhance the original experience, which is still as dull as ever. The Italian translation is good news, but that's simply not enough.
  13. Feb 11, 2014
    49
    Unless you’re a huge One Piece fan, you might want to think twice before picking this one up. It’s not terrible, but it definitely has its flaws.
  14. Feb 11, 2014
    45
    If the presentation wasn't so horrible, One Piece: Romance Dawn would be a decent way for a JRPG fan to spend an afternoon after they've exhausted their library of other more innovative titles. If you've always wondered what the fuss was with One Piece, you'd be better off watching the show or playing the fun, but flawed Pirate Warriors series.
  15. Feb 7, 2014
    45
    Romance Dawn is a dull and soporific adaptation of the Oda's saga, marked by an inexplicable indifference to the 3DS features and an apathetic and approximate narration that ruin its interesting combat system which combines role-playing and fighting games.
  16. Feb 27, 2014
    40
    Someday, when a better title takes its place, Romance Dawn will have a respectful position for where it all began. But for now, this is just a dud of a game in the box of a collectible import.
  17. Feb 24, 2014
    40
    The potential is still there, because Romance Dawn doesn't do nearly enough right to make this an adequate substitute for reading the manga or watching the anime.
  18. Feb 21, 2014
    40
    It’s not worth the time of all but the most hardcore of fans.
  19. Feb 19, 2014
    40
    It would have been fine to integrate the storytelling in the play—of which there is absolutely none—and had a “meh” battle system, because that would bring this up a few notches. But instead, it’s little more than an interactive manga with some battles tossed into some of the most boring environments this side of Dragonball Evolution.
  20. Feb 12, 2014
    40
    A straight-up port of the PSP RPG with no efforts taken to improve the experience, Romance Dawn is not a journey many One Piece fans will want to take.
  21. Dec 7, 2013
    40
    Fans of the series will have a hard time trying to enjoy this game, since it’s a repetitive and tedious experience that will fall behind the outstanding games the handheld is showcasing.
  22. 40
    The open sea of 3DS software has a bevy of good games to explore but sadly, Romance Dawn isn't one of them.
  23. 39
    Perhaps the truly hardcore fans may have some interest in adding this to their collection, but with dreadfully long and uninteresting cutscenes, repetitive combat and monotonous level design, as a newcomer to the series I was left with a bitter taste in my mouth, and I simply cannot recommend purchasing this game.
  24. It takes a genuinely profound kind of idiocy to turn such a romping good series into something so leaden. [Feb 2014, p.91]
  25. Feb 24, 2014
    33
    Romance Dawn is a misfire all around that only the absolute most completist of One Piece fans should give it a look. It’s a shame, because One Piece is normally something quite wonderful. Such a waste.
  26. Feb 11, 2014
    32
    It’s my understanding that previous One Piece video games have established a positive reputation both among the series’ fans and the gaming community. If that’s the case, it’ll be better for both parties to ignore this title and hope outsiders will do the same in hopes of preserving that standard.
  27. Feb 14, 2014
    30
    Romance Dawn is a game even an anime aficionado couldn’t love. Its systems are bare bones, and boring, unvoiced text conversations dominate most of the time you’ll spend with Luffy & Co. Turn back now.
  28. Feb 12, 2014
    30
    One Piece's 3DS debut in One Piece: Romance Dawn sets sail but is quickly sunk under monotonous fights, endless corridor roaming that would put Final Fantasy XIII to shame, and a recurring reminder that it is merely a slapdash port adapted to none of the 3DS' strengths.
  29. Jan 6, 2014
    30
    The visual novel-esque method of storytelling could work for a game based on a comic strip – games like Comix Zone have experimented with using comic-panel based graphics – but Romance Dawn does not feel like a comic despite using the aesthetic. There are not enough of the full-screen images to depict key scenes of the plot, and too often important developments are reduced to screen shakes and sound effects.
  30. Dec 5, 2013
    30
    Namco Bandai has published a number of surprisingly solid titles tied to their Shōnen Jump properties in recent years, but they've indisputably missed the boat on making One Piece Romance Dawn anywhere close to worth playing.
  31. Feb 27, 2014
    20
    Developer Three Rings refuses to do any sort of meaningful updating to the product, presenting an aesthetically revolting, monotonous, franchise-forsaking endeavor that should have Oda-sensei throwing a temper tantrum in response.
  32. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    his Dawn should set the sun on One Piece games for a while.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Feb 19, 2014
    9
    So I got Romance Dawn for 3ds.
    I find the reviews hilarious
    They only have "clips" followed by still caps to advance the story! No voice
    acting! I don't want to read and am to stupid to even figure out who is talking!

    It uses a JRPG turn based combat system. Sorry that is actually Western standards for all "real" rpgs. Goes back to Ultima. You let the computer then or now be in true real time it can make 100 billion commands to it's units in the time it takes you click a mouse.

    Don't like "Tactical turn based combat..." don't buy a tactical turn based combat game. We have dumbed down RPG's, got rid of exploring, choices, the ability to make our own self into a game where you made choices and the outcomes changed with them.

    Now you can level up gun and armor, have a premade self, can pick good and evil but nothing in between, and your choices like Mass Effect 3 are as such, you did good you killed reapers and died, you did bad you killed reapers and died, you screwed everyone and died.

    Buy the games you like, but don't buy a game then sit then and whine thinking it will become it. Romance Dawn isn't a puzzle game, a first person shooter, or a football game, It's Not Cooking Sanji, ER simulator with doctor Chopper, or Battlefield Ussop edition.

    So far, what it claimed to be...it is. And these games have grind. I'm even seeing some redone animation in the cut scenes, then Nami asks Luffy to help her at Arlong park, it's not the original or the Nami short story. (mostly evident she had no blood coming from her arm or a stabbing scene.)

    It's a fricking what? 200 meg maybe 300 meg game? That's half of a CD rom, 1/3rd a GIG which a DVD could go up to seven.

    Enjoy it for what it is. And honestly, I played the hell out of it since I got it and find it amusing.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2014
    7
    I have been playing this game for about 8 hours and i feel that the gameplay is pretty solid. The way the turn based system is handled is that you choose the attack button select your target and then press the buttons in a correct sequence to unleash your attacks. From the beginning of the game the sequences are primarily just pressing the A button on your 3DS but each character gets SP points when you complete a battle thus giving you the option to upgrade your combos, TP special moves, etc. My one gripe with the game is that the manga style cutscenes are pretty boring and drag on for so long it feels like you're kept from playing the game but if you have read the manga or watched the anime and up to date with it you won't be missing out if you chose to skip these cutscenes. I skip the cutscenes only because I'm up to date with one piece. If you're not a hardcore fan of one piece this is not the game for you making it a rating of 4. For you hardcore one piece fans this deserves a 7. My first review =3 Full Review »
  3. May 25, 2014
    4
    I buy THIS GAME BECAUSE I AM ONE PIECE FAN ..... I FINISH THE GAME BECAUSE I M ONE PIECE GAME ..........................I WOULD NOT STOP YOU FROM BUYING THIS GAME , BUT LOOK AT THE SCORE !!!! BUY THIS GAME IF YOU ARE ONE OF THE ONE PIECE'S FANS !!!!!!!!!! Full Review »