Paper Mario: Sticker Star 3DS

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 381 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Paper Mario 64 and Paper Mario The Thousandth Year Door will always be classics games, as they have expanded the mario universe by setting grand, deep adventures revolving around interactions with its inhabitants. Super Paper Mario is more so a completely different game than a direct sequel to these two games. Despite being a sequel nominally, Super Paper Mario features a completelyPaper Mario 64 and Paper Mario The Thousandth Year Door will always be classics games, as they have expanded the mario universe by setting grand, deep adventures revolving around interactions with its inhabitants. Super Paper Mario is more so a completely different game than a direct sequel to these two games. Despite being a sequel nominally, Super Paper Mario features a completely different gameplay style, with nearly as much depth as its prequels. However, Super Paper Mario fell short of matching the greatness of the first two Paper Mario games. Then there's Sticker Star. Sticker Star began in development as a conventional Paper Mario game in the style of the first two games, but Miyamoto insisted that the game be playable as a handheld. Although change is often good for sequels, for Paper Mario, this may not be the case. Sticker Star lacks depth of any sort. The story is.....big surprise: Bowser kidnaps peach..... and that's all there is to it. There are few interesting side characters, no party members, and little dialogue. These factors are what made the first three Paper Mario games so memorable. Rather than having story based gameplay with the inclusion of puzzles, Sticker Star consists solely of puzzles revolving around the newfound ability to "stickerize". This does make for some creative puzzles, but these puzzles alone do not justify this game being called a Paper Mario game. I am tempted to rate this game lower, because I am stubborn and disappointed that this game lacks the depth of the prequels, but I must admit that this game does succeed on some levels. The sticker battle system forces you to allocate your stickers appropriately. However, this is the only strategy involved in the whole game, and it is rather thin strategy. You will surely lose to a boss if you do not, by sheer chance, guess its weakness. There are over 60 possible "thing" stickers to choose from, and certain bosses can only be defeated with a particular one, and it is hard to guess which one it is, until you die several times and the game gives you a hint. To wrap this review up I'll conclude by summarizing the games pros and cons. A pro are that it once again attempts to keep the Paper Mario formula fresh by changing up the gameplay. A con is that is also gets rid of the characters, story, and atmosphere that made the other three entries in the series so great. Another pro is that, once you get used to the sticker system, collecting, and puzzles, the game is often pretty fun at times. A con however, is that the battle system is flawed, especially for boss battles, and there is little depth to anything in the game. However, this game's not all that bad, I just hope that the next Paper Mario game actually has a soul. Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    I was very disappointed by the gameplay concept. It was far too simple and that's not what I play paper Mario for. This is the weakest game I've played in what has always been a charming series. Hope they put more effort in the future
  3. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    Oh this game. This cute little broken game. I really tried to like it, I really did, but there is so many game breaking issues in it (from cheap bosses, confusing levels and 3D perspective gone wrong) that as soon as I tried warming up to it, i'd have to put it aside in frustration. It's really cute, charming and beautiful and I replayed from levels just to look at how amazing it reallyOh this game. This cute little broken game. I really tried to like it, I really did, but there is so many game breaking issues in it (from cheap bosses, confusing levels and 3D perspective gone wrong) that as soon as I tried warming up to it, i'd have to put it aside in frustration. It's really cute, charming and beautiful and I replayed from levels just to look at how amazing it really was. But the average gameplay and serious issues make it seem like it was never play tested. Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    6
    This is by far my least enjoyable Paper Mario game. The premise behind using a battle system that revolves around no leveling up or learning new abilities is a travesty for an awesome RPG series like Paper Mario. For the first couple hours, I liked using the stickers and thought it was a cool idea. Then I ran out of them and I literally couldn't attack or do anything. Talk about aThis is by far my least enjoyable Paper Mario game. The premise behind using a battle system that revolves around no leveling up or learning new abilities is a travesty for an awesome RPG series like Paper Mario. For the first couple hours, I liked using the stickers and thought it was a cool idea. Then I ran out of them and I literally couldn't attack or do anything. Talk about a buzzkill.....As my frustration mounted from this stupid sticker system, I would run away from enemy encounters to stave my stickers. That is pathetic, and a painful flaw in the game design.

    The story is funny, but I had to use a game guide to get through it. I do not know how this game is intended for kids based off how many times I got stuck. The lack of side quests too and the linearity really bothered me. Kristi is your only party member which is incredibly disappointing. Doesn't help too Kristi is kinda of a debbie-downer throughout the whole game.

    The graphics and sound are superb tho. I loved how vivid each environment looked and it really had the Paper Mario charm in the looks department. This game definitely disappointed me, but I still managed to have fun with it
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    This game isn't very good but its not bad. The sticker system could've worked, but making the basic attacks based off this was bad. Its confusing since they have a mix of level and open world layout that doesn't work because it requires to go astray from the linear path they chose, but it doesn't allow much freedom justifying it. The Humor and Graphics are still top notch, but this gameThis game isn't very good but its not bad. The sticker system could've worked, but making the basic attacks based off this was bad. Its confusing since they have a mix of level and open world layout that doesn't work because it requires to go astray from the linear path they chose, but it doesn't allow much freedom justifying it. The Humor and Graphics are still top notch, but this game would've been much better if it wasn't for the sticker system. Expand
  6. May 16, 2013
    5
    It should be a good game however, it has caused me to look at guides too much.
    It's baffling as what to do in places. A game should challenge you right? This one has puzzles that you can't logically figure out, you just wander about for an hour then give up and google the guide. Very poor. It's the first Paper Mario game I'm not going to bother completing due to the annoyance.
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    5
    Paper Mario Sticker Star is quite the mixed bag. It holds itself as a Paper Mario game, but in fact, it diverges from its roots a far bit. When you hear about what the game could have been, you can't help but be disappointed. It might be unfair to compare it to its predecessors, but there are many flaws in this game ignoring the fact that it deviates from the Paper Mario formula.
    I can't
    Paper Mario Sticker Star is quite the mixed bag. It holds itself as a Paper Mario game, but in fact, it diverges from its roots a far bit. When you hear about what the game could have been, you can't help but be disappointed. It might be unfair to compare it to its predecessors, but there are many flaws in this game ignoring the fact that it deviates from the Paper Mario formula.
    I can't deny that the game doesn't look gorgeous. One thing the game got right was its visuals; the game finally has its paper aesthetic realized to a great potential. However, there isn't much variety in the visuals and characters themselves. The environments mostly adhere to the world formula of the sidescrolling platformers: grasslands, dessert, etc, etc. It even uses a world map in the same vain as Super Mario World or Super Mario Bros 3. There are no unique characters or enemies. In fact, all the Toads are the same. The story is barebones and really just acts as bookends for the unfocused adventure. What's frustrating is that this art direction is to be blamed by Miyamoto who was so adamant for the developers to stick with the existing Mario characters without altering them.
    On that note, Miyamoto is also to blame for the change in gameplay. There are no companions, and the battle system uses stickers for attacks rather than a menu. Now, it's great that the game is trying something different, but in this case, it was not executed well at all. Battles in almost every case aside from boss battles are unnecessary. Unnecessary in the fact that stickers - which substitute for actions in previous games such as hammer attacks, jump attacks and healing items - are completely expendable. A sticker album is used to 'organise' these stickers on the touch screen, and I put these in air quotes as there really isn't any order in it. Additionally, regular battles provide no real reward besides coins (which you can use to buy stickers, but why would you when you can just find aplenty them in the overworld). The experience points model is completely scrapped in this. There is no incentive to battle.
    As an action platformer, the game design mostly focuses on puzzle solving with this new gimmick of finding real world things aptly called "things". You use these "things" to clear a path or stop the flow of water, for example by deducing with logic (or common sense) which thing to use. For example, there are cardboard bowling pins blocking the way, a bowling ball is needed. However, it's not quite intuitive in how we find or retrieve these said "things" which can drag the pacing of progression by quite a bit from back tracking and searching to no end for these "things". It's also worth mentioning that all this platforming will have the ocassional ecounter with an enemy.
    It is a shame that this is what became of Paper Mario for the 3DS. It could have been great fun, even with its new ideas. But these new gameplay mechanics were poorly implemented and many gameplay elements from previous entries were sacrificed.
    Expand
  8. May 28, 2013
    5
    This game is average in a series renowned for being some of the best ever created. The story is intriguing but nothing inspired and the rpg elements are abused to put it lightly. I never thought i would live to see the day where your most basic attack can become unavailable in a paper Mario game. if stickers had more than one use than the game might be better but in the end it feels likeThis game is average in a series renowned for being some of the best ever created. The story is intriguing but nothing inspired and the rpg elements are abused to put it lightly. I never thought i would live to see the day where your most basic attack can become unavailable in a paper Mario game. if stickers had more than one use than the game might be better but in the end it feels like you are wasting more uses than gaining by entering into the lackluster combat. in the end the game is not terrible but is not what the paper Mario series deserves Expand
  9. Feb 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really don't know what to say about this game. This game can hardly even be called an RPG. The only "RPG" about it is that you meet enemies and engage combat with them in a turn-based battle. You get no experience points and when you run away from battle, the enemy disappears on the map like you actually defeated it. There is also no real point to combat other than getting coins, but those are pretty much only spent on the overpowered Things that you need to get in order to make Thing Stickers that you sometimes have to apply to the real world using your annoying sticker fairy partner's "paperize" ability. Sure, maybe you will need to buy a few mushrooms here and there but you can actually get all of these things EVERYWHERE in every level. The battles against a wave of enemies can get extremely annoying because you can't actually choose which enemy you are attacking: you will always attack the first one in the row. You need to use the Battle Spinner in order to attack enemies in the second row too, and it's extremely annoying. Bosses are unbalanced and can pretty much only be defeated by Thing Stickers. Some of them have certain weaknesses but these are never stated unless you've died about three times for not knowing something that was never hinted to. At a certain point I started to avoid combat altogether because I didn't want to waste the stickers I actually needed and either traverse previous levels to get some stickers again or return to Decalburg a billion of times in order restock on stickers(This may seem like it condradicts my previous statement but please keep in mind that this is still not a good thing no matter how you look at it.) Puzzles in the real world never have any real hints either: at a certain point in the game you have to freeze lava by pasting a certain Thing in the background. This could be a handful of Things: Shaved Ice, AIr Conditioner, Fan, etc. So yeah, it turned out to be the Air Conditioner but I only discovered that after failing numerous times with the other things it could possibly have been. There's too much trial and error like this throughout the whole game. But even with all these horrifying flaws, the game can still be fun. I had fun with the game and blasted through it quickly, but only because I had(with GameXplain's advice) watched some playthroughs a few weeks before it was released in Europe. I also have to praise the graphics: they look amazing. It's like the entire game was handcrafted and handdrawn by some sort of amazing artist: I had a lot of fun just watching the environment alone, ESPECIALLY World 4 and 5. But even then the environment is nothing that you won't find in the countless New Super Mario Bros. games: it's exactly those kind of worlds. Anyways, short summary: they could have done WAY better on pretty much everything in this game, but regardless of that it's still pretty fun and I reccommend it if you liked the previous Paper Mario games. Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2013
    5
    This game is bad, especially for a paper Mario title. This a bare bones RPG title, no level up system which makes battles annoying, the only use of coins is to buy stickers to waste on enemys that you don't really need to kill anyways hence the NEED of a level up system, a bad story, the fact I cant go through the game without going online consistenty, and pointless combat, deteriorateThis game is bad, especially for a paper Mario title. This a bare bones RPG title, no level up system which makes battles annoying, the only use of coins is to buy stickers to waste on enemys that you don't really need to kill anyways hence the NEED of a level up system, a bad story, the fact I cant go through the game without going online consistenty, and pointless combat, deteriorate what is great combat and exploration Expand
  11. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is the first Paper Mario RPG game to appear on a portable game console. Compared to its prequels "Paper Mario" for the Nintendo 64 and "Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door" on the Nintendo Gamecube, this game is much smaller in scope and highly stripped down. Although the Paper Mario series is notably known for having a big emphasis on its story, in Sticker Star,Paper Mario: Sticker Star is the first Paper Mario RPG game to appear on a portable game console. Compared to its prequels "Paper Mario" for the Nintendo 64 and "Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door" on the Nintendo Gamecube, this game is much smaller in scope and highly stripped down. Although the Paper Mario series is notably known for having a big emphasis on its story, in Sticker Star, this is not the case. King Bowser Koopa causes chaos and captures the princess Peach Toadstool, its up to the famous "Jumpman" himself Mario to solve the problems caused by Bowser and save the princess, that pretty much about it, no major plot twists and a lack of character development for most of the characters, friends and enemies alike (Especially Bowser, who although is the main villain, doesn't utter a single line of dialogue in the whole game). The RPG game mechanics are incredibly stripped down from the other RPG enteries in the series, since you can't gain experience or level up through battling at all, the only real point in battling is to get more money, gather unique "enemy attack" stickers if you don't like the more traditional ones available to you and some specific mandatory ones that are required to progress the plot such as cutscene battles, mini-bosses and main bosses. Instead of Badges, Items and Regular Attacks (Hammer & Jump) from the prequels, almost all of your possible actions (attacking, healing, countering, special abilities, ect.) are determined by the stickers you currently have in your inventory, if you don't have a specific kind of sticker, you can't do that action, the only actions that don't require utilizing stickers is attempting to run from battles, attempting a First Strike (hitting an enemy on the overworld before battle begins) and blocking attacks. There are many puzzles and situations throughout the game and although some can be ridiculously easy to figure out, there are a select few in which the solutions are extremely vague. These disrupt the game's flow since your helper Kersti usually doesn't give useful advice thus leading to trial and error to find a solution. The only ways to upgrade your character is to gather Maximum HP upgrades by finding secret rooms, completing levels in a specific way or by doing side-quests. The Music is quite the joy to listen to and the writing in the game, although as rather limited as it is, is still rather humorous and amusing. The game is still fun overall, although it is pretty short and has some questionable design choices, its a pretty good game. Expand
  12. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    The things sticker puzzles are annoying, there's too little movement in the field, the story is boring and why are there only toads and old Mario enemies? Miyamoto, I like the sticker battle system and the paperising is a great idea (music and graphics are awesome too), but next time let Intelligent Systems just do their job alone. It's also far too short. However, I still liked it.The things sticker puzzles are annoying, there's too little movement in the field, the story is boring and why are there only toads and old Mario enemies? Miyamoto, I like the sticker battle system and the paperising is a great idea (music and graphics are awesome too), but next time let Intelligent Systems just do their job alone. It's also far too short. However, I still liked it. Sticker Star still has some charm and there are a lot of secrets and awesome boss fights. The battle system isn't perfect (were's my EXP and why can't I choose which enemiy I want to attack?) but it's actually a lot of fun. I give it a 7; good, but it could have been much better! Expand
  13. Dec 14, 2013
    6
    I have been a Paper Mario Fan since the first one on the 64, but this was honestly somewhat of a disappointment. Its like they sucked almost all the rpg elements out of the game. It's not horrible, but just too different from the others
  14. Feb 17, 2014
    7
    I like how it is an Turn based RPG again. For a hand held it was ok. I didn't really like the sticker thing, hopefully soon paper mario will return to the console(s) and stay more true to its original gamer audience paper mario on N64 or thousand year door.
  15. Jul 7, 2015
    7
    I guess I can see what the fan base makes it out to be, its simply a slimmed down Paper Mario spin off with great creativite sticker visuals and a lot of missing mechanics from past games. However, backtracking in certain objectives is troubling and can cause frustration at times, besides that it has a solid story and pretty neat sticker elements during battles, but that's the only useI guess I can see what the fan base makes it out to be, its simply a slimmed down Paper Mario spin off with great creativite sticker visuals and a lot of missing mechanics from past games. However, backtracking in certain objectives is troubling and can cause frustration at times, besides that it has a solid story and pretty neat sticker elements during battles, but that's the only use during combat. Overall the game may not be console quality, but is done good enough for new comers to the Paper Mario games, but really its more of a slimmed down paper mario that is only worth it for its graphics, minor uses with the stickers and humor.
    Story: 8.3 Still has a bit of its humor left
    Game Play: Solid 9.2 Nice to control sticker peeling fun
    Fighting Mechanics: 6.5 Fairly Simplistic sticker usage limitation
    RPG Elements: 5.5 Very Slimmed Down Compared To Other PM Games
    Expand
  16. Nov 25, 2012
    7
    A wonderful and yet frustrating game. Many moments of joy quickly give way to frustration as you wander the world looking for the right sticker or clue. Combat is fun and quick, but you can also end up locked in prolonged combat if you don't have the right attacks. It's surprising to see such a polarizing game from Nintendo, especially when they are the ones who perfected the making gamesA wonderful and yet frustrating game. Many moments of joy quickly give way to frustration as you wander the world looking for the right sticker or clue. Combat is fun and quick, but you can also end up locked in prolonged combat if you don't have the right attacks. It's surprising to see such a polarizing game from Nintendo, especially when they are the ones who perfected the making games that appeals to everyone. Expand
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    6
    Meh. I really don't care for the new style. There are a ton of problems I have with this game and I'm just into the second level. I'll limit it to my three biggest gripes with this game. First, the gameplay makes you conserve your stickers for more powerful enemies which isn't fun at ALL. Second, the story. It's just SO boring. Just Bowser causing trouble again. But honestly my biggestMeh. I really don't care for the new style. There are a ton of problems I have with this game and I'm just into the second level. I'll limit it to my three biggest gripes with this game. First, the gameplay makes you conserve your stickers for more powerful enemies which isn't fun at ALL. Second, the story. It's just SO boring. Just Bowser causing trouble again. But honestly my biggest gripe comes with how the art style is just overcompensating for the title "Paper Mario". Why? This wasn't a problem, even with the first game, why now? It's a decent game and while it isn't going to be everyone's cup of tea, I say it's worth a try. Expand
  18. Dec 12, 2012
    6
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is a game that I wanted to love, and my 3ds was desperately waiting for a great RPG. This, however, is not that game. The humor, visuals, and music are all wonderful.. the only problem, is the main concept. There is very little RPG elements left in this game. Stickers do a defined damage, there are no stats, no leveling up.. no experience points. You arePaper Mario: Sticker Star is a game that I wanted to love, and my 3ds was desperately waiting for a great RPG. This, however, is not that game. The humor, visuals, and music are all wonderful.. the only problem, is the main concept. There is very little RPG elements left in this game. Stickers do a defined damage, there are no stats, no leveling up.. no experience points. You are collecting stickers, getting some money for beating baddies... so that you can buy a few more stickers. Hopefully being able to buy more than you used in the battle. It's sad how pointless battles are in this game. Strategy is limited, skill is almost a non-factor.. Those things that made the GC title (The Thousand Year Door) shine are gone. WIll the ever return? Is this the direction of the portable title alone? Will this style infect console Paper Mario titles? I can only hope this doesn't do well sales-wise.. which is sad because I'm a huge fan of Nintendo, and Paper Mario... this game was a let down for me.

    Rent it, but it used. Don't support this title. It's a disgrace to the other great PM games.. :(
    Expand
  19. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    I was disappointed with the newest entry to this series. Most of the good parts an RPG are not present. You don't level up, so when you complete a battle, it is only for coins (if you are perfect in the battle). You don't have a partner, or partners, like in all other RPGs. At least the stickers somewhat compensate this though. One part of RPG that should have definitely been kept out wasI was disappointed with the newest entry to this series. Most of the good parts an RPG are not present. You don't level up, so when you complete a battle, it is only for coins (if you are perfect in the battle). You don't have a partner, or partners, like in all other RPGs. At least the stickers somewhat compensate this though. One part of RPG that should have definitely been kept out was the world map system, which was quite out of tune to the other paper Mario games. The score is relatively high because the humour is still present in the game. Overall 7.1/10 Expand
  20. Jan 12, 2014
    7
    It was unfortunate that the formula was really screwed up on for this Paper Mario Game...as my favorite series of all time, I wasn't happy about this game. Fortunately, the ok battle system and good dialogue+places can secure this game a solid 7. I will say that I am disappointed with this game though...especially the lack of rpg elements and a world map

    Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10
    It was unfortunate that the formula was really screwed up on for this Paper Mario Game...as my favorite series of all time, I wasn't happy about this game. Fortunately, the ok battle system and good dialogue+places can secure this game a solid 7. I will say that I am disappointed with this game though...especially the lack of rpg elements and a world map

    Gameplay: 8/10
    Story: 7/10
    Music: 9.5/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Length: 7/10
    Overall: 7.5/10
    Expand
  21. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Sticker system makes battling totally pointless. I was able to stay and complete the game though out of pure love of the paper mario series. Its too bad they removed the RPG elements and dumbed the game down to making battling such a chore.
  22. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    This game follows a fairly typical Mario storyline and restores the style of gameplay from the first two Paper Mario outings thankfully. The writing is witty and enjoyable, and I was laughing out loud at several points, sometimes to the concern of my roommates.

    In this game, the structure morphs to something more similar to Super Mario Bros. 3 or Super Mario World, having you complete
    This game follows a fairly typical Mario storyline and restores the style of gameplay from the first two Paper Mario outings thankfully. The writing is witty and enjoyable, and I was laughing out loud at several points, sometimes to the concern of my roommates.

    In this game, the structure morphs to something more similar to Super Mario Bros. 3 or Super Mario World, having you complete a stage so you can go to the next stage along the path. There are several points where it diverges and several hidden secrets. Sometimes, you must go to another one of the worlds areas before you can advance in another. This prevents the game from going stale from being too linear, but it goes to the opposite problem of forcing you to retread certain areas too often. Not a huge problem, but enough to be a smudge in the otherwise enjoyable structure.

    Unlike previous Paper Mario games, the turn-based system is now almost entirely dependent on stickers. If you have no stickers, you better hope you can run. As a result, you make sure that you're stocked up and ready to take on the next foe. You also end up peeling all the stickers off the walls that you can find. You can choose to donate them to a museum for the reward of some great humor, but otherwise, you'll likely be very stingy with your stickers, not wanting to use them.

    This is where the games biggest flaw rears it's head. The boss battles are ridiculous. Sometimes they force you to use a special sticker to defeat them. These stickers can either be found in one place or brought for a ridiculous price, and you can only have one. This forces you to retread more or gouge your pockets empty to get what you need. These stickers hardly seem special either because they're based on appliances or little knick-knacks. Knowing what to use is very vague and up to trial and error if you don't want to use the internet as a resource. Then there's the final battle, which will require several of these special stickers. This final battle is frustrating as a result, and unfortunately, it usually freezes when I try to play through it. I put this game down for a month as a result.

    It's sad to see that the most charming elements of removing all these stickers and using them also becomes the worst elements of the game. Aside from the special stickers, and the freezing up that occurs during the final battle (don't use the bowling ball), this game is very enjoyable.
    Expand
  23. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    An overall OK game. It has nice graphics and a neat overall design. I really liked the boss fights and small riddles in the game. You will play it quite long if you want to find everything. Sadly there is not a single element like character development or level-ups. You just get stronger by collecting better stickers which are used to attack or by finding some max health upgrades. IAn overall OK game. It has nice graphics and a neat overall design. I really liked the boss fights and small riddles in the game. You will play it quite long if you want to find everything. Sadly there is not a single element like character development or level-ups. You just get stronger by collecting better stickers which are used to attack or by finding some max health upgrades. I expected more RPGish gameplay but the game is still good. Just not what I expected it to be Expand
  24. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    Like many other Paper Mario fans, this game was a bit disappointing to me, but for some reason I kind of knew that Nintendo was not just going to go straight back to the amazing gameplay of Paper Mario 1 & 2. I mean the trailers made the game look very promising to the point where I was excited, but I do think that unfortunately this just went a totally different direction. However enoughLike many other Paper Mario fans, this game was a bit disappointing to me, but for some reason I kind of knew that Nintendo was not just going to go straight back to the amazing gameplay of Paper Mario 1 & 2. I mean the trailers made the game look very promising to the point where I was excited, but I do think that unfortunately this just went a totally different direction. However enough of this kind of talk for this is a game that I actually do like, I like the atmosphere and gameplay fairly well. I did think the sticker concept was neat but nothing special. There were some witty dialogue that is expected for a Paper Mario game and some alright characters. Also, the music; some people have actually stated that they really like the music, however to me it seemed like a hit or miss. Now lets talk about my two biggest problems in this game. First off, the story; if this is a Paper Mario game it should have a nice good story, but it had some very cliche elements in it that were annoying and of course another reuse of the generic "Bowser kidnaps Peach" which was annoying enough, but I think it was even worse because Bowser never talks which is a shame since he had some great witty dialogue in some of the previous games. However the biggest flaw in this game is the battles, for the battles in this game give you absolutely no experience, the only thing you get in battles is either more stickers or more coins, and all the stickers can be used for is just for more battles and what do the coins do, just buy more stickers, so besides battling bosses, it felt too redundant. Overall this game was not terrible, just something that I only enjoyed a little bit. For there were so many awesome aspects of the Paper Mario series I like that even Super Paper Mario had, that were not present in this game leaving me displeased. However I still had fun when I could ignore the flaws and I guess it nothing that I would consider all that bad so I will only slightly recommend this game. Expand
  25. Dec 30, 2014
    5
    The game is full of charm and the visuals are absolutely beautiful, but the "use stickers to attack" gameplay lacks any kind of depth, making this game feel very stale and not as fun as it could be if it had the RPG elements of the previous games.
  26. Nov 8, 2015
    7
    It's a good game, but not a great RPG.
    In Paper Mario: Sticker Star, you don't level up or gain new moves. You find stickers to use in battle, so the game is more about managing resources rather than grinding for levels. There's no reward for battling other than coins, and the only thing you spend coins on are more stickers. The game is pretty easy, I beat it in only a week, but the
    It's a good game, but not a great RPG.
    In Paper Mario: Sticker Star, you don't level up or gain new moves. You find stickers to use in battle, so the game is more about managing resources rather than grinding for levels. There's no reward for battling other than coins, and the only thing you spend coins on are more stickers. The game is pretty easy, I beat it in only a week, but the boss battles are tough, and cause massive spikes in difficulty. But the game is still good; the visuals are nice, it has some good ideas to it, and it's very fun to play. It has some lost RPG elements, but it's still fun to play, and it shouldn't be overlooked.

    Paper Mario: Sticker Star gets a 7/10
    Expand
  27. Nov 14, 2012
    7
    I honestly feel that the gameplay is too different, throwing the familiar battle system out of the window for this sticker gimmick. The story on the other hand is not different enough. Someone familiar with the Mario RPG's would know that they usually have really creative setups and villains that become instant fan favourites such as Fawful and Dimentio. None of that here. Just BowserI honestly feel that the gameplay is too different, throwing the familiar battle system out of the window for this sticker gimmick. The story on the other hand is not different enough. Someone familiar with the Mario RPG's would know that they usually have really creative setups and villains that become instant fan favourites such as Fawful and Dimentio. None of that here. Just Bowser kidnapping Peach. Same old. Pity, but it's a perfectly functional game so my personal gripes aside, it's still a solid game, as to expect from Mario. Expand
  28. Dec 28, 2012
    5
    Paper Mario; The series that has had a firm grip over the past years as to what an engaging, and humorous Nintendo RPG should be like. Until now. It would be an overstatement to say that this game was just 'okay'. To be honest, I didn't enjoy this game much at all. Every now and again I find myself going back to it, when I feel as though there is nothing else to play. The sticker idea wasPaper Mario; The series that has had a firm grip over the past years as to what an engaging, and humorous Nintendo RPG should be like. Until now. It would be an overstatement to say that this game was just 'okay'. To be honest, I didn't enjoy this game much at all. Every now and again I find myself going back to it, when I feel as though there is nothing else to play. The sticker idea was unique, I'll give it that, but the fact that I couldn't level Mario up, was absolutely atrocious. It took away from the point of even jumping on enemies, which in most Mario games, is one of the best things to do. There was no partners either. Having to go back and forth between levels that I've already played was tedious. The 'puzzles' were tedious. Basically everything about this game, was tedious. I enjoy the graphics that Paper Mario has to offer, but after playing Paper Mario 64, or playing Paper Mario : The Thousand Year Door, this one does not live up to its predecessors. Too much change, is not always a good thing. For those who are new to the series, I recommend only picking this up if you absolutely are desperate for a Mario game on the 3DS and have played - and beaten - the others. Expand
  29. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    If you loved paper mario:the thousand year door and think its an amazing game, and you're like "this game is its sequel I'm expecting so much", a friendly advice: forget it, this game is average at best unfortunately. No new characters other than Kersti,. Bowser the awsome villain doesn't say anything, and the changes in this game are too great. Don't get me wrong, changes aren't bad, butIf you loved paper mario:the thousand year door and think its an amazing game, and you're like "this game is its sequel I'm expecting so much", a friendly advice: forget it, this game is average at best unfortunately. No new characters other than Kersti,. Bowser the awsome villain doesn't say anything, and the changes in this game are too great. Don't get me wrong, changes aren't bad, but taking everything that was good in paper mario(partners, leveling, badges, playable characters etc) and replacing them with just stickers is like paying 10 bucks just to receive 2. I mean, just go to Wiki once and see differences between this game and its previous titles, and you'll get a WHOLE lot of "this is the first game in the series NOT to have (that)".The areas are too simple- snow area, desert, forest, unlike the usually unique places of previous paper mario games. One thing that i'd love to say is good but unfortunately didn't turn out that well is that this game is based on puzzles a lot more than other mario rpg's which would be a good thing, but it is very likely that you'll miss whatever you need to solve the puzzle and you'll have to backtrack to get it., and there are tons of stages. Sometimes the solutions don't make sense either. It is very likely that you'll be frustrated/stuck here and there:p The battle system is done entirely by stickers. No stickers=can't attack. At all. The battles feel and are pretty much unrewarding as you have no experience points/level. When you win you get coins, which you use to get stickers, but in order to win you have to use stickers, which is kinda..you know. But in the end they did revert back to turn based battle system-the only good change to the game imo. Although I did list tons of negative aspects compared to positive ones, this is by no means a bad game, but is far inferior to other mario rpg's. Expand
  30. Jun 24, 2013
    7
    This is a bare-bones Mario game that only little kids will enjoy this experience, and here is why.
    Paper Mario is a deep and profound experience to many, with its clever sense of humor, charming graphics, enlightening visuals, and of course that "X" Factor that has seemed to intoxicate many gamers to create an enchanting bridge between RPG's and the beloved Super Mario Franchise.
    Having
    This is a bare-bones Mario game that only little kids will enjoy this experience, and here is why.
    Paper Mario is a deep and profound experience to many, with its clever sense of humor, charming graphics, enlightening visuals, and of course that "X" Factor that has seemed to intoxicate many gamers to create an enchanting bridge between RPG's and the beloved Super Mario Franchise.
    Having said that, it breaks my heart to say that this game is not the Paper Mario we have come to love and adore. The music is still wonderful, the comedy is subtle and cute, and the story is the perfect dualism of shallow and expansive that we have all come to enjoy so much.
    So what could be the problem? The game is not even an RPG in comparison to its predecessors. The game doesn't even give you a reward for entering battles, In fact quite the opposite, battles become a burden due to the using up of each sticker. Also meaning that you can go through the entire game only fighting the necessary battles and you would end up fine. Next is the severe lack companions, I understand You have Princess Rosalina's Crown the whole game and little characters every now and again like wiggler, but that's nothing compared to the amazing characters provided in the last game. Such as the bad boy Yoshi trying to be the best fighter, or the constantly injured koopa. It makes me miss Goombella the know it all and Vivian the singer and they were annoying.
    Before I rant here, let me just say that this game is quite obviously not made for the demographic it has typically appealed to, its for the kiddies. This is a game that has PLENTY to adore on the outside, but fundamentally has none of the core gameplay mechanics that has indoctrinated and cultivated the adoring fans it has today.
    If it were any other game i would give it a 6, but the Paper Mario coattails have brought it up one more number.

    (By the way its de-LAWN-o-siz-ms)
    Collapse
  31. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    A decent game, but would go with paper mario the thousand year door a thousand times over, no pun intended. It just lacks a good story like the two first paper marios.
  32. Dec 12, 2015
    5
    As a long time fan of Paper Mario, I was truly excited for a handheld installment. Unfortunately, I don't feel this game lives up to the reputation of the past three in the series. While it has a few charms here and there, they are mostly overshadowed by its flaws. Battles are fun when you first start, but the lack of reward you get for battling makes them more pointless as you go along.As a long time fan of Paper Mario, I was truly excited for a handheld installment. Unfortunately, I don't feel this game lives up to the reputation of the past three in the series. While it has a few charms here and there, they are mostly overshadowed by its flaws. Battles are fun when you first start, but the lack of reward you get for battling makes them more pointless as you go along. The sticker concept is an interesting idea, but the stickers themselves had many flaws, such as many being over powered and unnecessary to use against almost any enemy. The boss battles were either tough as nails or complete pushovers depending on if you had the right stickers to use. I can say that many of the puzzles the game had to offer were fairly clever and really did get you thinking on which sticker you needed to solve it, Lastly, the lack of a story and creative Paper Mario staples made it feel like I was playing a main game rather than a Paper Mario game. All in all, I'd highly recommend playing the first three games before going to this one. Expand
  33. Jan 13, 2016
    7
    In my opinion, this is the most underrated Mario game out there. People constantly talk about how this game is terrible because it isn't like the first two Paper Mario games, but that doesn't make the game bad. Super Paper Mario is by far my favorite Paper Mario game, due to how creative, clever, and overall fun it was. Sticker Star has some unique ideas, but there are some notable flawsIn my opinion, this is the most underrated Mario game out there. People constantly talk about how this game is terrible because it isn't like the first two Paper Mario games, but that doesn't make the game bad. Super Paper Mario is by far my favorite Paper Mario game, due to how creative, clever, and overall fun it was. Sticker Star has some unique ideas, but there are some notable flaws that it has.

    Essentially, Sticker Star has a lot in common with the original Paper Mario games in that you have platforming in a free-roam environment, and the return of turn-based combat. The combat allows Mario to pull off attacks, use healing items, and all sorts of unique things depending on the stickers he has equipped. You don't have stickers, you can't battle-it's as simple as that. Experimenting with all kinds of stickers is a lot of fun, and you can still block to reduce damage taken from attacks. However, what I find flawed here is the complete lack of leveling up or experience. This means that Mario never gets stronger, except for the fact that some stickers are more powerful than others. This gets a bit old after a while, and it makes the bosses feel like they go on way too long.

    Another point I find both good and bad about the game is the story. It's incredibly simple, especially compared to the other Paper Mario games. It's still about as funny and charming as ever, but don't expect the darkness of Thousand-Year Door or the emotional characters of Super Paper Mario.

    The game's strongest point is how well the paper gimmick is used. So many amusing gags, puzzles, and the stickers in general prove this. Sticker Star may have its flaws, and it may be very confusing at times, but it's still very enjoyable overall. For that, I give it a 7/10.
    Expand
  34. Mar 14, 2016
    6
    It's a good game, but sadly it's not a Paper Mario game.
    The graphics are great, that's all i have to say that is good about it. While this game needs some strategy while using stickers to defeat bosses, the sticker system is not good, in Paper Mario you can jump and use a hammer without any costs, and use the special attacks with the Hammer/Jump costing you FP, but now everything has a
    It's a good game, but sadly it's not a Paper Mario game.
    The graphics are great, that's all i have to say that is good about it. While this game needs some strategy while using stickers to defeat bosses, the sticker system is not good, in Paper Mario you can jump and use a hammer without any costs, and use the special attacks with the Hammer/Jump costing you FP, but now everything has a cost, stickers. This system is far from being the best, it's good, but it's a betrayal for Paper Mario fans, but that's not the problem.
    The huge letdown this game has is lack of charm, this game is good on it's own, but the charm Paper Mario had is not there. Where are the original characters (aside from Kersti)? Where is the new Goomba partner? Where's the new Koopa partner? Where's the new Bomb partner? Even Super Paper Mario had these, but now everything we have is Toads, and there's no one behind Mario, it's just him and his stupid stickers. The great story, where is it? Why is everything based on a gimmick (stickers)?
    I actually remember when this game was announced back in 2010, Mario had a chomp partner (something we never had), he was useful in both battles and in the overworld. It was something that made me excited when i was 9 years old. But sadly, you made this game a excuse of a game, i mean, how the heck can you make a game destined to be great be a excuse? It WAS going to be great, it HAD a partner system which would qualify this game as a Paper Mario game, but then you removed the new partner system, and basically turned it into Super Mario 3D land, with unoriginal worlds and characters. I remember a lot of Toads which were original in the Paper Mario and Paper Mario TTYD, but then you made all of them silly Toads, without diversity. There's not even Enemies NPCS or at least not those who where partners or lived on a village. And the battles are almost pointless, you can earn coins to buy new stickers, but there's no leveling up, something that made Paper Mario great. Well, that's all i have to say.

    Intelligent Systems, please add at least ONE thing that was great on Paper Mario, all i want are Partners, no, not a new Kersti please, at least 7-9 partners, i beg you. I'm actually fine with a system like Sticker Star's, but all i want is someone behind me, someone to help me, someone to make the game more challenging, that's all i want.

    I would say this is my 4th favorite Paper Mario game, but it's not even one, it's just a Super Mario 3D Land copy with a Mario made of paper on it.
    Expand
  35. Sep 24, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion, this first handheld Paper Mario isn't strictly a "bad" game; it's just poor in comparison to previous entries in the series. Where past games had a vast array of varied humorous and unique characters, this one mostly uses creatures from standard Mario games, which weakens its value in my opinion. In addition, battle partners are gone, with your only companion for the majority of the game being Kersti; a character that sometimes makes some funny lines but doesn't actually directly attack enemies herself, instead providing the occasional hint on what Mario should do next in his adventure. Speaking about the storyline, that is another element that for me, fell short of the standards set by prior entries; instead of a new enemy trying to destroy the world, you've instead got the generic "Bowser causing chaos" plot. In addition, after Super Paper Mario's RPG/platforming hybrid, Paper Mario: Sticker Star sort of returns to the RPG style; I say sort of because levelling-up and set attacks are gone. Instead, you'll need to collect stickers scattered around the world which are used as your one-use methods of attack, each sticker having different properties. I found this method not quite as fun as past entries, as if you have no stickers, you're left with no means of attacking. Also, due to a lack of levelling-up, attacking non-boss enemies is rather pointless in this game. Overall, this is an okay game, but when compared to other Paper Mario games, Sticker Star is immensely disappointing. Expand
  36. Nov 10, 2016
    5
    [Re-edited on November 11th, 2016] People, hate on Sticker Star all you want, but don't hate on it being a normal game, hate on it being a Paper Mario game. If you take Sticker Star as its own self, you can make a great game out of it. Unfortunately, this game screwed many things with the franchise itself yet if they're all taken to different media like a movie or another video game, they[Re-edited on November 11th, 2016] People, hate on Sticker Star all you want, but don't hate on it being a normal game, hate on it being a Paper Mario game. If you take Sticker Star as its own self, you can make a great game out of it. Unfortunately, this game screwed many things with the franchise itself yet if they're all taken to different media like a movie or another video game, they can be great things. This game behaves a lot and builds a relationship with the main series. This caused a few things wrong.

    The entire Paper Mario franchise builds up in eight different chapters of progressing. Sticker Star took it down to six and worse, it's not even chapters, it's worlds. What is this? A Super Mario game or something? It says Paper Mario on it, not Super Mario. Please get it right. Bowser does not say a single word. Literally, not even a single letter. Not even a dialog box. Alright, we get that you're trying to make it like a platformer more than a RPG, but come on, this is a RPG. You must respect its genre and it's a must. No denies and counters. In the Paper Mario franchise, Mario is the silent one. Make it that way.

    Sticker Star does have a story, but it's clichéd and predictable from the start. Mentions of previous Paper Mario characters are featured in this game, but there are no new Paper Mario characters in this game or even returning ones, except for Kersti, which ironically doesn't sound original whatsoever. And whatever you do, get at least some fighting stickers or you're already prepared for a game over. No, you cannot level up either. It's impossible to determine what level Mario is in this game.

    The music (I'm looking at you, Supreme Sparkling King; Bowser Battle) is great which is quite ironic to say, but most of them doesn't even fit their respective scenarios. How am I going to fight Bowser for the final battle with some cheesy running music and not some menacing feeling like in the first three games? At least Shadow Queen and Super Dimentio had better final battle themes. Bowser even had one of the most menacing one in the series and ironically, he also have the least menacing one in the series. I can make most of the music fit onto YouTube videos and you could just pretend they didn't even come from this game. If you have read my Ghostbusters (2016) review, I have compared this game to that movie with a note of a reason. They both screwed their beloved franchises loved by many people, except Sticker Star is better at just being a good game than the reboot I would not love to call Ghostbusters.

    Onward, character design is very generic. It just rehashes previous Mario characters from already-existing Mario games. I've heard of this phrase before and it describes what this game needs. "Get it right and make it that way. Leave it alone."

    Sticker Star is like a near 8/10 if you just make it a game itself, a 5/10 if you make it an RPG, but when you put it onto the Paper Mario series, you disappoint many people, 2/10. I can now see where people are getting the 'Paper Mario 3D Land' title thing from. November 11th is Veterans Day, but what does Veterans Day have to do with the topic anyways? Sticker Star is released on the same day. This Veterans Day, don't think bad, think about veterans... and then you can flame Sticker Star on it being a Paper Mario installment afterwards.
    Expand
  37. Sep 27, 2016
    5
    This game is bad, but not as absolutely awful as some have suggested.
    The main bad thing about it is that it ditches some of the basic elements of an RPG, while still pretending to be one. I actually quite liked the gimmick of using stickers in battle, and having a certain amount of consumable attacks. However, the sticker interface is clunky and not user-friendly; it can take ages to
    This game is bad, but not as absolutely awful as some have suggested.
    The main bad thing about it is that it ditches some of the basic elements of an RPG, while still pretending to be one. I actually quite liked the gimmick of using stickers in battle, and having a certain amount of consumable attacks. However, the sticker interface is clunky and not user-friendly; it can take ages to find the stickers you want to use and sometimes you might find you don't even have the ones you've been looking for for ages. A menu would have been better. Another concern about battles is the fact that you no longer gain EXP at the end of a battle, which means that there is absolutely no incentive to play battles at all unless they are unavoidable. The bosses are quite fun but very easy with the right stickers available and sometimes impossible without them.
    Also, the areas are more bland, and lack the original characters that made the first 2 PM games so great, in fact every character is called 'A Toad'. It really wouldn't have been hard to at least give them names or different colored spots, or have female toads. The fact that you are going through a linear level instead of looking around areas to complete quests makes it boring as well.
    I mean, it's still an entertaining game. There are small amounts of humor and a few more interesting areas, including a roller coaster queue and a quiz show. The soundtrack is average, and the graphics look good in 3D.
    You can find fun in this game. But if you want a game similar to the first 2 Paper Mario games, prepare to be extremely disappointed.

    Rating: 5.9
    Expand
  38. Aug 30, 2016
    7
    The things I like from the game is the paper environment for Mario, and the decent plot, but as everyone says (and I agree with them), the game lacks original characters. I mean, there's Kerstie, but she is the only original character. Another thing that I didn't like is the worlds. This is Paper Mario, not Super Mario Bros., and the last thing the game can improve on is the combatThe things I like from the game is the paper environment for Mario, and the decent plot, but as everyone says (and I agree with them), the game lacks original characters. I mean, there's Kerstie, but she is the only original character. Another thing that I didn't like is the worlds. This is Paper Mario, not Super Mario Bros., and the last thing the game can improve on is the combat systtem. Sure, the thing that this game is focused on is stickers, but come on! If you want to try it out, go ahead I'm okay with it, but I didn't enjoy this game as much as I did with Super Paper Mario Expand
  39. Jun 16, 2016
    6
    There are mnay things wrong, so I can not name them all.
    1. Dumbed down battle system
    2. No story
    3. Bowser is final boss
    4. Confusing puzzles
    5. You need a certain sticker to beat a boss so you need to back track finding it, and once you beat it you feel no acomplishment
    And so on...
  40. Jul 21, 2016
    6
    This is not a bad game but is very disappointing ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggg I added a bunch of gas to make the review 150 characters long
  41. Jun 24, 2013
    0
    This is a bare-bones Mario game that only little kids will enjoy this experience, and here is why.
    Paper Mario is a deep and profound experience to many, with its clever sense of humor, charming graphics, enlightening visuals, and of course that "X" Factor that has seemed to intoxicate many gamers to create an enchanting bridge between RPG's and the beloved Super Mario Franchise.
    Having
    This is a bare-bones Mario game that only little kids will enjoy this experience, and here is why.
    Paper Mario is a deep and profound experience to many, with its clever sense of humor, charming graphics, enlightening visuals, and of course that "X" Factor that has seemed to intoxicate many gamers to create an enchanting bridge between RPG's and the beloved Super Mario Franchise.
    Having said that, it breaks my heart to say that this game is not the Paper Mario we have come to love and adore. The music is still wonderful, the comedy is subtle and cute, and the story is the perfect dualism of shallow and expansive that we have all come to enjoy so much.
    So what could be the problem? The game is not even an RPG in comparison to its predecessors. The game doesn't even give you a reward for entering battles, In fact quite the opposite, battles become a burden due to the using up of each sticker. Also meaning that you can go through the entire game only fighting the necessary battles and you would end up fine. Next is the severe lack companions, I understand You have Princess Rosalina's Crown the whole game and little characters every now and again like wiggler, but that's nothing compared to the amazing characters provided in the last game. Such as the bad boy Yoshi trying to be the best fighter, or the constantly injured koopa. It makes me miss Goombella the know it all and Vivian the singer and they were annoying.
    Before I rant here, let me just say that this game is quite obviously not made for the demographic it has typically appealed to, its for the kiddies. This is a game that has PLENTY to adore on the outside, but fundamentally has none of the core gameplay mechanics that has indoctrinated and cultivated the adoring fans it has today.
    If it were any other game i would give it a 6, but the Paper Mario coattails have brought it up one more number.

    (By the way its de-LAWN-o-siz-ms)
    Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 21, 2013
    78
    Brilliant humor and an interesting world won't save Mario's latest RPG offering. Even though the stickers add a lot of variety to the turn based battles, an RPG without any character development tends to turn repetitive eventually. Unfortunately for Mario such is the case with Sticker Star. [Feb 2013]
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 10, 2013
    80
    A great reinterpretation of what makes Mario work. [March 2013, p.72]
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    70
    Unfortunately for it, Paper Mario: Sticker Star has to deal with being a “pretty good” entry in a series that is usually considered amongst the best games on their respective consoles. While I did have fun with it, there were times when I felt like I was just going through the motions, and very little of the innovation or character of previous entries shone through.