Paper Mario: Sticker Star 3DS

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 341 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Ah, Paper Mario. It reminds me of my first time getting a Nintendo 64. Now, if you were looking forward to a Paper Mario game that contained aspects from the original Paper Mario, then you're going to be disappointed. I was a little upset that this wasn't the original Paper Mario, but that doesn't have to be a bad thing. I thoroughly enjoyed Super Paper Mario, because it was well made.Ah, Paper Mario. It reminds me of my first time getting a Nintendo 64. Now, if you were looking forward to a Paper Mario game that contained aspects from the original Paper Mario, then you're going to be disappointed. I was a little upset that this wasn't the original Paper Mario, but that doesn't have to be a bad thing. I thoroughly enjoyed Super Paper Mario, because it was well made. Sticker Star works in an original aspect that no other Paper Mario game has done. This game lets you attack by getting "stickers" which you may use as attacks. How do you get stickers? You can buy them, find them, and get them as rewards. While the idea itself sounded stupid to me when I first heard it, I realized that this game actually makes up for it on how fun it is. It almost feels like playing Paper Mario all over again. The sound in the game is great, and it fits the theme of the game pretty well in my opinion. If you enjoy jazz and relaxing music when you're going through some zones, then you are definitely going to enjoy all of the music in this game.

    The story in this game is pretty good. It's nothing spectacular, but it IS a Mario game, and they tend to just have an okay story behind it. It's pretty much about Bowser stealing the Royal Sticker from the princess, making it so everyone and everything is made out of stickers. It'll catch on, I promise.

    The battles were surprisingly fun. I enjoy almost every moment of the battles. There's a big variety of stickers you can collect and a ton of fun enemies to fight. The battles are turn based, just like the old Paper Mario games, but you get to use stickers to fight. The only gripe that I have with this game is that they took out a lot of fun systems that the previous Paper Mario games contained. I was disappointed to find out that you never get any partners nor badges. They were completely wiped from this game. So if you were looking forward to those, then sadly, you're out of luck. But this game makes it up in it's originality and just basically how fun it was. I was keeping my standards a bit low after hearing this idea. Clearly, I have been blown away by how much fun this game is.

    I definitely would recommend at least trying this game. I'd even pay $60 if that was the release price. You can buy it from select retailers or from the Nintendo E-Shop for $40.
    Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Pure brilliance. This is the 4th entry in the Paper Mario series, and possible the best one yet. This game introduces an innovative sticker system that's a lot of fun to use. You collect stickers and use them to do various attacks on enemies. Very good use of 3d, and very good value. This game will keep you busy for weeks.
  3. Mar 13, 2013
    8
    Yep, I'm really enjoying sticking stickers for this Paper Mario sequel. And not just that, this Paper Mario sequel features a new RPG-looking that much like a paper.
  4. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    La razón principal por la que le coloco un 9 a este juego es por que pienso diferente al promedio... La mayoría odio este juego por que no era un Paper Mario real, y es verdad, no lo es, es una fusión entre Mario RPG y Paper Mario que dio una combinación rara pero original, y esto le da un toque único a este juego... Tal vez la marca no sea la correcta, pero si no lo vemos como PaperLa razón principal por la que le coloco un 9 a este juego es por que pienso diferente al promedio... La mayoría odio este juego por que no era un Paper Mario real, y es verdad, no lo es, es una fusión entre Mario RPG y Paper Mario que dio una combinación rara pero original, y esto le da un toque único a este juego... Tal vez la marca no sea la correcta, pero si no lo vemos como Paper Mario, sino como un RPG, es un muy buen experimento. Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2013
    9
    The game was fun, beautifully designed and the RPG element is a kicker. I've never played the previous paper mario series so really I've got no complaint about "changes" and "improvement". I bought the game expecting a great Mario experience and I definitely got my money's worth. Two little things I wish were better: it could use more playable characters to enhance the RPG feel, and itThe game was fun, beautifully designed and the RPG element is a kicker. I've never played the previous paper mario series so really I've got no complaint about "changes" and "improvement". I bought the game expecting a great Mario experience and I definitely got my money's worth. Two little things I wish were better: it could use more playable characters to enhance the RPG feel, and it probably could use a difficulty slider--the game was a tad too easy, despites the abundance of secrets and mysteries in it. Expand
  6. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    Sempre é difícil quando um game muda seu gênero completamente, mostrando uma outra proposta e uma outra dinâmica aos gamers pelo mundo. Com esse Paper Mario não foi diferente. Sticker Star nos mostra algo realmente novo, mas não tão encantador como fora as outras séries de Mario de papel. Os outros Paper Marios (principalmente do N64)Sempre é difícil quando um game muda seu gênero completamente, mostrando uma outra proposta e uma outra dinâmica aos gamers pelo mundo. Com esse Paper Mario não foi diferente. Sticker Star nos mostra algo realmente novo, mas não tão encantador como fora as outras séries de Mario de papel. Os outros Paper Marios (principalmente do N64) foram clássicos e marcaram toda uma geração. ST, para quem é novo nesses mares, pode ser algo frustrante ou algo realmente bom. Mas para quem é velho de guerra pode se decepcionar muito com o game, fato esse os próprios Stickers ou selos. Mas quando se joga a fundo o jogo, vê-se que a Nintendo mais uma vez cala a boca dos haters dando aos jogadores algo novo e muito prático de ser usado. O sistema de leveis não existe mais, isso é bem verdade, todavia as batalhas ficaram muito mais rápidas e muito mais dinâmicas. Não há aquela necessidade monótona de enfrentar todo os inimigos do mapa a fim de evoluir no game. Apesar de ser taxado como RPG, acredito que ST esteja mais para um game mix de ação com plataforma com pitadas temperadas de RPG. Os selos são super variados, simples de se usar, caros nas lojas (mas chove dinheiro nesse game) e com efeitos muito legais. Os gráficos são bons, mas poderiam ser infinitamente melhores, contudo houve uma grande preocupação da Nintendo em mostrar os efeitos físicos do papel. Exemplo: quando se usa um ataque de água, o inimigo morre literalmente morre encharcado assim como fica um papel quando jogado em um balde d'agua; quando se usa a Fire Flower, os inimigos carbonizam e viram pó. Essas e mais coisas são legais de se ver e é gratificante ver o esforço feito nessa parte. Mas os gráficos poderiam ter sido mais caprichados e polidos. O game não é tão grande assim. Acredito que tenha horas suficientes e não chega a cansar o jogador. Se você ainda não jogou, jogue, Expand
  7. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    This game was my least favorite in the paper mario series, it is extremely hard to finish without a game guide, it doesn't communicate with the player enough, the boss battles require specific hidden thing stickers that if the player doesn't find or use in battle, they will not be able to finish the boss fight, the availability of stickers is good though, and the levels (most of them) areThis game was my least favorite in the paper mario series, it is extremely hard to finish without a game guide, it doesn't communicate with the player enough, the boss battles require specific hidden thing stickers that if the player doesn't find or use in battle, they will not be able to finish the boss fight, the availability of stickers is good though, and the levels (most of them) are nicely done and sometimes pretty fun, but i dont see a use to the run away button if its a 50/50 chance to actually run away from a battle, it should be 100% if you tap A repeatedly.
    Final Score: 7.5, but there's no halfway scoring option T.T
    Expand
  8. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    I am a big Paper Mario fan and I have kept up with the series since it ever came out. In my opinion I think this is one of the best Paper Mario games in the franchise. I have to admit that some of the RPG elements are gone but to me this game was fantastic with it's game play and fun ways in using different stickers. This game also was also harder than the other game, giving me a challengeI am a big Paper Mario fan and I have kept up with the series since it ever came out. In my opinion I think this is one of the best Paper Mario games in the franchise. I have to admit that some of the RPG elements are gone but to me this game was fantastic with it's game play and fun ways in using different stickers. This game also was also harder than the other game, giving me a challenge on what stickers I need to defeat each enemy. I think this also had great 3D visuals and I loved how this Paper Mario game made the world more paper like than any of the other games in the series. This game is fun and well made and is a great game for the Nintendo 3DS. Long live Paper Mario! Expand
  9. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    If you're a Paper Mario fan, you're either going to love it or hate. Of course just by looking at my score i loved it. The sticker system, while out of tradition, is fun to use, and great use of resource management. The puzzles are more engaging than in any other title. Not to mention the backtracking is not as dreadful as the previous titles, THANK GOD. My only gripe is the boss battlesIf you're a Paper Mario fan, you're either going to love it or hate. Of course just by looking at my score i loved it. The sticker system, while out of tradition, is fun to use, and great use of resource management. The puzzles are more engaging than in any other title. Not to mention the backtracking is not as dreadful as the previous titles, THANK GOD. My only gripe is the boss battles can be really annoying, forcing you to run away in order for you to find the 'right sticker'. Although I miss the old Paper Mario mechanics, this is certainly worth checking out. Expand
  10. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    In a paper world, stickers fit right in place. The best part of this RPG is the absence of experience. No more annoying grinding I hated in previous Paper Mario titles.
  11. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    My only complains are that the game feels a little linear to me and the lack of incentives for the battles other than healing, coins and stickers.
    The things I liked the most are the sticker system, it makes you manage more thoughtfully the stickers you carry and finally the humor of the game is just right, it's a light RPG for the go.
  12. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    This Paper Mario is fantastic! it feels fresh and new and exciting to play. Fans of the series might find some of the changes made to this game a hit or miss but i truly enjoy the gameplay as a whole and find it to have a large fun factor. The Paper Mario series is known for its comedy and fun bright and colorful environments which are all held in tact in this game along with great musicThis Paper Mario is fantastic! it feels fresh and new and exciting to play. Fans of the series might find some of the changes made to this game a hit or miss but i truly enjoy the gameplay as a whole and find it to have a large fun factor. The Paper Mario series is known for its comedy and fun bright and colorful environments which are all held in tact in this game along with great music and fun characters. This is a game that was made to be played for fun as all games should be but sadly many can't get that aspect right. If you are new to the series there isn't much of a learning curve you can learn the combat and main mechanics quite easily so you can be better equipped to face the challenges ahead. And speaking of challenge this game has a fair challenge to it not over the top like some games but enough to make you look before you leap and use more problem solving in certain situations. Overall i'd recommend this game highly to anyone looking for something fun cause thats what this game does best! Expand
  13. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    While fans of the Paper Mario series may be disappointed if they were hoping for a return to the classic RPG gameplay, if you stick it out and play the game anyways, you'll be rewarded with a unique, if slightly flawed, experience.
    . The Sticker system used by the game feels gimmicky at first, but as you play you'll realise the system actually forces you fight more strategically than
    While fans of the Paper Mario series may be disappointed if they were hoping for a return to the classic RPG gameplay, if you stick it out and play the game anyways, you'll be rewarded with a unique, if slightly flawed, experience.
    . The Sticker system used by the game feels gimmicky at first, but as you play you'll realise the system actually forces you fight more strategically than Flower Points of past games ever did. You used to be able to play an extremely flashy move and just restore your Flower Points to do it again, in Sticker Star, use your most powerful sticker, and it'll be the last time you do until you can get another of those stickers. Large stickers do more damage, but they take up more room. Then there's thing stickers. These unique stickers represent 3D objects you've flattened into sticker form, you'll need them to solve puzzles and move forward within the game. This includes the puzzle of finding each boss's weakness and making them much more manageable to defeat. Keep in mind as you play that nontraditional thinking is the way of Paper Mario, and each puzzle may not be fixed by the most logical method. The system will keep you planning ahead for what you'll need later in the game.

    The battle system itself works similar to the original Paper Mario, pick the right attack, and time it right to do extra damage. Then block wheny our enemy attacks. The only real difference is that instead of an unlimited number of attacks, your moves are now represented by stickers. While definitely a fun system, the problem isn't with the mechanics of fighting, rather than your motivation to fight itself. With no exp or levels gained from fighting, only coins, you'll find yourself avoiding fights the entire game. The plot is lacking, just a standard Bowser snatches up Princess Peach story, I must admit I was expecting more from a Paper Mario game. Overall, risks were taken, and while Nintendo found a fun new gameplay, it needs to be refined before they use it again, which I honestly hope they do. Keep the classic Paper Mario formula for the consoles, this sticker based formula works great for the ds.
    Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Wow. It's been 5 years since the last Paper Mario game. I just hope I don't have to wait that much for the next one. Anyway, Paper Mario Sticker Star it's one great game. I like the fact that is turn-based like the good old days, but I also like that it keeps the feel of a 2D game that SPM had. The idea of collecting stickers to do attacks was dumb at first, but after trying it, IWow. It's been 5 years since the last Paper Mario game. I just hope I don't have to wait that much for the next one. Anyway, Paper Mario Sticker Star it's one great game. I like the fact that is turn-based like the good old days, but I also like that it keeps the feel of a 2D game that SPM had. The idea of collecting stickers to do attacks was dumb at first, but after trying it, I loved it. The main theme it's one of the best Paper Mario has to offer in terms of music. Just search it on YT. The visual style it's nice, nothing too different from PM2 and SPM. The thing I don't like about the game it's the design of some levels can be a little confusing at times. There are no partners or badges in this game which pisses me off. In conclusion, Sticker Star it's a good game, but it kinda lacks the appeal of the other games in the series. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Even though it is way better than the one on Wii, it still isn't better than the ones Gamecube and N64. It still is a great game though. It still has great humor and alot of great battles and the sticker combat system is a great feature that adds alot to the game.
  16. Nov 12, 2012
    9
    So far, I have beaten the first world in this game, so I haven't fully experienced, but I really enjoy what I've been experiencing so far. The game has that same charm that we have been having with the series. I wasn't a fan of SPM, but TTYD and the original are some of my favorite games, so I welcome the return to the turn based. HOWEVER I feel that the combat lacks a rewarding feeling,So far, I have beaten the first world in this game, so I haven't fully experienced, but I really enjoy what I've been experiencing so far. The game has that same charm that we have been having with the series. I wasn't a fan of SPM, but TTYD and the original are some of my favorite games, so I welcome the return to the turn based. HOWEVER I feel that the combat lacks a rewarding feeling, because the only thing you get from battle is coins. This gives me more of a "I better just avoid all the enemies I can" sort of feeling. I also wish there were more towns other than Decalburg(I could be wrong here, I've only finished world 1). This game is incredibly fun though, the combat feels as great as ever, and I have a smile on my face the whole time with that jazzy music. While this game isn't nearly as deep as it's predecessors, it's still a meaty experience on the 3DS. Expand
  17. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    Of all the Paper Mario games this is deffinatly the worst, but does that mean its bad? Heck no! This game pushes the whole everything is paper and cardboard art style the farthest making the graphics amazing. Also the gameplay is really creative.. here's we're the problems come in battling is next to pointless there is no exp. bar so battling is just for money. Also the game is terribleOf all the Paper Mario games this is deffinatly the worst, but does that mean its bad? Heck no! This game pushes the whole everything is paper and cardboard art style the farthest making the graphics amazing. Also the gameplay is really creative.. here's we're the problems come in battling is next to pointless there is no exp. bar so battling is just for money. Also the game is terrible with telling you what to do (bosses are great examples) Lastly the story is really lame compared to the last two games Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    Sticker Star, like all the other games in the series, is a brilliantly-crafted game. The stickers, although they may feel gimmicky at first, turn out to be an entertaining addition to the game. The writing, as always, is consistently entertaining; there aren't many other Mario characters who repeatedly mock Kamek and his magikoopa brethren for being a hipster, and the visual presentationSticker Star, like all the other games in the series, is a brilliantly-crafted game. The stickers, although they may feel gimmicky at first, turn out to be an entertaining addition to the game. The writing, as always, is consistently entertaining; there aren't many other Mario characters who repeatedly mock Kamek and his magikoopa brethren for being a hipster, and the visual presentation is brilliant, perfectly complimenting that 3DS's 3D.

    The game has some hiccups, though. Puzzles frequently stray from being to difficult to being plain unfair, making you burn through valuable stickers looking for an ambiguous answer; for instance, at one point you have to melt some snow, and have a Lighter, a Heater, and a Match. I hope you picked the Heater first, because those other two won't drop back into your inventory if you chose them. It's similar with bosses: most require a specific item to beat, but that item may not even be in that level. Another weak point is the story, which, unlike the deep plots of the previous two installments, is almost exactly like the original's, where an invisible Bowser captures Peach and you have to collect Plot Coupons to beat him.

    But those issues rarely detract from this otherwise engaging game. If you have a 3DS, Paper Mario: Sticker Star is a must-have.
    Expand
  19. Nov 25, 2012
    8
    Do you want a hardcore Mario game? Paper Mario: Sticker Star is tougher than its predecessor and a surprisingly hardcore experience. Puzzles are sometimes difficult to solve; bosses battles are long and difficult (especially if you can't figure out their secrets). Many reviewers criticised its linearity and I have to agree with that. Lose a valuable sticker..BAM...you're either stuck orDo you want a hardcore Mario game? Paper Mario: Sticker Star is tougher than its predecessor and a surprisingly hardcore experience. Puzzles are sometimes difficult to solve; bosses battles are long and difficult (especially if you can't figure out their secrets). Many reviewers criticised its linearity and I have to agree with that. Lose a valuable sticker..BAM...you're either stuck or dead. Nevertheless, the game is so charming, funny and unique that you forgive the occasional frustration. Expand
  20. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    A very enjoyable addition to the Paper Mario series. While the plot and gameplay never reaches the depth of Thousand Year Door, it feels perfectly suited to quicker handheld play.
    Excellent production values and music throughout.
  21. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Im a huge fan of Mario and even more the original Mario RPG on Snes, this game is awesome in a single word, spectacular. I love this game in all aspects.
  22. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is a hard game to review. As a Paper Mario game, it's very unexpected and different than the past console games in the series. However, it does a superb job as a handheld take of the series, and I feel that is the most important part. The visuals are done with love and care, and look great. The dialogue is great, as the series is reputed for having. The removal ofPaper Mario: Sticker Star is a hard game to review. As a Paper Mario game, it's very unexpected and different than the past console games in the series. However, it does a superb job as a handheld take of the series, and I feel that is the most important part. The visuals are done with love and care, and look great. The dialogue is great, as the series is reputed for having. The removal of some of the RPG elements of the game will no doubt disappoint many, but to be honest, they wouldn't really even be necessary in a game like this. It's a good game that all 3DS owners, fans and non alike, should at least try. Expand
  23. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    An amazing game everything that was lost with Super Paper Mario was reborn with Paper Mario Sticker Star. With great level design, amazing music (with Koji Kondo having a very new take on Mario music), great bosses, a decent storyline (that is saved by the characters), and a fantastic battle system. My only complaints are it can be hard to find out what to do at times, there aren't anyAn amazing game everything that was lost with Super Paper Mario was reborn with Paper Mario Sticker Star. With great level design, amazing music (with Koji Kondo having a very new take on Mario music), great bosses, a decent storyline (that is saved by the characters), and a fantastic battle system. My only complaints are it can be hard to find out what to do at times, there aren't any partners, and Mario never levels up but those are all just nitpicks. Expand
  24. May 24, 2015
    9
    In my honest opinion, this game is about a 7 or an 8 but considering the horrible reviews given, I'll bump it up a couple notches to even out some reviews. Okay, I'll try to keep me review as short as possible. The presentation of this game is wonderful. Nice interface, beautiful graphics, and fun worlds (for the most part). I'm sad about losing the level up system and the lack of RPGIn my honest opinion, this game is about a 7 or an 8 but considering the horrible reviews given, I'll bump it up a couple notches to even out some reviews. Okay, I'll try to keep me review as short as possible. The presentation of this game is wonderful. Nice interface, beautiful graphics, and fun worlds (for the most part). I'm sad about losing the level up system and the lack of RPG influences but I mean they did away with that on Super Paper Mario before anyway. The battles are still turn based and really nothing is that much different than the fact that you use stickers for the battle system. Which in some way, the stickers really work! I actually liked the sticker system honestly. Now my main drawbacks are two things: one the "things" included in the game. Sometimes it gets confusing when to use them and you don't really know without trial and error since there are no hints given, making this game frustrating at times. The other downfall is the story (or lack thereof). This is my main gripe. Basically bowser steals the royal stickers and you have to get them back. That's about it. There are short interludes of "stories" in between a boss battle and going to the next world but they seem kinda thrown together and they're made by rhymes. It was nice having lots of dialogue and fun characters in previous games but you won't find that here. All in all, it's a 7-8 game that could've easily been a 9 or 10 with just a few small tweaks and a little more thought added. Expand
  25. Jul 13, 2013
    8
    Great dialogue and music, enjoyable gameplay. The only thing that annoyed me was I felt you had to look up a guide at times to find out which sticker would be effective or go where, it wasn't really the obvious choice a lot of the time. A great game still, I enjoyed it a lot.
  26. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    My favorite installment in the Mario franchise is the paper Mario series. each title rarely eveir disappointed and even if it did it made up for it in other areas. Sticker star was a great game. while it abandoned some of its roots like partners, fp, and badges, sticker star was still fun and I hope to see more out of paper Mario soon. my only real concern is that im not sure how well thisMy favorite installment in the Mario franchise is the paper Mario series. each title rarely eveir disappointed and even if it did it made up for it in other areas. Sticker star was a great game. while it abandoned some of its roots like partners, fp, and badges, sticker star was still fun and I hope to see more out of paper Mario soon. my only real concern is that im not sure how well this game would have done if It weren't for the past 3 games. Expand
  27. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Being a HUGE fan of the Paper Mario franchise I purchased Sticker Star with a predetermined bias. That being said: after getting used to the sticker feature in terms of battles I grew to enjoy the level of freedom that gave the player. There is some heat of the Super Mario World-esq transportation between levels which inherently takes away from the open world that us Paper Mario fans love.Being a HUGE fan of the Paper Mario franchise I purchased Sticker Star with a predetermined bias. That being said: after getting used to the sticker feature in terms of battles I grew to enjoy the level of freedom that gave the player. There is some heat of the Super Mario World-esq transportation between levels which inherently takes away from the open world that us Paper Mario fans love. While this is true, its not a game killer. the adventure is still exciting and sometimes with a hint of challenge. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and would play it again. Expand
  28. Jun 4, 2014
    8
    Paper Mario:Sticker Star was my third fav Paper Mario game with N64 and GC Paper Mario to be leaded
    i enjoy battle system in this as well at least the thing that liked about it was return to that, the game could been better
  29. Jan 13, 2015
    8
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star breaks the trend of Paper Mario games coming to consoles and Mario & Luigi games coming to handhelds...does it break even more trends than that?

    I was a big fan of Super Paper Mario and I probably enjoyed it a bit more than I should, no matter how much things it did differently from Paper Mario (N64) and Thousand-Year Door (GCN). I was a bit hesitant about
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star breaks the trend of Paper Mario games coming to consoles and Mario & Luigi games coming to handhelds...does it break even more trends than that?

    I was a big fan of Super Paper Mario and I probably enjoyed it a bit more than I should, no matter how much things it did differently from Paper Mario (N64) and Thousand-Year Door (GCN). I was a bit hesitant about Sticker Star but it proved to be a decent game. The first difference you'll notice is the addition of a world map. The map makes it easier to get from level to level and it suits a portable adventure. However, this is probably one of the more excusable of Sticker Star's many tradition-breaking gameplay elements.

    Mario no longer attacks during battles. Yep, you heard me. Instead, he uses various stickers he finds scattered around the world to use. Hammer stickers allow Mario to use a hammer, fire flower stickers allow Mario to throw fire, and there's much more. However, you can run out of stickers incredibly fast as you'll find yourself fighting enemies more times than you'd like to. It you run out of stickers, it can be pretty hard to get your supply back up. The battle system works great, along with the roulette spinner (it can give you more attacks), I just wish it was a bit more improved.

    One of my other main problems with the game is the story. Mario RPGs always have complex and engaging stories, with the possible exception of the first Paper Mario. Super Paper Mario is a fantastic example of great storytelling. Sticker Star's story: Bowser crashes a festival and kidnaps Peach. Mario must collect items in the world. Sounds a lot like Super Mario Galaxy. The story is way too simple for an RPG in my opinion but it doesn't make the gameplay bad or anything. In fact, the gameplay itself is very fluid and nice. At points you may come across things you need to fix which requires a "Thing Sticker"...which brings me to another point.

    Thing Stickers are...well, things (fans, trumpets, toy boats, etc.) that can do certain things in battles and in the overworld. Unfortunately, you can run out of Thing Stickers so you will find yourself backtracking to past levels over and over again to find the specific Thing Sticker you need to accomplish a task. Kind of ruins the "portable" experience a bit.

    Overall, Paper Mario: Sticker Star isn't a bad game. In fact, I enjoyed it...but when you have to use a guide to see where to get Thing Stickers and the story doesn't match an RPG, there's probably something a bit off.
    Expand
  30. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    At first, Paper Mario will look like a smaller version of the RPG classic we've learned to love, but after the first 10 hours you'll realize that it's just as big (if not bigger), than its older brother. Paper Mario is a solid adventure with some reworked RPG elements, that have been modified to fit a handheld, and it does an excellent job in doing so. I'll give you the basics and what youAt first, Paper Mario will look like a smaller version of the RPG classic we've learned to love, but after the first 10 hours you'll realize that it's just as big (if not bigger), than its older brother. Paper Mario is a solid adventure with some reworked RPG elements, that have been modified to fit a handheld, and it does an excellent job in doing so. I'll give you the basics and what you need to know in deciding if this title is for you or not. The combat has been completely overhauled into a strategic battle that is turned based and executed with stickers. Instead of leveling up. Some people might not like that idea but for me it works great! Finding heart pieces to extend your life bar and stickers to make you more powerful works really well and I found myself liking it a bit more than having to level grind to get stronger. The point of battles is to acquire some rare stickers "at times", and coins to purchase and convert rare items (things), into stickers to unlock SEVERAL hidden areas. This game is HUGE and full of hidden areas that are only unlocked with rare stickers you might find in other areas. Paper Mario does a fantastic job in NOT holding your hand and making you actually think on were to go next. It is not linear and has a map that reminds me of SMW(SNES), where you are able to unlock certain areas after completing such and such objectives. Paper Mario focuses more on an adventure with some platforming but stays true to its roots. Combat is even more complex and could be easy or difficult, depending on your knowledge and album size; that's right, your able to upgrade your album as you progress to fit more stickers in. As I mentioned before, instead of leveling up, you have to find heart pieces and expand your album as you progress which actually is sort of like leveling up, without actually making your attack stronger, the stickers you find along the way make your attacks stronger. The rarer the sticker the stronger your attack so it evens itself out. I can't stress how beautiful the overall world is! This is truly a remarkable game that utilizes the 3D function to the fullest extent. I honestly was skeptical on getting this but am sure glad I did, because Paper Mario Sticker Star is one of the better titles in the series since Paper Mario 64. GET THIS GAME, but be warned that it is re-worked to be played on the go and is more like a wonderful adventure filled with puzzles and witty humor, instead of the traditional leveling up system. Either way, the combat is just as entertaining and satisfying as the previous versions. It's all up to the stickers and how you use them that will decide if your able to achieve victory... Enjoy! Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    While many of the core mechanics are just different enough to concern many long-time fans, fear not! This is certainly the heir to the Paper Mario lineage! Those that accept the sticker collect-a-thon will get dozens of hours of fun from this great game.
  32. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Since I grew up with Paper Mario I have come to love the series with TTYD being my favorite, I went out and bought a 3DS XL just for this game (for now). The game immediately caught my attention when first playing it because of the unique changes they made to fit the criteria of the 3DS. I noticed right away that they discarded the "non-battle sequence" found in Super Paper Mario and putSince I grew up with Paper Mario I have come to love the series with TTYD being my favorite, I went out and bought a 3DS XL just for this game (for now). The game immediately caught my attention when first playing it because of the unique changes they made to fit the criteria of the 3DS. I noticed right away that they discarded the "non-battle sequence" found in Super Paper Mario and put in the basic idea of RPG fighting seen in Paper Mario (1) and TTYD, which was very nice addition. The new fighting mechanics of using stickers to fight can sometimes be a bit frustrating in some cases if you don't have enough stickers. Basically, if you don't have enough stickers you are forced to look for more to do battle. And by battles, I mean boss battles, as there are almost no reasons to fight enemies unless you want coins or some other stickers. And this leads me to another minor flaw about the game... Battles offer no real reward as in the previous titles. All you get are coins, like I already said. But those minor flaws don't really interfere with the rest of the reasons why I think it's a great game and it deserves its share of praise. Paper Mario: Sticker Star might not be the best game in the series, but it isn't the worst either. That said I give the game a high 9/10. Expand
  33. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Now paper mario had rough road it had to really good games then super paper mario which was a platformer but not a very good one. Now we are at paper mrio sticker star came out on portable system. So before I begin the review I have to say people sure like to compare this to quest 64. So it start out with the genric plot of bowser stealing peach and the the game begins and your collectingNow paper mario had rough road it had to really good games then super paper mario which was a platformer but not a very good one. Now we are at paper mrio sticker star came out on portable system. So before I begin the review I have to say people sure like to compare this to quest 64. So it start out with the genric plot of bowser stealing peach and the the game begins and your collecting toads and sticker with the navi of this game kersti who from sticker place where they grant wishes and if this sounds familar it is because it is really simalr to super mario rpg except no geno and then after you save town you are sent out into the world where you collect comet pieces and with little to no story. So in the end it a good game but lacks paper mario normal orignality and exploring mario universe maybe it should stay on consles but still a very solid rpg on the 3ds Expand
  34. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    I was moved to actually sign up and review a game here from the mixed reviews. It's clear this is a game that divides Paper Mario fans, but I have to say this is probably one of the best games for the 3DS. This is an turn-based battling adventure without XP or levels, instead relying on your gradual mastery over the efficient use of the limited resources which the stickers represent inI was moved to actually sign up and review a game here from the mixed reviews. It's clear this is a game that divides Paper Mario fans, but I have to say this is probably one of the best games for the 3DS. This is an turn-based battling adventure without XP or levels, instead relying on your gradual mastery over the efficient use of the limited resources which the stickers represent in battle.

    There is a little bit of backtracking, but it's nowhere near the time-wasting and stalling which put me off Super Paper Mario on the Wii. I disagree that the puzzles are random. They are occasionally obscure and could use a little signposting (hence the 9 instead of a 10) but they are always logical, given a little thought.

    This is also one of the best-looking games on the 3DS and the mix of fun platforming and turn-based combat has had me hooked from the start. I've barely even looked at another game, despite some real crackers waiting the in the queue!
    Expand
  35. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    "Waaaaa, they took out all the RPG elements, waaaaaaaa, no XP or levelling-up, waaaa"

    Shut up, and enjoy a fantastic game. The humour and the use of stickers is great, the 3D looks awesome, and the environment was cleverly thought out. I love how the shiny stickers use the systems gyroscope to make them shimmer!
  36. Apr 30, 2013
    8
    The puzzles are quite hard to figure out but don't worry you will figure them out. When I get to the bosses it is frustrating because I use up most of my stickers. It is a really good adventure game and you need to think about your strategy.
  37. May 19, 2015
    8
    I enjoyed Sticker Star. It's no Thousand Year Door...but it sure as hell is a good game. Sticker Star had new battle mechanics which actually needed some skill to use. I think that is what threw people off the most.
  38. Aug 10, 2013
    8
    Although it has the best soundtrack in my opinion, it is technically the worst Paper Mario game overall. However, it doesn't mean it's a bad game, it still is a lot of fun and I recommend any newcomers to the series to try out this simple entry first before tackling the other ones.
  39. Jun 5, 2015
    10
    Fans of the Paper Mario series won't be disappointed. Yet another fine entry and it looks amazing on the New 3DS. It's not Super Paper Mario or Thousand Year Door, nor does it pretend to be. It's a new entry in the series and quite enjoyable. Recommended for anyone who has played all the others.
  40. Mar 28, 2016
    9
    Per molte persone il voto che ho messo a questo gioco è pura follia, ma comunque sono felice di poter esprimere la mia opinione.
    Per analizzare questo gioco, giudicherò gli aspetti principali di ogni gioco:
    1.TRAMA Sulla trama non c'è molto da dire perchè è praticamente inesistente ed inoltre non sono presenti personaggi diversi da Toad, però questa situazione è identica per la maggior
    Per molte persone il voto che ho messo a questo gioco è pura follia, ma comunque sono felice di poter esprimere la mia opinione.
    Per analizzare questo gioco, giudicherò gli aspetti principali di ogni gioco:
    1.TRAMA
    Sulla trama non c'è molto da dire perchè è praticamente inesistente ed inoltre non sono presenti personaggi diversi da Toad, però questa situazione è identica per la maggior parte dei giochi di Mario e comunque meglio di un altro rpg di Mario la cui trama è un'accozzaglia di eventi senza un senso logico.In conclusione non ho sofferto molto per la mancanza di trama ma ciò non rende giustificabile la sua assenza.
    voto:5 (solo per la situazione simile ad altri giochi di Mario, che lo salva da un voto piu basso)
    2.GAMEPLAY
    Il gameplay è l'aspetto che ha fatto più discutere, ma io personalmente l'ho trovato divertente e per certi versi innovativo, ma è per sempre vero che la mancanza di esperienza non è cosa da poco e sicuramente se fosse stata presente(anche se non so come si sarebbe integrata con il sistema di sticker).
    Il combattimento con gli sticker l'ho trovato divertente seppur probabilmente inutile, e nei combattimenti con i boss è sempre presente un determinato sticker da usare per infliggere un danno maggiore(e pensare che la gente su internet dice che senza quegli sticker è impossibile vincere, quando in un solo caso è vero).
    Poi passiamo ai puzzle dove le lamentele sono vere solo in parte:
    gli enigmi che utilizzano gli sticker-oggetto riguardano il trovare uno sticker-oggetto specifico che potrebbe essere ovunque, in quel caso l'enigma può essere definito frustrante mentre quando l'enigma riguarda i ritagli,cioè i pezzi di scenario mancanti, basta analizzare bene lo scenario e se non lo si trova significa che bisogna tornarci dopo, ed in questo caso il puzzle non è frustrante ed il dire che lo è dimostra magari il non riuscire a risolverli.
    Per ultimo vorrei parlare del level design: specificato che non trovo fastidiosa la mappa dei mondi, io ho adorato il level design di questo gioco, perchè ogni singolo livello o quasi, è caratterizzato a suo modo.
    voto:9
    (oggettivamente non è cosi alto ma il mio gradimento è stato questo)
    3.COLONNA SONORA
    Su questo punto c'è poco da discutere, la ost è sublime e la maggior parte delle tracce mi sono rimaste in testa.
    voto:10
    4.GRAFICA
    La grafica di questo gioco rende perfettamente l'idea di diorama, concetto reso ancora più vivo da uno dei migliori effetti 3D del catalogo giochi del 3DS.
    voto:10
    CONCLUSIONE
    In conclusione posso affermare che secondo me questo gioco è uno dei giochi sottovalutati degli ultimi anni, odiato dai fan della sua saga e anche da qualcun'altro.
    Ovviamente anche io preferisco i capitolo per WII e GAMECUBE(il primo non l'ho giocato) ma il maltrattamento verso questo gioco mi sembra eccessivo, basti guardare il fatto che nella media utente di Metacritic ha appena raggiunto l'insufficienza(in senso scolastico).
    Il voto che metto è puramente soggettivo e non voglio assolutamente spacciarlo come oggettivo, (non sono mica un critico) ma sono fiero di dire che ritengo questo titolo uno dei migliori titoli per 3DS almeno secondo me.
    voto generale:9
    (non so se il voto sia una media tra i diversi aspetti, ma è solo un indice del mio gradimento generale per questo gioco)
    Expand
  41. Jan 7, 2013
    0
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is the first Paper Mario RPG game to appear on a portable game console. Compared to its prequels "Paper Mario" for the Nintendo 64 and "Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door" on the Nintendo Gamecube, this game is much smaller in scope and highly stripped down. Although the Paper Mario series is notably known for having a big emphasis on its story, in Sticker Star,Paper Mario: Sticker Star is the first Paper Mario RPG game to appear on a portable game console. Compared to its prequels "Paper Mario" for the Nintendo 64 and "Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door" on the Nintendo Gamecube, this game is much smaller in scope and highly stripped down. Although the Paper Mario series is notably known for having a big emphasis on its story, in Sticker Star, this is not the case. King Bowser Koopa causes chaos and captures the princess Peach Toadstool, its up to the famous "Jumpman" himself Mario to solve the problems caused by Bowser and save the princess, that pretty much about it, no major plot twists and a lack of character development for most of the characters, friends and enemies alike (Especially Bowser, who although is the main villain, doesn't utter a single line of dialogue in the whole game). The RPG game mechanics are incredibly stripped down from the other RPG enteries in the series, since you can't gain experience or level up through battling at all, the only real point in battling is to get more money, gather unique "enemy attack" stickers if you don't like the more traditional ones available to you and some specific mandatory ones that are required to progress the plot such as cutscene battles, mini-bosses and main bosses. Instead of Badges, Items and Regular Attacks (Hammer & Jump) from the prequels, almost all of your possible actions (attacking, healing, countering, special abilities, ect.) are determined by the stickers you currently have in your inventory, if you don't have a specific kind of sticker, you can't do that action, the only actions that don't require utilizing stickers is attempting to run from battles, attempting a First Strike (hitting an enemy on the overworld before battle begins) and blocking attacks. There are many puzzles and situations throughout the game and although some can be ridiculously easy to figure out, there are a select few in which the solutions are extremely vague. These disrupt the game's flow since your helper Kersti usually doesn't give useful advice thus leading to trial and error to find a solution. The only ways to upgrade your character is to gather Maximum HP upgrades by finding secret rooms, completing levels in a specific way or by doing side-quests. The Music is quite the joy to listen to and the writing in the game, although as rather limited as it is, is still rather humorous and amusing. The game is still fun overall, although it is pretty short and has some questionable design choices, its a pretty good game. Collapse
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 21, 2013
    78
    Brilliant humor and an interesting world won't save Mario's latest RPG offering. Even though the stickers add a lot of variety to the turn based battles, an RPG without any character development tends to turn repetitive eventually. Unfortunately for Mario such is the case with Sticker Star. [Feb 2013]
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 10, 2013
    80
    A great reinterpretation of what makes Mario work. [March 2013, p.72]
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    70
    Unfortunately for it, Paper Mario: Sticker Star has to deal with being a “pretty good” entry in a series that is usually considered amongst the best games on their respective consoles. While I did have fun with it, there were times when I felt like I was just going through the motions, and very little of the innovation or character of previous entries shone through.