User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 231 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 231

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    La razón principal por la que le coloco un 9 a este juego es por que pienso diferente al promedio... La mayoría odio este juego por que no era un Paper Mario real, y es verdad, no lo es, es una fusión entre Mario RPG y Paper Mario que dio una combinación rara pero original, y esto le da un toque único a este juego... Tal vez la marca no sea la correcta, pero si no lo vemos como PaperLa razón principal por la que le coloco un 9 a este juego es por que pienso diferente al promedio... La mayoría odio este juego por que no era un Paper Mario real, y es verdad, no lo es, es una fusión entre Mario RPG y Paper Mario que dio una combinación rara pero original, y esto le da un toque único a este juego... Tal vez la marca no sea la correcta, pero si no lo vemos como Paper Mario, sino como un RPG, es un muy buen experimento. Expand
  2. Nov 14, 2014
    3
    I like the Paper Mario games because of their light-hearted, but still validly present story, and always interesting game mechanics. Unfortunately, while Sticker Star makes a valid attempt at both, it is flawed on both counts.

    The story is even more shallow than is to be expected: while the humor is still present, the underlying story is weak and in tatters. The gameplay is flawed in
    I like the Paper Mario games because of their light-hearted, but still validly present story, and always interesting game mechanics. Unfortunately, while Sticker Star makes a valid attempt at both, it is flawed on both counts.

    The story is even more shallow than is to be expected: while the humor is still present, the underlying story is weak and in tatters.

    The gameplay is flawed in that your inventory of various attacks and abilities are useless against bosses -- forcing you to use "things" to attack them effectively. If you haven't found the right "thing" or haven't paid enough in-game currency, you're out of luck.

    The idea of an inventory of attacks is interesting, but is often undercut by issues like the above.

    Overall, the game is an attempt at a good Paper Mario game that just completely fails in its execution.
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    0
    Absolutely terrible. One of the worst Nintendo games I have ever played. They progression through the story is non-intuitive and nearly impossible to figure out by yourself without a guide. The sticker system is honestly just annoying, and the series has lost all of its narrative charm. I tried so hard to play this game but I stopped playing without even beating it. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, IAbsolutely terrible. One of the worst Nintendo games I have ever played. They progression through the story is non-intuitive and nearly impossible to figure out by yourself without a guide. The sticker system is honestly just annoying, and the series has lost all of its narrative charm. I tried so hard to play this game but I stopped playing without even beating it. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME, I AM NOT EXAGGERATING. I truely don't understand positive reviews, probably people who played the game for an hour. Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2014
    7
    A decent game, but would go with paper mario the thousand year door a thousand times over, no pun intended. It just lacks a good story like the two first paper marios.
  5. Jul 31, 2014
    4
    What was once considered a staple game series for Nintendo consoles has now devolved into a simplistic and uninspired rehash. The new Paper Mario game's main feature revolves around the use of consumable attacks known as "stickers" which restricts access to even the most basic of abilities if you don't have the consumable stickers to use them. This is stacked on top of a plethora ofWhat was once considered a staple game series for Nintendo consoles has now devolved into a simplistic and uninspired rehash. The new Paper Mario game's main feature revolves around the use of consumable attacks known as "stickers" which restricts access to even the most basic of abilities if you don't have the consumable stickers to use them. This is stacked on top of a plethora of removed features from the previous games such as a leveling system and the inclusion of companions to help Mario along his way. With the lack of basic RPG mechanics such as a leveling system, even the basic premise of the stickers is removed since actually engaging in battles serves no purpose but to gather more stickers for you even though enough of which to progress through the game are found scattered all over each individual level.

    If you're looking for the next Thousand Year Door, or even the next Super Paper Mario in terms of writing and overall quality and design, cast your eyes elsewhere because Sticker Star will not provide.
    Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2014
    4
    This Paper Mario feels like nothing else in the series. It is hard to get into, with no real direction given. The combat is long and the combat system is clumsy. The stickers are not fun or very useful most of the time. There are so many limits placed on Mario. There is no flip world, and after playing Zelda Link Between Worlds I would say it is more loyal to the Paper Mario spirit thanThis Paper Mario feels like nothing else in the series. It is hard to get into, with no real direction given. The combat is long and the combat system is clumsy. The stickers are not fun or very useful most of the time. There are so many limits placed on Mario. There is no flip world, and after playing Zelda Link Between Worlds I would say it is more loyal to the Paper Mario spirit than Sticker Star. More than a little disappointed this game as it could have been something else without tarnishing the Mario brand. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    8
    In a paper world, stickers fit right in place. The best part of this RPG is the absence of experience. No more annoying grinding I hated in previous Paper Mario titles.
  8. Jun 4, 2014
    8
    Paper Mario:Sticker Star was my third fav Paper Mario game with N64 and GC Paper Mario to be leaded
    i enjoy battle system in this as well at least the thing that liked about it was return to that, the game could been better
  9. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    Like many other Paper Mario fans, this game was a bit disappointing to me, but for some reason I kind of knew that Nintendo was not just going to go straight back to the amazing gameplay of Paper Mario 1 & 2. I mean the trailers made the game look very promising to the point where I was excited, but I do think that unfortunately this just went a totally different direction. However enoughLike many other Paper Mario fans, this game was a bit disappointing to me, but for some reason I kind of knew that Nintendo was not just going to go straight back to the amazing gameplay of Paper Mario 1 & 2. I mean the trailers made the game look very promising to the point where I was excited, but I do think that unfortunately this just went a totally different direction. However enough of this kind of talk for this is a game that I actually do like, I like the atmosphere and gameplay fairly well. I did think the sticker concept was neat but nothing special. There were some witty dialogue that is expected for a Paper Mario game and some alright characters. Also, the music; some people have actually stated that they really like the music, however to me it seemed like a hit or miss. Now lets talk about my two biggest problems in this game. First off, the story; if this is a Paper Mario game it should have a nice good story, but it had some very cliche elements in it that were annoying and of course another reuse of the generic "Bowser kidnaps Peach" which was annoying enough, but I think it was even worse because Bowser never talks which is a shame since he had some great witty dialogue in some of the previous games. However the biggest flaw in this game is the battles, for the battles in this game give you absolutely no experience, the only thing you get in battles is either more stickers or more coins, and all the stickers can be used for is just for more battles and what do the coins do, just buy more stickers, so besides battling bosses, it felt too redundant. Overall this game was not terrible, just something that I only enjoyed a little bit. For there were so many awesome aspects of the Paper Mario series I like that even Super Paper Mario had, that were not present in this game leaving me displeased. However I still had fun when I could ignore the flaws and I guess it nothing that I would consider all that bad so I will only slightly recommend this game. Expand
  10. Mar 29, 2014
    3
    Before we tackle why I gave this a 3, let's discuss what made it's predecessors great. First, the RPG elements made each battle worth it, with minimal grinding, battles were always enjoyable and it felt as if you were making a difference. Unfortunately, Sticker Star did not live up to this, with no RPG elements within the game it made battling a chore. The sticker system made it so you areBefore we tackle why I gave this a 3, let's discuss what made it's predecessors great. First, the RPG elements made each battle worth it, with minimal grinding, battles were always enjoyable and it felt as if you were making a difference. Unfortunately, Sticker Star did not live up to this, with no RPG elements within the game it made battling a chore. The sticker system made it so you are forced to attack with the penalty of losing a sticker when you use it, and what do you get after wasting your time battling? Coins used to buy more stickers and replace the ones you just used. It's just a circle of buy and use giving no incentive for battle.
    Another specialty the past games had was partners. The partner system gave the past games a sense of difference between other RPG's. Although Super Paper Mario was a bit iffy with their partner system, I still enjoyed the execution I've played and beat all past Paper Mario games and was eagerly awaiting to see what partners were to come. My hopes fell flat when I saw no partners in the game whatsoever. Instead there's an annoying crown shaped sprite following you throughout your useless journey.
    Also, the open world in previous games gave a sense of freedom throughout the game. All games lived up to this, from roaming the main towns, to warping through the doors of flipside. I was again disappointed with the the generic travel through level select. I'm not saying level select is bad, but Paper Mario wise, it should be a necessity.
    Lastly, the execution of story line. Past games have impacted my childhood like no game could have ever had. I remember saving the Mushroom Kingdom, the world, then the entire universe! It was a delightful adventure that I will always treasure from my childhood. What's the story line here?... Rescue the royal stickers... why? Because of the sticker festival in the beginning... This poor presentation of what I'm fighting for gives little to no incentive for me to complete the game. "Hooray! I got all the Royal Stickers!" "Now we can party!" That's just not appealing to me whatsoever.
    Now that we got the comparison between predecessors, let's talk about why it was a bad game... Everything above! No RPG elements, partners, open world, or story makes this "adventure" fall flat on its face and has forced me to give it a painful score of 3.
    It's as the title predicts, it's 2 dimensional. If you haven't played the past games, play those instead of this paper thin mess.
    Expand
  11. Mar 29, 2014
    1
    The adventure of Paper Mario games had me loving this game since the original Paper Mario on the Nintendo 64. The fact the developers decided to force a world system like they did ruined the adventure system of the game; which many people had come to love and consider that one of the prime features of Paper Mario. Ditching the leveling system made battling anything but bosses useless.The adventure of Paper Mario games had me loving this game since the original Paper Mario on the Nintendo 64. The fact the developers decided to force a world system like they did ruined the adventure system of the game; which many people had come to love and consider that one of the prime features of Paper Mario. Ditching the leveling system made battling anything but bosses useless. Disappointed and hoping for a turn for the better in the next game. Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2014
    0
    This was by far one of the worst games I've ever played, I'm not exaggerating. I don't understand why everyone was giving it 8, 9, and 10s this game was not just the worst in the series but it was just horrible in general. And to all the people who say that Super Paper Mario was bad, no it wasn't, sure it was different but it was still an RPG it had leveling up, and creative worldsThis was by far one of the worst games I've ever played, I'm not exaggerating. I don't understand why everyone was giving it 8, 9, and 10s this game was not just the worst in the series but it was just horrible in general. And to all the people who say that Super Paper Mario was bad, no it wasn't, sure it was different but it was still an RPG it had leveling up, and creative worlds (chapters). But as for Sticker Star, Nintendo and Intelligent Systems took away everything good about Paper Mario 64 and PMTTYD and published this "new addition" to the series. But it was downright terrible, all I can say was that it had nice graphics and a couple good sound tracks, but that was it. Sticker Star had no leveling up, which made battling pointless for the game. You could probably fight no enemies and just make money from the stickers you find in blocks to get better ones and just fight bosses and beat the game, and now that I'm talking about it, the Sticker idea for fighting was flawed in all ways possible, it required no skill, you could only use one sticker once, and then get no xp for fighting and just money from fighting to buy more pointless stickers. The worlds (Chapters) were linear and bland PM64, PMTTYD and Super Paper Mario, they all had creative chapter designs and plots, most chapters in the the original 3 were creative and had more story to them then just collecting the Star Spirit, Crystal Star, or Pure Heart you needed to get. Sticker Star had bland chapter designs and bland plots to them, all it was was "beat some levels, backtrack into other levels after solving a puzzle, fight the boss, get the Sticker Crown." That was it, and the bosses were creative too! they were just souped up normal enemies from the game. Even worse, you needed seome one of a kind sticker to easily beat them, which is ridiculous The game had too many challenging moments like World 3, i had to go on IGN for walkthroughs far too many times then i should have. There were no partners either, Partners i the Paper Mario games made it what it was. Goombario, Bow, Watt, Lakilester, Yosi, Vivian, Bomberry were amazing and had personality, not like Kersti who probably sounded like she was reading directly from a script. Even Super Paper Mario kind of had partners, the Pixls, still better then not having any at all. What was more annoying was that Bowser was the final boss, I loved how PMTTYD and Super Paper Mario didn't make Bowser the final boss like in other Mario games, and even in Paper Mario 64 Bowser was the main enemy, but the went in depth to his character and his plot, Bowser had NO LINES in Sticker Star. I honestly don't understand how some of you like this game, I won't attack you for liking it but you cant focus on the games nice graphics, because that's the only good thing about it. Overall this game was a train wreck, I hope Nintendo and Intelligent Systems redeem them selves and make a game more styled like PM64 or PMTTYD. Expand
  13. Feb 18, 2014
    5
    Sticker system makes battling totally pointless. I was able to stay and complete the game though out of pure love of the paper mario series. Its too bad they removed the RPG elements and dumbed the game down to making battling such a chore.
  14. Feb 17, 2014
    0
    Disappointing. This coming from a long time fan of the Paper Mario franchises that has loved and treasured these games since the beginning. Sadly however this game removes any of the charming locales, characters and overall level design of the previous installments. Any of the notable RPG elements such as XP are completely removed and simple moves such as jumping in combat or swinging yourDisappointing. This coming from a long time fan of the Paper Mario franchises that has loved and treasured these games since the beginning. Sadly however this game removes any of the charming locales, characters and overall level design of the previous installments. Any of the notable RPG elements such as XP are completely removed and simple moves such as jumping in combat or swinging your hammer require a sticker which just seems pointless. I still have high hopes for this franchise but not in this... abomination. The original on the N64 and its sequel on the GameCube deserve your time much more so than this astronomically low-point for the series. Expand
  15. Feb 17, 2014
    7
    I like how it is an Turn based RPG again. For a hand held it was ok. I didn't really like the sticker thing, hopefully soon paper mario will return to the console(s) and stay more true to its original gamer audience paper mario on N64 or thousand year door.
  16. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    I was very disappointed by the gameplay concept. It was far too simple and that's not what I play paper Mario for. This is the weakest game I've played in what has always been a charming series. Hope they put more effort in the future
  17. Feb 4, 2014
    2
    This is one of the most boring, uninteresting, and disappointing "video game" I have ever played in my life.

    The games first downfall is it's story and writing. it's the typical Mario story. "Bowser is evil, go stop him". No other Paper Mario before has such a lazy story. And the writing is not even funny. Unlike the previous games. The graphics are the only good part about this
    This is one of the most boring, uninteresting, and disappointing "video game" I have ever played in my life.

    The games first downfall is it's story and writing. it's the typical Mario story. "Bowser is evil, go stop him". No other Paper Mario before has such a lazy story. And the writing is not even funny. Unlike the previous games.

    The graphics are the only good part about this game. the paper world looks fantastic and the 3D effect does a great job of making the world pop out.

    The game-play is boring and has zero strategy. there is no point in fighting enemy's as you cannot level up. All the bosses can be defeated in one hit with the right stickers. And the game is overall just a chore to play.

    OVERALL-
    2/10
    Expand
  18. Feb 3, 2014
    1
    Paper Mario 64? Beautiful. Paper Mario thousand year door? Glorious. Super Paper Mario. Marvelous.
    Sticker Star? Sold it on eBay for 10 bucks just to get it out of my house. The reason i play paper mario is to get out of the same ol same ol Mario, and sticker star is that all over again. Now, tell me if you have been lost at least once. If you have to go to ign 10 times to beat a game,
    Paper Mario 64? Beautiful. Paper Mario thousand year door? Glorious. Super Paper Mario. Marvelous.
    Sticker Star? Sold it on eBay for 10 bucks just to get it out of my house. The reason i play paper mario is to get out of the same ol same ol Mario, and sticker star is that all over again. Now, tell me if you have been lost at least once. If you have to go to ign 10 times to beat a game, that's a problem. Also, it removed partners. Tippi, bombett, bow, yoshi kid, watt, ms. mowz. These partners and everybody else made paper mario what it is , and i misss them. the only reason i'm giving this 1 is because of the art. It is pretty good. BUT THAT'S IT.
    Expand
  19. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    An overall OK game. It has nice graphics and a neat overall design. I really liked the boss fights and small riddles in the game. You will play it quite long if you want to find everything. Sadly there is not a single element like character development or level-ups. You just get stronger by collecting better stickers which are used to attack or by finding some max health upgrades. IAn overall OK game. It has nice graphics and a neat overall design. I really liked the boss fights and small riddles in the game. You will play it quite long if you want to find everything. Sadly there is not a single element like character development or level-ups. You just get stronger by collecting better stickers which are used to attack or by finding some max health upgrades. I expected more RPGish gameplay but the game is still good. Just not what I expected it to be Expand
  20. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    It was unfortunate that the formula was really screwed up on for this Paper Mario Game...as my favorite series of all time, I wasn't happy about this game. Fortunately, the ok battle system and good dialogue+places can secure this game a solid 7. I will say that I am disappointed with this game though...especially the lack of rpg elements and a world map

    Gameplay: 8/10 Story: 7/10
    It was unfortunate that the formula was really screwed up on for this Paper Mario Game...as my favorite series of all time, I wasn't happy about this game. Fortunately, the ok battle system and good dialogue+places can secure this game a solid 7. I will say that I am disappointed with this game though...especially the lack of rpg elements and a world map

    Gameplay: 8/10
    Story: 7/10
    Music: 9.5/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Length: 7/10
    Overall: 7.5/10
    Expand
  21. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    This game follows a fairly typical Mario storyline and restores the style of gameplay from the first two Paper Mario outings thankfully. The writing is witty and enjoyable, and I was laughing out loud at several points, sometimes to the concern of my roommates.

    In this game, the structure morphs to something more similar to Super Mario Bros. 3 or Super Mario World, having you complete
    This game follows a fairly typical Mario storyline and restores the style of gameplay from the first two Paper Mario outings thankfully. The writing is witty and enjoyable, and I was laughing out loud at several points, sometimes to the concern of my roommates.

    In this game, the structure morphs to something more similar to Super Mario Bros. 3 or Super Mario World, having you complete a stage so you can go to the next stage along the path. There are several points where it diverges and several hidden secrets. Sometimes, you must go to another one of the worlds areas before you can advance in another. This prevents the game from going stale from being too linear, but it goes to the opposite problem of forcing you to retread certain areas too often. Not a huge problem, but enough to be a smudge in the otherwise enjoyable structure.

    Unlike previous Paper Mario games, the turn-based system is now almost entirely dependent on stickers. If you have no stickers, you better hope you can run. As a result, you make sure that you're stocked up and ready to take on the next foe. You also end up peeling all the stickers off the walls that you can find. You can choose to donate them to a museum for the reward of some great humor, but otherwise, you'll likely be very stingy with your stickers, not wanting to use them.

    This is where the games biggest flaw rears it's head. The boss battles are ridiculous. Sometimes they force you to use a special sticker to defeat them. These stickers can either be found in one place or brought for a ridiculous price, and you can only have one. This forces you to retread more or gouge your pockets empty to get what you need. These stickers hardly seem special either because they're based on appliances or little knick-knacks. Knowing what to use is very vague and up to trial and error if you don't want to use the internet as a resource. Then there's the final battle, which will require several of these special stickers. This final battle is frustrating as a result, and unfortunately, it usually freezes when I try to play through it. I put this game down for a month as a result.

    It's sad to see that the most charming elements of removing all these stickers and using them also becomes the worst elements of the game. Aside from the special stickers, and the freezing up that occurs during the final battle (don't use the bowling ball), this game is very enjoyable.
    Expand
  22. Dec 14, 2013
    6
    I have been a Paper Mario Fan since the first one on the 64, but this was honestly somewhat of a disappointment. Its like they sucked almost all the rpg elements out of the game. It's not horrible, but just too different from the others
  23. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Being a HUGE fan of the Paper Mario franchise I purchased Sticker Star with a predetermined bias. That being said: after getting used to the sticker feature in terms of battles I grew to enjoy the level of freedom that gave the player. There is some heat of the Super Mario World-esq transportation between levels which inherently takes away from the open world that us Paper Mario fans love.Being a HUGE fan of the Paper Mario franchise I purchased Sticker Star with a predetermined bias. That being said: after getting used to the sticker feature in terms of battles I grew to enjoy the level of freedom that gave the player. There is some heat of the Super Mario World-esq transportation between levels which inherently takes away from the open world that us Paper Mario fans love. While this is true, its not a game killer. the adventure is still exciting and sometimes with a hint of challenge. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and would play it again. Expand
  24. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    I love Paper Mario. I always have. That's why it pains me to give this game a much lower score than I waited months to give it. There's no doubt the concepts in PMSS are sound, the presentation is spectacular both in audio and visually, and the charm is off the charts. The problem is there is no rewarding systems built into the game to justify some of the design choices. Turn based battlesI love Paper Mario. I always have. That's why it pains me to give this game a much lower score than I waited months to give it. There's no doubt the concepts in PMSS are sound, the presentation is spectacular both in audio and visually, and the charm is off the charts. The problem is there is no rewarding systems built into the game to justify some of the design choices. Turn based battles leave you with no sense of progress of satisfaction as there are no star points or leveling up, only coins and stickers which are all over the game world anyway. This was promised for a long time to be a return to the kind of Mario RPG masterpiece that 1,000-Year-Door was, but the game gets in the way of that promise at almost every pivotal turn. The fact this could have been a true sequel to TYD and perhaps even surpass it makes the disappointment and boredom this game offers all the more bitter. I'm sorry Paper Mario fans, I'm sorry Intelligent Systems, but I really don't like this game. Expand
  25. Oct 11, 2013
    4
    This game was probably one of the most disappointing games I've experienced in a long while. Firstly, the main problem is that the sticker system is completely flawed. I had to restart the boss several times simply because I didn't have enough of the right kind of sticker, when I had no way of knowing what I had to get. The challenge is almost nonexistent, as there is no experience to beThis game was probably one of the most disappointing games I've experienced in a long while. Firstly, the main problem is that the sticker system is completely flawed. I had to restart the boss several times simply because I didn't have enough of the right kind of sticker, when I had no way of knowing what I had to get. The challenge is almost nonexistent, as there is no experience to be gained. The amount of damage you do is based on two things: Firstly, the type of sticker you use. The way you get new, better stickers is by buying them or by replaying old levels, so there's almost no challenge in getting them. Secondly, how well you use the sticker. The basic stickers can be mastered easily, and the more advanced stickers attack automatically, so there's no challenge to be found. The game is extremely linear, not allowing for much exploration, unlike the other Paper Mario games. The worlds are boring and stale, with the regular Grass world, Desert world, Forest world, Water world, Ice world, Fire/Jungle world. Compare that to the previous Paper Mario games, where you were in a toy box, or fighting in an arena, or in a parodied Underworld. The partner system and the badge system were removed, eliminating all variety in the game. The generic NPC helper has almost no personality whatsoever, so really the game has none of the charm of the previous ones. The small witty interactions between the characters was one of the best things of the Paper Mario series. The plot is a complete copy of the first Paper Mario game: Bowser gets ultimate shiny object and captures princess, defeat Bowser and rescue princess. Overall, the game is an unoriginal, unchallenging, and unenjoyable mess. Expand
  26. Sep 29, 2013
    6
    This game isn't very good but its not bad. The sticker system could've worked, but making the basic attacks based off this was bad. Its confusing since they have a mix of level and open world layout that doesn't work because it requires to go astray from the linear path they chose, but it doesn't allow much freedom justifying it. The Humor and Graphics are still top notch, but this gameThis game isn't very good but its not bad. The sticker system could've worked, but making the basic attacks based off this was bad. Its confusing since they have a mix of level and open world layout that doesn't work because it requires to go astray from the linear path they chose, but it doesn't allow much freedom justifying it. The Humor and Graphics are still top notch, but this game would've been much better if it wasn't for the sticker system. Expand
  27. Sep 26, 2013
    0
    I for one am flat out appalled by this game. I have so many things I hate about this game that I barely know where to start. The sticker system is terrible, they removed the actual storyline of the worlds and just made it another level to beat, I loved the partner systems in the previous games which they also removed, this game barely had any side quests like the others did, there wereI for one am flat out appalled by this game. I have so many things I hate about this game that I barely know where to start. The sticker system is terrible, they removed the actual storyline of the worlds and just made it another level to beat, I loved the partner systems in the previous games which they also removed, this game barely had any side quests like the others did, there were 0 cameos (which I am a HUGE fan of), they also put far too much of an emphasis on the sticker system. I have loved the Paper Mario series since I was a little kid and Thousand Year Door was the first game I ever played and I went on to play the original and then played Super Paper Mario, all of which were amazing, and I was ecstatic when I heard the news about this game coming out. I played through it and beat the game hoping that it would just miraculously get better, but it definitely didn't. I would not recommend this horrible game to even my worst enemy. Trust me, if you really like the Paper Mario series, DON'T PLAY THIS GAME!!! Expand
  28. Sep 22, 2013
    3
    Lo malo que tiene este juego es que no podes subir de nivel, entonces cuando terminas una batalla no recibis nada de recompensa y tenes que conseguir o comprar mas pegatinas porque las perdes, me esperaba mucho mas de este juego
  29. Aug 21, 2013
    0
    I was so excited when I learned this game was coming out for the 3DS.......until I played the game. This game disgraces the Paper Mario franchise. Their is no open world like the 64 version, or the best one in the series for the GameCube, "The Thousand-Year Door." This game feels like I'm playing Super Mario Brothers 3 with the way they set up the game into levels. The game provided noI was so excited when I learned this game was coming out for the 3DS.......until I played the game. This game disgraces the Paper Mario franchise. Their is no open world like the 64 version, or the best one in the series for the GameCube, "The Thousand-Year Door." This game feels like I'm playing Super Mario Brothers 3 with the way they set up the game into levels. The game provided no emotion, no substance, nothing. If you enjoyed the game then I'm not going to knock you, but this is not a Paper Mario game. It was so bad to me that I don't even own it anymore. Expand
  30. Aug 19, 2013
    0
    The music and graphics may be alright, but the substanceless, repetitive gameplay that has nearly nothing to do with Paper Mario is not worth your time or money. Spend 40 dollars on iPhone games instead.

    P.S. Bowser has no lines of dialogue. NONE.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    78
    Brilliant humor and an interesting world won't save Mario's latest RPG offering. Even though the stickers add a lot of variety to the turn based battles, an RPG without any character development tends to turn repetitive eventually. Unfortunately for Mario such is the case with Sticker Star. [Feb 2013]
  2. Feb 10, 2013
    80
    A great reinterpretation of what makes Mario work. [March 2013, p.72]
  3. Feb 7, 2013
    70
    Unfortunately for it, Paper Mario: Sticker Star has to deal with being a “pretty good” entry in a series that is usually considered amongst the best games on their respective consoles. While I did have fun with it, there were times when I felt like I was just going through the motions, and very little of the innovation or character of previous entries shone through.