Paper Mario: Sticker Star 3DS

Paper Mario: Sticker Star Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 413 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paper Mario: Sticker Star is an epic new adventure, starring the
    Mushroom Kingdom's most famous hero in an elaborate papercraft world. With the land packed full of stickers, Mario collect and uses them to fight off bad guys, uncover secrets, and more. Fans of the Paper Mario series will
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is an epic new adventure, starring the
    Mushroom Kingdom's most famous hero in an elaborate papercraft world. With the land packed full of stickers, Mario collect and uses them to fight off bad guys, uncover secrets, and more. Fans of the Paper Mario series will discover gameplay elements new to the franchise, while newer players will enjoy a craftastic new twist
    on their favorite Nintendo hero - only for Nintendo 3DS.
    Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Intelligent Systems
  • Genre(s): Action Adventure, General, Fantasy, Role-Playing, Console-style RPG, Console-style RPG, Japanese-Style
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Paper Mario Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    91
    Another fantastic entry in its series, and easily one of the best 3DS releases of the year. The game retains the charm and wit of previous Paper Mario titles, and its new sticker mechanic makes combat even more engaging than before.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    85
    Sticker Star is not exactly what many expected. It's not a return to the origins in full rule, in that the RPG elements are sacrificed, but not even a real distortion. The substance is that of a Paper Mario, however, it has a setting that some may not accept, and some of the limitations in the structure. But if you will understand the nature, you will see exciting ideas in Paper Mario: Sticker Star, you will realize that, behind an experience sometimes fragmentary, it hides one of the best adventures of this year.
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    From the wealth of stickers to the challenging levels and creatures, it's one of the 3DS' more enjoyable RPGs, with adorable characters, catchy music and subtle yet effective 3D graphics. Our advice? "Stick" with it.
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is a game that can easily be recommended to all kinds of gamers, but maybe especially to you who have been growing up with Mario from the very beginning.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    75
    The newest entry in the Paper Mario series is an enjoyable game that looks and plays amazing, but it does have a few flaws. The lack of a experience system made us skip battles, and when you get stuck there is no hint system to help you out. This doesn't mean that Sticker Star is a bad game, it's just not what you may have hoped for from a new Paper Mario game.
  6. 70
    It's far from a bad adventure, but it's also not as cozy or cohesive as the previous Paper Mario games, or the sublime Mario & Luigi series of RPGs. There's plenty to enjoy, but Mario has done better as an RPG hero before.
  7. 40
    A horrible disappointment that not only fails to capture the magic of its predecessors but seems oblivious to what made them popular in the first place.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 144
  2. Negative: 62 out of 144
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Pure brilliance. This is the 4th entry in the Paper Mario series, and possible the best one yet. This game introduces an innovative stickerPure brilliance. This is the 4th entry in the Paper Mario series, and possible the best one yet. This game introduces an innovative sticker system that's a lot of fun to use. You collect stickers and use them to do various attacks on enemies. Very good use of 3d, and very good value. This game will keep you busy for weeks. Expand
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    "Waaaaa, they took out all the RPG elements, waaaaaaaa, no XP or levelling-up, waaaa"

    Shut up, and enjoy a fantastic game. The humour and
    "Waaaaa, they took out all the RPG elements, waaaaaaaa, no XP or levelling-up, waaaa"

    Shut up, and enjoy a fantastic game. The humour and the use of stickers is great, the 3D looks awesome, and the environment was cleverly thought out. I love how the shiny stickers use the systems gyroscope to make them shimmer!
    Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    My favorite installment in the Mario franchise is the paper Mario series. each title rarely eveir disappointed and even if it did it made upMy favorite installment in the Mario franchise is the paper Mario series. each title rarely eveir disappointed and even if it did it made up for it in other areas. Sticker star was a great game. while it abandoned some of its roots like partners, fp, and badges, sticker star was still fun and I hope to see more out of paper Mario soon. my only real concern is that im not sure how well this game would have done if It weren't for the past 3 games. Expand
  4. Aug 12, 2013
    5
    This game is bad, especially for a paper Mario title. This a bare bones RPG title, no level up system which makes battles annoying, the onlyThis game is bad, especially for a paper Mario title. This a bare bones RPG title, no level up system which makes battles annoying, the only use of coins is to buy stickers to waste on enemys that you don't really need to kill anyways hence the NEED of a level up system, a bad story, the fact I cant go through the game without going online consistenty, and pointless combat, deteriorate what is great combat and exploration Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    I love Paper Mario. I always have. That's why it pains me to give this game a much lower score than I waited months to give it. There's noI love Paper Mario. I always have. That's why it pains me to give this game a much lower score than I waited months to give it. There's no doubt the concepts in PMSS are sound, the presentation is spectacular both in audio and visually, and the charm is off the charts. The problem is there is no rewarding systems built into the game to justify some of the design choices. Turn based battles leave you with no sense of progress of satisfaction as there are no star points or leveling up, only coins and stickers which are all over the game world anyway. This was promised for a long time to be a return to the kind of Mario RPG masterpiece that 1,000-Year-Door was, but the game gets in the way of that promise at almost every pivotal turn. The fact this could have been a true sequel to TYD and perhaps even surpass it makes the disappointment and boredom this game offers all the more bitter. I'm sorry Paper Mario fans, I'm sorry Intelligent Systems, but I really don't like this game. Expand
  6. Mar 30, 2016
    2
    This is a extremely disappointing game. I mean, I was thrilled when I watched the trailers, getting back to the turn-based system, something IThis is a extremely disappointing game. I mean, I was thrilled when I watched the trailers, getting back to the turn-based system, something I loved in the first 2 games and wasn't in the third, and the mark Paper Mario was all I needed for huge will to play this. But well... I didn't get what I expected. The great story and characters this series has had, especially the first two games, they are gone, the story is the same as every Mario game with nothing special, and the sticker system for battling is awful. You get no reward for winning battles, actually the game punishes you for battling, something I hadn't seen in any RPG. The only reward is... money. And for that you must win the battles spending your stickers, which you must buy with money or find while you play. Also bosses are ridiculous, there is an overpowered sticker for all of them that just destroys them, if you don't find it they are extremely hard, and if you find it they are piece of cake. Sure, the Paper Mario universe charm and great music are there, and the world, while not as good as the ones in the previous games, is decent (that's why this gets a 2 and not a 0...)

    All in all, don't buy this, it's not worth your time, there are much better games out there.
    Expand
  7. Oct 7, 2016
    0
    I am only making this review to compare how absolutely terrible this game was compared to Paper Mario: Color Splash. Take Color Splash andI am only making this review to compare how absolutely terrible this game was compared to Paper Mario: Color Splash. Take Color Splash and remove all semblance of thought that went into it and you basically get a tl;dr for this game. Expand

See all 144 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.