Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Paper Mario: Sticker Star is an epic new adventure, starring the
    Mushroom Kingdom's most famous hero in an elaborate papercraft world. With the land packed full of stickers, Mario collect and uses them to fight off bad guys, uncover secrets, and more. Fans of the Paper Mario series will
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is an epic new adventure, starring the
    Mushroom Kingdom's most famous hero in an elaborate papercraft world. With the land packed full of stickers, Mario collect and uses them to fight off bad guys, uncover secrets, and more. Fans of the Paper Mario series will discover gameplay elements new to the franchise, while newer players will enjoy a craftastic new twist
    on their favorite Nintendo hero - only for Nintendo 3DS.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    91
    Another fantastic entry in its series, and easily one of the best 3DS releases of the year. The game retains the charm and wit of previous Paper Mario titles, and its new sticker mechanic makes combat even more engaging than before.
  2. Dec 4, 2012
    85
    Sticker Star is not exactly what many expected. It's not a return to the origins in full rule, in that the RPG elements are sacrificed, but not even a real distortion. The substance is that of a Paper Mario, however, it has a setting that some may not accept, and some of the limitations in the structure. But if you will understand the nature, you will see exciting ideas in Paper Mario: Sticker Star, you will realize that, behind an experience sometimes fragmentary, it hides one of the best adventures of this year.
  3. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    From the wealth of stickers to the challenging levels and creatures, it's one of the 3DS' more enjoyable RPGs, with adorable characters, catchy music and subtle yet effective 3D graphics. Our advice? "Stick" with it.
  4. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Paper Mario: Sticker Star is a game that can easily be recommended to all kinds of gamers, but maybe especially to you who have been growing up with Mario from the very beginning.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    75
    The newest entry in the Paper Mario series is an enjoyable game that looks and plays amazing, but it does have a few flaws. The lack of a experience system made us skip battles, and when you get stuck there is no hint system to help you out. This doesn't mean that Sticker Star is a bad game, it's just not what you may have hoped for from a new Paper Mario game.
  6. 70
    It's far from a bad adventure, but it's also not as cozy or cohesive as the previous Paper Mario games, or the sublime Mario & Luigi series of RPGs. There's plenty to enjoy, but Mario has done better as an RPG hero before.
  7. 40
    A horrible disappointment that not only fails to capture the magic of its predecessors but seems oblivious to what made them popular in the first place.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 94
  2. Negative: 28 out of 94
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Pure brilliance. This is the 4th entry in the Paper Mario series, and possible the best one yet. This game introduces an innovative stickerPure brilliance. This is the 4th entry in the Paper Mario series, and possible the best one yet. This game introduces an innovative sticker system that's a lot of fun to use. You collect stickers and use them to do various attacks on enemies. Very good use of 3d, and very good value. This game will keep you busy for weeks. Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    Now paper mario had rough road it had to really good games then super paper mario which was a platformer but not a very good one. Now we areNow paper mario had rough road it had to really good games then super paper mario which was a platformer but not a very good one. Now we are at paper mrio sticker star came out on portable system. So before I begin the review I have to say people sure like to compare this to quest 64. So it start out with the genric plot of bowser stealing peach and the the game begins and your collecting toads and sticker with the navi of this game kersti who from sticker place where they grant wishes and if this sounds familar it is because it is really simalr to super mario rpg except no geno and then after you save town you are sent out into the world where you collect comet pieces and with little to no story. So in the end it a good game but lacks paper mario normal orignality and exploring mario universe maybe it should stay on consles but still a very solid rpg on the 3ds Expand
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Even though it is way better than the one on Wii, it still isn't better than the ones Gamecube and N64. It still is a great game though. ItEven though it is way better than the one on Wii, it still isn't better than the ones Gamecube and N64. It still is a great game though. It still has great humor and alot of great battles and the sticker combat system is a great feature that adds alot to the game. Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    Like many other Paper Mario fans, this game was a bit disappointing to me, but for some reason I kind of knew that Nintendo was not just goingLike many other Paper Mario fans, this game was a bit disappointing to me, but for some reason I kind of knew that Nintendo was not just going to go straight back to the amazing gameplay of Paper Mario 1 & 2. I mean the trailers made the game look very promising to the point where I was excited, but I do think that unfortunately this just went a totally different direction. However enough of this kind of talk for this is a game that I actually do like, I like the atmosphere and gameplay fairly well. I did think the sticker concept was neat but nothing special. There were some witty dialogue that is expected for a Paper Mario game and some alright characters. Also, the music; some people have actually stated that they really like the music, however to me it seemed like a hit or miss. Now lets talk about my two biggest problems in this game. First off, the story; if this is a Paper Mario game it should have a nice good story, but it had some very cliche elements in it that were annoying and of course another reuse of the generic "Bowser kidnaps Peach" which was annoying enough, but I think it was even worse because Bowser never talks which is a shame since he had some great witty dialogue in some of the previous games. However the biggest flaw in this game is the battles, for the battles in this game give you absolutely no experience, the only thing you get in battles is either more stickers or more coins, and all the stickers can be used for is just for more battles and what do the coins do, just buy more stickers, so besides battling bosses, it felt too redundant. Overall this game was not terrible, just something that I only enjoyed a little bit. For there were so many awesome aspects of the Paper Mario series I like that even Super Paper Mario had, that were not present in this game leaving me displeased. However I still had fun when I could ignore the flaws and I guess it nothing that I would consider all that bad so I will only slightly recommend this game. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2013
    6
    Oh this game. This cute little broken game. I really tried to like it, I really did, but there is so many game breaking issues in it (fromOh this game. This cute little broken game. I really tried to like it, I really did, but there is so many game breaking issues in it (from cheap bosses, confusing levels and 3D perspective gone wrong) that as soon as I tried warming up to it, i'd have to put it aside in frustration. It's really cute, charming and beautiful and I replayed from levels just to look at how amazing it really was. But the average gameplay and serious issues make it seem like it was never play tested. Expand
  6. May 6, 2013
    4
    I just don't get it... The first two paper mario games were absolute masterpieces. The third was very much a good idea, which I don't thinkI just don't get it... The first two paper mario games were absolute masterpieces. The third was very much a good idea, which I don't think was executed very well. Here's the thing... Paper Mario games had a way of getting me hooked and never wanting to stop. I almost had that with this game, but just couldn't simply because the design of it is horrible. Cutting up the world into stages wouldn't be such a bad idea if it was just a simple sidescroller, but it isnt. It's got all of the frustration of an RPG overworld that forces you to backtrack and do things you've already done and are TIRED of doing again, and to no avail, you are forced to repeat and repeat. You can get to the second and third world of this game and realize that this is going to be a continuous thing. That's where I'd recommend stopping if you picked this game up, but don't. It's not worth it. Do yourself a favor and use your money on one of the other fantastic 3DS titles. Expand
  7. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    This was the worst showing for Paper Mario since release. Nintendo has removed all of the RPG, all the humour and all of the more interestingThis was the worst showing for Paper Mario since release. Nintendo has removed all of the RPG, all the humour and all of the more interesting settings. Besides that, progression in the game itself is slow, with countless save/load screens and arbitrary nonsense and busywork designed to lengthen game-play in an otherwise unremarkable game. Expand

See all 94 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games

    Ranked: Mario and Super Mario Games Image
    Published: May 20, 2010
    This weekend, Nintendo releases Mario's latest adventure, "Super Mario Galaxy 2" (Wii). It seems like the perfect time to explore the history of the Mario series, and rank the previous titles from best to worst.