Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 173 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dual Destinies brings us the return of courtroom hero Phoenix Wright. Set 8 years after his last appearance in the courts, the first case in Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies sees the action start in a destroyed court room. It's up to Phoenix Wright and his team at the WrightDual Destinies brings us the return of courtroom hero Phoenix Wright. Set 8 years after his last appearance in the courts, the first case in Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies sees the action start in a destroyed court room. It's up to Phoenix Wright and his team at the Wright Anything Agency to discover the cause of the destruction. Players have to battle it out in court against Gaspen Payne, the younger brother of Winston Payne from previous Ace Attorney titles, as they defend the accused. Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece that raises the bar for the series, employing all of its strengths and eliminating the vast majority of its weaknesses. This fifth mainline entry pays homage to its heritage while paving the way for the franchise going forward. Here’s hoping that the next turnabout doesn’t come with another six-year wait.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    Wonderfully witty as ever, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies is another excellent entry into the Ace Attorney series.
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    88
    Any fan of the series should be considering buying this game, as long as they don't mind the lack of physical version or not being translated into any other language but English. There's little innovation here, but it's addictive, fun and satisfying.
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Phoenix Wright’s triumphant return to the courtroom has been matched by a game worth of such an event. Sure, it is more of the same, but with more variety, a new set of great characters and it looks really nice to boot.
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    The narrative that runs through that world isn’t always focused as it could be, but Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney – Dual Destinies is a largely excellent visual novel adventure.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Fans will be happy that Phoenix Wright was able to localize it – it really would have been a massive injustice if this game never saw the light of day outside of Japan, as Dual Destinies is up there with the best entries in the franchise.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Dual Destinies is disappointing. In general it's more of the same Phoenix Wright we've come to know and love, but the stories and characters are horribly weak.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I have always loved the Phoenix Wright games, witty humor with dialogue that makes you think so you can unravel and defend your client. II have always loved the Phoenix Wright games, witty humor with dialogue that makes you think so you can unravel and defend your client. I even enjoyed Apollo Justice, and Miles Edgeworth that were included in this wonderful series. I must say though, this game takes Phoenix Wright and moves the game in a superb direction. Yes, I know you have to download the game and that their is no physical copies but trust me, if you like Phoenix Wright then your going to want to download this game. I have only played thirty minutes into the game(plus the demo before the game was released on the eshop), and I can honestly say I love this game, for its graphics and the story line that I'm so intrigued to learn more about to figure out what this story and its five cases(plus an extra one you can download) are all about!!!!!! Collapse
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    WHAT A GAME! It exponentially rose towards the top of my favorite game franchises just after the first one!
    If at any point you get
    WHAT A GAME! It exponentially rose towards the top of my favorite game franchises just after the first one!
    If at any point you get frustrated with the evidence or not being able to progress, dont use walkthroughs as it spoils the thrill just a little.

    It's story(s) are fantastic and hard to beat with such fulfilling plot twists and deep, DEEP characters.
    Phoenix Wright is truely a masterpiece.
    Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2015
    10
    When I heard of a new PW game being developed after a long time of pause, and on a console that I still pretty much can't get my heads on itWhen I heard of a new PW game being developed after a long time of pause, and on a console that I still pretty much can't get my heads on it (I loved the original DS mind you, just not the 3DS), I was really scared of it being a huge failure: I'm a huge Phoenix Wright fan and I finished each game, including AJ and AAI, at least 4 or 5 times each so this game really scared me out, "if it fails, the series is dead!" I thought.

    But gladly, this game turned out to be one the exact opposite of what I hoped...and my God, I'm almost sure this game is probably one of the best of the entire series, probably T&T levels of goodness on some points.

    Storywise, the game is set after the events of AJ (one year, if I'm correct), and the story is revolved around this dark age of law, where it's essentially a big mess when it comes to proper legislation. The game's main protagonist this time are actually three: Phoenix Wright (who, if you remember, lost his badge), Apollo Justice and a new girl called Athena Cykes, which is also the main gimmick of the game as well. Unlike previous games, this time you'll be using certain characters on certain cases, making the cases quite unique on their own and I really appreciate when they made those choices back in T&T.

    The game itself it's pretty much the same as the previous ones: you have an exploration section where you gain evidence and try to figure out anything wrong, and the courtroom section where you'll need to discover the truth, and it's still the main focus of the game. Alongside the cases there's a thin line that connects all of the 5 cases (the 6th dlc case is completely unlinked to the rest) and that's probably the best thing about the latest AA games did (especially AAI, with all 5 cases completely linked to each others).

    However, what changed in the game now is the new girl's gimmick, where she will occasionally have to use her robot called Widget and start analyzing the witnessess moods, trying to see the contradictions by the emotional level....and frankly I did not like this new mechanic: I just pressed randomly in hopes to find the right answer, because it wasn't always clear of what was the right choice.
    Maybe some might like it, but I really didn't.

    We will be able to use Apollo and Phoenix's mechanics as well, which is a great come back from the latest games: with Wright and his magatama, which is able to see the lies, and Apollo's bracelet, which is able to see the strage move-sets of the people, the game is very diverse unlike the predecessors and I truely enjoyed seeing all three together in a team-like game, without mentioning that I was happy to see Phoenix acting a "tiny" bit more mature than previous games. A tiny bit, mind you.

    Is the game flawless? I think it's actually quite flawed in some aspects that definitely required some more cure and detail. For instance, Apollo is almost completely bland in here and I really saw him going nowhere: sure you see him struggling at the beginning and becoming all "serious" for some reason that I won't spoil, but it wasn't enough to make me care, resulting in him being forgotten pretty quickly.
    Athena is good but she's also quite...generic and I really couldn't feel sorry for her when she was having issues later in the game, and the new prosecutor, Simon Blackquill, is very VERY annoying in my opinion due to his high honor and sense of Loyalty, but without actually being "interesting". I like an honorable opponent, but he's just too bland for me to care, especially at the end.

    Also you won't be using Apollo's bracelet in courtroom and you'll be forced to use it only in the exploration section of the game (because....Simon's bird would attack him. I have no clue here), and Wright's magatama isn't used very often unlike the previous games.

    And for last...I really enjoyed only the first and the last two cases (because they're essentially one case splitted into two), while the rest was pretty weak: the first two cases literally show you the real murderer, pretty much ruining the supence while the third case while being good, it felt a little too dragged out.
    However, the last two cases are probably the single best cases of the entire game and, I won't lie, my jaw dropped at the sudden plot twist I read at the end: only the few games made me feel that surprised so far, and this was one of those. Sure this is all personal and not everyone might feel the same, but I really felt surprised by the case's end.

    And frankly, that's more than enough for me to recommend this game: it has its flaws, even big ones, but the game has a lot of good points and the end really "takes" the cake for me; on top of that the game has 5 cases plus an additional dlc case that it's probably the best in terms of development, with lots of cutscenes and a price that it's very affordable.

    In other words this is what the fans were waiting for: a good PW game, and I'm glad to see that we might see more eventually. Long live Phoenix Wright!
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    WARNING this game advertises as 5 cases, but in reality, case 4 and 5 are basically one long case, so it's a little misleading. Having saidWARNING this game advertises as 5 cases, but in reality, case 4 and 5 are basically one long case, so it's a little misleading. Having said that, it's a as shame decisions like this, the download only decision, and the localizations we don't get are handled by the business side of Capcom, because because the actual develops do such an amazing job with these these games. Investigation sequences are actually very well done, with checkmark when examining, more direction about where to go, and Apollo's bracelet used outside the courtroom to enhance the game play. The trials are great, with an amazing new end sequence in each case (not case 4 because again, it's just a short intro to case 5) where you string together multiple answers to bust the bad guy. The music in this game clearly stands as my highlight, as it has remixed themes and amazing new ones as well. Athena's mood matrix is a great change of pace that adds another layer of fun. Characters are as crazy as ever, and watching their breakdowns is even more fun than ever in 3d. Truly an amazing accomplishment; any fan of the series will greatly enjoy this game. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Even though I found this game a bit dull, when compared to the rest of the games, I still praise this game for the great 3D it offers, and itEven though I found this game a bit dull, when compared to the rest of the games, I still praise this game for the great 3D it offers, and it doesn't lag the game at all, which was a problem with some other 3DS games. The story is great, and the new Mood Matrix is epic. Athena is a great character, and I really like the fact that each member of the attorney-trio has their own case. Also, the ending for each case is EPIC, mostly because of the new mechanic that I will not spoil for the sake of sheer pity for those who don't experience it without knowing when it happens. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2015
    8
    This game got me hooked on the series. Full of humour and emotional moments, as well as some awesome music (Apollo's objection theme FTW!),This game got me hooked on the series. Full of humour and emotional moments, as well as some awesome music (Apollo's objection theme FTW!), this game is much better than I initially thought it would be. It's not perfect (numerous typos in the text, for example), but a fun and engaging game, and a great way to spend your time. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2014
    5
    If there is a games, that I do not wanted ever to be released, it is Apollo justice and dual destinies. Why? Because the story is perfectlyIf there is a games, that I do not wanted ever to be released, it is Apollo justice and dual destinies. Why? Because the story is perfectly ended in the Trials and Tribulations, and Instead to finish it, developers decided to make a new once with new characters and features.
    First of all, I was very disappointed seeing a new technology in this game. It is not a type that needed a new graphics and anime cutscenes. But the most disappointing thing is a new characters. No matter how developers will try to shoehorn them, they are no match for the old ones. May be I am sceptical, but it is hurts to see that Phoenix treats his apprentices like Fey sisters.
    As you may guess, the gameplay has not changed a bit. It is still the same, with a little new features.
    Overall, I wish I could not ever know about this two series ever existed, because after the ending of the original trilogy, the turn of events in these games had disappointed me very much.
    Expand

See all 33 User Reviews