Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dual Destinies brings us the return of courtroom hero Phoenix Wright. Set 8 years after his last appearance in the courts, the first case in Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies sees the action start in a destroyed court room. It's up to Phoenix Wright and his team at the WrightDual Destinies brings us the return of courtroom hero Phoenix Wright. Set 8 years after his last appearance in the courts, the first case in Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies sees the action start in a destroyed court room. It's up to Phoenix Wright and his team at the Wright Anything Agency to discover the cause of the destruction. Players have to battle it out in court against Gaspen Payne, the younger brother of Winston Payne from previous Ace Attorney titles, as they defend the accused. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. Nov 11, 2013
    100
    A masterpiece that raises the bar for the series, employing all of its strengths and eliminating the vast majority of its weaknesses. This fifth mainline entry pays homage to its heritage while paving the way for the franchise going forward. Here’s hoping that the next turnabout doesn’t come with another six-year wait.
  2. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    Wonderfully witty as ever, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney - Dual Destinies is another excellent entry into the Ace Attorney series.
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    88
    Any fan of the series should be considering buying this game, as long as they don't mind the lack of physical version or not being translated into any other language but English. There's little innovation here, but it's addictive, fun and satisfying.
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    80
    Phoenix Wright’s triumphant return to the courtroom has been matched by a game worth of such an event. Sure, it is more of the same, but with more variety, a new set of great characters and it looks really nice to boot.
  5. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    The narrative that runs through that world isn’t always focused as it could be, but Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney – Dual Destinies is a largely excellent visual novel adventure.
  6. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Fans will be happy that Phoenix Wright was able to localize it – it really would have been a massive injustice if this game never saw the light of day outside of Japan, as Dual Destinies is up there with the best entries in the franchise.
  7. Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Dual Destinies is disappointing. In general it's more of the same Phoenix Wright we've come to know and love, but the stories and characters are horribly weak.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    I have always loved the Phoenix Wright games, witty humor with dialogue that makes you think so you can unravel and defend your client. II have always loved the Phoenix Wright games, witty humor with dialogue that makes you think so you can unravel and defend your client. I even enjoyed Apollo Justice, and Miles Edgeworth that were included in this wonderful series. I must say though, this game takes Phoenix Wright and moves the game in a superb direction. Yes, I know you have to download the game and that their is no physical copies but trust me, if you like Phoenix Wright then your going to want to download this game. I have only played thirty minutes into the game(plus the demo before the game was released on the eshop), and I can honestly say I love this game, for its graphics and the story line that I'm so intrigued to learn more about to figure out what this story and its five cases(plus an extra one you can download) are all about!!!!!! Expand
  2. Mar 13, 2014
    10
    WHAT A GAME! It exponentially rose towards the top of my favorite game franchises just after the first one!
    If at any point you get
    WHAT A GAME! It exponentially rose towards the top of my favorite game franchises just after the first one!
    If at any point you get frustrated with the evidence or not being able to progress, dont use walkthroughs as it spoils the thrill just a little.

    It's story(s) are fantastic and hard to beat with such fulfilling plot twists and deep, DEEP characters.
    Phoenix Wright is truely a masterpiece.
    Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    THAT ENDING DOE, SERIOUSLY THIS GAME IS A MASTERPIECE I loved every freaking case :3
    EVERY. FREAKING. CASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    and Athena's
    THAT ENDING DOE, SERIOUSLY THIS GAME IS A MASTERPIECE I loved every freaking case :3
    EVERY. FREAKING. CASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    and Athena's cool too, plus Apillow (Apollo) Justice is more likable now, and phoenix is no longer a hobo, FANTASTIC :D
    Expand
  4. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    I'm sad to say that this was my second game in the Phoenix Wright series, since I played this before Justice for All and Trials andI'm sad to say that this was my second game in the Phoenix Wright series, since I played this before Justice for All and Trials and Tribulations, which I don't recommend doing. A good amount of content references previous entries in the series and it isn't as fun if you don't get it. Regardless, there is a lot of amazing aspects to be seen. The upgrade to 3D models was aesthetically pleasing, although I like the original style just the same. The characters themselves are a lot of fun, as well as the cases themselves. I would certainly suggest getting the DLC case when you can as it is just as good as the other cases. My favorite thing above all is the music. Man, does the music make you feel like you can do anything as a defense attorney. Probably my only gripe with this game is some of the voice acting and some spelling errors in the text. But honestly; if you enjoyed any of the previous games in the series, this is a must buy. Just make sure you play the others first. Collapse
  5. Jun 11, 2014
    9
    Even though I found this game a bit dull, when compared to the rest of the games, I still praise this game for the great 3D it offers, and itEven though I found this game a bit dull, when compared to the rest of the games, I still praise this game for the great 3D it offers, and it doesn't lag the game at all, which was a problem with some other 3DS games. The story is great, and the new Mood Matrix is epic. Athena is a great character, and I really like the fact that each member of the attorney-trio has their own case. Also, the ending for each case is EPIC, mostly because of the new mechanic that I will not spoil for the sake of sheer pity for those who don't experience it without knowing when it happens. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    8
    Five years. Five long years that Phoenix Wright hadn’t be in court for the hilarious trials of the Ace Attorney series. True, his best friendFive years. Five long years that Phoenix Wright hadn’t be in court for the hilarious trials of the Ace Attorney series. True, his best friend and rival Miles Edgeworth did come to our DS, but only once out of two, the second game sadly having never been localized. In this particular context, Ace Attorney 5 coming at us is rather crucial and we shouldn’t leave this gesture by Capcom unanswered.

    First of all, this game is BEAUTIFUL. It looks as good as no game on 3DS ever and puts Nintendo’s games for its own system to shame. The characters are so well detailed and animated that it reminded me of Fire Emblem cut-scenes. All this including the legendary talent of the devs to offer us eccentric characters with extreme personalities, weird but extremely fun behavior. In short, AA5 is the best-looking I’ve seen on 3DS by leagues.

    Adding to its fantastic humor, the game is no less relevant in judiciary themes, as it has always been in the series. All scenarios (i.e. the cases at hand) revolves around something called «the dark age of Justice». A period plagued with fabricated evidence, false accusations and a growing defiance towards the judiciary system. Even though the chapters are different from each other, for most part they keep being linked to this topic, highlighted by a mysterious bombing inside the court. This particular narrative gives a great significance to the game in a whole. Like in a good TV thriller, the player feels deeply involved in the story.

    Storytelling has been thought with great care. The second case might seem a bit weak in this department, you will be stuck at on your 3DS for everything else. A example of the effort made by Capcom on this the beginning of the game is very different from the demo to ensure maximum pleasure of discovery. The scenario has some awesome twists, music is as classy as ever and the very end is near perfect.

    The gameplay doesn’t vary much from the past episodes, you still have to show the right evidence at the right time to win trials, and discuss with witnesses in investigation parts. The big thing in AA5 is Athena’s capacity to analyze the emotions of people those sequences are fairly numerous and offer diverse approach. It’s really a great add to series, much more interesting than the «Logic» in Ace Attorney Investigations. In theory, it’s about finding emotions that contradicts the current statement, but in practice it’s far richer. Past features like psy-locks and Apollo’s ring of truth are present too, but don’t occur very often. Investigation has lost any interest as you can investigate only 2 locations per case, and the game indicates everything.

    As for characters, AA5 makes a balance between the three main protagonists, each of them having his own trial to win. I really appreciate this willingness to get rid of the «sidekick» role and allowing less important characters take the spotlight, even if it means less Phoenix (and believe me, you never have enough Phoenix). Your opponent, Simon Blackquill, is a truly great character that will instantly wipe out Klavier, who I thought didn’t really fit to the job. Talking about this, Klavier and many other make a comeback, but it’s always very short and they doesn’t make much sense in the story. But yeah, it’s always nice to see them.

    The only thing I’m disappointed of is the level of difficulty. Like I said, investigation has been reduced to a check-list, so you no longer have to search for this little thingy in the flower pot but it does save time). The green life bar doesn’t have any more importance, because when you lose you get back exactly where you were with a full one. It really damages the thrill of the game during trials. Not only this, but as in Professor Layton vs Ace Attorney, the hints given here and there are far too direct and it skips the reasoning. Worse, when you do lose, the game has like a special help window for you to get closer to the solution (but you’re free to use it or not). I understand that nowadays publishers want to avoid that players feel frustrated, but it does hurt the challenge. Of course there still are many parts that will melt your brain, but it’s just not as great as before.

    Despite this, Ace Attorney 5 is a super great game, long (more than 30 hours) and hooking. You English-speaker won’t have any problem with language (us French sometimes do), but some may need to get over their fear of digital games. Indeed, AA5 will be available only on the 3DS e-shop. It is more than worth it, and will surely determine the future of Ace Attorney in the West.
    Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2014
    5
    If there is a games, that I do not wanted ever to be released, it is Apollo justice and dual destinies. Why? Because the story is perfectlyIf there is a games, that I do not wanted ever to be released, it is Apollo justice and dual destinies. Why? Because the story is perfectly ended in the Trials and Tribulations, and Instead to finish it, developers decided to make a new once with new characters and features.
    First of all, I was very disappointed seeing a new technology in this game. It is not a type that needed a new graphics and anime cutscenes. But the most disappointing thing is a new characters. No matter how developers will try to shoehorn them, they are no match for the old ones. May be I am sceptical, but it is hurts to see that Phoenix treats his apprentices like Fey sisters.
    As you may guess, the gameplay has not changed a bit. It is still the same, with a little new features.
    Overall, I wish I could not ever know about this two series ever existed, because after the ending of the original trilogy, the turn of events in these games had disappointed me very much.
    Expand

See all 30 User Reviews