User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 74
  2. Negative: 4 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    Pilotwings Restort for the 3DS is a beautiful game. It takes the series to a new level. They controls in this game are spot on. Using the Mii is just plain fun and the visual are stunning. The two items that keep the game from being a perfect 10 are the missing online play. Why Nintendo why not add online to these games! The other thing is I wish their were more locations. The game will take about 4 hours to complete and all of the flying is done on the island. It would have been nice to add more content by adding a second or third environment to the game. Most people will be picking this up if they get a 3DS on launch and it is a very solid game. The music is enjoyable and their is some replayability to be had. Expand
  2. Apr 5, 2011
    3
    Where to start... this game is awful is a good spot. In terms of graphics it is truly uninspired. Bland miis accompanied by decent environments. The soundtrack is decent and what you would expect.The plot is non existent. You just fly stuff for no reason, what so ever. Another huge problem is getting the 3D into the right perspective, you will constantly see double and this is NO GOOD (also, i did not experience this problem with SSF43DE). You get to fly a rocket pack, hang glider or plane, all of which are just as frustrating as the last. I honestly spent more time contemplating throwing this game out of the window than i did truly enjoying it during mission mode, due to the extreme difficulty. IF the free fly wasnt limited to two minutes it couldve been grossly successful. Also the absence of any multiplayer what so ever is a huge miss. When it comes down to it, you shouldnt get this game. Get SSF43DE or even Steel Diver instead. Or simply pre order Orcarina of time or Kid Icarus. Im going to stop this review now, because writing anymore will remind me of the $40 i lost buying this piece of **** Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    The 3D is really stunning. It's easy to measure the distance between objects in the world. Speaking of the world, the graphics are about Wii quality but a little sharper, which is impressive for such a small handheld device. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and will keep it in my collection now even though I've gotten 3 stars in all the missions because the graphics are just so beautiful in 3D.

    The only negatives are that it's short and that it's not as varied as Pilotwings on the SNES. The unlockable dioramas are also nothing to write home about.

    If you want a game that really showcases the future of video games, this is the one to play.
    Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2011
    5
    The game is very short, but it is still fun and looks very pretty.

    However, the game is not really worth the £40 admission fee, more worth a rent than a buy.
  5. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    I absolutely loved the game - but as a Pilotwings veteran, it took me only about 3 hours to complete all the missions with 3 stars (you can unlock bonus missions by doing that).

    The game sadly is nowhere as complex as its N64 predecessor, although it plays very well and the 3D effect comes out great due to the very great farsight! I remember fueling up my aircrafts at gas stations on the
    N64 to extend flight time... couldn't find one on the 3Ds.

    What also bugged me is the 2 minute countdown in the free flight mode. Sure, you can upgrade this time in 30 second steps by flying through balloons... but having a time limit is not really within my definitions of a "free flight mode".

    All in all: The game should have featured some more and different levels, but I liked it anyway for what it is! I want more!
    Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    This game is balanced to perfection. A complete joy and work of art from start to finish, and will take you 10-15 hours to get 100% and perfect on everything. Despite there being only one island (a major hangup for a lot of reviewers) it is constantly inventive and full of surprises.
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    8
    Don't pay attention to the metascore, this is actually a pretty fun game. The visuals are much more impressive than any game on the original DS, I would say about on par with the Wii graphics. As for the 3D, absolutely stunning, It makes the environments really pop out. This game features mission mode and free flight mode. Finishing both will probably take about 4-6 hours, depends on how much you like flying around the island freely. If your looking to complete the game fully, it might take a good 10-15 hours, which might justify the price for those obsessive players (like me)! So the reason keeping it from a higher score is length, which is such a big deal because of the price. If you don't find any of the other launch titles that appealing, and want to try out the 3D with games other than the built in software, this is the game to get. If not, then wait till a price drop, when the price will be worth the amount of content. Expand
  8. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Pilotwings Resort is the best game on the 3DS. It has soothing music and fun visuals. I've loved pilotwings (all of them) and the Wii Sports Resort game which is similar in many ways to pilotwings. The challenge is there and the fun factor is way up. the graphics are nice and the music really puts you in the mood to play. You get to use a rocketbelt, plane, and a hang glider. the hang glider for me was the most fun of the three but the rocketbelt is up there. you fly over an island chain which has many visuals that the wii sports resort didn't. This is one of the best pilotwings ever made. I especially liked Pilotwings 64 and hope they release it on the VC. this game has more achievements it seems than other pilotwings. there are also surprise things about this game where you get to use different vehicles and flying abilities. But i won't tell you what. So far I've played this game over 7 hours and still am unable to finish it. I'm not sure why people are saying its easy cause to me it isn't. But modern games are more difficult for me than they were as a young kid growing up playing Super Nintendo. If you've enjoyed any of the other Pilotwings or Wii Sports Resort this game comes highly recommended. Expand
  9. Jul 15, 2011
    7
    PilotWings Resort is a great pilot to encapsulate the begining of your 3DS journey. The variety of missions in mission flight mode are decent if repetitive, the graphics are lush, almost equalling wii's efforts with similar games such as Wii Sports Resort. The trouble is once you've three stared everything in mission flight mode, you'll never feel the incentive to pick it back up. Not even the bare bones Free Flight mode is enough. In all a good taster and tech demo for the 3DS despite it's general lack of 3D usage. Expand
  10. Jun 18, 2011
    7
    This game is really, really short. I love the lovely graphics, perfect controls and entertaining missions. But all of this doesn't hide the fact that Resort has nothing on Pilotwings 64, with it's four expansive locations. Resort has one, tiny island without much to do. And a nasty time limit. If you get into it, Resort is a fun flight sim, if brief.
  11. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    When the 3ds was first announced at E3 last year I was amazed with the tech but the question still remained weather i should pick it up at launch and put up with a bad launch game and go through all of the early launch bugs or wait until decent games come out. Well I chose to wait for the goodgames to come out in the early going but then saw that pilot wings was coming out so i pre-ordered. The main thing your doing in pilot wings is flying there's a hang glider a plane and a rocket belt then a few surprises that I wont spoil. you can free fly around wuhu and then there's a 5 tierd mission levels. The missions never get old because there keep swithching up so you dont get bored of any type of mission type. The gameplay in Pilot Wings isnt legendary but it does good and gets the job done. I defenitly like the plane the best but all of the vehichles handle very well and you will definitly develop a favourite out of all of them. I know its still early but i don't regret my decision one bit when i first booted up pilot wings i was mesmerised first off by the presentation the 3d affect is a downplay during game play so i usually turn it off but when I'm not actually playing the game I have it on and it makes a difference. During the game play though I was mesmerized by how beautiful wuhu looks on the 3ds. The sunset day and night all look absolutely stunning in 3d and there is nowhere on the island that is ever blocked off. My recomendation is that if you have parents that dont let you but t or m games theis is defeinitlely you best bet. Expand
  12. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    I was originally skeptical of this after reading that it was a re-hash of Wii Sports Resort but I picked it up on sale for Ã
  13. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a stunning game, and looks amazing in 3D. When you fly around Wuhu, it looks on par with the Wii Sports Resort game, better with the 3D on. The 3D also helps massivley with judging the distance. Trust me, you have to see it for it to be believed. The missions themselves are good and what you'd expect. You start off with simple ones such has going through rings and landing to tricky ones such as doing stunts, long flights around the island and landing on target zones and quirky ones like leading UFO's to the mother ship and putting out fires with a mounted watergun on your plane. The missions themselves are good, but easy. I, and any good gamers should have the missions done and dusted within a few hours of gameplay. It's a shame, the mission themselves are brilliant, but they're aren't enough with them - especially with no DLC for missions, which would've been brilliant. The Free flight mode is dissapointing to say the least, for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the time limit. You get a measley 2 minutes to explore WuHu Island! While it is possible to increase this time limit to 5 minutes, it's annoying that there isn't an option that let's you just explore WuHu for your hearts content. With no time limits, 'i' icons to collect or anything stopping you, which is a staple of the Pilotwings series. Secondly, WuHu island. If you didn't get WSR (Wii Sports Resort), then you'll probably enjoy exploring it, but not much has changed for the people who have played WSR so you're essentially exploring the same island that was in WSR. There really should've been some new places, or at least many new 'i' icons added to WuHu Island. On a lighter note, the vechiles are good. The plane is clearly the easiest and the one you should star with. The rocket belt and the hang glider are good also, especially with the latter having a camera which you can take pics! The turbo jet and super rocket belt are more powerful planes and rocket belts, which is good. The pedal glider is a different story. You have to press the A button to keep him peadling, and he has an energy gauge, which runs out the more you pedal. It looks whacky, and in theory is a neat idea, but it can be impossible to keep him in the air, which is really furstrating. Oh and the controls are tight and comfy, nothing to worry about.
    In short, the content here is brilliant. Good mission, good vehicles (mostly), sounds/looks good. But there just not enough of it. Also Free Flight could be improved significally.
    Expand
  14. May 7, 2011
    8
    When i bought Pilotwings, i was pleasantly surprised, having recieved it on the 1st April, not bothering to get on launch due to the look of a Wii Sports Resort copy & paste feel, it felt very new. The gameplay and entire concept are very good, and with a wide selection of enticing modes and aircraft to choose from, you never feel any repetitiveness or fell like 'Lets get this over and done with'. The story only took me 2 and a half hours to perfect every mission, but i'm sure that others could get probably 7 hours out of the story, with extra'd to be had in the Free Flight mode. Expand
  15. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    Hmm... I don't really know where to stand with this game. It is basically the 'Wii Sports Resort - Island Flyover' mini-game, but on the 3DS. In that sense, it's a good buy. However, the audio isn't all that great, and nothing has changed massively. One thing which has changed is the addition of Mission Mode. Which starts off incredibly easy, however by the time you are on to the 'Gold' challenges, you are pulling your hair out and bashing your head off the nearest brick wall. Plus, at first, the 2 minutes allowed time for Free Flight Mode may seem a bit short compared to the 5 minutes given on the Wii. This, however, can be extended by popping 20 balloons. For every 20 balloons you pop, you get 30 extra seconds in Free Flight Mode. The game delivers stunning 3D graphics and is a perfect choice if you want to see what the 3DS is capable of. In addition to all this, (just like the Wii), the replay value is all there. There are always a few more 'i' marks which you haven't collected, or one more mission which you must beat your high score on. The addition of 5 new air vehicles adds to the replay value. Two of these you start off with (Rocket Belt and the Hang-glider) and the other three you can unlock by completing certain missions. To summarise, this is a great game to buy if you want to see the 3DS's capabilities, or enjoyed the Island Flyover mini-game on Wii Sports Resort. However, if you didn't enjoy that, then it's probably for the best if you give this game a miss... Expand
  16. May 13, 2011
    6
    Although varied in its missions, the casual nature of it shows in that even someone with a modicum of skill can quickly ace their way to platinum class. Don't expect this to be all that difficult. It also happens to be one of the few titles that makes good use of the depth effect.
  17. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    This game is actually pretty good. collecting all of the stunt rings, gold rings, and mii trophies is pretty fun. I'm about 98% done i just cant find those last few mii statues. the graphics in this game aren't really that bad. they are SIMPLE but not bad. with the D set at the right place the island is beautiful and fun to simply fly around when you are bored. it pays off trying to collect all the balloons to fully extend the timer to the max, that way you have more time to collect stuff with out having to start over right away. overall this is a pretty fun experience while it lasts, but if you at least try to collect everything it is longer than you might think. Collapse
  18. Apr 28, 2011
    8
    A great, relaxing game, with beautiful environments and a good soundtrack. It would be almost perfect if it wasn't for two different things. One is the shortness of the game: it took me about 4 hours to complete the game. This leaves it feeling more like a tech demo like some of the early DS games like Yoshi Touch & Go, and less like a fully fledged game. Second, is that while the game is visually stunning, especially when you get the 3d properly calibrated, it does suffer from a lack of locations. This could be easily fixed if Nintendo releases some DLC that adds extra areas, which would really stress the graphical capabilities.
    Overall, a great game to pick up with the 3DS, especially if you are just getting acquainted with the 3d slider.
    Expand
  19. May 13, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, fun and challenging. An excellent demonstration of the 3DS's main selling point -- the 3D display. Another great launch title from Monster Games. Like Excite Truck for the Wii, this game will probably be overlooked, but it deserves better.
  20. May 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pilotwings Resort is an enjoyable game overall, though it is not without its faults. The game makes good use of the depth effects of the 3DS and they actually add to the game, though the game is still very playable with the 3D turned off. The music is good, but it reminds me a lot of the music in Chrono Trigger so they could have gone for a more original sound. My main gripe is with how the jet pack controls. The plane and hang glider work as you would expect and I find their missions quite enjoyable. The controls for the jet pack however don't feel as intuitive and I thus find myself replaying the jet pack missions more to three star them than I do the plane or hang glider. Completing the missions unlocks different collectibles for the free flight mode. The free flight mode is limited to 2 minutes, but this can be upped to 5 minutes if you collect enough balloons, which are unlocked by completing the bronze level missions. This is a good idea, giving you a reason to do the missions and go after the collectibles, but it would be nice to have an unlimited free flight mode for those who just want to cruise around and explore. Expand
  21. May 26, 2011
    8
    After roughly 15 years it's nice to finally see a sequel to the Pilotwings series. The 3D effects require some adjusting (both with the tab and with your own perspective of the 3DS's screen) but is truly stunning when set properly. As for the controls, there is a noticeable improvement in controls over the SNES and Nintendo 64 titles. The missions are enjoyable and free fly mode provides hundreds of collectibles which should provide hours of entertainment. However, one complaint I have is the lack of areas to explore. Though Wahu Island is large, having it as the only setting for the game is kind of disappointing and really limits the many types of environments you could have explored from the skies. There was also a lot of wasted potential with the lack of Shutterbug missions and Flying Squirrel Suit missions (only one for each of them).
    The game is a solid launch title for the 3DS. It's not perfect and it might not have the staying power of a Mario or Zelda title, but it shows off what the 3DS can do and provides us with an enjoyable distraction that is fun to go back to even after finishing it.
    Expand
  22. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    After more than three months since it was released, I still think that it's one of the better looking games in the 3DS library so far. I've played DualPenSports, and I think Pilotwings is sooo much better.
  23. Jun 29, 2011
    7
    I really enjoyed this game. Enjoyed being the keyword. I never play it anymore because it contained such little content. Once I beat the main story there was nothing left to do. The game contains nice graphics and the music and gameplay are both decent. The whole game is good, but that's it. Not great or bad just good. 7/10.
  24. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    A wonderful game that I never expected to enjoy. I didn't like the original SNES Pilotwings or Pilotwings 64. I'm generally not a fan of the genre. But somehow I managed to fall in love with this one. The controls were instantly playable but took time to master. The 3D was a perfect demonstration of how 3D can make a difference to both graphics and gameplay. And the game is a completionist's dream come true. The thing is, I was never a completionist until I came across Pilotwings Resort, lol. Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2011
    6
    Pilotwings Resort is a good, quick game, with lots to explore and a good use of 3D. The missions are entertaining, but once cleared there really is no point doing them again (unless you want a 3 star or perfect score). While fun at first, it feels as if there's nothing to do after a while.
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    This is a really good game, and shows what can be done and how the console be exploited in the future
    Although I think this game was rushed, just to give the console a game before the proper games for the console were released, like Starfox and Zelda
    The map is ripped straight from Wii sports resort, and the type of aircraft/gadgets you can fly in are typical to the pilot wings series

    The
    3D in this game is one of the best on the console, and I always get this game out to my friends to show the 3DS off, but when playing for long times, I normally have the slider at half, this is the only game I have which I need to do this so it is very strange

    If you are planning to get this game, I would recommend buying it pre-owned or rent it, as it can be very short but I guess that's the purpose of a small device!
    Expand
  27. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    The game will take about 4 hours to complete and all of the flying is done on the island. It would have been nice to add more content by adding a second or third environment to the game. Most people will be picking this up if they get a 3DS on launch and it is a very solid game.
  28. Dec 25, 2011
    5
    Truly a beautiful game that represents WuHu Island as a permanent resort location in Nintendo's world. Racing across the skies in a variety of vehicles. However, it is very short, there's no competitive aspect and no online leader boards. It's more of a mini game that probably should have been included as a series of downloads for the 3DS.
  29. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    I have heard and read many positive reviews for this game. I personally got my copy and I didn't like it, probably because of the gameplay. Anyway, I just played this game for a few minutes so I might be assuming too much. I already traded my copy for street fighter 3d and I don't regret it.
  30. Sep 11, 2012
    8
    Pilotwings Resort is a good game. Not stellar, but not bad either.
    The game has 3 distinct vehicle types: Plane, Rocket Belt, and Hang Glider. The plane is pretty similar to Wii Sports Resort's Air Sports plane; the rocket belt, while unique, isn't that fun; and the hang glider, using thermals to gain altitude, is probably the most fun of the 3.
    The game has 2 different modes: Mission
    Mode and Free Flight Mode. Mission Mode starts off very easy, but suddenly spikes in difficulty, though it does add a couple hours to your first playthrough. Free Flight mode allows you to get i points (from Wii Sports Resort), balloons that increase your flight time, and vehicle-specific collectables that unlock trophy-type dioramas. This mode is pretty fun if you like flying games, but if you don't, then you won't.
    Wuhu Island looks great on the 3DS; not as great as on the Wii, but a couple object placements have been tweaked (like Firework Launch Island #1) to make the island more suitable to flying. The music isn't anything to write home about, but it's good and doesn't get that repetitive.
    Overall, if you liked Air Sports on Wii Sports Resort, any previous Pilotwings game, or flying games in general, you'll enjoy this. Right now it's $20, so it's a pretty good buy, but if you're looking for lots of content you won't find it here.
    Gameplay: 8
    Graphics: 7.5
    Sound: 7
    Replay Value: 7.5
    Overall: 8/10
    Expand
  31. Jun 6, 2014
    8
    A fun, good-looking 3DS title that may have passed you by with its early release. Lots of variety and interesting challenges. Makes me long for "Pilotwings 64".
  32. Sep 14, 2013
    7
    Fun game, except that it was taken straightly off from Wii Sports Resort's Island Flyover mini-game. It's also fun that It lets you gang glide and blast off with the rocket belt. Score: 3/5.
  33. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    Not anything special, or "best in it's class" but Pilotwings Resort is a great calm game where you can explore Wuhu Island on a jetpack. What, there's more vehicle types? I don't believe you.
  34. Jun 5, 2011
    0
    This game is actually pretty good. collecting all of the stunt rings, gold rings, and mii trophies is pretty fun. I'm about 98% done i just cant find those last few mii statues. the graphics in this game aren't really that bad. they are SIMPLE but not bad. with the D set at the right place the island is beautiful and fun to simply fly around when you are bored. it pays off trying to collect all the balloons to fully extend the timer to the max, that way you have more time to collect stuff with out having to start over right away. overall this is a pretty fun experience while it lasts, but if you at least try to collect everything it is longer than you might think. Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    70
    Pilotwings resort does a good job of providing a fun go to experience that makes good use of the 3DS hardware features.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    83
    Monster Games did an excellent job building upon the template established by Wii Sports Resort, and the end result is a title that very much feels like a true Pilotwings game.
  3. May 8, 2011
    75
    Pretty light on content but it's (nearly) a launch title so it does its job well enough, particularly when it comes to demonstrating the value-add of the 3D depth.