User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 76
  2. Negative: 4 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    This game is balanced to perfection. A complete joy and work of art from start to finish, and will take you 10-15 hours to get 100% and perfect on everything. Despite there being only one island (a major hangup for a lot of reviewers) it is constantly inventive and full of surprises.
  2. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Pilotwings Resort is the best game on the 3DS. It has soothing music and fun visuals. I've loved pilotwings (all of them) and the Wii Sports Resort game which is similar in many ways to pilotwings. The challenge is there and the fun factor is way up. the graphics are nice and the music really puts you in the mood to play. You get to use a rocketbelt, plane, and a hang glider. the hang glider for me was the most fun of the three but the rocketbelt is up there. you fly over an island chain which has many visuals that the wii sports resort didn't. This is one of the best pilotwings ever made. I especially liked Pilotwings 64 and hope they release it on the VC. this game has more achievements it seems than other pilotwings. there are also surprise things about this game where you get to use different vehicles and flying abilities. But i won't tell you what. So far I've played this game over 7 hours and still am unable to finish it. I'm not sure why people are saying its easy cause to me it isn't. But modern games are more difficult for me than they were as a young kid growing up playing Super Nintendo. If you've enjoyed any of the other Pilotwings or Wii Sports Resort this game comes highly recommended. Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    When the 3ds was first announced at E3 last year I was amazed with the tech but the question still remained weather i should pick it up at launch and put up with a bad launch game and go through all of the early launch bugs or wait until decent games come out. Well I chose to wait for the goodgames to come out in the early going but then saw that pilot wings was coming out so i pre-ordered. The main thing your doing in pilot wings is flying there's a hang glider a plane and a rocket belt then a few surprises that I wont spoil. you can free fly around wuhu and then there's a 5 tierd mission levels. The missions never get old because there keep swithching up so you dont get bored of any type of mission type. The gameplay in Pilot Wings isnt legendary but it does good and gets the job done. I defenitly like the plane the best but all of the vehichles handle very well and you will definitly develop a favourite out of all of them. I know its still early but i don't regret my decision one bit when i first booted up pilot wings i was mesmerised first off by the presentation the 3d affect is a downplay during game play so i usually turn it off but when I'm not actually playing the game I have it on and it makes a difference. During the game play though I was mesmerized by how beautiful wuhu looks on the 3ds. The sunset day and night all look absolutely stunning in 3d and there is nowhere on the island that is ever blocked off. My recomendation is that if you have parents that dont let you but t or m games theis is defeinitlely you best bet. Expand
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    I was originally skeptical of this after reading that it was a re-hash of Wii Sports Resort but I picked it up on sale for Ã
  5. May 13, 2011
    10
    Beautiful, fun and challenging. An excellent demonstration of the 3DS's main selling point -- the 3D display. Another great launch title from Monster Games. Like Excite Truck for the Wii, this game will probably be overlooked, but it deserves better.
  6. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    A wonderful game that I never expected to enjoy. I didn't like the original SNES Pilotwings or Pilotwings 64. I'm generally not a fan of the genre. But somehow I managed to fall in love with this one. The controls were instantly playable but took time to master. The 3D was a perfect demonstration of how 3D can make a difference to both graphics and gameplay. And the game is a completionist's dream come true. The thing is, I was never a completionist until I came across Pilotwings Resort, lol. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    The game will take about 4 hours to complete and all of the flying is done on the island. It would have been nice to add more content by adding a second or third environment to the game. Most people will be picking this up if they get a 3DS on launch and it is a very solid game.
  8. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    This is a really good game, and shows what can be done and how the console be exploited in the future
    Although I think this game was rushed, just to give the console a game before the proper games for the console were released, like Starfox and Zelda
    The map is ripped straight from Wii sports resort, and the type of aircraft/gadgets you can fly in are typical to the pilot wings series

    The
    3D in this game is one of the best on the console, and I always get this game out to my friends to show the 3DS off, but when playing for long times, I normally have the slider at half, this is the only game I have which I need to do this so it is very strange

    If you are planning to get this game, I would recommend buying it pre-owned or rent it, as it can be very short but I guess that's the purpose of a small device!
    Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Jun 13, 2011
    70
    Pilotwings resort does a good job of providing a fun go to experience that makes good use of the 3DS hardware features.
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    83
    Monster Games did an excellent job building upon the template established by Wii Sports Resort, and the end result is a title that very much feels like a true Pilotwings game.
  3. May 8, 2011
    75
    Pretty light on content but it's (nearly) a launch title so it does its job well enough, particularly when it comes to demonstrating the value-add of the 3D depth.