Pilotwings Resort Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pilotwings Resort is a flying simulation that lets players soar above Wuhu Island.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    88
    A challenging game that is a little rough around the edges in some ways and the audio is a big overall step down from past games. However, the overall experience is a must for anyone who enjoyed prior games in the series, or even the Wii Sports Resort flight mini-games.
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    80
    System seller? Not quite. Fun, simple flight game that handles great and conveys a fantastic sense of speed and height? Absolutely.
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    75
    The lack of original scenarios and personality hurts the package, but doesn't take the credit for being a great introductory game for the capabilities of the 3DS, both in terms of graphics and of controls.
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    70
    Pilotwings Resort is classic Nintendo, providing enjoyable soaring action throughout. With only an evening's worth of content available however, the entertainment doesn't last very long.
  5. Apr 14, 2011
    70
    More content and substance would have made for a better package, but it's hard to deny the polish and potential for addiction that exists regardless.
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    65
    Pilotwings Resort is fun while it lasts, but it fails to reach the same heights as its predecessors.
  7. Mar 28, 2011
    50
    The problem with Pilotwings Resort is that there just isn't much to do.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Pilotwings Resort is the best game on the 3DS. It has soothing music and fun visuals. I've loved pilotwings (all of them) and the WiiPilotwings Resort is the best game on the 3DS. It has soothing music and fun visuals. I've loved pilotwings (all of them) and the Wii Sports Resort game which is similar in many ways to pilotwings. The challenge is there and the fun factor is way up. the graphics are nice and the music really puts you in the mood to play. You get to use a rocketbelt, plane, and a hang glider. the hang glider for me was the most fun of the three but the rocketbelt is up there. you fly over an island chain which has many visuals that the wii sports resort didn't. This is one of the best pilotwings ever made. I especially liked Pilotwings 64 and hope they release it on the VC. this game has more achievements it seems than other pilotwings. there are also surprise things about this game where you get to use different vehicles and flying abilities. But i won't tell you what. So far I've played this game over 7 hours and still am unable to finish it. I'm not sure why people are saying its easy cause to me it isn't. But modern games are more difficult for me than they were as a young kid growing up playing Super Nintendo. If you've enjoyed any of the other Pilotwings or Wii Sports Resort this game comes highly recommended. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2011
    9
    A wonderful game that I never expected to enjoy. I didn't like the original SNES Pilotwings or Pilotwings 64. I'm generally not a fan of theA wonderful game that I never expected to enjoy. I didn't like the original SNES Pilotwings or Pilotwings 64. I'm generally not a fan of the genre. But somehow I managed to fall in love with this one. The controls were instantly playable but took time to master. The 3D was a perfect demonstration of how 3D can make a difference to both graphics and gameplay. And the game is a completionist's dream come true. The thing is, I was never a completionist until I came across Pilotwings Resort, lol. Expand
  3. May 7, 2011
    8
    When i bought Pilotwings, i was pleasantly surprised, having recieved it on the 1st April, not bothering to get on launch due to the look of aWhen i bought Pilotwings, i was pleasantly surprised, having recieved it on the 1st April, not bothering to get on launch due to the look of a Wii Sports Resort copy & paste feel, it felt very new. The gameplay and entire concept are very good, and with a wide selection of enticing modes and aircraft to choose from, you never feel any repetitiveness or fell like 'Lets get this over and done with'. The story only took me 2 and a half hours to perfect every mission, but i'm sure that others could get probably 7 hours out of the story, with extra'd to be had in the Free Flight mode. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    8
    The 3D is really stunning. It's easy to measure the distance between objects in the world. Speaking of the world, the graphics are about WiiThe 3D is really stunning. It's easy to measure the distance between objects in the world. Speaking of the world, the graphics are about Wii quality but a little sharper, which is impressive for such a small handheld device. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and will keep it in my collection now even though I've gotten 3 stars in all the missions because the graphics are just so beautiful in 3D.

    The only negatives are that it's short and that it's not as varied as Pilotwings on the SNES. The unlockable dioramas are also nothing to write home about.

    If you want a game that really showcases the future of video games, this is the one to play.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2011
    7
    This is a really good game, and shows what can be done and how the console be exploited in the future
    Although I think this game was rushed,
    This is a really good game, and shows what can be done and how the console be exploited in the future
    Although I think this game was rushed, just to give the console a game before the proper games for the console were released, like Starfox and Zelda
    The map is ripped straight from Wii sports resort, and the type of aircraft/gadgets you can fly in are typical to the pilot wings series

    The 3D in this game is one of the best on the console, and I always get this game out to my friends to show the 3DS off, but when playing for long times, I normally have the slider at half, this is the only game I have which I need to do this so it is very strange

    If you are planning to get this game, I would recommend buying it pre-owned or rent it, as it can be very short but I guess that's the purpose of a small device!
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2014
    7
    good graphics. lots of fun. you feel like you're really flying! my one slight complaint is that the game shows mercy when it shouldn't. like,good graphics. lots of fun. you feel like you're really flying! my one slight complaint is that the game shows mercy when it shouldn't. like, if i collect a 10-point tablet and then crash, i still get to keep the 10 points. it's not an easy game overall, though. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    3
    Where to start... this game is awful is a good spot. In terms of graphics it is truly uninspired. Bland miis accompanied by decentWhere to start... this game is awful is a good spot. In terms of graphics it is truly uninspired. Bland miis accompanied by decent environments. The soundtrack is decent and what you would expect.The plot is non existent. You just fly stuff for no reason, what so ever. Another huge problem is getting the 3D into the right perspective, you will constantly see double and this is NO GOOD (also, i did not experience this problem with SSF43DE). You get to fly a rocket pack, hang glider or plane, all of which are just as frustrating as the last. I honestly spent more time contemplating throwing this game out of the window than i did truly enjoying it during mission mode, due to the extreme difficulty. IF the free fly wasnt limited to two minutes it couldve been grossly successful. Also the absence of any multiplayer what so ever is a huge miss. When it comes down to it, you shouldnt get this game. Get SSF43DE or even Steel Diver instead. Or simply pre order Orcarina of time or Kid Icarus. Im going to stop this review now, because writing anymore will remind me of the $40 i lost buying this piece of **** Expand

See all 34 User Reviews