Pilotwings Resort Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 64 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pilotwings Resort is a flying simulation that lets players soar above Wuhu Island.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. Apr 11, 2011
    88
    A challenging game that is a little rough around the edges in some ways and the audio is a big overall step down from past games. However, the overall experience is a must for anyone who enjoyed prior games in the series, or even the Wii Sports Resort flight mini-games.
  2. Mar 23, 2011
    80
    System seller? Not quite. Fun, simple flight game that handles great and conveys a fantastic sense of speed and height? Absolutely.
  3. Apr 3, 2011
    75
    The lack of original scenarios and personality hurts the package, but doesn't take the credit for being a great introductory game for the capabilities of the 3DS, both in terms of graphics and of controls.
  4. Mar 23, 2011
    70
    Pilotwings Resort is classic Nintendo, providing enjoyable soaring action throughout. With only an evening's worth of content available however, the entertainment doesn't last very long.
  5. Apr 14, 2011
    70
    More content and substance would have made for a better package, but it's hard to deny the polish and potential for addiction that exists regardless.
  6. Mar 25, 2011
    65
    Pilotwings Resort is fun while it lasts, but it fails to reach the same heights as its predecessors.
  7. Mar 28, 2011
    50
    The problem with Pilotwings Resort is that there just isn't much to do.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Pilotwings Resort is the best game on the 3DS. It has soothing music and fun visuals. I've loved pilotwings (all of them) and the Wii Sports Resort game which is similar in many ways to pilotwings. The challenge is there and the fun factor is way up. the graphics are nice and the music really puts you in the mood to play. You get to use a rocketbelt, plane, and a hang glider. the hang glider for me was the most fun of the three but the rocketbelt is up there. you fly over an island chain which has many visuals that the wii sports resort didn't. This is one of the best pilotwings ever made. I especially liked Pilotwings 64 and hope they release it on the VC. this game has more achievements it seems than other pilotwings. there are also surprise things about this game where you get to use different vehicles and flying abilities. But i won't tell you what. So far I've played this game over 7 hours and still am unable to finish it. I'm not sure why people are saying its easy cause to me it isn't. But modern games are more difficult for me than they were as a young kid growing up playing Super Nintendo. If you've enjoyed any of the other Pilotwings or Wii Sports Resort this game comes highly recommended. Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    When the 3ds was first announced at E3 last year I was amazed with the tech but the question still remained weather i should pick it up at launch and put up with a bad launch game and go through all of the early launch bugs or wait until decent games come out. Well I chose to wait for the goodgames to come out in the early going but then saw that pilot wings was coming out so i pre-ordered. The main thing your doing in pilot wings is flying there's a hang glider a plane and a rocket belt then a few surprises that I wont spoil. you can free fly around wuhu and then there's a 5 tierd mission levels. The missions never get old because there keep swithching up so you dont get bored of any type of mission type. The gameplay in Pilot Wings isnt legendary but it does good and gets the job done. I defenitly like the plane the best but all of the vehichles handle very well and you will definitly develop a favourite out of all of them. I know its still early but i don't regret my decision one bit when i first booted up pilot wings i was mesmerised first off by the presentation the 3d affect is a downplay during game play so i usually turn it off but when I'm not actually playing the game I have it on and it makes a difference. During the game play though I was mesmerized by how beautiful wuhu looks on the 3ds. The sunset day and night all look absolutely stunning in 3d and there is nowhere on the island that is ever blocked off. My recomendation is that if you have parents that dont let you but t or m games theis is defeinitlely you best bet. Expand
  3. Jun 21, 2012
    9
    The game will take about 4 hours to complete and all of the flying is done on the island. It would have been nice to add more content by adding a second or third environment to the game. Most people will be picking this up if they get a 3DS on launch and it is a very solid game. Expand
  4. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a stunning game, and looks amazing in 3D. When you fly around Wuhu, it looks on par with the Wii Sports Resort game, better with the 3D on. The 3D also helps massivley with judging the distance. Trust me, you have to see it for it to be believed. The missions themselves are good and what you'd expect. You start off with simple ones such has going through rings and landing to tricky ones such as doing stunts, long flights around the island and landing on target zones and quirky ones like leading UFO's to the mother ship and putting out fires with a mounted watergun on your plane. The missions themselves are good, but easy. I, and any good gamers should have the missions done and dusted within a few hours of gameplay. It's a shame, the mission themselves are brilliant, but they're aren't enough with them - especially with no DLC for missions, which would've been brilliant. The Free flight mode is dissapointing to say the least, for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the time limit. You get a measley 2 minutes to explore WuHu Island! While it is possible to increase this time limit to 5 minutes, it's annoying that there isn't an option that let's you just explore WuHu for your hearts content. With no time limits, 'i' icons to collect or anything stopping you, which is a staple of the Pilotwings series. Secondly, WuHu island. If you didn't get WSR (Wii Sports Resort), then you'll probably enjoy exploring it, but not much has changed for the people who have played WSR so you're essentially exploring the same island that was in WSR. There really should've been some new places, or at least many new 'i' icons added to WuHu Island. On a lighter note, the vechiles are good. The plane is clearly the easiest and the one you should star with. The rocket belt and the hang glider are good also, especially with the latter having a camera which you can take pics! The turbo jet and super rocket belt are more powerful planes and rocket belts, which is good. The pedal glider is a different story. You have to press the A button to keep him peadling, and he has an energy gauge, which runs out the more you pedal. It looks whacky, and in theory is a neat idea, but it can be impossible to keep him in the air, which is really furstrating. Oh and the controls are tight and comfy, nothing to worry about.
    In short, the content here is brilliant. Good mission, good vehicles (mostly), sounds/looks good. But there just not enough of it. Also Free Flight could be improved significally.
    Expand
  5. May 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pilotwings Resort is an enjoyable game overall, though it is not without its faults. The game makes good use of the depth effects of the 3DS and they actually add to the game, though the game is still very playable with the 3D turned off. The music is good, but it reminds me a lot of the music in Chrono Trigger so they could have gone for a more original sound. My main gripe is with how the jet pack controls. The plane and hang glider work as you would expect and I find their missions quite enjoyable. The controls for the jet pack however don't feel as intuitive and I thus find myself replaying the jet pack missions more to three star them than I do the plane or hang glider. Completing the missions unlocks different collectibles for the free flight mode. The free flight mode is limited to 2 minutes, but this can be upped to 5 minutes if you collect enough balloons, which are unlocked by completing the bronze level missions. This is a good idea, giving you a reason to do the missions and go after the collectibles, but it would be nice to have an unlimited free flight mode for those who just want to cruise around and explore. Expand
  6. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    I have heard and read many positive reviews for this game. I personally got my copy and I didn't like it, probably because of the gameplay. Anyway, I just played this game for a few minutes so I might be assuming too much. I already traded my copy for street fighter 3d and I don't regret it. Collapse
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    3
    Where to start... this game is awful is a good spot. In terms of graphics it is truly uninspired. Bland miis accompanied by decent environments. The soundtrack is decent and what you would expect.The plot is non existent. You just fly stuff for no reason, what so ever. Another huge problem is getting the 3D into the right perspective, you will constantly see double and this is NO GOOD (also, i did not experience this problem with SSF43DE). You get to fly a rocket pack, hang glider or plane, all of which are just as frustrating as the last. I honestly spent more time contemplating throwing this game out of the window than i did truly enjoying it during mission mode, due to the extreme difficulty. IF the free fly wasnt limited to two minutes it couldve been grossly successful. Also the absence of any multiplayer what so ever is a huge miss. When it comes down to it, you shouldnt get this game. Get SSF43DE or even Steel Diver instead. Or simply pre order Orcarina of time or Kid Icarus. Im going to stop this review now, because writing anymore will remind me of the $40 i lost buying this piece of **** Expand

See all 31 User Reviews