Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 46
  2. Negative: 9 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Mar 27, 2013
    45
    Gates to Infinity fails as both a Pokémon and a Mystery Dungeon game, and reaching its meatiest content requires playing through hours and hours of tedium.
  2. 40
    Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity is a limited and basic game that does not take advantage of the powerful mark on which it is based.
  3. May 20, 2013
    40
    Makes me go to sleep - and dream of a real Pokémon game.
  4. Apr 29, 2013
    40
    While I love the idea of Pokémon spin-offs that try to add a new layer of depth to the tried-and-true formula, Gates to Infinity leaves a lot to be desired. It definitely will have its audience and those who are willing to overlook many of the game's major flaws, but there are plenty of more interesting dungeon crawlers out there to explore.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    40
    Because of poor design choices, Pokémon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity is tedious to play, and it ultimately wastes the player’s time.
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    35
    The overall journey drags on in mind-numbing fashion, until you just wish someone would drop a giant Pokéball on your head and end it all.
  7. May 29, 2013
    30
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity will not be the one to up the series. This first episode of Mystery Dungeon running on the 3DS simplified its gameplay so much that it's become even duller than previous episodes, making it the weakest of an already not-so-great saga.
  8. May 29, 2013
    30
    In spite of being the sixth game in the series, Gates to Infinity shows little to no improvement over its predecessors. Dungeons are straight forward and lacking in content, and the story itself takes ages to really get going. The mechanic of creating a Pokémon paradise seems like a good idea at first, but it fails to add any significant impact to the overall gameplay.
  9. May 12, 2013
    30
    The real mystery here is why Nintendo continues to allow such a minimum effort cash grab to dilute the Pokémon name, in yet another bland and repetitive dungeon crawler.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 142
  2. Negative: 42 out of 142
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Okay, I've completed the game. And let me just say, the story is the best out of the entire series. Sure, the final battle trolls you atOkay, I've completed the game. And let me just say, the story is the best out of the entire series. Sure, the final battle trolls you at first (You can't do anything). But after that, it just feels so satisfying to literally punch it in the face. In the FACE! Anyway, the music. Dare I say, this game has one of the best soundtracks in video game history. Ragged Mountain was phenomenal for the FIRST DUNGEON, End of the Road Alternate Arrangement 1 was a great remix of the original, Great Spire was epic and tells you that you're near the end, and that... that ENDING!! I'm not going to go into full detail, but let me just say this. That ending is one of, if not the most emotional moment in gaming history. All this bumps my rating up to a ten. By far, one of, if not my favorite game ever. Full Review »
  2. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    So far this games has one big disadvantage, Text speed. Aside from that I'm really enjoying this game (mostly in a nostalgic kind of way). ItSo far this games has one big disadvantage, Text speed. Aside from that I'm really enjoying this game (mostly in a nostalgic kind of way). It doesn't feel as epic yet in terms of plot as the first game and it's not secret that the target audience is children. But if you can see past that it has mostly the same mechanics (with the addition of move leveling and hunger is changed to only effect specific dungeons) and really makes an attempt to enforce positive morals like how others should be treated and not giving up. For this reason I strongly recommend this game for children, but if you enjoy the series then give it a try. Full Review »
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    3
    Disappointing.
    Content, challenge and variety has been sacrificed for graphics. There are only 144 recruitable Pokemon and there are only
    Disappointing.
    Content, challenge and variety has been sacrificed for graphics. There are only 144 recruitable Pokemon and there are only five choices for the main character. Most earlier generation Pokemon do not even exist in this game. The target audience is clearly younger than before: the story is simpler and nowhere near as dark as the previous games. Gets boring quickly, and the tediously slow text speed certainly doesn't help.

    I wouldn't recommended this to anyone above the age of ten.
    Full Review »