Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Discover the 3D world of Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity, where Pokemon speak and adventures are always nearby. What's more, you will become a Pokemon yourself. You'll meet all kinds of Pokemon throughout the game, both in the towns you'll visit and the Mystery Dungeons you'llDiscover the 3D world of Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity, where Pokemon speak and adventures are always nearby. What's more, you will become a Pokemon yourself. You'll meet all kinds of Pokemon throughout the game, both in the towns you'll visit and the Mystery Dungeons you'll explore. There are tons of them lurking around where you'd least expect them. Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: Nintendo, Spike Chunsoft
  • Genre(s): General, Role-Playing, Console-style RPG, Console-style RPG, Roguelike
  • # of players: 1 Player
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity - Official Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 46
  2. Negative: 9 out of 46
  1. May 28, 2013
    85
    It's enjoyable through and through, and the introspective nature of the storyline will leave you thinking about what effect a more positive attitude could have on your own life. It's easy for me to recommend this game to any Pokéfan, regardless of whether they've played prior Mystery Dungeon entries.
  2. Mar 22, 2013
    80
    Although it may not be the best game in the franchise, Gates to Infinity is still an enjoyable dungeon crawl, and a beautiful-looking game to boot. So long as you can deal with an easier adventure, this is another mystery worth solving.
  3. May 29, 2013
    70
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Gates to Infinity is a great dungeon-crawler for kids, but the older generations will find it too watered down.
  4. May 8, 2013
    60
    Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is a strange series and this chapter is no exception. That you love it or hate it, this is a game made of contradiction. It associates very good graphics with 8-year old gameplay, with no innovation nor changes, not even with the potential of the little Nintendo game console. It appears to be a decent game by the way, something that one who love the series could find very entertaining for a few hours, for everyone else, better wait for Pokemon X/Y.
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    54
    With a complete lack of game design, uninspired dialogue, and sub-par technical performance I can safely say that Nintendo phoned it in on this one.
  6. May 10, 2013
    50
    Despite these inventions, the abiding sense is of a lack of variety and a game that fails to fully express its best ideas.
  7. May 12, 2013
    30
    The real mystery here is why Nintendo continues to allow such a minimum effort cash grab to dilute the Pokémon name, in yet another bland and repetitive dungeon crawler.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 53
  2. Negative: 14 out of 53
  1. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Okay, I've completed the game. And let me just say, the story is the best out of the entire series. Sure, the final battle trolls you atOkay, I've completed the game. And let me just say, the story is the best out of the entire series. Sure, the final battle trolls you at first (You can't do anything). But after that, it just feels so satisfying to literally punch it in the face. In the FACE! Anyway, the music. Dare I say, this game has one of the best soundtracks in video game history. Ragged Mountain was phenomenal for the FIRST DUNGEON, End of the Road Alternate Arrangement 1 was a great remix of the original, Great Spire was epic and tells you that you're near the end, and that... that ENDING!! I'm not going to go into full detail, but let me just say this. That ending is one of, if not the most emotional moment in gaming history. All this bumps my rating up to a ten. By far, one of, if not my favorite game ever. Expand
  2. Apr 25, 2013
    9
    Great story, lots of work went into making the player feel the emotions of the characters in the game, i often found myself feeling similarGreat story, lots of work went into making the player feel the emotions of the characters in the game, i often found myself feeling similar emotions as a certain Quagsire in game (hmmm?) and often shed many tears of manliness at the story and situation throughout the game. only problem with the game is a relatively slow text speed but please don't let that discourage you from buying this amazing game! Expand
  3. Apr 6, 2013
    9
    Beautiful game.

    It looked great, and played very well for a roguelike RPG. The story was engaging, the music was fantastic, the characters
    Beautiful game.

    It looked great, and played very well for a roguelike RPG. The story was engaging, the music was fantastic, the characters were likable, and the environment was just purely whimsical.

    But that alone isn't what inclined me to rate the game like I did. But rather, because of the new things that were added to the game. Things like Paradise, a concept I wasn't entirely sure about at first until I learned of its full implications. You can manage it, clear it into different types of land, and build on as you see fit. You can upgrade shops, play minigames, train moves or farm berries and seeds. There are special shops that give you information in dungeons, and some that let you take part in draws with prize tickets similarly to how you can in Spinda Cafe in Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky. It adds incentive to go exploring for materials long after the game finishes to give you a goal beyond simply "recruiting them all" and leveling everyone to level 100.

    As for the story, while usually Mystery Dungeon games usually have their fair share of clichés (But still are pretty impactful.), this installment has a very low quantity of them in comparison. Also the story is filled with emotion, so it may not be everyone's cup of tea, but it also becomes surprisingly involving if you let yourself sink into the viewpoint of your character. The character development was well done and made many Pokemon really quite likable. (I even found myself liking Pokemon that I had never previously cared for.) The story actually may surprise you in more than one way.

    The music is upbeat for the most part, and very well done. It definitely adds to the environment and the story as it goes on. This will become especially evident closer to the end of the game. Some remixes of some older Pokemon Mystery Dungeon tracks also made it in there. (A good example being the mission complete music, which has a whimsical twist in it.)

    There are only a few complaints I really have with this game. One of them is the length of the game. It was much shorter than previous Pokemon Mystery Dungeon games, and the post-game was incredibly short compared to the post-game arcs. Two is the Pokemon count, it was pretty small compared to Explorers of Sky or even Red Rescue Team. And finally, the mechanics that were removed or added to make the game easier disappointed me. Things like how Pokemon get experience even when they aren't exploring, or the removal of hunger.

    Overall though, fantastic game. If you liked the previous games, you should totally pick this up. Also, if a Pokemon roguelike sounds appealing to you, this is a perfect place to hop on.
    Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    6
    Overall, a pretty good game, maybe NOT the BEST Mystery Dungeon game (I preferred Explores of Sky/ Time/ Darkness) but it offered a lot ofOverall, a pretty good game, maybe NOT the BEST Mystery Dungeon game (I preferred Explores of Sky/ Time/ Darkness) but it offered a lot of gameplay that was new and welcome to the series. Graphically, the game looks very nice, with polished Pokemon. the game is very text heavy, there is a lot of talking between gameplay, and the only other flaw is the lack of recruit-able Pokemon. The game itself is very fun and is a good addition to the series Expand
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    5
    PMD: Gates to Infinity is kind of a mixed bag. On one side, the graphics are actually very nice; the scenery is engaging and the pokemonPMD: Gates to Infinity is kind of a mixed bag. On one side, the graphics are actually very nice; the scenery is engaging and the pokemon themselves are charmingly handled as well. The magnegate idea to generate new dungeons is a nice touch, and there are tons and tons of items to play with.
    On the other side of things, the aforementioned magnegate is impossible to properly utilize because of how weak the actual mystery dungeon aspect is. The dungeons are randomly generated, but obviously cobbled together from pre-determined chunks, and you'll become all too familiar with them after playing each map a couple of times. The low degree of randomization means that its far too easy to prepare for every eventuality with just a few items, because there's only a few that may challenge you (and the game openly tells you how to deal with them). Though the plot is well-writen and charming enough, the dialogue is miserable even for the standard of a younger audience. I think it can be best summed up with the phrase "you can't just have characters say what they're feeling; that makes me feel angry."

    In spite of its flaws, it is wickedly addicting. Recommend to pokemaniacs, or as an introduction into dungeon crawls, but not many others.
    Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2013
    5
    None of the PMD games were good, this being no exception.

    I just have to say that the story is absolutely ridiculous, overly long, and
    None of the PMD games were good, this being no exception.

    I just have to say that the story is absolutely ridiculous, overly long, and boring. During the few moments when I actually felt an interest in the plot, it's ruined within the minute by some ridiculous plot twist or extremely silly dialogue. The character dialogue stretches for painful hours, and there's no way to skip it. It doesn't help that the script is just pathetic, either. On the other hand, the visuals look quite nice, though the battle animations are lame and dungeon design is very much the same for all of them.

    Pretty much the only part of the story I thought was cool was the beginning--up until the end of the demo. I thought the game looked rather promising after I finished the demo, but I was very wrong...

    Sound is nothing special (the music does not appeal to me at all...), gameplay mechanics are not great, and the oh-so-painful dialogue scenes filled with ridiculous conversations and repetition and repetition and repetition. There's virtually nothing interesting to do after the main story, and I wouldn't be surprised to see people give up on the game before clearing it (due to the text speed).

    Overall, not very good; only the nice 3D Pokemon models keeps this game from falling below mediocrity.

    PRESENTATION: 5.5/10
    CORE GAME: 5/10
    VISUALS: 7/10
    AUDIO: 6/10
    GAMEPLAY: 5/10
    LASTING APPEAL: 4/10
    Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2014
    0
    this is one of the worst games ever they could not wait for x/y to release and put those pokemon in its a very rushed game worst graphics andthis is one of the worst games ever they could not wait for x/y to release and put those pokemon in its a very rushed game worst graphics and the story is cliche Expand

See all 53 User Reviews