Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    100
    Pokemon X / Y is the perfect version we were dreaming about 17 years ago.
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    97
    Go get this game today.
  4. Oct 30, 2013
    96
    With Pokémon X and Y, Nintendo may have become their worst enemy; they've outdone themselves so much that it's difficult to see how the series could get any better.
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    96
    Fans of Pokémon will be in familiar territory while newcomers will have a great time learning the ropes. It never deviates from the norm too much, but what X and Y does and does brilliantly, is the improvements to connectivity and game progression.
  6. Oct 7, 2013
    96
    This is the true modern age Pokémon fans spent years waiting for: it's just bigger and better and will appeal new users too thanks to its delightful visuals and extremely polished and deep gameplay. It's a masterpiece very few nuisances and some ineffective 3D effect cannot even scratch.
  7. Oct 11, 2013
    95
    Nobody has demonstrated they can do Pokemon better than Pokemon can. X and Y does everything it needs to remain relevant, to prove why it's the top of its field, and if that's not good enough for you, there's nothing Ekans say to change your mind.
  8. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Everything about Pokemon X and Y instills a feeling of adventure that extends far, far beyond its campaign. It lets you take ownership of so much — from your wardrobe to your meticulously groomed team — and then lets you take that identity onto a global stage.
  9. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Not revolution, but regeneration. The Pokémon series takes a step forward energizing the classic gameplay formula with new and interesting twists and tweaks, like megaevolutions. A must-have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  10. Oct 24, 2013
    94
    Though Game Freak is sometimes criticized for recycling gameplay in the Pokémon franchise, they've really outdone themselves with these games. Highly recommended.
  11. Don't expect a revolution, but with dozens of thoughtful changes and the best Pokemon battles ever, X and Y cap an incredible year for 3DS.
  12. Nov 27, 2013
    92
    The biggest change in Pokemon's history. [Christmas 2013, p.80]
  13. Oct 5, 2013
    92
    From the first moment you boot up this game you will know you are playing the future of Pokémon.
  14. Oct 4, 2013
    92
    Pokémon comes back with another adventure, as fun and addictive as always, with a great visual evolution that suits it really well. It's yet another must-have on 3DS.
  15. 3D Visuals transformed the classic Pokemon approach in a good way. Online capabilities are top notch, this new generation will really make Pokemon fans happy.
  16. Nov 22, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X and Y are definitely two of the best games in the series to date.
  17. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    The game's campaign is quite simple to no avail, and some features should be refreshed. However, underneath its puerile skin there are hidden the best executed Pokémons with their traditionally catchy gameplay, pleasing both young and mature gamers. There's no reason for fans of the series to be hesitant, and the rest of you should know the meaning of our number nine - one of the best RPGs of the year.
  18. Oct 26, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X and Pokemon Y are the best, most refined versions of the games to date.
  19. Oct 25, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X&Y set a new high point for the series with beautiful, new 3D graphics, evolved gameplay and amazing online features. Simply put, it's the perfect opportunity to fall in love with Pokemon all over again.
  20. Oct 23, 2013
    90
    But here is X & Y, finally dragging me in with added accessibility and a visual flourish. If Pokemon’s greatest pleasure is the joy of discovery, then I’ve finally discovered it. And hooray for that.
  21. Oct 23, 2013
    90
    Thanks to it's new look, well atmosphere, loads of customizations and other changes and additions, Pokémon X and Pokémon Y are very accessible RPGs, you can easily become addicted to.
  22. Oct 22, 2013
    90
    Pokémon X is easily the best game in the series since Ruby & Sapphire released nearly eleven years ago (not counting HeartGold and SoulSilver), and it’s amazing how much a touch of 3D and some potent online features can add to the tried and true formula.
  23. Oct 21, 2013
    90
    X & Y are two of the best 3DS games available and succeed in making Pokémon feel next-gen.
  24. Oct 21, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re a new or old Pokemon fan, X and Y is one of the best offerings from Game Freak yet, if not the very best.
  25. 90
    With just the right mix of nostalgia and new features, as well as beautiful, colourful graphics, and a very impressive online experience, Pokémon X and Y both offer a refreshing change to the much loved series that both newcomers and long time fans can appreciate, and these games are one of the best titles available for the 3DS system to date.
  26. Oct 16, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X doesn't necessarily represent a massive leap forward for the Pokemon franchise. Instead, it is a major improvement of existing features.
  27. Oct 15, 2013
    90
    Whether you’re battling online or plowing through the single player mode, the huge range of things to do and places to go -- along with numerous revisions and additions -- more than compensate for the games few flaws and relatively low number of new Pokémon.
  28. Oct 14, 2013
    90
    The extensive single player adventure is complemented by accessible multiplayer trading and battle.
  29. Oct 13, 2013
    90
    At a glance Pokémon X and Pokémon Y did seem like a standard leap in numbers and a new look, but upon diving into the new world, it's more than just a pair of new Pokémon games.
  30. Oct 10, 2013
    90
    Pokemon X / Y is, undoubtedly, the evolution of the species. The latest work by Game Freak fits into one of the most solid structures ever created on the handheld console, in a series that needed important innovations to dispose of the outdated mechanics. One of the best chapters since the very first adventures of the series.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 560 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 142
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed. This game tweaks every single nit-pick that the previous entries in the series had. Character customization? Check. Diagonal walking? Check. Ability to run from start? Check. Incredibly sped up gameplay? Check. Brilliant graphics? Check. Ability to challenge anyone anywhere? Check. this game is truly one of the greatest RPGs of all time, it introduces new elements while improving on past elements, and fulfills every wish I had for it. Get this game now. Full Review »
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    4
    I'm writing this AFTER I beat the game so for those who have not beat it please vote after you finish E4 and see if you agree.
    I will save my
    compliments as I know it's a great game but the major flaw is that it lacks replay value, after you beat E4, there's literally nothing to do that's sparks people as OOOO this is fun.

    Let's take a look at Soul Silver and Heart Gold, after you beat the game, you get to explore Kanto, the game opens up a whole new world, all the gym now offers toughened up rematchs, all the variety of legendary you can catch from previous generations. X and Y has nothing

    Another flaw is that the Kalos Pokemon doesn't stand out, the game throws in pokemon from previous generation from the beginning and natually people will capture ones the recognize, take a look at black and white, they give you pokemon from previous gen at a much later time this forces players to use and familiarize pokemon from this generation, I have found myself a party full of pokemon from previous generations because why risk it when I know what pokemon works?

    and then there's the starters, if you count the Torchic giving to you by gift, they give you 4 starters, that's ABSURD, it completely devalues your starter pokemon.

    There are flaws that keep me from spending more than 20 hours on it when each game previously would take me 100 hours each, great game, but needs work
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    This game is pretty amazing. First off, it is in 3d. This means that the game looks wonderful. I,ve been a fan of pokemon for a long time now and this game is what i've always wanted. Full Review »