Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 549 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Not revolution, but regeneration. The Pokémon series takes a step forward energizing the classic gameplay formula with new and interesting twists and tweaks, like megaevolutions. A must-have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    The finest expression of Satoshi Tajiri's obsessive vision yet. The transition to 3D is smooth and natural and the multitudinous additions to the proven formula will excite even the most jaded Pokémon fanatic.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The best main Pokémon series entry in years, X and Y sees several new features breathe life into a process that had grown stale and stagnant. Newcomers and longtime trainers alike should be able to find the joy in catching ’em all once again.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    The game's campaign is quite simple to no avail, and some features should be refreshed. However, underneath its puerile skin there are hidden the best executed Pokémons with their traditionally catchy gameplay, pleasing both young and mature gamers. There's no reason for fans of the series to be hesitant, and the rest of you should know the meaning of our number nine - one of the best RPGs of the year.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    84
    Pokémon X/Y offers the same core experience, only better and sleeker than before. Loads of new features, quicker progression, and an emphasis on connectivity all help lift it above its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon X, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 140
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed. This game tweaks every single nit-pick that the previous entries in the series had. Character customization? Check. Diagonal walking? Check. Ability to run from start? Check. Incredibly sped up gameplay? Check. Brilliant graphics? Check. Ability to challenge anyone anywhere? Check. this game is truly one of the greatest RPGs of all time, it introduces new elements while improving on past elements, and fulfills every wish I had for it. Get this game now. Collapse
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    Pokemon. In 3D. With great music. Great environments. Better online gameplay. And better Pokemon. AND awesome graphics. So. Um, yeah. Review's done. Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Played all of them since the originals like Pokemon Yellow... all I can say is Game Freak are heading in the right direction with the series! This game is actually so incredible, sales of 3DS units have sky rocketed, and it's hard to believe that this will be the first Pokemon game for some people. It's got great online features like Wonder Trade (which I love getting bidoofs) and Battle Spot (battle random people online). They also have the usual GTS and normal trade/ battle. One feature it could use is the pokemon following you thing like in HGSS, but it's not that big of a deal. Great game and a true masterpiece, especially the graphics and music. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    There are over 649 Pokemon in Pokemon X and Y with a decently sized over world for a Nintendo kids game. 8 gym leaders, 4 elites, and one final standoff, this game has loads to offer, from it's online wonder trade, to simply catching them all or at least attempting to. This game is definetly worth a buy. Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This got me absolutely hooked on Pokemon again. The gameplay is very much what you'd expect. Collect Pokemon, beat some evil team who keep appearing all over the place, beat a bunch of gyms and then the elite 4 but it was all very well done and kept me addicted throughout. The addition of exp share really helped make the Pokemon training less of a grind and more fun, which I love. The mega-evolutions were a great touch too. Visually this is the best Pokemon game by a country mile, the nation of Kalos is wonderful and varied and the 3D (even when not stereoscopic) is very nicely done and really helps bring the world to life. The music is great as usual but the biggest improvements come in the online play where things have been drastically improved. I've spent many an hour battling away on battle-spot and although a 6v6 option would have been a nice addition I now enjoy the faster pace of the 3v3 battles. I like all the new starter Pokemon and although there aren't too many new Pokemon this time round most of them are well designed and the fact you can get a huge chunk of the 700 odd available Pokemon on this game is a massive bonus. All in all this is a truly great game. Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    8
    wow, a lot of fun and tons of content!

    i haven't played pokemon since the original on gameboy. so when i got a 3ds i had to give this game
    a shot, and i was interested in playing against some friends online.

    this game has tons of content. i've spent 10 hours and feel like i have a lot left to do. have read the main story is about 30 hours. pretty good value i think. NEGATIVES: for something so polished there are design choices that make you really scratch your head. #1 thing i hate about this game, no audio mixing??? seriously? the music is ok at best. after an hour or two you just want to turn it off. i'd really like to listen to the sounds of monsters and listen to my own music. tears.
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    3
    When I started the game, I thought it was great. A very refreshing installation to the series I love so much. After playing about 30 hours of it I noticed that I hadn't once been impressed or entertained as much as older instalments have. Sort of a disappointment if you ask me. But maybe I'll change my mind once I restart and play again without using the EXP share, which I think kind of broke the game, since you only need to use one Pokemon and everyone get's trained enough to beat gym after gym easily. Expand

See all 140 User Reviews