Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 658 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Not revolution, but regeneration. The Pokémon series takes a step forward energizing the classic gameplay formula with new and interesting twists and tweaks, like megaevolutions. A must-have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    The finest expression of Satoshi Tajiri's obsessive vision yet. The transition to 3D is smooth and natural and the multitudinous additions to the proven formula will excite even the most jaded Pokémon fanatic.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The best main Pokémon series entry in years, X and Y sees several new features breathe life into a process that had grown stale and stagnant. Newcomers and longtime trainers alike should be able to find the joy in catching ’em all once again.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    The game's campaign is quite simple to no avail, and some features should be refreshed. However, underneath its puerile skin there are hidden the best executed Pokémons with their traditionally catchy gameplay, pleasing both young and mature gamers. There's no reason for fans of the series to be hesitant, and the rest of you should know the meaning of our number nine - one of the best RPGs of the year.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    84
    Pokémon X/Y offers the same core experience, only better and sleeker than before. Loads of new features, quicker progression, and an emphasis on connectivity all help lift it above its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon X, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 159
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed.I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed. This game tweaks every single nit-pick that the previous entries in the series had. Character customization? Check. Diagonal walking? Check. Ability to run from start? Check. Incredibly sped up gameplay? Check. Brilliant graphics? Check. Ability to challenge anyone anywhere? Check. this game is truly one of the greatest RPGs of all time, it introduces new elements while improving on past elements, and fulfills every wish I had for it. Get this game now. Expand
  2. Jan 10, 2014
    10
    As an old-school pokemon fun, my love for pokemon revived since I played this game.
    If this is how pokemon will look for the next decade, I
    As an old-school pokemon fun, my love for pokemon revived since I played this game.
    If this is how pokemon will look for the next decade, I like it.
    More than 40 hours of fun. No replay value you say? Now you need to catch 718 pokemon, are you kidding me?
    Expand
  3. Ogr
    Oct 17, 2013
    10
    The new Pokémon is the best since Red and Blue!

    Tons of Pokémon, a lot of minigames to do, a good online feature and perfectly graphics.
    The new Pokémon is the best since Red and Blue!

    Tons of Pokémon, a lot of minigames to do, a good online feature and perfectly graphics.

    If you have ever liked Pokémon, you need this game.
    Expand
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    As a big Pokemon fan I really enjoyed the improvements this game made and all then new elements. Loved the music, game looks great and runsAs a big Pokemon fan I really enjoyed the improvements this game made and all then new elements. Loved the music, game looks great and runs smooth (Most of the time). Character customization and the online features really makes your playthrought feel unique from others. The story was well passed and light until a big twist near the end. Anyway I have been playing hours and loved it. Buy this Game! Its Gooooood! Expand
  5. May 31, 2014
    9
    Great game. Th thing that impressed me the most was the new competitive and iv system.This makes pokemon so much easier to breed and much moreGreat game. Th thing that impressed me the most was the new competitive and iv system.This makes pokemon so much easier to breed and much more interesting competitive scene. The game is much more fast paced unlike the old games and did I mention the upgrade in graphics. However this game isn't without its flaws. It does suffer from easy difficulty and short gameplay. However don't let this fool you this game is definitely fun and great for competitve players who wish to see their amazing pokemon seen with animations and 3D graphics Expand
  6. Nov 23, 2013
    8
    When my parents first brought me Pokemon Yellow, I don't think they understood the monster they would create. I've always enjoyed Pokemon,When my parents first brought me Pokemon Yellow, I don't think they understood the monster they would create. I've always enjoyed Pokemon, and I probably always will, even though I'm out of the house now and should find better things to do with my time.

    This game finally takes Pokemon into 3D, and I was extremely skeptical, but I shouldn't have feared knowing Game Freaks dedication to the main series.

    What a difference 3D makes when going on the same journey again, but just with new faces. The world is incredible, and it's great to explore these environments, especially since you can move diagonally and have roller blades to quickly move around. Furthermore, the advent of character customization has come and it is wonderful. Stylizing your character is another way that livens up this predictable experience into a more personal experience. The horror of not being able to enter Lumiose City's fashion boutique really encourages you to learn how to accessorize and earn style throughout Kalos. Such gives the experience a breath of fresh air again while maintaining the core experience.

    In terms of gameplay, I don't think I need to say anything. If you're on this site, you know what to expect. Game Freak did add a few curve-balls to keep you on your toes though. They added horde battles, which are cool in theory, but take way too long and the frame rate drops all too often, and then there's inverse battles, which is a fascinating diversion to say the least. Probably the biggest curve-ball is the fairy type, which I wasn't too excited about when they announced it, nor was I too blown away by it in game. The type chart has been changed accordingly, and some other minor changes have been made as well. I'm still waiting for the days of dual-typed moves, although we get a glimpse of it in Flying Press. Hopefully, they will move in that direction.

    Musically, this game is different. They've changed the style just a little bit, and sometimes it comes off great, but sometimes I never really cared for it. They also revamped a lot of the Pokemon cries (GameSpot's long time complaint which no one cared about).

    At the end of my journey with X, I was left wanting more. This game didn't satisfy the itch. They have made IV's easier, EV's easier, gaining experience easier, everything was easier. Therein lies this games biggest issue. This is probably the easiest game to date, and it's mostly due to the Exp. share. Now, every Pokemon that participates in the battle gets full experience and everyone else gets half. This lead my team to significantly out level pretty much everyone. I even turned it off, but it was too late. Ultimately, it feels like the Exp. Share is a grand cover up of the fact that this game has so little material. I finished the core experience within 35 hours, the shortest I've ever taken for the game and the post game content as well.

    This is the most polished Pokemon game to date. It's amazing and it's wonderful, but it's too easy. It's left me wanting more, and there is no way to fill it until the next set of games roll out. Please Game Freak, at least for the veterans, make a challenge mode or add something to keep us occupied as this game ultimately lacked the enormous content of the previous generation.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2015
    2
    I love Pokémon and I always will but this game was not worth the money. I stayed up until midnight to download this game and I expected aI love Pokémon and I always will but this game was not worth the money. I stayed up until midnight to download this game and I expected a great game filled with 3D graphics, a good story, great characters, and good Pokémon, but I was sadly wrong. First lets take a look at the Pokémon. The average number of Pokémon released in each game is 130 and with the previous games, Pokémon Black and White, introducing a whopping 156 Pokémon, these games must have just as many right? Nope, Pokémon X and Y have 69. How many of these are "good"? Maybe 20. People complain about Pokémon Black and White having an ice-cream Pokémon and a garbage Pokémon but their designs are cool enough with the trash Pokémon becoming a giant trash monster and the ice cream one having a cool double head cone with two faces but nobody complains about the new cotton candy Pokémon? He's literally a floating piece of cotton candy with a face but unlike the previously mentioned Pokémon this one doesn't evolve into anything cool. Instead we get a fat walking cotton candy. Come on. Also many of the Pokémon are bland and are basically carbon copies of other ones. Next, lets talk about the world. The colors are dull and the region is very straightforward and is very long and boring (cough...parfum palace...cough) and there are huge gaps in between important events. The graphics may be 3D but the world is very, very, dull. The cities are also not memorable and are just a waste of time. My next point is the characters. Oh how I hate to talk about them. We have a generic professor, Trevor and Tierno, two lifeless boring characters, and your rival Serena or Calem. Serena and Calem are definitely two of the most boring characters ever to be in a video game. They are both very bland and have nothing about them and appear at random times. Next is the story. It sucked. Basically some random guy who acts like he isn't evil but obviously is wants to create an invention to make a more beautiful world. Think about that. All of his team looks cool but the honestly do nothing. Also the champion is a character who you meat a couple times who has no personality and by the time you find out she's the champion, you really don't care. Also in Pokémon Black and White, at the end of the game right when you're surrounded by a group of bad guy all the gym leaders heroically come all the way over to you just to help. In Pokémon X most of the gym leaders don't leave the gym. Also with the game is obviously directed at people who started on the first Pokémon games or people who just started playing them. If you're like me or 60% of all Pokémon fans you aren't one of them. A new feature is that some Pokémon get a special Mega Evolution which is a huge power boost, but instead of giving them to the weak Pokémon, they give them to overpowered or fan favorite Pokémon. I mean does charizard or mewtwo really need TWO mega evolutions? Come on now! Also, the music is HORRIBLE. The previous games had catchy tunes you'll love listening too, especially Pokémon Platinum, but this music will make you either turn off sound or fall asleep, not like a lullaby like Nacrene City music, but like so boring you'd rather go to sleep than listen to it. Next up is the aftergame. After you beat the main story, which is very easy with the EXP share, you unlock a new town with a few little feature. This town has the friend safari, which is just another gimmicky grass patch and the horrendously boring Battle Maison which is just a bunch of boring battles. But wait! There's more! In Lumiose City, the gigantic city that is impossible to navigate, an old character named Looker informs you to help you out on a series of spy missions! Soundd fun, right! Surprisingly, I actually enjoyed it! It was nice and fun but there was one problem. It was too short. After that there's nothing important to do. Wow. Overall I love the Pokémon series but this was an abomination of a game and I was definitely disappointed. Expand

See all 159 User Reviews

Trailers