Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Not revolution, but regeneration. The Pokémon series takes a step forward energizing the classic gameplay formula with new and interesting twists and tweaks, like megaevolutions. A must-have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    The finest expression of Satoshi Tajiri's obsessive vision yet. The transition to 3D is smooth and natural and the multitudinous additions to the proven formula will excite even the most jaded Pokémon fanatic.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The best main Pokémon series entry in years, X and Y sees several new features breathe life into a process that had grown stale and stagnant. Newcomers and longtime trainers alike should be able to find the joy in catching ’em all once again.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    The game's campaign is quite simple to no avail, and some features should be refreshed. However, underneath its puerile skin there are hidden the best executed Pokémons with their traditionally catchy gameplay, pleasing both young and mature gamers. There's no reason for fans of the series to be hesitant, and the rest of you should know the meaning of our number nine - one of the best RPGs of the year.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    84
    Pokémon X/Y offers the same core experience, only better and sleeker than before. Loads of new features, quicker progression, and an emphasis on connectivity all help lift it above its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon X, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 147
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed. This game tweaks every single nit-pick that the previous entries in the series had. Character customization? Check. Diagonal walking? Check. Ability to run from start? Check. Incredibly sped up gameplay? Check. Brilliant graphics? Check. Ability to challenge anyone anywhere? Check. this game is truly one of the greatest RPGs of all time, it introduces new elements while improving on past elements, and fulfills every wish I had for it. Get this game now. Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    Pokemon X or i should say PokeAwesome X Is one best game that i have enjoy ever!
    the gameplay is fun,, and a new feture such as changing what
    you wear is awesome as well
    i love the pokemon games more then i use to i hope they keep this up like this one and y
    Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Played all of them since the originals like Pokemon Yellow... all I can say is Game Freak are heading in the right direction with the series! This game is actually so incredible, sales of 3DS units have sky rocketed, and it's hard to believe that this will be the first Pokemon game for some people. It's got great online features like Wonder Trade (which I love getting bidoofs) and Battle Spot (battle random people online). They also have the usual GTS and normal trade/ battle. One feature it could use is the pokemon following you thing like in HGSS, but it's not that big of a deal. Great game and a true masterpiece, especially the graphics and music. Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    Pokemon X is the definitive version of Pokemon we've all been waiting for. So many great adjustments and advancements to the series help make it play so smoothly. Only reason it's getting a 9 and not a 10 is because the 3D isn't as prevalent as it could be. Expand
  5. May 31, 2014
    9
    Great game. Th thing that impressed me the most was the new competitive and iv system.This makes pokemon so much easier to breed and much more interesting competitive scene. The game is much more fast paced unlike the old games and did I mention the upgrade in graphics. However this game isn't without its flaws. It does suffer from easy difficulty and short gameplay. However don't let this fool you this game is definitely fun and great for competitve players who wish to see their amazing pokemon seen with animations and 3D graphics Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2014
    8
    With amazing, colorful 3D graphics, amazing soundtrack, and new interesting Pokemon, this game is a must have on the 3ds. EV training has become much more approachable thanks to super training which i'm sure will make it competitive play much more approachable to new trainers. The addition of mega evolution opens up evolution to many Pokemon which makes many more Pokemon more viable options to use on your team. This game also is much more detailed than any other Pokemon game. The sprites all have motion that makes everyone feel alive in a battle setting that is just as detailed as the Pokemon. There are however some flaws which hold it back from being the best that no one ever was. Once you beat the game, there is little to do in the after game unlike previous Pokemon games, like Whitetree Hollow in White/Black 2, or how you unlocked Kanto in SoulSilver/HeartGold. You instead get a single city with its own version of a battle arena that is nothing to get excited about. There also, while well designed, fewer new Pokemon in this generation then any other, especially when the last generation had 156 to this gens 69. Luckily, there will be pokemon from every gen to catch, so don't think there will only be a few Pokemon to catch. Nevertheless, this is a game that will satisfy that Pokemon crave that we all have and deliver an enjoyable experience to any who play it. Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2014
    3
    When I started the game, I thought it was great. A very refreshing installation to the series I love so much. After playing about 30 hours of it I noticed that I hadn't once been impressed or entertained as much as older instalments have. Sort of a disappointment if you ask me. But maybe I'll change my mind once I restart and play again without using the EXP share, which I think kind of broke the game, since you only need to use one Pokemon and everyone get's trained enough to beat gym after gym easily. Expand

See all 147 User Reviews