Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 636 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Not revolution, but regeneration. The Pokémon series takes a step forward energizing the classic gameplay formula with new and interesting twists and tweaks, like megaevolutions. A must-have for Nintendo 3DS owners.
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    90
    The finest expression of Satoshi Tajiri's obsessive vision yet. The transition to 3D is smooth and natural and the multitudinous additions to the proven formula will excite even the most jaded Pokémon fanatic.
  4. Oct 7, 2013
    90
    The best main Pokémon series entry in years, X and Y sees several new features breathe life into a process that had grown stale and stagnant. Newcomers and longtime trainers alike should be able to find the joy in catching ’em all once again.
  5. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    The game's campaign is quite simple to no avail, and some features should be refreshed. However, underneath its puerile skin there are hidden the best executed Pokémons with their traditionally catchy gameplay, pleasing both young and mature gamers. There's no reason for fans of the series to be hesitant, and the rest of you should know the meaning of our number nine - one of the best RPGs of the year.
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    84
    Pokémon X/Y offers the same core experience, only better and sleeker than before. Loads of new features, quicker progression, and an emphasis on connectivity all help lift it above its predecessors.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon X, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 7 out of 155
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed.I made an account just so I can express how brilliant this game is, everyone I know bought a 3ds for this game and they wee not disappointed. This game tweaks every single nit-pick that the previous entries in the series had. Character customization? Check. Diagonal walking? Check. Ability to run from start? Check. Incredibly sped up gameplay? Check. Brilliant graphics? Check. Ability to challenge anyone anywhere? Check. this game is truly one of the greatest RPGs of all time, it introduces new elements while improving on past elements, and fulfills every wish I had for it. Get this game now. Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    I know I haven't been doing this for some time, but that's because I had my school account on here and forgot to put my real GoogleI know I haven't been doing this for some time, but that's because I had my school account on here and forgot to put my real Google account...but besides that, this game is really epic. I, for one, am kind of a Pokemon gaming and viewing nerd. I, honestly, love that about myself. Pokemon X is an awesome game and I really want it. You guys might be saying, ''YOU HAVEN'T GOTTEN IT YET...DUDE!!'. Well, there's school and my grades are kind of bad with this D and F I need to work on. But, I'll get there. Anyways, this game is truly an epic game and I recommend you get this game. Very epic if you love Pokemon. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I'm loving it so far. There is a strange beautiful mix of old and new. All the past Pokemon from the whole series is in this game and it isI'm loving it so far. There is a strange beautiful mix of old and new. All the past Pokemon from the whole series is in this game and it is brilliant. It's everything I wanted Pokemon blue to be and more. It is perfect. Expand
  4. Oct 24, 2013
    9
    This game just blew my mind. It is absolutely amazing. Nothing like any Pokemon game I've ever played!
    Firstly, I would like to state the
    This game just blew my mind. It is absolutely amazing. Nothing like any Pokemon game I've ever played!
    Firstly, I would like to state the fact that i live in South Asia, Pakistan; where 3ds games practically NEVER arrive... Sure, there's the occasional GTA 5 and Assassin's Creed, but it was actually very shocking to see such a game on the shelves of the few gaming stores. As soon as I saw it, I got it reserved and payed extra, with me being such a Pokaholic! I read reviews and so many gameplay videos and the game looked amazing!

    I had also seen many screenshots online, and yes, the graphics do look slightly pixelized, e.t.c. but once you get the game, the graphics have surpassed average 3ds games' overall. One thing I would like to point out is that, most parts of the game, aren't in 3D! The free-roam, and navigation isn't 3d; you turn on the depth slider, and the world is still the same. But when 3d is available, it is stunning. Especially when you have a Pokemon "mega-evolve".

    The gameplay is very smooth and although many people say it is somewhat laggy, I don't think the same. It's a pretty smooth experience. The navigation is very fun with the roller-skates and the bike. All new mounts have also been introduced, which is a bonus. The world is very lush, and detailed, especially the lovely, Lumiose City! All new features such as taxis, monorails, and mounted transports have been introduced as well.

    The story, I have to admit, might be a little bland and childish, but it is still very enjoyable and is quite long. Gym battles are very fun and get harder and harder every time, and just reaching the actual battles is very exhilarating and exciting!

    Overall, I think the game is totally worth it, and is suitable for both young and old ages. Pokemon fans like me will be amazed and instantly fall in love! The only reason why it lost one mark was because of not being able to play in 3d all the time, despite it being a 3ds exclusive... Honestly, this has to be the best and most anticipated game for the 3ds.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2014
    9
    Great game. Th thing that impressed me the most was the new competitive and iv system.This makes pokemon so much easier to breed and much moreGreat game. Th thing that impressed me the most was the new competitive and iv system.This makes pokemon so much easier to breed and much more interesting competitive scene. The game is much more fast paced unlike the old games and did I mention the upgrade in graphics. However this game isn't without its flaws. It does suffer from easy difficulty and short gameplay. However don't let this fool you this game is definitely fun and great for competitve players who wish to see their amazing pokemon seen with animations and 3D graphics Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. With the introduction of Pokémon X and Y versions, the seventeen years of work that has gone into all of the Pokémon games seems to have finally reached what the creator, Junichi Masuda, has been working towards. Many of the new features make the game not only more functional, but in ways, more personal. The updated graphics are also nothing to scoff at. With the 3D effects and cell shading, it makes all the previous games seem primitive.
    In the past games, having a bond with your Pokémon was purely a mental thing. Sure, the more you walked around and battled with your Pokémon, the more it would “like” you, and the more powerful the attack Return would become. However, that was all there was to show for that bond. Now, with the feature of Pokémon Amie, you can build up enough of a “friendship” with your creature that they’ll dodge attacks, land more critical hits, cure themselves of status conditions, and even survive a lethal blow just because they love you that much.
    With the addition of over seventy new Pokémon, the pool of Pokémon to choose from while playing is vast to say the least. This, along with the new fairy typing, can make it very difficult to limit yourself to a team of just six. Though, this isn’t to say it’s a bad problem to have. In previous games, it was easy to fall into a rut of having certain Pokémon on your team every play through.
    The Super Training option has made training Pokémon for competitive battling easier. It makes it a lot easier to keep track of the effort values the Pokémon has gained. This about goes hand-in-hand with the Player Search System (PSS). The PSS helps keep track of friends, and allows easier access to battles. With these two options side by side, competitive battling is easier now more than ever.
    Another amazing feature is the customization option for your character. With hundreds of clothing options to choose from, and different hairstyles and color, it really does feel as though you are going on your own Pokémon adventure.
    However, while all of this is great, the main reasoning for giving the game a rating of 8/10 instead of a solid ten was due to how easy the game was. Arriving at the Elite Four, I found my full team of six to all be at level eighty. Poor Diantha didn’t stand a chance. This was more than likely due to the Exp. Share now sharing experience points with the whole team. While it’s a very convenient feature, it leaves the game almost too easy. After how difficult Black 2 and White 2 were, it feels like a step down. In White 2, the game hours spent to become the champion ranged from twenty to twenty-four hours, easily. Running through X version, it took maybe ten game hours to complete.
    Along with that, it was blatantly obvious who the main villain was. Though, in the first few hours of the fandom playing the game as a whole, there was the theory that Professor Sycamore and Diantha were Team Flare leaders. However, it was only that: a fun theory. Those two weren’t the ones preaching about a beautiful world –like Lysander. Nor were they the ones dressing fashionably. While that could be argued on Diantha’s part, Professor Sycamore is a complete fashion disaster, because those orange socks do not go with his mainly purple scheme in the least. The only surprise with Team Flare was the doomsday device, but that in itself brings up another problem.
    Lysander didn’t seem to have a clear reasoning for his anger. Sure, he preached and preached about a perfect world, but he never really seemed to give a clear reasoning as to why he wanted this. Every other team had a distinctive motive. Team Rocket wanted to make a fortune. Team Magma wanted to expand the land and Team Aqua wanted to expand the seas, each for their representing Pokémon. Team Galactic wanted to create a new universe to Cyrus’s ideal. Admittedly, Team Galactic had one of the most twisted goals since even though you were out to stop them Cyrus admitted that the player and Champion Cynthia fit his ideals, and would make it into his new universe. Team Plasma worked under the ruse that they were going to liberate all Pokémon from humans, while Ghetsis actually wanted world domination. Team Flare? Well, they just seemed to be a bunch of angry fashionistas.
    The game didn’t really have any difficulties to it. It was probably one of the most straightforward Pokémon games to be released. However, this is more than likely in light of the new graphics system. Hopefully, with whatever the Z version will be, this will be fixed. It would certainly be a shame to have all of the wonderful features mentioned prior, but not have a game that works with it.
    All in all, it was a very worthwhile game. Even with its lack of challenges, the game was fun, and worth the time and money. Seeing what has been presented to us in this game makes me even more excited for the next game. It’s a game that anyone with a 3DS would be crazy not to own.
    Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2015
    2
    I love Pokémon and I always will but this game was not worth the money. I stayed up until midnight to download this game and I expected aI love Pokémon and I always will but this game was not worth the money. I stayed up until midnight to download this game and I expected a great game filled with 3D graphics, a good story, great characters, and good Pokémon, but I was sadly wrong. First lets take a look at the Pokémon. The average number of Pokémon released in each game is 130 and with the previous games, Pokémon Black and White, introducing a whopping 156 Pokémon, these games must have just as many right? Nope, Pokémon X and Y have 69. How many of these are "good"? Maybe 20. People complain about Pokémon Black and White having an ice-cream Pokémon and a garbage Pokémon but their designs are cool enough with the trash Pokémon becoming a giant trash monster and the ice cream one having a cool double head cone with two faces but nobody complains about the new cotton candy Pokémon? He's literally a floating piece of cotton candy with a face but unlike the previously mentioned Pokémon this one doesn't evolve into anything cool. Instead we get a fat walking cotton candy. Come on. Also many of the Pokémon are bland and are basically carbon copies of other ones. Next, lets talk about the world. The colors are dull and the region is very straightforward and is very long and boring (cough...parfum palace...cough) and there are huge gaps in between important events. The graphics may be 3D but the world is very, very, dull. The cities are also not memorable and are just a waste of time. My next point is the characters. Oh how I hate to talk about them. We have a generic professor, Trevor and Tierno, two lifeless boring characters, and your rival Serena or Calem. Serena and Calem are definitely two of the most boring characters ever to be in a video game. They are both very bland and have nothing about them and appear at random times. Next is the story. It sucked. Basically some random guy who acts like he isn't evil but obviously is wants to create an invention to make a more beautiful world. Think about that. All of his team looks cool but the honestly do nothing. Also the champion is a character who you meat a couple times who has no personality and by the time you find out she's the champion, you really don't care. Also in Pokémon Black and White, at the end of the game right when you're surrounded by a group of bad guy all the gym leaders heroically come all the way over to you just to help. In Pokémon X most of the gym leaders don't leave the gym. Also with the game is obviously directed at people who started on the first Pokémon games or people who just started playing them. If you're like me or 60% of all Pokémon fans you aren't one of them. A new feature is that some Pokémon get a special Mega Evolution which is a huge power boost, but instead of giving them to the weak Pokémon, they give them to overpowered or fan favorite Pokémon. I mean does charizard or mewtwo really need TWO mega evolutions? Come on now! Also, the music is HORRIBLE. The previous games had catchy tunes you'll love listening too, especially Pokémon Platinum, but this music will make you either turn off sound or fall asleep, not like a lullaby like Nacrene City music, but like so boring you'd rather go to sleep than listen to it. Next up is the aftergame. After you beat the main story, which is very easy with the EXP share, you unlock a new town with a few little feature. This town has the friend safari, which is just another gimmicky grass patch and the horrendously boring Battle Maison which is just a bunch of boring battles. But wait! There's more! In Lumiose City, the gigantic city that is impossible to navigate, an old character named Looker informs you to help you out on a series of spy missions! Soundd fun, right! Surprisingly, I actually enjoyed it! It was nice and fun but there was one problem. It was too short. After that there's nothing important to do. Wow. Overall I love the Pokémon series but this was an abomination of a game and I was definitely disappointed. Expand

See all 155 User Reviews

Trailers