Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pokemon X and Y are the first mainline Pokemon games made for the 3DS and feature a mix of Pokemon old and new as well as a trio of new starting Pokemon - a watery toad Froakie, a fiery deer Fennekin, and a grass monster Chespin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    100
    Bigger, better, stronger and prettier than anything we've ever seen with the label "Pokémon" on the cover.
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    95
    Pokemon X and Y made me feel like I was back on the middle school playground, vying for real-life superiority in battle and communing in trade. I didn't think games could still make me feel that way — but I'm so glad to be proven wrong.
  3. 90
    New Pokémon games often introduce minor features like this but they often feel like slim justification for a new game, and are abandoned the instant a new sequel comes out. Most of X and Y’s new ideas are more substantial, or at least more fun, and help to cement this as the definitive Pokémon game of the modern age.
  4. 90
    Pokémon X & Y do not change the formula of the series but has undoubtedly modified some bases already established. Never before has there been so many novelties to come at once and this is precisely why you will want to play it.
  5. 3D Visuals transformed the classic Pokemon approach in a good way. Online capabilities are top notch, this new generation will really make Pokemon fans happy.
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    85
    Pokémon X & Y celebrate the transition to a full 3D world. And it's a strong success. Kalos is even more alive, gains volume and credibility. The battles improve too, the creatures have never been so real, so well-animated. This and only this can make you buy those games. On the other hand, Pokémon is still the same title, and X & Y keep making the gameplay evolve little by little.
  7. Oct 25, 2013
    60
    There’s a good game in Pokemon Y, and fans looking for another game near-identical to the ones before it likely won’t find issue with a lot of the dusty trimmings and transparent battle system. If you want to get into into the new stat rebuilding features and grind out tons of easy battles to prep for high-level online multiplayer, it’s never been easier to do so. But for all else, the game’s excellent visuals belie the frustratingly old-fashioned design. RPG folk can find better times on their 3DS.

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 109
  2. Negative: 2 out of 109
  1. Oct 12, 2013
    10
    Any pokemon fan can get this game and enjoy. This game is pretty fun and has beautiful visuals too. Every aspect of pokemon has been improvedAny pokemon fan can get this game and enjoy. This game is pretty fun and has beautiful visuals too. Every aspect of pokemon has been improved with pokemon x and y. Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I gave Pokemon X&Y 10 eventhough I should have rated it 8. 10 because the game transitioned very well and was able to create a visuallyI gave Pokemon X&Y 10 eventhough I should have rated it 8. 10 because the game transitioned very well and was able to create a visually beautiful Pokemon game. It has added a lot of gameplay elements but the best yet is it's online feature. My only disappointment was there is very few things to do, post-game. I wish there was an option for those who are not inclined in competitive battling like me for something else to do aside from breeding and training your perfect pokemon. Expand
  3. TSW
    Oct 27, 2014
    10
    My third favourite game. most of new Pokémon are a great. the graphics are snazzy and seeing the best Pokémon ever, Palkia in 3d is glorious!My third favourite game. most of new Pokémon are a great. the graphics are snazzy and seeing the best Pokémon ever, Palkia in 3d is glorious! the mechanics are greatly improved and finally it's music is the best! Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    Pokémon X and Y won't conform many who haven't fallen for the hype since day one, however, it's as stunning as the day the franchise firstPokémon X and Y won't conform many who haven't fallen for the hype since day one, however, it's as stunning as the day the franchise first made its way into the hearts of everyone else who's been the opposite of a hater. Pros: The visuals aren't just an improvement, they're, as aforementioned, stunning and excellently executed; many, many new features such as Pokémon Amie, Super Training, character customization, and daily content help develop a deeper connection between players and their Pokémon; multiplayer value is also better than ever thanks to simplified access and Wondertrade; Pokémon from all gens make an appearance sometime or another; meeting Pikachu, Evee, the original starters, and Snorlax early in the game help create a nostalgic sense of familiarity that veterans and even newcomers alike will admire. Cons: The 3-D functionality isn't exemplified very often and when it is, frames-per-second run very, very slow very, very frequently; newer features such as Pokémon Amie and character customization, although adored, are limited; the storyline, stage designs, NPCs are flawed and/or forgettable; some newer features such as Mega Evolutions and "tipping" are virtually useless; too easy and a bit over-rewarding in terms of leveling up and making money. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2014
    9
    I don't know, I really liked this game but... It's easier than other Pokemon games I guess. It gives you 2 starter Pokemon, you're leveling upI don't know, I really liked this game but... It's easier than other Pokemon games I guess. It gives you 2 starter Pokemon, you're leveling up your Pokemon easily before the Victory Road/Elite Four with lots of quests and OP experience share system. When you're reached the Victory Road, if you played game the way should be played, you should have an OP team. After playing Pokemon Y, Pokemon Black felt harder than it should be.

    But I'm not saying "Game is easy, so it's a bad game.". Game is really great, I bought a 3DS for this game. It's easier, more playable and there are first generation Pokemon too. If you really love Pokemon, don't hesitate and buy it. If you like RPG games, buy it. It's a must buy game for 3DS and you will not regret buying it.
    Expand
  6. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    There's more good than bad here and the game has a lot of charm. What it lacks in some ways is ambition.

    Good: Battle graphics are
    There's more good than bad here and the game has a lot of charm. What it lacks in some ways is ambition.

    Good: Battle graphics are outstanding and a huge boost from Black and White.
    Huge variety of monsters from various generations available immediately.
    Online multiplayer is better than it has ever been. It's easy to trade and battle strangers on the spot. Though there are less options for rule-sets than perhaps there should be and the battle room seems to refuse allowing full 6 monster teams.
    Breeding is easier and more clear than ever and training monsters to their potential is much more intuitive with mini games.
    Tons of items, abilities and core gameplay options to personalize your team of favorites.
    A new type that challenges the dominance of certain types.

    Bad: Too few new pokemon as well as too few Mega options, many of which are lent to the already most powerful monsters in the game. In total, the lowest number of new pokemon in a game.
    Metagame is not even remotely balanced to the point where community battle simulators provide a more entertaining experience.
    Story is almost nonexistent. The antagonistic team is crunched into two short back to back sequences which are resolved by non-player characters off screen after you battle the villains.
    Pacing is poor, aforementioned flare sequence and the oddly spaced gyms. Early gyms being very far apart and having pokemon level caps too close for comfort before they cease listening and later gyms being crammed narrowly together.
    Many characters are unremarkable and easily forgettable, including the finale battles. Side characters continue to be a nuisance chopping up progression.
    Post game content is a shadow compared to some previous gens.

    Though at face value there may seem to be more negatives posted above, the severity of most of the negatives isn't crippling and what the game does well it does very well. I look forward to the next addition where the foundation made for XY expedites a more content packed follow-up.
    Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    5
    While a visually stunning game, this iteration of Pokémon has many outstanding faults. The aforementioned stunning visuals are not paired withWhile a visually stunning game, this iteration of Pokémon has many outstanding faults. The aforementioned stunning visuals are not paired with an equally stunning camera, which often spins around for no reason, and in the case of the central city, manages to confuse the player. The user interface has been dumbed down and made even less usable than in black and white, this games predecessors. HeartGold and SoulSilver, two remakes, have had the best user interfaces to date, and both were promptly forgotten by The Pokémon Company. The new Pokémon are often inventive and interesting, though many are just down-right awful. The difficulty level spikes perceptibly after the sixth or seventh gym, leaving you to grind unnecessarily for quite some time on victory road before attempting the Elite Four. This inconsistent level-design leaves you frustrated for multiple hours. Though many will laud this game for its visual splendor and new art direction, I cannot see that as a redeeming factor. The new towns and characters are also with little point and much frustration. The new scientist is annoying, the new villain and his team are ridiculous, and your characters friends are a bunch of hand-picked cliche's. Even many of the new graphically impressive towns are forgettable, the aforementioned main city being the exception due to its annoying nature and design. For me, this game is a clear case of style over substance, leaving much to be desired from Nintendo's first attempt at a fully realized 3D Pokémon on a flag-ship hand-held. I love Pokémon, I take out the original once a year, pop it into my GBC attachment for my N64, put on Dodrio mode and beat it in one sitting. I have played and loved every game since (even Black and White, somehow), but this is a vast disappointment. The Pokémon Company had the chance to make their opus, their masterpiece, a defining game for a generation of gamers waiting for one of their most beloved series to come into the 21st century, except all we are left with is a poorly designed game that may show that Gamefreak is losing its touch. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Trailers