Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. May 8, 2011
    85
    An ideal blend of sim and arcade. [June 2011, p.86]
  2. Mar 24, 2011
    85
    We're still torn whether to play top-to-bottom with 3D on or side-to-side with 3D off. Either way, this is the best PES on any format in ages.
  3. Apr 10, 2011
    84
    PES 2011 is a great game on the Nintendo 3DS. The graphics, the 3D effect, the gameplay and the stunning atmosphere are major advantages. Nevertheless, I'm missing some online features, more options for editing players and a tutorial.
  4. Jun 6, 2011
    80
    In the end, Pro Evolution Soccer 3D offers great controls on the 3DS with some good use of 3D graphics. There is definitely enough content in this game to keep even the most fussiest of soccer fans happy such as the Master League but when you attempt to explore more like online content and full license teams, these are unfortunately missing.
  5. May 23, 2011
    80
    It's a competent first pass 3D pocket football game, of that there's no question. It's fun to play and the 3D genuinely aids in comprehension of the proceedings.
  6. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    But in the meantime, it's the only game in town, and it's certainly not a bad one at all. While it might be lacking some options to give it longer replay value, PES 2011 plays a sophisticated and subtle game of football, and delivers a terrific-looking 3D soccer experience.
  7. Apr 4, 2011
    80
    PES 2011 3D is both classic and innovative, trying to offer a new way of playing, making the most of the 3D vision, but also allowing the player to reject this and choose the classic gameplay of the last ten years.
  8. Mar 31, 2011
    80
    Considering the overall quality, both visually and gameplay wise, PES 2011 3D is undoubtedly the best football game available on 3DS. There's definitely room for improvement, but for the time being we can consider ourselves satisfied.
  9. Mar 27, 2011
    80
    Its look and feel when you actually play a match is more akin to what you would expect to find on the Xbox 360 or PS3. Which is mightily impressive – the only compromises that PES makes in order to fit onto the 3DS affect the least important aspects of the game.
  10. Mar 23, 2011
    80
    It's a couple of features short of being a classic, but its compelling game of football has found a comfortable home on the handheld. It suggests that greater things are to come from this relationship, but there's enough here to keep players going until then.
  11. Apr 4, 2011
    79
    At the end of the day I would say that PES 2011 is a great sports game and a good title overall to help kick off the 3DS launch with, as I know I am sold.
  12. Old flaws remain and no online play, but it's still compulsive and challenging. [Apr 2011, p.92]
  13. Apr 5, 2011
    77
    The exclusion of a few modes is a glaring issue, but one that can be excused considering this is a launch title. Thankfully, the action on the pitch is still up to par and there is enough content to keep soccer fans happy in the meantime.
  14. Apr 7, 2011
    76
    Forgetting the unplayable new cameras that should have made this PES a new beginning, what this 3DS edition offers is the same, familiar "PS2 version" gameplay that made the series so popular. Shame for the lack of any online multiplayer mode.
  15. Mar 29, 2011
    76
    If you are looking for a good soccer's game on 3DS, PES 2011 is your game.
  16. May 31, 2011
    75
    The presentation of the menu and in-game action is top-notch. Maybe it's only because it's a handheld and nothing like this has been seen on mobile devices yet, but it feels like a perfect experience, at least at first.
  17. 75
    A good soccer game. If you're a fan of the sport, it's worth picking up, especially if you're familiar with the series. It just disappoints me that Konami didn't put enough effort in to fix the issues that keep the game from being great.
  18. Mar 25, 2011
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Mar 23, 2011
    75
    If you are looking for a title that you can play for hours, then this one is your game. It's definitely worth it if you just bought a 3DS.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    Its the best iteration of PES for sometime but it certainly has its faults. The default "player" view is extremely difficult to use - you'llIts the best iteration of PES for sometime but it certainly has its faults. The default "player" view is extremely difficult to use - you'll have to rely on the radar for player locations as the view changes just far too quickly to be useful. The 3D is handled very well, the frame rate is pretty smooth and the sound (for a sports title) is pretty good.

    The commentary is a little sparse at times and the crowd is only 2d but what holds back this title from being a very solid game is the complete lack of options! PES doesn't have the license of FIFA but it really should make up for this with a better UI and tutorials - demos and scenarios.

    I miss the old days of International Superstar Soccer and the different scenarios it would put you in. What I do love about PES though is that it is much more realistic and its difficulty is finely balanced. For every errant pass you'll pay a hefty price but make some clear space with a few solid passes - a little shuffle past your man and slotting by the 'keeper....theres no better feeling than scoring a well earned goal.

    This is a good start for PES and I look forward to next seasons edition. 3DS sports is off to a good start - now for a beautiful 3D tennis game (what ever happened to Grand Slam Tennis?) and a Tiger Woods title......
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    I think I paid like 6 or 8 bucks for the game. For a 3DS soccer game, it hits the mark pretty dang well. Recommended for soccer fans who wantI think I paid like 6 or 8 bucks for the game. For a 3DS soccer game, it hits the mark pretty dang well. Recommended for soccer fans who want a mobile game superior to touchscreen controls of a smartphone or tablet. Full Review »
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    6
    Not the best Football game I have ever played. It is still fun and graphics are ok, but it does not have online and lacks on featuresNot the best Football game I have ever played. It is still fun and graphics are ok, but it does not have online and lacks on features sometimes. There is not much to say about the game since I am not exactly stunned by it. Full Review »