Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Pro Evolution Soccer 2011 3D brings soccer to the 3DS.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. May 8, 2011
    85
    An ideal blend of sim and arcade. [June 2011, p.86]
  2. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    But in the meantime, it's the only game in town, and it's certainly not a bad one at all. While it might be lacking some options to give it longer replay value, PES 2011 plays a sophisticated and subtle game of football, and delivers a terrific-looking 3D soccer experience.
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    79
    At the end of the day I would say that PES 2011 is a great sports game and a good title overall to help kick off the 3DS launch with, as I know I am sold.
  4. Mar 26, 2011
    70
    Football fans desperate for some 3DS sports action will find a game that plays as well as its big brothers, yet must be warned that this is definitely akin to a 'light' edition.
  5. Apr 20, 2011
    70
    PES 2011 3DS is already a good game with identity and reveals success in adapting to 3DS, a more powerful system.
  6. Apr 6, 2011
    70
    Most handheld sports games (and launch ones, at that) have a hard time presenting gamers with a compelling feature set or satisfactory gameplay experience. Pro Evo 2011 for the 3DS goes some way toward alleviating that problem, but in the process comes up with new ones all its own.
  7. Apr 12, 2011
    50
    If you want to use the nicest looking 3D viewpoints you lose the defensive controls, making Pro Evolution Soccer 2011 3D practically impossible to play. But if you can live with the regular tv camera you at least get an average football game without a lot of content.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    8
    Its the best iteration of PES for sometime but it certainly has its faults. The default "player" view is extremely difficult to use - you'll have to rely on the radar for player locations as the view changes just far too quickly to be useful. The 3D is handled very well, the frame rate is pretty smooth and the sound (for a sports title) is pretty good.

    The commentary is a little sparse at times and the crowd is only 2d but what holds back this title from being a very solid game is the complete lack of options! PES doesn't have the license of FIFA but it really should make up for this with a better UI and tutorials - demos and scenarios.

    I miss the old days of International Superstar Soccer and the different scenarios it would put you in. What I do love about PES though is that it is much more realistic and its difficulty is finely balanced. For every errant pass you'll pay a hefty price but make some clear space with a few solid passes - a little shuffle past your man and slotting by the 'keeper....theres no better feeling than scoring a well earned goal.

    This is a good start for PES and I look forward to next seasons edition. 3DS sports is off to a good start - now for a beautiful 3D tennis game (what ever happened to Grand Slam Tennis?) and a Tiger Woods title......
    Collapse
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    I enjoy the World Cup when it rolls around and catch an occasional MLS game but I'm no hardcore soccer fan and can't name more than five players. However, I enjoy soccer video games and since the 3DS library is so limited, I gave PES 2011 3D a try, and am glad I did.

    The 3D in this game is very cool! The first time you see the players running around the screen they seem more like ants inside a box rather than a flat video screen. So cute! The default camera is not really usable since you don't see enough of the field and takes too long panning around. I recommend the vertical view since it really enhances the 3D effect and also matches the radar view so you don't have to mentally rotate it in your mind. The 3D is particularly helpful for long kicks since you can better judge the height and depth of the ball in the air. It's easier to complete long passes and prepare your receiver to trap the ball. It definitely enhances the gameplay and is not just a gimmick for the sake of 3D.

    Since I'm not a hardcore soccer fan, it doesn't bother me that all the licensed teams aren't up to date. In fact, I'm thrilled to support any company that competes with EA since they would rather buy exclusive licenses than compete fairly on merit. The only little problems I have with the game is that it forces you to watch replays of every goal and generally makes you hit the 'start' button to skip stuff way too often - which is not the best button on the 3DS. Also, no online play is a major disappointment as well. Also think it is overpriced. I wish they would offer a stripped down version on the eStore without the actual player names for around $10-15.

    The game itself is lots of fun and very competitive. You can set the difficulty level to get the game about where you want it, and then choose your teams to finely tweak how challenging it is. It's the best portable soccer game I've played and am having an absolute blast with it so far.
    Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2014
    8
    I think I paid like 6 or 8 bucks for the game. For a 3DS soccer game, it hits the mark pretty dang well. Recommended for soccer fans who want a mobile game superior to touchscreen controls of a smartphone or tablet. Expand
  4. May 7, 2011
    6
    Probably one of the best instalments in the PES series, with the 3DS depth making angular viewing easier and allowing precise judgement of shooting, passing, and dribbling. Nice, original gameplay but no revolutionary additions, and poor multiplayer, yet, i suppose fans won't really be expecting anything very new. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    6
    Not the best Football game I have ever played. It is still fun and graphics are ok, but it does not have online and lacks on features sometimes. There is not much to say about the game since I am not exactly stunned by it. Expand