Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask 3DS

Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Professor Layton's first adventure on the Nintendo 3DS system takes him to the colorful city of Monte d'Or, where he must stop a mysterious man from wreaking havoc with the powerful Mask of Chaos.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    100
    Combine the new 3D effect and art style with an intriguing look at Layton's history, along with a story that manages to propel the series forward, and you're left with what I believe to be the best in the series so far.
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    90
    The broad range of characters, the emotional tone of the storyline and the teasing promise of more makes for an utterly engrossing experience. The question is whether this is worth your money; if you enjoy puzzles and charming tales of adventure, then you should already know the answer.
  3. Oct 26, 2012
    87
    Probably, the best entry in the series.
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    For its first arrival on Nintendo 3DS, Professor Layton's series is fairly shy. Except from an all new engine and a really good 3D effect, the game's core is still the same. Layton walk around in Dorémont or his childhood village to resolve more than 150 riddles with his sidekicks Emmy and Luke in present tilmes, while Randall act in the past. Two interesting storylines which further a great sense of immersion. Effective and straightforward, Professor Layton and the Miracle Mask is a really nice gaming experience, despite its lack of freshness.
  5. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 17, 2012
    80
    A sweet, good-natured puzzler that continues the series' traditions with some great new elements, too. [Jan 2013, p.69]
  6. Nintendo Power
    Nov 11, 2012
    80
    Overall, though, this game hits all the notes that a professor Layton title should, resulting in another rewarding, cerebally invigorating quest. [Nov 2012, p.80]
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    70
    Layton is a good distance removed from the hysteria that surrounded his debut title, then, but the fifth game in this stylised series is enough to keep you entertained.

See all 54 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    10
    Probably the best layton game so far. The puzzles are fun as always but the real thing here is the plot: the story is so mesmerizing andProbably the best layton game so far. The puzzles are fun as always but the real thing here is the plot: the story is so mesmerizing and emotional, you won't want to put it down. Plus the 365 daily puzzles and the mini games. you are really in for a treat, trust me. Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    10
    This is an amazing game! Brilliant story, brilliant puzzles, brilliant music and I was a bit uncertain of the 3D graphics before I played it,This is an amazing game! Brilliant story, brilliant puzzles, brilliant music and I was a bit uncertain of the 3D graphics before I played it, but I now think that they work really well. The Professor Layton series is my favorite DS/3DS series and Miracle Mask is the best game in that series. I honestly can not think of any problems I had with it (or am having, because of the daily puzzles) and I am really envious of Japan as it has set up for the next game brilliantly. Expand
  3. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Fantastic! This whole series is the best of the Nintendo DS! I recommend this game to everyone. You won't regret this purchase even if youFantastic! This whole series is the best of the Nintendo DS! I recommend this game to everyone. You won't regret this purchase even if you haven't played any of the other 4 in the series before this one. The puzzles are the best in the business. Plus, as a bonus you get one puzzle download a day for the next 365 days! 150 + 365 = 515 puzzles total by October 28, 2013! A+ 10/10. Collapse
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    You'll never get tired of playing puzzles everyday with this puzzle game! It's like a big collection of puzzle for 40 dollars. And if it's notYou'll never get tired of playing puzzles everyday with this puzzle game! It's like a big collection of puzzle for 40 dollars. And if it's not enough, you can download a puzzle everyday for a year! However, there's only 20 different kinds of these puzzles. But they will be a easy one and a tough one! It depends on the difficulty bar. One colored bar means it's really easy, and five colored bars means it's really hard. There are also bonus features like every other Professor Layton games. You will also hear a story from Layton form the past. It's really fun and you should try it. Get your puzzles on today! Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2017
    8
    Make this one a purchase if you're into Layton or just a big 3DS collector. You won't even regret purchasing this whatsoever even if thisMake this one a purchase if you're into Layton or just a big 3DS collector. You won't even regret purchasing this whatsoever even if this wasn't from Nintendo. Expand
  6. Jan 31, 2014
    8
    another great layton game. the new 3d graphics are great and story is still full of awesome twists and characters. theres a part of the gameanother great layton game. the new 3d graphics are great and story is still full of awesome twists and characters. theres a part of the game where the gameplay changes to a dungeon crawler for a little bit and that was a nice way of changing up the gameplay for a little bit. my only problem with this game is that the puzzles can get WAY too hard at times Expand
  7. May 13, 2014
    5
    The game is stylus intense game and boring for me. The story is dramatic and full if puzzle games ,if you want to experience a good story , goThe game is stylus intense game and boring for me. The story is dramatic and full if puzzle games ,if you want to experience a good story , go and watch some epic anime.....This is my personal opinion , the game is not worthy for its price , its design seem to be like an erotic game........Really not my favorite game at all time , I might think brain age is much better than this game (for brain challenging). Great music of course , but the story cannot engage me to play until the end of game , I have to tire myself to finish the game for writing the review.
    CONCLUSION IS:
    -Dramatic but not engaging story
    -Great music and puzzles but totally not suitable for those lazy to do the puzzles
    -Stylus intense game might damage your screen protector (based on your using style)
    -3.5 star sound cast for me....
    -A lot of contents but not my cup of tea
    -The game is not flexible
    -Some anime could provide a much better story than this game.....other than the story , the puzzles is boring to me, if the main story cannot attract you (puzzles too) than it may be a great waste.....
    -So, i would not recommend this game for someone who never play the series before
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews