Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Banpresto and Monolith Soft, Project X Zone features over 50 characters from 29 historic game franchises by three of Japan's most prolific video game companies. In Project X Zone players use a team of two characters known as a Pair Unit to explore the world within the game. An additional character known as a Solo Unit can be combined with the Pair Unit to assist in battles with Solo Attacks as well as augment the attacks available for players to execute. Throughout the game, epic battles are waiting to erupt at a moment's notice. Players will have to master an array of screen-busting moves including Solo Attacks, Support Attacks, Cross Hits, and Finishing Moves in order to defeat a multitude of foes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 53
  2. Negative: 2 out of 53
  1. Jul 24, 2013
    90
    Project X Zone shows how crossover games should be done, celebrating the rich history of Namco Bandai, SEGA and Capcom, while making all the included characters shine.
  2. Jun 26, 2013
    80
    Project X Zone is often funny and consistently frantic – two traits not necessarily associated with tactical RPGs. Its story is confusing and the chapters slavishly follow the same repetitive formula, but the superb battle system makes repetition not just tolerable, but enjoyable.
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    80
    Not the best choice if you're looking for a great SRPG on your Nintendo 3DS. Still, the best one if you're old enough to appreciate every dialogue and every character stuffed in this tiny cartdridge.
  4. Jun 30, 2013
    70
    Despite the lack of depth and the repetition of combat, Project X Zone follows through as a tactical, humorous, preposterous romp through the best hits of video games. Even if you find the combat system strange, the streak of character cameos and the ridiculous number of hits that rack up with every battle will make any hardcore fan smile with appreciation. And if you're anything like me, that's hard to do.
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    70
    Capcom, Namco and Sega deliver a new world record in pure fan service. Although the strategy parts and fighting could be better, this is still well worth your time and highly recommended for old school gamers.
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    60
    It’s not easy to dislike Project X Zone, not only for its popular characters but also because it can be fun if played in small amounts, maybe a chapter a day.
  7. Jun 27, 2013
    40
    With the wealth of RPGs, and even great SRPGs, that have arrived on the 3DS in the last several months, it would almost be unconscionable not to recommend one of those games instead of Project X Zone. Fun combat and screaming Tekken characters can only take you so far.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    The game is pure fun and very addictive, a must for rpg fans. I love the cross combination of the different characters from Capcom, Namco Bandai, and Sega. The easy controls makes the game even better. Another great RPG for the 3DS. Highly recommend. Expand
  2. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    After seeing these negative reviews, I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if they had never played the game in the first place (which if you look into it you will find that's the case with alot of negative reviews), Look at some gameplay, it's the text book example of simple to play, hard to master, an amazing game made for what they call amazing fans! Expand
  3. Jun 26, 2013
    10
    The game is not perfect, yeah. But it is great. I followed this game since they announced it was coming out overseas, I was really excited about it, but a lot of people kept saying that the game had low sales on Japan, that the games is awful, etc.

    Well, they couldn't be more wrong. The game is great and can provide lots of fun, and a ton of hours of gameplay. It you are expecting something like Fire Emblem, don't be stupid, I mean, you see those characters you get to use, don't you? I would you expect a game like Fire Emblem (I love FE). But this game is different. This game was made for amuzement, you get to play with some of your greatest characters and see them in action.

    The fights are super fast, and it is not just button mashing, you have to time up your actions very well to chain your combos right. There's gear and special equipment for your characters. Don't let reviews make you put this one down. Watch a gameplay of the game in youtube and be honest with you, if you like what you see, you will like the game, if you don't then maybe it's just not for you.
    Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2014
    8
    The last crossover game that I've played before Project X Zone was Cross Edge. I was able to notice that mixing a lot of characters from different worlds is not an easy task, so I was kinda worried when I decided to play this game. Fortunately, I've enjoyed the experience, specially because I'm a huge fan of the SRPG genre.

    The real challenge about making a game with such different worlds, characters and rules is to find a balance that makes you believe the crossover is acceptable. I didn't play all the games that the characters belong to (some of them weren't localized). But I think the story worked okay even knowing that, for instance, Resident Evil and Shining Force are completely different. The real problem is that there's too many characters and it's impossible to focus individually on them. The script had to be made in a way that each character speaks a little to give a chance to the others speak too. We choose our favorite characters but they don't get focus.

    The battle system is the real thing to be highlighted. I personally prefer 2D over 3D, and since most games are made in 3D nowadays I can say that I really had a great time watching all the excellent and well made hand draw animations. The moves, specially the finishing moves, are awesome. Some battles have around 50 enemies on the field, which is a considerable number since it's turn-based.

    Unfortunately, at some point in the game everything starts to be repetitive because there's no more attacks and skills to be unlocked. Another thing that I didn't like and it's the same mistake of Endless Frontier is fighting against the same bosses over and over again, which makes the game even more repetitive. It's not cool to defeat a boss many times wondering how he manages to escape every time and watch the heroes do nothing about it. The skills have nothing special due to the fact that they basically do the same things: heal, increase range, general buffs... It would be cool if the characters had unique skills.

    In short, Project X Zone is a great Japanese SRPG to be played if you enjoy the genre and at least some of the characters. Also, be aware that the game is very extensive, specially if you don't skip the animations. Some chapters could have been easily cut out to shorten the story. Be aware also that the last boss can be difficult if you don't have strategy or sufficient level. I recommend that you defeat as many enemies as possible before doing the requirements of each chapter in order to be strong in the last chapter.
    Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Project X Zone is a fun SRPG that should not be missed. Worth a look if you enjoyed Fire Emblem Awakening. Try the demo if you like it buy the game and hopefully we will see more of these types of games come to the states.

    PS.
    Be sure to get the limited edition to get the extra goodies.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    Project X Zone is simply a straight forward Tactical-RPG with emphasis on a Capcom styled fight sequence for each of it's battles. Though it can seem immersive at times, the gameplay can feel a little shallow considering that combos can be easily pulled off easily and one of the main strategies for clearing each stage revolves around keeping your units together and either clearing out the weaker units before sending them on an all-out assault. Roster wise, it's amazing to see Megaman X gain recognition after Megaman's horrendous appearance in Street Fighter X Tekken and each and every character have some amazing voice acting followed up. Though I can understand why a majority of characters are Japanese anime stereotypes, but I find it questionable why Sega excluded characters such as Sonic the Hedgehog, Nights, Ryo Hakazuki, and not a single character to Skies of Arcadia. The story can prove to be another weak point since most of the characters seem to be easily swallowed up into the plot due to the large cast of characters. Though I've only register a few hours, Project X Zone is an amazing title, though it could have had some additional gameplay elements. If you're a huge fan of any of the four developers who helped out with this game or simply need a RPG for the summer then look no further. Expand
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    2
    Project X Zone is a shallow Fire Emblem turn base RPG. It's big selling point is the Sega, Namco and Capcom team up with its popular characters. Why this game disappoints is that it mixes the genres of a fighting and shooting and put them into a RPG which sadly doesn't fit cause it limits them to a few moves. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews