Pushmo 3DS

Pushmo Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 191 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known at "Pullblox" in the UK/EU) Pushmo is a puzzle-action game in which you pull and push blocks to create a place to stand so you can jump up and down on your way to a goal. At first glance, some places may look out of reach, but if you use your head, you just may see a way to the goal...
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    100
    Pullblox is one of the finest titles currently available for the 3DS and even in a world where iPhone games can cost under a pound there's no questioning the value for money that Pullblox provides; it's really is a massive game with near-endless customisability.
  2. Jan 4, 2012
    100
    It's one of the 3DS's most outstanding offerings to date -- not because it pushes the hardware in any way, but because it embodies the polish and craftsmanship that elevates the best Nintendo games from "good" to "great."
  3. 95
    Pushmo is an ingenious puzzler that will consume the free time of anyone who gives it a whirl. I found myself putting in hours at a time because of its addictive nature. If you own a 3DS, do yourself a favor and go download Pushmo.
  4. Dec 21, 2011
    90
    Pullblox is one of the most intriguing 3DS title. A splendid puzzle game, smart and entertaining.
  5. Dec 27, 2011
    90
    An outstanding puzle game, that starts slowly but evolves quickly, becoming very addictive. A great start for Intelligent System on the 3DS and at a great price.
  6. Jan 18, 2012
    85
    In an industry where originality is a virtue increasingly rare, games like Pushmo should not be missed.
  7. Dec 15, 2011
    80
    An inspired and genuinely original puzzle game that offers plenty of value for money and one of the best reason so far to get your 3DS online.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Absolutely fantastic. It reminds me of the best Zelda puzzles, mixed with Mario, mixed with Tetris. Actually, there is nothing else quiteAbsolutely fantastic. It reminds me of the best Zelda puzzles, mixed with Mario, mixed with Tetris. Actually, there is nothing else quite like it, which is why it is so good. It's hard to explain how great this game is until you're working on your 100th level. A must own, 10/10. Collapse
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    10
    This chraming puzzle game is absolutely brimming with content. Over 200 splendid puzzles are here to occupy your time, and a healthy majorityThis chraming puzzle game is absolutely brimming with content. Over 200 splendid puzzles are here to occupy your time, and a healthy majority are delightfully challenging, and only for $7! On top of the great amount of content, the game also lets you build your own stages, which is fun to experiment with and share. This is probably the first game on the eshop that I recommend buying without hesitation. What are you waiting for? :) Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    This game one the best original 3DS puzzle game to date. The puzzles are extremely clever making you feel smarter every time you solve one.This game one the best original 3DS puzzle game to date. The puzzles are extremely clever making you feel smarter every time you solve one. This is a certain must buy for the 3DS. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2011
    10
    One of the most interesting puzzle games I've played in quite a while. From the charming visuals, to the adorable music, the head scratchingOne of the most interesting puzzle games I've played in quite a while. From the charming visuals, to the adorable music, the head scratching puzzles, and very long adventure, for $6.99, this game is one of the best downloadable titles out there. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Sometimes the simplest ideas work best, which is the case in Pullblox, the best puzzle game on e-shop. The aim of each level is to reach theSometimes the simplest ideas work best, which is the case in Pullblox, the best puzzle game on e-shop. The aim of each level is to reach the flag by pulling out the colourful, differently-shaped blocks to be able to get your cute sumo wrestler guy Mallo to the goal. He can walk, jump, and pull blocks, that’s it. I know it sounds weird and unappealing (especially when explained by me), but actually it’s a fresh, innovative and addictive game. The levels get exceedingly difficult and leaves you wondering how the hell you do it. If you’re stuck for long enough, it allows you to skip to the next level, but I think a super guide would have been better. Halfway through the game, pullout switches are adde. These, if stepped on by Mallo, trigger every block that is the same colour as the switch to come out all the way. There are also manholes, which Mallo climbs down to appear in a different place on the level. These thoughtful additions make Pullblox more complicated, but not too complex as to ruin the core idea. The levels are often surprisingly tiny yet could still tax for an hour or more. If done right of course, you could complete them in half a minute. Which brings up another thing: there are no enemies at all- just you, and the blocks. For an e-shop download, Pullblox holds you for ages and ages, with tonnes of levels, many being murals that look like objects, and famous 8-bit Nintendo characters.
    You can also design your own levels. This is a massive replay opportunity that makes Pullblox yet better. You can then turn the level into a QR code and another 3DS can then hover over it and download it. I would’ve preferred an online sharing system instead though, like in Mario and Donkey Kong.
    Pullblox is the first game you should download from the e-shop.
    Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2011
    9
    I made an account just to recommend this game. Pushmo is absolutely amazing. The main game is fun but making your own puzzles is an absoluteI made an account just to recommend this game. Pushmo is absolutely amazing. The main game is fun but making your own puzzles is an absolute blast! You can either try to make a puzzle or make a drawing and they try to TURN it into a puzzle. I cannot tell you how fun it is to try to solve your own drawing and then have to add different blocks/pipes/pull outs just to make it solvable. Then, after you finally do, try it again. You may still have a difficult time and YOU MADE IT! After you solve it once, you can make a QR code for it and post it online (So that means ANY puzzle you find can be solved) and others can then try to solve it. I can't wait till my next plane or car trip with friends. Making puzzles then handing it over and seeing how long/who can solve them will be such a time killer.

    If Pushmo just came with the main 200+ levels it would be worth $7.
    If Pushmo came with 200+ levels and downloadable levels that you maybe even had to pay for it would be worth the $7
    If Pushmo came with 200+ levels and then you could create your own, it'd be worth the $30-$40 we pay for a cartridge game.
    But no, Pushmo comes with 200+ levels, you can create your own levels, then you can share them and download other people's creations FOR FREE using QR codes and it only costs $6.99!!!

    If you have paid $249 when the 3DS came out or $169 when it was discounted and you do not pay $6.99 for Pushmo, you are only screwing yourself. There is a reason this is the highest rated 3DS game on Metacritic, and it's low price is only a little part of that reason. Absolutely amazing game.
    Expand
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    1
    I don't see how so many people can enjoy this game... I'm not criticising any of you, but this game is not for me. I was excited about theI don't see how so many people can enjoy this game... I'm not criticising any of you, but this game is not for me. I was excited about the prospect of this game and especially when seeing such a high user score, but i was generally disappointed. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2011

    The Best Videogames of 2011 Image
    Published: December 23, 2011
    It wasn't just your imagination; 2011 was indeed a great year for videogames. In our yearly report, we take a look at the year's best releases overall as well as the top games for each platform.