Rayman 3D 3DS


Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 39
  2. Negative: 5 out of 39
Buy On
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    A lack of true performance tweaking and additions makes this a rather hard sell on the 3DS, but it's certainly not the worst version of the game out there.
  2. May 10, 2011
    Rayman 3D is still an enjoyable, but short platformer. Nevertheless, you don't really recognize changes to prior Rayman games and the 3DS support.
  3. 50
    If you're not a fan of the yellow guy or if you've played one of the earlier versions, then the 3D experience by itself does not justify the purchase of 3D Rayman.
  4. May 6, 2011
    There's very little to recommend Rayman 3D, even when keeping in mind the 3DS' rather limited launch lineup. There's the core of a good game here, but that's about all that this version of Rayman 2 has going for it.
  5. Apr 23, 2011
    This is a good game, as it already was when it was launched almost fifteen years ago, but its only new feature is the 3D view, without a graphic overhaul or anything else new.
  6. Apr 22, 2011
    While nowhere near perfect Rayman 3D is the best portable version of the game to date that's worth picking up if you've never played Rayman 2 before.
  7. 50
    The camera still proves erratic, the stages are small by modern standards, and anyone who cares to play this game has played it many times before. Platformers have moved on since 1999. Rayman hasn't.
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    When you consider that the game is at its best when the 3DS' depth slider is at its lowest setting and the game is already available for other platforms at a price far lower than $40, Rayman 3D makes little sense on Nintendo's newest handheld. While it's nice to have a 3D platformer for this 3D platform, a more polished effort would have been better.
  9. Apr 19, 2011
    Rayman 3D is the umpteenth version of Rayman 2: quite entertaining for its gameplay, largely despicable for its graphics. The title still retains some historic value, but it's not certainly this 3D episode the best way to enjoy it.
  10. Apr 17, 2011
    A ten year old platforming game that in some ways still feels fresh but in other ways is just embarrasing.
  11. Apr 16, 2011
    It doesn't use the 3DS's technology too well and the price is steep given the features of the package, but underneath that, Rayman 3D is still a fun little platformer, if somewhat dated.
  12. Apr 14, 2011
    There are quite a few sections where the game looks like the player is handling a 3D character on a 2D background, and in some situations, the 3D can be a hindrance.
  13. Apr 14, 2011
    Overall I truly enjoyed playing this game and strongly recommend it as a new title for the 3Ds. The gameplay keeps evolving enough to keep you interested as you continue through and the graphics and sound keep you immersed in the world. Again my issue with the lack of explanation of the characters and history brings the game down for me a bit, but not enough for me to stop playing. This title is a great pick especially if you are a fan of platform adventure games and definitely if you are already into the Rayman series.
  14. Apr 13, 2011
    Rayman 3D is a perfect conversion of Rayman 2: The Great Escape. Problem is, it is a game from 1999, and, while it remains quite good by today's standards, there are lot of chances you've already played this game in a form or another.
  15. Apr 6, 2011
    A loveless port of a timeworn platformer, which lacks any artistic or creative reason to exist. Do we even need to tell you to wait for Mario 3DS?
  16. Apr 5, 2011
    Rayman 3D may be yet another port of Rayman 2, but its improved controls and capable 3D implementation breathe new life into the title.
  17. Apr 5, 2011
    An artefact. It's completely anachronistic in today's world.
  18. Apr 2, 2011
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Mar 30, 2011
    If you have an itch for a Mario 64 clone, and want to check out a decent platformer, Rayman 3D gets the job done. However, if you've already played the game, I would wait until this launch title hits the bargain bin, as just simply slapping on 3D effects and calling Rayman 2 a new game is not enough to merit your $40.
  20. 60
    Rayman 3D is in many ways a lukewarm adventure. It suffers from numerous annoyances and clumsy controls, and it seems that the game has been hurt by the many, many rereleases over the years. However, if you've never played Rayman 2 before, it might still be worth checking out, as it's still a decent platformer at heart.
  21. Mar 28, 2011
    Rayman 3D's target audience - i.e those who actually played "The Great Escape" and fell in love with the lengthy campaign and overall presentation - will pick it up without hesitation. As for those who never-NEVER got to play it, I think it would be best to wait until the price drops of a few bucks...like 20-30 dollars.
  22. Mar 27, 2011
    There are a few minor issues here and there, like the somewhat average visuals and a camera that doesn't always cooperate, but for the most part the game still manages to capture the majority of the magic from its earlier console days.
  23. Mar 27, 2011
    The entire time I was playing, I felt ripped off. I'd been suckered into thinking I would be getting something new and dazzling and instead, I ran into the same problems I had 11years ago. Don't bother with this rehash on 3DS.
  24. Mar 27, 2011
    In 2D, it's a damn fine platform game. In 3D, it's a surprisingly good showcase for the hardware. Put them together and you've got by far the best modern version of the game, with better controls than iPhone version and better graphics than the old DS.
  25. Mar 25, 2011
    Rayman 3D takes a classic gaming experience and excites with 3D visuals, but fails to solve the camera and control problems.
  26. Mar 25, 2011
    Rayman jumps in the 3rd dimension with this new edition of the second chapter of the series. He's in good shape, but now we want him to be the star of a REALLY new adventure!
  27. Mar 25, 2011
    Surprisingly enjoyable. I say surprising because at the ripe old age of twelve, you'd expect the mechanics to be grey and riddled with arthritis. Despite a camera that often refuses to behave itself, Rayman 3D is as robust as it is enjoyable.
  28. A great platformer over a decade ago, but this is showing its age now.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Mar 26, 2011
    This game is brilliant! Its a solid platformer and is a great showcase for the 3DS 3D effects. I picked it up at launch with my 3DS and isThis game is brilliant! Its a solid platformer and is a great showcase for the 3DS 3D effects. I picked it up at launch with my 3DS and is definatly the best game to get! Full Review »
  2. JET
    Mar 26, 2011
    This game is amazing! Its a lot like crash bandicoot and if you didn't play this game the first time around you should get it! Even if youThis game is amazing! Its a lot like crash bandicoot and if you didn't play this game the first time around you should get it! Even if you have played it before it is still amazing for the 3D effects! Full Review »
  3. Jan 19, 2016
    Rayman 2 might be almost 17 years old, and yet there's not a single 3D platformer on the 3DS that can top it. Lush, colorful visuals createRayman 2 might be almost 17 years old, and yet there's not a single 3D platformer on the 3DS that can top it. Lush, colorful visuals create one of the most unique and interesting worlds you'll ever see in a video game. Gameplay is pure platforming/action-adventure bliss at its finest. The camera is a little wonky at times and the controls take a little getting used to, but it hardly takes away from the enjoyment I had with this game. Just remind yourself that you're getting a straight-port of Rayman 2: The Great Escape from the Dreamcast, not a major 3D overhaul like StarFox 64 3D. This is an incredible game, still one of the best platformers ever created, and now happily available on the go. Full Review »