User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 49
  2. Negative: 16 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 15, 2012
    3
    Ugly sound, low resolution, framerate problems - thats all about Rayman Origins on 3DS. If you want to enjoy the game fully - choose the version for the Wii.
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    The 3DS version seems like it's almost directly taken from the home console versions, which isn't surprising, but other than being 3D, and having a bottom screen, there's really no difference. I'm still going to give it an 8 because it's a great game in it's own right, they just could 've added a few extra things for the 3DS. On the PlayStation Vita they added the feature of being able to touch enemies to pop them once they have been bubbleized. This may sound like a small feature, but it's things like this that define it for the console you're playing it on. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2012
    3
    not at all suited for the 3DS. The scaling is all wrong. all the characters are too small and blurry due to the game being designed for the big screen. The music plays in the wrong places and loops poorly. And don't get me started on the lag. If you want to enjoy this game buy it on a console.
  4. Jun 20, 2012
    2
    This makes me wonder why Ubisoft took so long to port over such a simple game in poor quality like this. The games looks very blurry, the 3D barely stands out, the sound is off and the framerate still chugs a lot. This is not even for the limits of the 3DS in front of the Vita or some smartphones. it's just a very bad port that insults whoever bought the 3DS
  5. Mar 6, 2013
    8
    After actually completing the game i can say the following: ITS THE SAME GAME AS OTHER VERSIONS!, Despite having poorly adapted visuals and sound, it feels the same... You'll found here the same level of fun and addictiveness, with a 3D effect that sometimes impresses and the same platforming goodness that is on other platformers. So, if you want a portable version of the game and don't have a Vita don't doubt and get it! You'll not regret. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2013
    8
    Well i be honest i cant see why everyone is hating on this game? possibly because there comparing it to HD console versions or the fact game doesn't have local 4 player co-op which to me is no big deal. i bought it the other day for £18 pound and Ive got nothing but praise for it. Am not comparing this to any other version as am taking it on its own merits and what Ive played Ive enjoyed alot. Yes it has few faults no 4 player option which for me is not big draw. And you cant play as teenise's on 3DS version which is shame. Other than that i personal thought gameplay was great and really enjoyed it. Graphics specially in underwater levels look beautiful and while character aren't as detailed or crisp they do there job just as well. All 60 levels are present plus the huge boss battles, string of chest challenges, time attack levels and few unlockable costumes for two playable characters - Rayman and Globlox are present. There are few really cool flying levels and very tricky platforming treats around every corner. Ive notices 4 drops of slowdown in some of later levels but nothing game breaking. 3D while not "SUPER POP OUT" makes levels feel very pretty and gives them nice sense of depth which i really liked. Other reviews mention blurry textures which are there but again doesn't make the game ugly or unpleasing to eye. Personal this best 2D plaftformer Ive picked up in ages and if you enjoy this type of game then ill think you'll get kick out of it! BTW this game also has 32 achievements and use's streetpass function on 3DS. Expand
  7. Jun 21, 2012
    2
    A pathetic port. My g*****n cell phone can probably run this game, why did Ubisoft have to port a halved frame rate and tons of lag into this game? Personally I thought the graphics were fine, but the fact that the game crawls and stutters, a 2D PLATFORMER crawling and stuttering when the original plays at 60 fps, is pathetic. Along with Rayman 3D's atrocious frame rate, I'm just not sure Ubisoft knows what they're doing anymore. And why did it take so long to release? Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2013
    7
    Having not played any other version of this game, I can't comment on actual comparisons. I can, however, judge it for what it is: a fun 2-d platformer with slightly slow-framed action.

    The characters and setting are reminiscent of 1990's Cartoon Network, with exaggerated, slapstick animation. This gives the gameplay a sort of graphical dynamism that is unfortunately dampened by some
    issues. First, there's the aforementioned frame rate slowness, which sadly goes directly against the main strenght of this sort of animation. Secondly, the plethora of constant, overlong achievement scenes are unskippable which is extra aggravating when some of them last for tens of seconds.

    If you get past these problems, however, there is a fair amount of good time to be had. The level design is very good, and there are some truly amazing tunes in the soundtrack. Overall, Rayman Origins is a decent pasttime for your 3DS especially if, like me, you purchase it for the eShop discounted price.
    Expand
  9. Sep 5, 2013
    6
    This Version make you feel like a long jump into a obscure abyss, the others versions of this wonderful platformer are incredible, i had mixed feelings when i played, enjoyed the gameplay but couldn't forget about how good this can looks in the others consoles, minus to Ubisoft for release this unfinished and downgrade version.
  10. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    I loved Rayman origins on the 3ds althought there are many problems regarding the resolution and sometimes it gets really slow. However its a game u should play. I love it
  11. May 9, 2014
    8
    Rayman Origins is an amusing 2D platformer. It has beautiful art and a hip soundtrack. Collect lums to free electoons to progress in the game. Collect all lums to fully complete game and get gold medals. Doing this is extremely hard even in the first stages. The player is able to switch their playable character. The 3DS game has achievements to unlock. The game suffers from long, frequent loading screens.

    8/10
    Expand
  12. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    Ladies and gentlemen, the boys and the girls, this game is not suit for your grandma to play, unless your grandma is really an expert. However! Don't misunderstand what i say, the game is not so difficult for us, the young generation. I know someone may say 'Oh my guard! Wat is wrong With The SizE!" What do you expect from a 3.5 inches screen brother and sister -_- I play this game on my nokia old phone N-Gage , in this more smaller screen maybe you guys can search for nokia n-gage screen size... You may feel terrible rayman size , but i feel 'Oh DEER! OH MY GUARD !!! THIS GAME IS GOD! FREAKING GOOD!" I even play worm on that smaller screen phone than 3ds , but i never complain , your eyes will used to it within a few minutes.... We human sensory system mostly used to compare the differences , so when you zoom out the gameplay on your big big monitor screen find the game terrible tiny , but when you play on 3ds ... HEHEHEHE YOU NOE WAT I MEAN! Nothing bad in the game.. Really good for me, but ps1 is best, because ps1 bring the first surprise to me..... Expand
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    Rayman Origins is a unique, well designed platformer with loads of personality that simply doesn't feel right on the 3DS.
  2. Jun 27, 2012
    70
    If you haven't yet enjoyed Rayman Origin and you want to do it on your 3DS anywhere you are, this is better than nothing, as the game is already a classic. But this adaptation is a bit disappointing technical wise.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    80
    A port that's slower, blurrier, and missing multiplayer, but for all that it's still the 3DS' best non-Mario platformer. Beautiful, fluid and packed with value. [July 2012, p.97]