Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Jan 26, 2012
    85
    A great handheld game, one that not only pushes the boundaries and standards of the Nintendo 3DS but one that recaptures a long-forgotten spirit of a classic franchise. Make no mistake about it, this is a full Resident Evil adventure that isn't watered down because it's in portable form.
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    85
    Revelations is a successful blend of old-school Resident Evil horror and new-school action.
  3. 86
    The story is one of the best in Resident Evil's recent history, and the shooter controls are pretty much perfect.
  4. Jan 11, 2012
    90
    The story is interesting with the added bonus of actually being coherent for once, the gameplay feels perfect on 3DS, and it's one of the greatest-looking portable games I've ever seen, especially with the 3D cranked up. [Feb 2012, p.92]
  5. Jan 26, 2012
    80
    Resident Evil: Revelations is gorgeous, huge, and offers the most fully-featured online co-op experience on 3DS. The single-player isn't quite the survival horror comeback Capcom promised but, with its brilliant take on score attack, Raid mode ensures Revelations delivers at least once on its title.
  6. Jan 31, 2012
    80
    A portable horror like no other - Resident Evil Revelations is as sure to frighten newcomers as it is to leave fans both pleased and hungry for more.
  7. Feb 7, 2012
    80
    Resident Evil: Revelations is a darn good game. It has nagging flaws and problems that hold it back, but most of those are situations that could have been handled better, not situations that were actively bad. It's a fast-paced, frantic and intense game, and it should be in any Resident Evil fan's library.
  8. Feb 8, 2012
    91
    Despite a small number of extremely minor flaws, Resident Evil Revelations is an excellent attempt at bringing the RE series to handhelds. In fact, you could make the argument that it's a better RE game than even the last console title in the series.
  9. Jan 30, 2012
    90
    All in all, Resident Evil Revelations is one of the strongest entries in the series. For perspective, it took me almost two years to finish RE5 because I just wasn't compelled enough to play it. But with Revelations, I couldn't wait to get back to the Queen Zenobia in between play sessions. I'm crossing my fingers that when RE6 descends upon us, it plays a lot more like this one.
  10. Jan 26, 2012
    67
    The promise of a portable and blockbuster RE is mostly realized, and the control improvements and sense of scale translate effectively, but I sincerely hope Capcom chooses to skew from RE's cheesy past and make more memorable adventures moving forward.
  11. Jan 30, 2012
    82
    Revelations is a great technical achievement on the 3DS, and a competent and enjoyable product overall. It's a shame that the unacceptable enemy AI makes the experience much less thrilling that what could have been; but given the fact that it's on a portable console, you can easily forgive Capcom once more.
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    91
    One of the scariest games ever committed to handheld, and a spectacular return to form. [Jan 2012, p.68]
  13. Feb 20, 2012
    92
    I was late to hop on the 3DS bandwagon and I only have a handful of the top games for my 3DS so far, but Resident Evil: Revelations is by far one of the best if not "the best" game currently out for the system.
  14. Jan 30, 2012
    80
    The thoroughly M-rated adventure fulfills nearly every desire of RE fans, simultaneously fitting the new handheld perfectly thanks to a new episodic approach to storytelling. It's not a huge leap forward for the series, but it does prove that even on a handheld, Resident Evil can still be a good time.
  15. Jan 26, 2012
    85
    Resident Evil Revelations mixes action with adventure, partially returning to the origins of the series. It is a must-have for console owners, and one of the pinnacles of visual quality we've seen so far in the Nintendo 3DS. It also has a very good story which will please fans of the saga eager to know more about Umbrella, zombies, an the STARS team.
  16. Feb 13, 2012
    85
    I'm not sure I'd buy a 3DS just for Revelations. It's not a system seller, but it's a good, solid third-party title. As an installment in the larger series, it's an interesting and hopeful glimpse of where Resident Evil is going now.
  17. Feb 2, 2012
    60
    The abysmal controls and resulting frustrations are unforgiveable.
  18. Feb 3, 2012
    90
    Despite the minor flaws the game contains, this is one experience that RE fans and 3DS owners simply should not miss.
  19. Feb 7, 2012
    91
    It's also an important game for the 3DS in particular because it demonstrates the viability of a hardcore-oriented franchise as well as how powerful the 3D effect can be in creating a game environment.
  20. Jan 25, 2012
    60
    It takes the best and worst of Resident Evils past and present, and spot welds them together unevenly. If the designers had committed wholeheartedly to either polarity of action or horror, Revelations may have been a headshot, but what we're left with is more like a glancing blow. [Feb 2012, p.112]
  21. Jan 2, 2012
    60
    Handheld editions of big console titles often feel like straight to video sequels – looking the part but lacking the polish – and Revelations is no different. It nails the atmosphere in its hybrid design, but those crucial sparks of brilliance that make the series so great, no matter which of its eras you prefer… they're as rare as a single use rocket launcher.
  22. Jan 26, 2012
    91
    Resident Evil: Revelations doesn't completely achieve its goal: returns to the survival horror's roots, but it's still a great game, with a great mix of action and survival sections. Definitely, one of the best games available for Nintendo 3DS.
  23. Jan 26, 2012
    60
    Revelations hooked long-time fans with the promise it would return to the series' survival horror roots, but couldn't resist an attempt at reaching a wider audience. Instead of producing a splintered and botched attempt at blending action and horror, Capcom should have stuck to its guns.
  24. Jan 27, 2012
    85
    Resident Evil Revelations is a must-have for all Resident Evil fans and everyone who have a Nintendo 3DS. Despite many positive features, however, the game fails to frighten the player.
  25. Feb 29, 2012
    100
    While survival-horror definitely isn't my best genre, Resident Evil: Revelations is easily one of the best 3DS games I've played to date. Just about any frustrations I've come across is due to my own lack of skill and experience with the franchise as a whole. If you're a Resident Evil fan with a 3DS, this is definitely one to pick up.
  26. Feb 6, 2012
    80
    An exhausting game. It's the type of game that demands cigarette breaks between levels, due to how strenuous it can be. It lacks the outright scares of its survival horror influences, but the consistently bleak atmosphere and exigent combat situations make for a game that will drain one's brain in a disconcertingly enjoyable way.
  27. Feb 28, 2012
    88
    If gunning down zombies in a gorgeous survivor horror world sounds like your idea of a fun portable adventure, I'd say give this one a look. At the very least you owe it to yourself to check out the demo to get an idea of just what Capcom is offering this time around.
  28. Jan 31, 2012
    85
    Resident Evil Revelations is a quite accomplished mixture of the series' most reknown titles. Borrowing something from the first episode, others from the latest, it succeeds in creating a new formula, appealing to both the new and old fans of the franchise. The game's structure has some minor flaws, but its value is undeniable.
  29. Jan 4, 2012
    90
    The game is an incredible showcase for what the handheld is capable of and a potent reminder of why Resident Evil remains one of the medium's most celebrated franchises. [Jan/Feb 2012, p.80]
  30. Jan 25, 2012
    90
    Resident Evil: Revelations is a gorgeous showcase of what a Nintendo 3DS is really capable of... and one of the best "modern" chapters of the series.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 350 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 98
  2. Negative: 2 out of 98
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game thatExcellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game that recovers things that RE 5 minimized... You will love this game, ;) Full Review »
  2. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    AMAZING. Must Buy. Awesome story, graphics sounds, all that stuff. Plus if your still not sure, there's a free, yep i wrote it, free demo. SoAMAZING. Must Buy. Awesome story, graphics sounds, all that stuff. Plus if your still not sure, there's a free, yep i wrote it, free demo. So try it, if you like it then buy it, but if you don't like it don't. Im not going to be one of those annoying people who tells everyone to buy a games even if they hate it. HA!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I bought this a few days ago and can't put it down. I've already reached the halfway point. The graphics are unbelievable, the animations areI bought this a few days ago and can't put it down. I've already reached the halfway point. The graphics are unbelievable, the animations are smooth, the enemies and environments have lots of personality and variation. Raid mode is also a blast. If you are looking for a good 3DS title, a good survival horror game, or something to make you a no-life, this is it. This game is easily a system seller. If you are saving up for a 3DS and one game to buy with it, make it this one, you won't be disappointed. The only minor setbacks this game has are some framerate drops during times when a new area is loading and like most Resident Evil games the dialogue and story are both ridiculous. If those things don't bother you, pick this one up ASAP. Full Review »