User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 317 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 317

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    Genuinely creepy entry into the franchise. Don't be fooled by the fact that it's on a handheld, this game will give you the chills. The story is alright. The controls feel very nice with or without circle pad pro and raid mode is spectacular.
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    I bought this a few days ago and can't put it down. I've already reached the halfway point. The graphics are unbelievable, the animations are smooth, the enemies and environments have lots of personality and variation. Raid mode is also a blast. If you are looking for a good 3DS title, a good survival horror game, or something to make you a no-life, this is it. This game is easily a system seller. If you are saving up for a 3DS and one game to buy with it, make it this one, you won't be disappointed. The only minor setbacks this game has are some framerate drops during times when a new area is loading and like most Resident Evil games the dialogue and story are both ridiculous. If those things don't bother you, pick this one up ASAP. Expand
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Revelations is proof that Capcom did not forget the good old terror. Despite a few flaws, it is the game that fans of the saga were asking since 2005, when Resident Evil 4 arrived at stores to completely changing the franchise. Turn off the lights, put the headphones and get ready to be terrorized once again.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    Revelations successfully blends newer action focused resident evil, with classic puzzle solving and and resource hoarding horror and tension. It's simply an all around solid title, and thus far the most fun I have had with my 3DS.
  5. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    Revelations is a gorgeous looking game and a fine showpiece for the 3DS' graphical capabilities. It's also an excellent entry in the Resident Evil franchise and should not be overlooked or brushed-off as a watered-down port for handhelds. However, the lack of a second analogue stick made things more clumsy than it had to be. Unfortunately, I didn't have the option of picking up a circle pad pro.
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    Without a doubt the best Resident Evil game I've played in years. Game-play is fantastic, however I would advise using the circle pad if you are more accustomed to the traditional shooter controls. The main thing that this game has going for it over recent console versions of the series is atmosphere. This is a dark, narrow hall-filled game with quite a slow pace which only benefits the atmosphere, and further distinguishes the game from other recent fast paced action games of the series. Graphics are wonderful and personally are the biggest wow moment I've had so far on the 3DS. My only complaint is that segments not involving Jill are weaker compared to her chapters. However this is still definitely a must buy for any 3DS owner interested in the horror genre. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2013
    7
    My first time playing a game in this popular survival-horror franchise, I was disappointed to find out that there really isn't any horror to speak of in this game. That doesn't make it a bad game however, it makes great use of the 3D effect and has semi-decent length for a handheld game. The presentation in this game is generally impressive. Fantastic graphics and nice soundtrack really help pull you into this game, however the occasional poor voice acting and the lackluster story do hold the game back. Gameplay is also very good. Once you get used to the controls, which seem awkward at first due to a lack of camera control, everything feels right. Shooting down enemies is satisfying and rewarding, and the campaign is a lot of fun. The co-operative Raid Mode is a lot of fun too. It reminds me a lot of the zombie mode from the Call of Duty series, in that you progress through levels while fighting increasingly challenging waves of enemies. Playing this with a friend is a lot of fun. I enjoyed the game, but I wish it was scary. There was no tension or fear of what was around the next corner, so it ended up feeling like a straight up action game rather than a survival-horror experience. Part of me wonders if this was do to the fact that it is a handheld game, because when I'm on the go there's always people around, thus reducing the tension. Still this is a fun game and it's production values are through the roof and it makes great use of the 3DS' special features, even if it seems like it might be better suited for a console at times. So whether you're a Resident Evil fan or not this is a 3DS game you should consider. I just wish it was scarier. Expand
  8. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Just reached episode 4. Im happy to report that so far i have loved every aspect of the game. Resident evil has never controlled better, and this is on a portable gaming system!I It seems as if Capcom have put alot of thought into the control layout and it really shines through.
  9. Feb 8, 2012
    9
    The best Resident Evil game since RE 4. It is a true survival horror game. This is a reason to buy a 3ds. Give me more games like this on the Nintendo 3ds
  10. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    The controls are fantastic with the circle pad, without they're manageable. The visuals are truly superb as well. Feels like the first seriously made game for the Nintendo 3DS.
  11. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    A must-purchase game for your 3DS. Lots of scary monster blasting fun. Lots of extras and replay value. Good online. Looks great in 3D the reason to get it on the 3DS rather than the main consoles.
  12. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    A very joyful classic RE experience delivered to your handheld. A benchmark in graphics, story, gameplay, sound for other 3DS and portable developers. Hopefully a lesson is learnt by Capcom that people still love horror games and hopefully RE6 isn't CoD like. This one is a must-have for any 3DS owner.
  13. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Didn't expect it to be this good. Most surprisingly was the main campaign being around 10 hours, which is much more than the average console titles this generation. Amazed by the overall performance and graphics for a handheld. You can really see this was a passionate project made by a smaller team at Capcom, trying to do some new things with the franchise and add some horror-elements too (which RE 5 didn't had). No zombies are in the game, but at least they're not shooting like RE5. The enemies are random mutated monsters caused by a new virus. I'm also surprised by the online mode, called Raid Mode. No co-op mode that got RE5 ruined, but some kind of Horde mode while walking through the levels from the campaign. There are no story or cutscenes, just walking through the levels and killing monsters with your partner. You can level up until level 50, meanwhile you gain much kind of weapons, upgrades and money to buy stuff in the store and getting better. a good alternative if you want to play something else than the campaign. Expand
  14. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    Just beat this game tonight, and I have to say it was definitely worth what I paid. The story is interesting, the controls worked well even without dual joysticks, and it provided a pretty decent challenge without ever becoming frustrating or obnoxious. I also played through some of the "Raid" missions, which are sort of this game's version of The Mercenaries. You basically run through a small level toward a goal as fast as you can, murdering everything along the way. This gives you points for unlockables and new weapons and upgrades. Basically it's a pretty good game. It is a bit short (main game took me only 9 hours, and I was not fast at all), and the underwater bits were kind of annoying, but it's worth your time and money to check it out. Expand
  15. Oct 3, 2012
    10
    Nada que decir un juego simplemente bueno, un juego que coge lo bueno de resident evil 4 y de el suspenso de la vieja escuela, lastima que sea solo para 3ds pero aun así un amigo me lo facilito y me lo pase como un enano me encanto la verdad un gran juego que ningún poseedor de 3DS se lo debe perder, si quieres un resident evil como los clásicos esta es tu oportunidad..
  16. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    A decent addition to the Resident Evil franchise that seems to go back to it's roots (RE 1 and 2) in that it's holding true to the claustrophobic, tense and eerie atmosphere. Capcom did a wonderful job. there ARE some criticisms, however... the control scheme of the game is a little tricky on it's own and it is highly recommended that if you get this game, get the circle-pad-pro for it as well as that will certainly make the game that much easier to control. graphics are stunning, voice-acting feels genuine and doesn't feel forced. the fact that you play through from different perspectives to get different points of the story is clever and works well.

    it isn't a perfect game but it comes very, very close.
    Expand
  17. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    The main attractive of this game are its obvious superb graphics, amazing music, great 3D and cool story (Sometimes you don't know if you are playing a portable game!)... It campaign mode could be kinda short, but still an amazing experience, and replayable as the other RE games!... The Raid mode is a great addition, it is very fun (Sometimes not as fun or replayable as mercenaries, though) and the online mode and missions increase significantly it replay... I just would liked a voice chat.... But overall is a magnificent experience! Expand
  18. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    This game has everything you could hope for. A reasonably long campaign, a New Game+ option and an additional difficulty once you beat it, a separate raid mode that allows coop play both locally and online, a reasonably good story, suspense, dark and scary (well, depends on you) corridors, lots of discoverables, a variety of weapon upgrades, good boss fights, really good controls (even without the extra circle pad), and some of the best graphics available in any 3DS game. Maybe the first must-have 3DS title that wasn't made by Nintendo itself. Expand
  19. Feb 10, 2012
    10
    Excellent game. Great job made by Capcom. The best graphics on 3DS, great story and beautiful soundtrack. A must have sure!. A game that recovers things that RE 5 minimized... You will love this game, ;)
  20. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    The best game available for 3DS. The graphics are as good (or maybe even better) as on a Wii. This is the second RE game I played (Mercenaries 3D was the first one) and I'm surely becoming a fan of it. The soundtrack is epic, campaign is great and so is co-op mode. I enjoyed every single minute of it!
  21. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    I am a big RE fan since its PS1 days, having played most of its installments across different systems. After the relatively disappointing RE5, I am surprised at how much Revelations freak me out. Great atmosphere and music, and believe it or not, greatly improved controls which were inherited from Mercenaries 3D! Each missions are also designed to allow for portable play, with numerous checkpoints. If you have a 3DS, then you should buy this game. It's a must have! Expand
  22. Feb 14, 2012
    9
    An impressive 3DS title. Actually it is probably the best 3DS game you can purchase. The controls are fluid and fairly responsive even if you don't have the circle pad pro attachment that Nintendo and GameStop were trying to sell with it. The game does a good job bringing out the survival horror element that Resident Evil was famous for. I found myself on more than on occasion being startled and frightened by monsters randomly appearing from various areas of the cruise ship where the game is set. A couple of down sides though is that sometimes the game takes forever to load which the developers tried to mask with the doors opening or elevator sequences. Also they added a couple of characters that really added nothing to the series or the game... But overall the graphics are amazing and the game is a ton of fun! A real treat for RE fans and 3DS owners! Expand
  23. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    Easily the best 3DS title to date. It's not just set a standard for the console, but the series itself. Resident Evil Revelations aimed to make a return to the survival horror gameplay of the original games the fans so desperately wanted. It's done that and more, offering some of the same action of Re5 during Chris Redfield's sequences. The Queen Zenobia, an abandoned ship in the middle of the pacific is the perfect setting for the game, creating both mood and atmosphere. The 3D effect is astonishing, and for those that do not know, in the game settings is an option to adjust the strength of the effect. The stronger it is the better it looks, however the on screen HUD and subtitles are still stuck on the foreground / front of the screen. This can make re-adjusting your eyes for the front again quite awkward, and sometimes irritating. This can be avoided by using the 'Strong' setting though, which still looks great. The game has some of the best textures I've seen on the 3DS, everything from the enemies to the items on the table to *ahem*.. Jill. Ties into the Resident Evil lore very well and gives you more insight into what happened between the Ganados incident and the Bioterrorist attack in Africa. Pros:
    - Great 3D effects
    - Fits into Resident Evil very well
    - Best visuals on the system
    - Tight control scheme

    Con(s):
    -Awkward on highest settings
    Expand
  24. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    I normally don't appreciate people who give a perfect score to a video game, because I feel like they're lying to themselves. But Resident Evil Revelations really does deserve a perfect 10 out of 10. Capcom has finally found the perfect balance between action and horror, something that was severely lacking in Res 5. Revelations definitely has the creepiness factor that was present in the early additions to the series, it even got me to jump at a few points in the game. The only fault the game has is that it gets a bit glitchy at some points in the game, but it really isn't that big of deal. Revelations looks great, even in 3D, and in my opinion takes the crown for the best game on the 3DS. Collapse
  25. Feb 16, 2012
    9
    Resident evil revelations is a return to the original series style with classic resi controls or new 1st person shooter controls the choice is yours. you can also use the 3ds add on circle pad pro for the ultimate shooter experience. My choice is the classic control as it adds to the overall feeling of playing a true resi game. revelations keeps you short on ammo and health which adds to the tension along with the music and graphics. revelations is the best resi title since resi 4. With the co op raid mode which can also be played solo online or off. collectables,new costumes, phantom handprints scattered throught the chapters of story mode theres plenty to keep you playing long after the credits roll on the campaign. recommended for fans and newcomers alike revelations may well be the best game available on the 3ds so far. Expand
  26. May 6, 2012
    10
    I Couldn't put this down from start to finish . The story is great and gameplay and graphics are amazing for handheld experience . There even online play that uses levels from story mode and weapons that you upgrade as you level up. Its great working together with someone else helping them out of tight spots or defeating monsters together. It would been boss if game supported voice chat but sadly not here:( its still great game and one that every 3DS owner should have in there collection:P Expand
  27. Feb 16, 2012
    8
    This was a good game and it's one of the best ones on the 3DS right now. However that doesn't mean it's one of the best Resident Evil games. I played without the Circle Pad as I do not own one but the controls were still pretty tight, if a bit awkward. If you play for any long periods of time, your hand will start to cramp but it's not a problem in small intervals. The story was pretty good but the characters, beyond the main stays Jill and Chris, were either really annoying with bad accents or just plain boring. They really brought the story down just a bit. The story itself is pretty good and it's definitely a Resident Evil story. However I've heard that this game "brought the Resident Evil series back into the Horror game genre" since alot of people thought Resident Evil 5 took more of a Action game perspective. This is not the case as it might still have that Tank-like movement and gameplay style, it's not a very scary game. The worst part is that ammo is really scarce and the only thing you'll have to be scared about is having to use your knife every once in awhile. I did think this game was good and it's one of the better 3DS games on the system. However the last two Resident Evil games (4 and 5) were both better than this one. Expand
  28. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    Revelations is not the best Resident Evil game ever created, but it's without a doubt the best the series has seen in a very long time. And not just because it's scary. The level design is almost consistently tight, the controls work perfectly, and the amount of resource management required is that of legend in Hell difficulty. This game seamlessly merges the traditional survival-horror roots with the action side the series has seen ever since 4, and the result is a much deeper and intense Resident Evil experience as a whole. The dialogue and plot are ultra cheesy as usual, and this does drag the game down, but at least it's nothing like Wesker's "becoming a god" bull**** in RE5. This game is a must-own for any 3DS owner, and it's the perfect reason for any hardcore fan of the series to purchase a 3DS immediately. Simply phenomenal. Expand
  29. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    AMAZING. Must Buy. Awesome story, graphics sounds, all that stuff. Plus if your still not sure, there's a free, yep i wrote it, free demo. So try it, if you like it then buy it, but if you don't like it don't. Im not going to be one of those annoying people who tells everyone to buy a games even if they hate it. HA!!!!!!!!!!
  30. Feb 26, 2012
    9
    Finally Resident Evil returns to its roots again authentic survival horror with ZOMBIES! the game has a great scary atmosphere and a great location for a RE game with dark places and corridors and places that look similar to the mansion from the original RE so the level desing is really well made and the booses are very cool, the main campaing takes place in a luxury ship cruise called the queen zenobia were you control Jill valentaine in search for Chris Redfield and you must travel around the ship infested with zombies, some puzzles like in the original games and being scared sometimes the campaing has 12 episodes divided in 2 parts each so is a long game the campaing took me 10-12 hours so its a fairly long game.
    The gameplay mechanics are the sames as RE 4 and 5 in a 3rd person camera for moving and for shooting you can go into a 1rst person mode or 3rd person mode (you can choose the shooting camera in the options menu ) but 2 thing were added: unlike RE 4 and 5 now you can move when aiming by holding the L-button but when walking and aiming you can´t move your gun aming laser, that can be fixed with a circle pad pro but that accsesroy is not required to play the game but it can make the gameplay a little more confortable.
    The second addition is doge, when a enemy is about to attack by moving the circle pad up or down + B you can doge the enemy attack and counter-attack this is a very helpful tactic and will help you to save up herbs and make your way around the enemies.
    The only thing I didn´t like about the game is that sometimes you play some missions that are fillers with characters that you don´t care about and had no charm whatsoever.
    The other thing that may don´t like you is that some missions are action based like RE5 when you simply need to go from start to finish, actually these missions are not bad (exept for the fillers ones) but if you wanted a 100% horror game that´s not the case but the good news is that the campaing focuses in mayor part in the horror aspects so is a 70% of horror and 30% of action gameplay.
    there´s also a Raid mode witch is basicly Mercenaries without a time limit were you need to get to the end of the level killing evereything in your path is a fun mode that can be played on line and will add more replay value and a archivement system that serves to unlock weapons outfits and some other things. In conclusion I can say that this is the best 3DS game to date the graphics are really good and the 3d effect is pretty cool, the game is worth buying especially for RE fans that wanted another horror game in the series but with some fillers and action based missions I give it a 9/10.
    Expand
  31. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Been playing the game for a week now, finished the campaign on normal and played lots of raid mode, and I have to say, this game is awesome. The only negative thing I encountered so far are heavy frame rate drops when you are in the dedicated loading rooms, such as elevators and other small rooms. But nothing happens in this rooms anyway and all the other parts run really smooth. Graphic, sound, game play is amazing, especially with the circle pad. The 3D effect is astonishing, especially cranked all the way up in the options menu. Story is very cliché and predictable but solid all around. The campaign on hell mode and the later stages of raid mode are also very challenging and there are lots of things to unlock. This game is just worth its money. If you're waiting for a better survival horror game on a handheld, well good luck on that, might take a while. Expand
  32. Feb 19, 2012
    8
    This is one of the greatest Resident Evil installments ever made, and the funny thing is, it's only available on a 3 inch 3DS screen. I have put about 20 hours into Campaign mode (completed story on normal difficulty, and most of the story on Hell), and 7 hours was spent on Raid Mode (LV 22). With that said, here is my review of this game: First I will talk about the positive aspects. The graphics are the best of the 3DS games I have ever seen. It is similar to that of 3DS Mercenaries, but a lot more polished, and the character movements are much smoother this time around. Unlike Mercenaries, there are no longer claymation-esc movements of characters, no matter how far away they are. The controls are excellent with the Circle Pad Pro, and without it, they are still great once you get use to them. The sound is awesome, filling the atmosphere with lots of great musical scores and sound effects that create very intense experiences. The storyline is very intricate and well thought-out. It took me almost 2 playthroughs to comprehend the crazy, clever twists in the plot. Gameplay this time around is different, and it took me about an hour to fully understand it. But that's not a bad thing at all. In fact, it was quite refreshing, and fun on a whole new level. I had to learn how to play this game for the first hour though, because the formula changed. This time, the enemies are no longer human-like zombies from RE4 and 5. You can no longer shoot them in all kinds of weak spots and melee the hell out of them like a UFC fighting champion. In Revelations, each character only has one melee move, which you can charge up by holding the action button, and the opportunities to perform a melee move as greatly diminished. And for those who are use to shooting zombies in the legs, that tactic isn't very effective anymore. Instead of them getting stunned so you can perform a deadly melee attack, they will drop to the ground after many shots and start crawling towards you. And they crawl about as fast as they walk. Also, this time the baddies are much harder to predict, because some are surprisingly fast, while others might swag side to side as they move, making head shots very difficult. But after I got use to all of this, it became a really cool and refreshing experience. Players also have the ability to dodge now, and it is crucial that they master this move, because we can no longer walk backwards fast enough to avoid most of these zombies. Now I will address the negative aspects of RE Revelations. One odd perk I found in the campaign is that even though we play as numerous characters in different scenarios, we are only allowed to manage our weapons upgrades when we are playing strictly as Jill. And we only use Jill in about 55 percent of the Campaign. This makes for some weird difficulty peaks, because while playing as other characters, the weapons we use are standard, with zero upgrades what so ever. Because of this, the game difficulty becomes very challenging one moment, and then really easy the next. I don't know about you all, but I believe a game's difficulty should be progressive, not random. Next I want to talk about Raid Mode. Raid Mode is very different from the classic Mercenary Mode, which was in RE:3 through 5. In Mercenaries, it was all about connecting combos to score as high as possible,killing a seemingly endless amount of enemies. You had a time limit, which you could increase by accomplishing certain moves. Raid mode is an RPG game. You progress through stages from the Campaign, killing enemies along the way. You try to be accurate, quick and deadly, taking as little damage as possible so you can level up faster and obtain better weapons and mods. Once you reach the end of a stage, you melee attack a giant coin to finish. When I compare Raid Mode to Mercenaries, I would say that Raid Mode is VERY addictive, but the fun of it fades quite a bit once you maxed out all your stats. Mercenaries Mode is RELATIVELY addictive, but the fun factor never depreciates. Also, Mercenaries was a very coop friendly game mode. Raid however, features coop action, but there are seldom times I had fun playing coop. Either my level was too low, making it too difficult for me, and too easy for my partner, or it was vise versa. Over all though, the positives far outweighs the negatives, and I do recommend RE Revelations to anyone who owns a 3DS. Expand
  33. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    This games is awesome!!! There are the action parts and the old terror parts with our beloved heroine Jill Valentine. The graphics are amazing and is near impossible to believe that is a portable video-game! Anyone who like RE MUST play Revelations. And who never tried, it´s the time.
  34. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    A phenomenal game. It will make you feel scared, feel powerful, then feel powerless. It will make you cry. It will make you happy. It has everything that makes a good game good. Revelations takes the horror elements of RE4 and the action of RE5 and beautifully mixes them into what arguably may be the best RE game to date. This game alone is a reason to buy a 3ds.
  35. Feb 13, 2012
    9
    Really awesome game, definitely the best 3DS game out there. However, some of you might not find it scary as its said it is. I literally did not get scared until chapter 4 and after that, the game failed to scare me again. Also, it seems that after half of the game, the game completely switches direction, going more to action than anything so if you were hoping the game would be completely horror, sorry. Still an awesome experience. Expand
  36. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Worth Every Cent of your money, This game fixes all the problems RE5 did wrong. The game is simply beautiful and one of the best 3ds and handheld looking games to date. The campaign lasts around 9 hours, but do not fear the online mode will keep you playing for quite some time.
  37. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Resident evil revelations is the game that shows off the power of the 3ds with great graphics. The story is really good and I like the way they told it in episodes with a cliff hanger at the end of each episode. It mixes action with survival horror, the action segments are pretty good but the game shines with the survival sections with some generally frightening bits. This game is a must have for the 3ds. Expand
  38. Feb 14, 2012
    10
    The game is a definite return to form for the entire series. Everyone who was disappointed with the direction RE5 took (or RE4 for that matter) will want to check this out: it successfully mixes the memorable claustrophobic environments of the older games with the playability of the action entries and never gets boring for a single moment. The game has the best graphics you'll be seeing on the 3DS for quite a while, the music is nothing short of excellent, and the story will keep you guessing until the last chapter. And once you're finished with the main campaign, you'll have Raid Mode to become addicted to. Expand
  39. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil Revelations brings back classic control and puzzle solving we came to know and love in the series. The graphics are the best I have seen on a 3DS. The story is very well done, and much longer than I expected on the 3DS. This is a must have for this system.
  40. Feb 15, 2012
    10
    By far the best reason to own a 3DS right now. So addictive and fun. Looks amazing and combines the qualities of Resident Evil 4 with the classics and a sprinkle of RE:5. Not only can you take it anywhere, but it is the best Resident Evil game to date. Lots of scares, bonus content, and even rewards for street passing, you don't want to miss out on this fantastic example of Capcom's best series.
  41. Mar 4, 2012
    7
    It just plods along nicely enough, not really as tense or "scary" as they promised it to be and for some reason nearly every enemy is grey. Story is the usual Resi fluff, nothing to remember. Some nice puzzles here and there and the 3D works for it. A fairly easy game but some good modes on it and the Mercenaries mode is even more worthy and has more content that the stand alone 3DS version of Mercenaries!

    Better than RE5...like a lot better and even though RE4 isn't quite a RE game I still prefer that. I expected something more what with the hype.
    Expand
  42. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Gameplay: the controls work great, everything is so responsive. and the touch screen is very handy, as it also has shortcuts to pic weapon and melee/grenades, also the map. Story: the story served its purpose, it gave you an inceptive to keep playing. a strong on at that. it was very entertaining. but nothing groundbreaking. Graphics: the 3D effect actually added more detail, and the depth ads to the suspense, you can feel the monsters getting closer. it made the game look very good.

    Replay value:
    i have clocked 9 hours and 45 minutes only after finishing the main story, there is a whole other mode to pay with called raid mode, it has Co-Op both local and online. the game has a newgame+ feature, with achievement like ''missions'' that reward you with weapons and perks when you complete them, you can share them using street pass too.

    Overall:
    i highly recommend this game to anyone who has a 3DS and is over 18 years old.
    the game was very exhilarating and fun. you will not regret it.
    Expand
  43. Feb 19, 2012
    9
    I just finished the campaign and I must say Resident Evil Revelations is the spiritual successor to Resident Evil 4. It took the frights and action from 4 and provided a somewhat easier to work with control scheme. (Note: Circle Pad Pro made the gameplay night and day better!). The episodic nature of the game was perfect for playing on a handheld, and the story did not suffer for it.
  44. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil: Revelations proves that the 3DS can have great looking games. The graphics are better than I thought the 3DS could handle, and the 3D effect makes it look even better. The details are great too. You can shoot a zombie's arm and it will go limp and swing around, and you can shoot their leg and they will fall down and start to crawl. Resident Evil: Revelations is a full game and will keep you playing for hours. Expand
  45. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    I just don't know how some reviewers can bash on this game. It's like we were playing two totally different games.

    Basically this game is a must-buy. You can get 100 hours worth of gameplay in this title. Definite instant buy.
  46. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Resident Evil: Revelations is just plain out AMAZING. I was never really into gun games, except Halo, but this game is one of my only exceptions. This game is also filled with suspense that makes me jump sometimes lol. The storyline in this game is by far the best storyline in a game ever. I also want to clarify having the Circle Pad Pro makes the controls a bit easier, but I don't use it and have made extremely good progress. If you don't have it... GET IT! Best $40.00 I have ever spent :) Expand
  47. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    I cannot begin to describe how epic this game is.

    I was reluctant to purchase this game. The last Resident Evil I owned was Resident Evil 4. I didn't really like the direction that the series had taken; Resident Evil 2 was my favorite game in the series, and I preferred the old school presentation and control of all the Resident Evils that came before 4.

    However, after the way everyone
    was raving about this game, I decided to take a chance. I was at gamestop with $45 in my pocket, and it wasn't easy to take that chance. I wanted to spend that money on other things, but I said to myself, "No, I will take a chance."

    I had played the demo and it was good. But it did not compare nor did it prepare me for what was about to be unleashed upon me. I got home and was hesitant to even remove the shrink wrap. I went online and read some last second reviews. I liked what I heard, and decided to take a chance.

    I. am. so. glad. I. did.

    I remember taking the little pairing knife out of the drawer and removing the shrink wrap; opening up the case; popping out the 3DS game; putting it into my 3DS; OH MY!!!

    This game looks like an Xbox 360 game. I am not being kind to it. Let me say it again.

    It looks like an Xbox 360 game. It does. Period. And that is with the 3D off. Turn it on, and it is one of the best looking games that I have seen, and I also game on a PC with dual 6970s, just so you know.

    And the gameplay? It is an absolute blast to play. It has 3 different control methods. With one, you move and turn, and hold the shoulder button to strafe. With another, you move and strafe and press a button to turn. And with the third, you can move with the left stick but control the camera and aim with the face buttons. I actually prefer the latter, and it controls even better with the circle pad pro - but guess what? You don't need it, at least not the way you did for MGS 3D. The game plays fine without it.

    This game looks amazing.

    This game plays amazing.

    This game is hard.

    This game is fun.

    This game is an epic, once in lifetime masterpiece.

    I am shocked that is hasn't gotten 10's across the board.

    11/10.
    Expand
  48. Feb 22, 2012
    8
    The most terrifying horrors are experienced in the dark. As many have said, that is the ideal way to play this game. The plot is indeed absurd, chaotic, and sometimes just silly, the dialogue is cheesy, and the the laggy loading screens implemented as elevators raise an eyebrow. In spite of all of that, it's easy to tolerate and take a seat (in the dark) and enjoy. The first game to use the Circle Pad Pro, the controls have a big learning curve, but after a period of adjustment, that's the ideal way to play. In fact, the controls are fantastic, and it proves how well shooters can play on a handheld. If graphics are your concern, this is the best looking game on the 3DS. It's gorgeous, and the lighting and special effects are perfect for the eerie atmosphere. The gameplay and weapons-upgrading system isn't as fantastic as the perfect 10, Resident Evil 4, nor are the maps, or the characters the game introduces, or the undead, oozing creatures of flesh as memorable. But in a franchise with many games - half worth playing, the other half worth disregarding, this is the second best of gem. The true highlight of this cartridge, rather played solo or multiplayer, is Raid Mode, which you slowly unlock as you beat the worthwhile campaign. This game is definitely worth getting, no doubt about it. It isn't anything phenomenal, but it takes many of the best parts of Resident Evil and puts them into a fresh package, with a variety of creepy stages. It shows what both the series and the system are capable of, and that can only get better. Expand
  49. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    RER have a perfect balace between action and terror. A graphical impressive and very well set paragraph. It manages brilliantly with the second jostick and your mode online is equal of well that your mode in solitary. I want another RE in 3DS already!
  50. Mar 5, 2012
    9
    When I had the good fortune of being introduced to Resident Evil back in 1996, it was the scariest thing out there, and I loved it. If you're a long-time fan of RE like me, you may have noticed that Capcom has strayed from the classic Survival Horror genre with Resident Evil 4, Resident Evil 5, and The Mercenaries. Along with the Resident Evil 5 "Lost in Nightmares" DLC, Revelations seeks to revive the Survival Horror tradition, and does it quite well. One of my few criticisms is that sometimes, they try too hard and at other times, they don't try hard enough.

    Aside from slightly lacking horror content, Revelations has a great story, cast (with two exceptions, which I'll state soon), graphics, and music. The 3D effect is truly beautiful in most cases, but, in a few cases, held back gameplay (The autostereoscopic 3D of the 3DS creates a double-image when viewed from the wrong angles).

    My main complaint is the characters "Grinder" and "Jackass" (Quint and Keith, respectively). They absolutely ruined the parts of the game they appeared in.
    The ending is truly wonderful. I won't spoil anything, but I'm sure you will be satisfied with the ending.

    Overall, Revelations is a great game. If you have a 3DS and the coin, I highly recommend you but it. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  51. Oct 4, 2012
    8
    If I had to use one word to describe this game, that would be SURPRISING. It's surprising that Nintendo could do a RE game on a family friendly handeld. It's surprising that an handeld could perform so good visually. It's surprising that the game is actually good. Make no mistake, it's still an action game with monsters, but there's enough atmosphere to keep the player entertained.

    Here we play with multiple charatcter that switch all troughout the main campaing.

    For most of the time you will play as series veteran Jill Valentine, in an attempt to stop the Veltro, a group of terrorists who likes to quote the Divine Comedy.

    The main setting is an abandoned ship: the queen zenobia. This could sound boring at first, but the ship is really huge, with clever level design.

    Even though the progression was linear, I never had the impression to walk a long hallway with scripted events.

    Chapters with other characters offer a break from the Queen Zenobia being set on different environments like a snowy field.

    Speaking of chapters, there is twelve of them, I was able to beat the game in 10 hours, which is good even for home console standards.
    Audio/video is almost console quality, you wouldn't believe it but this could look good even on a home console.

    Controls are good, so good that you can be able to walk AND shoot and once you get used to it this work well with just ONE analogue stick.

    The story makes no sense, or at least, I never fully understood what was going on, fortunately the cast is good and the new additions are a nice welcome to the series.

    In the end I think this is a must buy for 3ds owners and resident evil fans.
    Expand
  52. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Story is brilliant with twists around every corner. Gameplay is fun, I personally use ABXY to aim but you can use traditional controls if you wish. Environments are incredibly varied considering the nature of the genre. There aren't any real scares in this game, but a few shocks can be expected. The online mode extends replayability quite a bit, and the unlockable "hell mode" will keep you on your toes. This game is worth every penny. Expand
  53. Mar 10, 2012
    7
    Impressive little game on the 3ds, although if you haven't picked up a circle pad pro don't bother trying to play this game... you'll want to throw your system against the wall. The 3D works well but doesn't add anything to the game play, acting in the cut scenes is pretty average at best. A great little title does add a great M rated game to the 3ds library but I wonder if this game is really the best fit for this system. Expand
  54. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    Revelations is an outstanding game. It's an classic Resident Evil game. Best graphic on 3DS, terrorize music and great characters (Jill and Chris). If u are a RE series fan, u can't miss this one. If u are not, it's still a great game worth trying.
  55. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    Classic Resident Evil gameplay, a lot of content and well executed graphics on the system (one of the best so far). Successfully atmospheric and action-filled paced. Not a great story and some laughable characters but these defects hardly stops the game from being entertaining and a great package. Small sized 3DS screen makes the environment look a bit cluttered but everything still looks great. No framerate issues. In-game achievements and unlockables are an added bonus, good replayability. Strongly recommended to be played with the Circle Pad Pro attachment. Definitely worth the purchase if you like the Resident Evil series. Expand
  56. Mar 14, 2012
    8
    Controls felt a bit off but the combat, story graphics and other aspects of the game were extremely satisfying. I didn't see much wrong with it technically besides some occasional slowdown. The mission format with recaps of what you have done up to the point at which you load up the game is awesome, especially for a handheld game. Overall, it is a success as a handheld game!
  57. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    Phenomenal graphics, excellent music, a good story line and a control system that seldom gets in the way make this a must have game. The only flys in the ointment are; the lack of communication with one's partner in multiplayer, (I believe that lack to be in the 3DS, not the game. And which can be overcome by playing in Local mode.), and the fact that the maker of this game; either have forgotten that not all persons wanting to play this game have the same level of skill they do, or delibretly left out the casual gamer. I had over 70 hours, and I don't know how many restarts, invested before, successfully completing campaign mode, on the "Casual" level. The multiplayer mode makes up for the frustration. Expand
  58. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    This is my favorite Resident Evil game of all time. The first 60% of the game is a wonderful return to the survival-horror type of gaming. The music is great and the gameplay seemingly fits perfectly onto the 3DS. I wouldnt play the game any other way to be honest. However what's a bit disappointing is that the game suddenly turns over the the action genre in the last 20% of the game which is not so bad but a bit weird.
    The game has short cutscenes which are beautifully rendered.

    The graphics of this game is just simply wonderful for the 3DS and is notably the best graphically looking game to ever appear on a nintendo machine thus far.
    The game even has fantastic 3D!

    Resident Evil : Revelations did right what Resident Evil 5 did wrong.
    This is a strong exclusive for the 3DS and is a game that may change your mind from getting a Vita.

    I dont even understand how some game reviewers can give idiotic scores like 6/10! This game at the least deserves more than an 8 out of 10 for notably being the best portable game of the decade

    Dont waste anymore time. Go out and buy this game immediately if you own a 3DS.
    If capcom releases any more Resident Evil 3DS like this one i wouldnt hesitate to go out and support them for bringing such a wonderful game to the 3DS
    Expand
  59. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    A great game, both the story and the raid mode are awesome! U won't be regret !!!

    Graphic is good, music is intense. For me, Jill and Chris are all I need, plus G36 assault rifle, this game just double my pleasure.
  60. Jun 13, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Resident Evil: Revelations is the second RE game on the 3DS and fortunatly its the better of the two. Resident Evil:Revelations story revolves around the fact Chris and Jessica have gone missing and its up to Jill and her new assistant Parker to find out what has happened, and whilst the story seems abit simplistic at first glance, it actually becomes abit confusing, with the story then becoming about the fact they were tricked by thier own boss to try and trick the enemy, but it backfires. The good things about Resident Evil are its stunning graphices, the kind which you constantly find yourself saying 'why doesnt every 3DS game look like this?' The gameplay is smooth, with the occasional drop in framerate when the game autosaves. And i was constantly jumping when the games survival horror FINALLY kicks in. Resident Evil: Revelations should be an insta-buy for anyone who wants a new adventure or anyone likes scaring themselves silly. Expand
  61. Apr 17, 2012
    10
    This game is spectacular. It is a combination of the old and new of resident evil and if you give it a chance you will absolutely love it. Well worth every penny!
  62. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    this game is great! the graphics are incredible! the gameplay is solid, the sound is pretty good too, there are a lot of unlockable content even after you finish the game, capcom did a great job, 10/10 for me :)
  63. Apr 29, 2012
    10
    super good game awesome use of the 3d it actually felt like an older game but in a good way, i really felt like capcom did a great job with this game it was truely a great resident evil game
  64. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    This game brings me back memories of resident evil 4. In some areas they exceed RE4, in others they don't. For example, the ooze are really creepy enemies. The game overall is probably scarier than RE4. Some of the boss fights like Scagdead and Rachel, are really good. The sea creepers are so scary, you find it difficult to get yourself to go in the shallow water. The only disappointment I have with this game is the fact that it was released for 3ds. The game would have sold much more if it were released on ps3 and I could enjoy playing the game on my TV instead of a small screen. The inventory is really good too. Not as good as RE4, but definitely better than RE5 and RE6. Boss fights are on average OK. Scagdead and Rachel may be good but the other 3 are basically on par with RE5. The dodge mechanic isn't that great either. Also there are times where you play as these random characters, this should have been thrown out. The game should have focused more on Jill. Expand
  65. May 28, 2012
    6
    I was looking forward to this game, but the game is meh.
  66. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    This is easily the best 3ds game I have played. The graphics, sound and level design are near perfection and once you start playing this game you will not want to put it down.

    I'm playing it on the 3ds XL using the Circle Pad Pro and it is definetly an added advantage and well worth seeking out.

    Overall, I think this game is a must for all 3ds owners and a very good reason for those
    that don't own a 3ds to get one. Expand
  67. Jan 2, 2013
    9
    Definitely the best Resident Evil game in quite a long time! The atmosphere, especially in Jill's campaign, was perfect. I don't even remember the last time I jumped in fright while playing a RE game. It's that good! The only downside are some of the cheesy voice acting and dialogue. But other than that - this game is awesome!
  68. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    Solid Resident evil game. Pushes the boundaries of 3ds almost everywhere where. Great old-school horror but that's hurt by some dull action sections but you may consider it successful crossbreeding of old-school horror and new-school action.
  69. Aug 10, 2012
    9
    fantastic game. the graphics are brilliant for the console and controls well however you choose to play it. the game also offers some genuine scares while other sections offer some good action tailoring to fans of both 4 and 5. the one problem is the audio which occasionally sounds low quality. Overall the game plays well from beginning to end and is a must buy for anyone with a 3DS.
  70. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Great Game..Great Atmosphare,Great Survival Horror.its a great piece of horror and one of the best Resident evil Games so far.Bring back the classical roots with a combination of new elements and action .
    Overall Best Resident evil of this generation.
  71. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    The best Resident Evil game in years.A great handheld game, one that not only pushes the boundaries and standards of the Nintendo 3DS but one that recaptures a long-forgotten spirit of a classic franchise. Make no mistake about it, this is a full Resident Evil adventure that isn't watered down because it's in portable form.
  72. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    The best game of the series in years. The game is beautiful, and has excellent gameplay really memorable moments. Without doubt the franchise should follow that style in the next numbered games.
  73. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Best game on 3DS. Excellent graphic, fun action and interesting story. The only problem is 3D effect that is not so good for all the game. Great mix of action and exploration. 10/10
  74. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Great game that is genuinely frightening! I never thought i would genuinely get scared at a game thats on a tiny screen like the 3DS's but on more than one occasion I did. Best game on the 3DS yet and a prime example of how a resident evil game should be (Resident evil 5 & 6 im looking at ye)
  75. Jan 27, 2014
    7
    It's not as good as any of the main entries, but you don't expect it to be. I played it on the Wii U at first and was fairly disappointed... Then I got it for 3DS and I must say, it fits much better and some of its flaws are much more forgivable on the handheld. Quite impressive, just don't expect any depth like RE4.
  76. Feb 14, 2013
    7
    So I am giving this game a 70 out of 100, or 7 out of 10. I find this game to be a lot of fun, that brings back some elements of old RE days while adding In action packed flashbacks, with faster paced gameplay, dealing with old monsters that made me $h!t my pants back in the day. Now the game has some flaws. I felt a little bored sometimes with repetitive gameplay/monsters/areas. It didn't quite get close to what I felt in REzero-RE4, but nostalgic feelings aside, still a great and fun game....especially for a portable system that is still dumbing ports down for some reason(SonicRacingTransformed 3ds). This game has great visuals that prove this significant dumbing down in some games, is unnecessary and simple laziness. Anyways, the fuel behind this review's fire, is not the game itself. This game has already received the appropriate praise and criticism it deserves. My real beef is with the metacritic user who calls himself...marioisawesome. This man ,or sentient turd for all I know, rated RE Revelations...a ZERO. He the proceeded to tell inquisitive readers, that if they want a good 3ds game, get Super Mario Land 3D or NSMB 2. I have to start by saying...I am a huge Mario fan. I have an unhealthy obsession with his 2D and 3D games. (I mostly stick with the core games like SMB-SMGalaxy2, as well as the NSMBs games). I have plenty of hardcore gaming friends that get on me for my undying love for Mario, and just the fact that if I get bored with popular game A, I will just start and play Completely through NSMBWii or Galaxy.. So I love Mario games. However, metacritic user, marioisawesome, is a single-track, tunnel-vision thinker. Also an idiot in my mind. We are all entitled to our opinions, so plz don't judge him on this alone. But for some Mario fan to completely dismiss this good game, simply because he likes mario, is just plain stupid. No game with as little glitches and decently crafted exploration gameplay, should ever get a zero! And I am fully admitting that SuperMario3dLand was a much better game.. SML3D IS a better game, and if u can only afford one you enjoy platformers at all, get that one. It is well worth it, challenging, loads of fun. But to give a good game a ZERO out of 1OO!!! because you think Mario's game is better, is the stupidest thing I've ever heard. Mario is my favorite game series of all time, but by no means are other games terrible to me just because I like Mario better. Just look at his page...95% of what he reviews are Mario games, with stellar ratings. He's not wrong there in my opinion, but any 3DS fan looking for more to play after Mario, should never base anything off of his reviews. This man(or woman) is textbook ignorant and should not be trusted for any review ever. Even if u are die-hard-mario, there are better and worse points to all of his games in comparison to his others. However, his mario reviews basically just say "perfect" and we already know that (to a certain extent), but he refuses to be real and talk about even minor flaws. It is all just perfect to him, no if's, and's, or but's. If you also enjoy other games, his reviews might be good for humor, but that's it. RE Revelations is a good game. It is well worthy of purchase, especially by RE fans. It is at least worth a try from 3ds owners by gamefly or demo. It is one of the biggest, most console-like games on the 3ds. Love it or like it, there is no hating it, if you have a sound mind. It is simply not possible to be intelligent and review this game with a zero. Even if u hate it, it doesn't screw up like most games do nowadays, which has to merit some credit. With marioisawesome Giving this well put together game, a zero! He completely destroys his credibility as a reviewer. Steel battalion kinnect deserves a zero bc it actually does not work. It is broken. RE Revelations is not. Like it or not, it could never be a zero. I will close by being insensitive and childish. With marioisawesome's character being ignorant, one sided when sides didn't need to exist, and just plain F-ing Stupid, I feel it should be treated in as hateful of a manner as its portrayal. Drag it behind a metaphorical truck to be killed and forgotten. We have moved beyond this ignorant way of thinking, but since he clearly has not, he should be treated as such. Just like white people don't need narrow minded racisism towards other races, normal Mario/video game lovers, do not need ignorant supremacy speeches about other good games(or even just mediocre games), making us all look like fools. NSMBU is great. Finished it completely 4 times. But come on marioisawesome, 10/10? It was basically NSMBWii with better visuals. Dont try to ruin other good games for potential buyers bc of your inability to like anything but Mario. You are the white supremacist/extreme red neck of Mario fans, and we want nothing to do with your ridiculous, unfounded hatred. Expand
  77. Feb 25, 2013
    9
    This game packs a true horror experience.
    With a scary soundtrack, gorgeous graphics and creepy atmosphere, is a must buy for the 3DS owners looking for a game to play in the middle of night. With a good pair of headphones, the game can even scare you some times.

    No more money-jewels-ammo-herbs-filled zombies. You have to search the enviroment in order to keep you health in good shape
    and your ammo stocked. And you will need both, because the monsters here aren't that easy to dodge and are hard to kill.

    Unfortunately there's no Files or Reports as the old games had. Thats ok... but adding those would be good help to the player immersion within the game plot.

    The claustrophobic locations of the game and labyrinthic gameplay resembles a lot with the pre RE4 era of games.

    The graphics are full of nice light effects all over, and beautifuly detailed enviroments gives you the hard choice between playing or just admire the details.

    It's the best game of the franchise since RE0 and RE Remake (after those two, we only got bang-bang save the world, save US President daughter, boom Call of Duty, bang bang).
    Expand
  78. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    La narrativa del juego es muy televisiva, está dividida en capítulos y al empezar cada uno de los 11 de los que se compone nos acompañará un pequeño vídeo que resume lo ocurrido anteriormente en Revelations. Viviremos flashbacks, cambios de personajes y, como si de una serie se tratara, los capítulos acaban en el punto mas álgido posible para dejarnos enganchados a la 3ds. la verdad que tengo que decir que me ha gustado mucho, este si que es un Resident evil como los clásicos,admito que me asuste un par de veces e.e .La historia me tuvo muy atrapado,muy buena. Me sentí cómodo con la jugabiliad,me gusto mucho, muy buenos gráficos, la ambientación esta buena, Sonido excelente. En general el juego es muy bueno y lo recomiendo para los que no lo tienen. Expand
  79. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    ''Resident Evil Revelations'' is not only the best resident evil for this GEN but it's the best resident evil up to date impressive story and great HORROR....CAPCOM did it without Shinji Mikami can't believe it better than 4 even?
  80. Apr 3, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After looking through this new game by Cap com I went ahead and buy ed it with new characters and some oldies that we like, like Jill Valentine and Chris Red field and it also has new creatures which acts like zombies they grab you they try to eat you yep a same thing about a zombie would do to you too.

    Still this is a new story based in a ship for Jill story you get to play as two characters in this wounder ful game and of course many more.

    Just buy and you won't be disappointed with this game better than Mercenaries I' am sure.

    A lot talk about the camera part for some reason, still it's like Resident Evil 4 and 5 so I can't see why people complain about it.

    Downside is playing with someone on net well there is lag and you can't go through a door when the other person opens it, instead you got to open it yourself I find that annoying at times.
    Expand
  81. May 30, 2013
    9
    Well this is a great game. Its scary, its got an interesting, lengthy story, multitudes of playable characters, all kinds of guns, and the slightly different but huge loads of fun raid mode, which can be played online!! Lemme start over. This game takes place on a cruise ship, if you've ever been on a cruise you know how many different environments can be in there. Most of them terrifying with zombies. The controls are pretty well setup, but if you want the real FPS experience, go get the circle pad pro. Pairs up with this game beautifully well. The story is long and took me a while to beat while never boring me. The gun and character selection is great, in raid mode and campaign mode. And my favorite part? The replay value on this game is through the roof. Besides raid mode, which is big, they also have trophies and such to keep you invested in the campain mode also. I believe this is one of the best games i own for my 3ds and will never stop playing it. Expand
  82. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Im usually against giving games a 10 but this one deserves it! I normally dont get scared but chills were going through my spine as i was playing this one. Easy controls good graphics and an amazing story! This is an actual resident evil game. Great soundtracks and background music. Simply flawless!
  83. Apr 23, 2013
    6
    Like most people that will write a review for Revelations, I am a life long fan of the franchise and looked forward to this release immensely. Unfortunately, in my opinion, this was the least satisfying entry to date and that includes the Mercenaries 3D.

    For me the problem doesn't lay with the graphics or game play, both are pretty impressive considering the limitations of a hand held,
    it's just that the game is a bit, well, boring to be honest. In trying to combine elements of the original Res games along with those of 4 and 5 it loses out in so much as it doesn't do justice to either.

    There is none of the nerve jangling, heart in your mouth, survival horror of the originals, I'm sorry but white fish men just don't compare to zombies, and completely gone is the puzzle solving element. Also, although it handles and plays much like Res 4 there is nothing like enough action to make Revelations a worth while 3rd person shooter.

    What your left with is neither one thing or the other but a kind of mish mash that is less than the some of it's parts. That being said, it is still a Resident Evil game and as such is better than a lot of other stuff available for the 3DS. Oh, and the storyline is ridiculous, I mean just plain stupid...
    Expand
  84. May 29, 2013
    2
    Not quite what I thought it would be This is a title many people including myself have been waiting for for a long time. It promises an almost console like experience and to some extent it does deliver that, although it has it's flaws. The Good Graphically decent, probably the 2nd best looking 3ds game so far (second to Mario Kart 7 which looks phenomenal) Sound design is awesome, play this wearing a decent pair of headphones to get the most of out the sound. The 3ds speakers don't do it justice.
    The luxury cruise ship Queen Zenobia is a decent setting although has been done before in Resident Evil Gaiden.
    Unlockables and costumes to collect.
    Almost returns to the franchises routes with some scares and backtracking to return to newly accessible areas.
    Weapon upgrade system works well and is fun to experiment with.
    Good pacing, not always solving puzzles or shooting monsters.
    Play as the old favourite reoccurring characters.
    Raid mode is decent alone.
    You can move while shooting now. You may like or dislike this.
    Good length. Took me about 10 hours to finish the campaign.
    Many medals to unlock (sort of like achievements/trophies)

    The Bad

    The game teases you as you get a bit of old school corridor exploration like in the earlier games but in the style at Resident Evil 4-5. This would be a good thing but on too many occasions the game resorts to throwing waves of enemies at you and almost becomes a bad third person shooter.
    The story is laughably bad. Terragrigia? Veltro? Why is Capcom introducing more needless rubbish to an already convoluted franchise?
    The new characters are pointless, annoying and add nothing to the franchise. Why not give us a game with Billy or Barry? Nobody wants "Jackass", "Grinder" and "Jessica"
    The dialogue is cringeworthy even by Japanese standards. It's so bad it rivals the first games except it's not in any way amusing.
    Every time a bit of tension builds the game takes you away from the action and forces you to play a lame third person shooter. By the second episode you will have mowed down more Hunters than in every other Resident Evil game combined. It's not fun and it adds nothing.

    Limited ammo and herb carrying capability. You can carry 40 bullets and 5 herbs at first until later where you can find bags to hold more. You have to leave most ammo behind which is annoying.

    They removed the item management system, all you have to do is select your weapon loadouts at weapon chests. This may actually be a good thing depending on your preference.

    The bosses and enemies are really generic and actually make you laugh more than they scare you. The first and second bosses in particular are just stupid.

    The Genesis. You can scan enemies with this which basically fills a bar. Once the bar is filled you get a green herb, which you won't need more than likely. Also you can use the genesis to scan rooms for hidden items. Doesn't add anything and just slows the game down.

    Haven't been to able to connect to a multiplayer Raid game.
    Horrendous lag when a new area is loading. Instead of getting a "now loading" screen the game carries on but the frame rate drops to 2fps and the game stutters like crazy totally removing the point of having invisible loading screens (to avoid breaking immersion).

    While the sound is good when there is many explosions and gunfire the 3DS speakers distort like crazy. I use headphones most of the time but if you allow the speakers to distort like that they WILL break.

    Load times are ridiculous for a cartridge based game. I know the game is probably heavily compressed to fit on the cart but it's still pretty poor.

    Ridiculous circle pad pro add on I refuse to buy makes the game control better apparently. The controls are pretty stiff without but manageable.

    I'm a total Resident Evil fan having completed the previous games many times, Resident Evil 2 and 4 I have probably finished 20-30 times each. I can honestly say this one will never be replayed and I was kind of glad it finished when it did. However it's still a decent game on a system without too many must have titles and I would recommend it at a lower price.
    Expand
  85. May 18, 2013
    10
    It is for me the best 3DS-Game I've ever played. The story was awesome, the graphics is also really nice and the gameplay was nice, too. I played this game for hours and hours and the best thing about it is the multiplayer-mode. Buy it!
  86. May 27, 2013
    9
    this is one of the best resident evil games for many years its amazing not just on ds but on xbox to unlike other more resent resident evil games this game is more like the old ones and one of the best games i've played all year.
  87. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    It squeezes all the power possible from that tiny screen on the 3DS. The storyline takes up an episodic style. Throughout the whole story, which mostly takes place on a mysterious abandones ship, you play as a variety of characters, including Jill, Parker, and Chris, among others. The plot fills in a gap between RE 4 and 5. Although it's improbable, the storyline is excellent. Some of the script is incredibly cheesy and ridiculous however, but that doesn't happen often. The graphics are incredible for a handheld like 3DS, I never knew it had that much power. They are very realistic and add to the horror experience. So does the impressive 3D effect. I recommend you turn it on. The sound and music adds to the suspense perfectly, resulting in a superbly scary experience. The actual gameplay is reminiscent of past resident evils- before re 4. Limited ammo, memorable bosses, and more all contribute to make this the best resident evil yet. One annoyance is the limited AI of your fellow companions. The game takes about 15 hours to complete- not a lot. But raid mode at least dpubles that. In raid mode, you battle through locations from the main game, fighting enemies every step of the way. This isn't short of scares either. You can play this co-op as well, including both local and online. I'm not lying when I say this is the best resident evil I've ever played. Expand
  88. Aug 2, 2013
    7
    I have given this game a 7, but I don´t think it deserves to pass the psychological line of 6.X. I was thinking about 6.8, so I give it a 7 because it is the closest.
    I think Resident Evil Revelations is a catalogue builder but has lots of weak points that keep it from being a great game, both as part of the RE franchise and as a videogame in general. The main campaign is not so long,
    about 10 hours, but felt boring for most of the time. The chapters system is ok, but most of the chapters are very dull.
    There are some things that just make no sense, restoring the electrical power of a sunken ship is one of my favourites. But what about your partners? They very rarely get attacked or kill someone, they don´t run out of ammo..... They are like an imaginary friend that follows you around. Some of them would ask you for cover so they can take shelter, but instead of taking shelter they will put them shelves in the line of fire between you and your enemies.
    Also there are very few types of enemies and I dont think the ones that look like lizards blend in the resident evil franchise. They seem to have come out of Turok or something. Just like the scanner reminds of Metroid Prime. Its main use here is to scan enemies to get herbs, or scan places to get other items, but you are already overflowed with ammo and herbs. The progress bar to get one herb fells very anti climatic. I think it could have been better if the scanner found weak points on each specific enemy so you could beat them more easily, it would have fitted the game much more than a progress bar to get extra herb, and the final effect would have been the same (easier survival).
    Otherwise, the 3d effect, extra modes and features you can unlock, sound and graphics are good. Long story short, not a classic resident evil but a game I could recommend to pass the time.
    Expand
  89. Sep 30, 2013
    9
    The best Resident Evil in over 10 years.
  90. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    Resident Evil: Revelations for 3DS is once again a good Resi game. Story is quite solid for a horror game and it has a chapter design which fits perfectly for a handheld. Graphics are really stunning, in my opinion it's the best looking game on 3DS. Music is also fine and gameplay quite enjoyable. If you are a Resident Evil fan you will definitely like it. The only things I don't like about this game is small variety of enemies and extremely simple "puzzles". And btw. controls are good, there's no real reason for CCP. Expand
  91. Oct 18, 2013
    8
    AN Excelent survivor horror.
    im really impressive of capcom
    they did a good job with the esthetic,the monsters
    but there are a few thing that didnt like me
  92. Jul 22, 2014
    8
    RERE is the only Resident Evil game I've ever played all the way through. This game is only like 10ish hours of gameplay, but thats ok, because its all pretty good. It is obviously super derivative of RE4 but it has its own charm and the 3D effect is done really well and its cool that you can increase the intensity of the 3D effect in the options. The story is super stupid, but its entertaining enough. The horror aspect is there kind of, but Jill is pretty damn unstoppable if you get the hang of her dodge move and monsters tend to pop out and try to startle you from really obvious locations. Definitely a good one to have if you have the circle pad pro and want to play something other than Snake Eater or Monster Hunter. Expand
  93. Jun 1, 2014
    9
    este juego es el meor de 3ds que eh jugado todo es excelente pero a veces los jefes son flojos pero captura la esencia de resident evil 5 pero en una portatil la musica es excelente y los sonidos ni hablar de ellos
  94. Sep 11, 2014
    8
    Resident evil perdeu sua essência e blá blá blá . Isso é o resumo das reviews dos novos RE , gente reclamando que o jogo ta claro de mais , tem ação de mais , puzzle de menos , gente que só reclama , RE revelations veio pra calar a boca deles , o jogo se passa em um navio , (escuro) não tem muitos puzzles , mas , deu para os fãs mais novos um gostinho do que era os antigos RE , o jogo é bem divertido , a historia é mais ou menos , zerei o jogo com 13 horas , existem 12 capítulos no game , umas das minhas preocupações com o jogo , foi em relação aos loadings , splinter cell tem um loading de até 30 segundos , RE é bem maios que ele , achei que os loadings seriam eternos , mas não são .No "raid mode" a unica coisa que realmente incomodou foi as portas , se alguém vem e abre , vc tem esperar ela fechar pra poder abrir de novo , nada muito grave , e ainda mostrou oque o 3ds é capaz de fazer , espero que lancem um jogo desse tipo pro New Nintendo 3ds Expand
  95. Sep 21, 2014
    10
    Probably the best game on the 3DS or any platform in a long time. Amazingly executed. Anyone who gives it a score less than 90 either doesn't have a clue or is too stuck up. Amazing!
  96. Mar 20, 2012
    0
    I normally don't appreciate people who give a perfect score to a video game, because I feel like they're lying to themselves. But Resident Evil Revelations really does deserve a perfect 10 out of 10. Capcom has finally found the perfect balance between action and horror, something that was severely lacking in Res 5. Revelations definitely has the creepiness factor that was present in the early additions to the series, it even got me to jump at a few points in the game. The only fault the game has is that it gets a bit glitchy at some points in the game, but it really isn't that big of deal. Revelations looks great, even in 3D, and in my opinion takes the crown for the best game on the 3DS. Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 78 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 78
  2. Negative: 0 out of 78
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    Resident Evil: Revelations shows the potential that lies in Nintendos new handheld console. The story itself is masterfully told inepisodes, and the game has the best sound I've experienced on a 3DS sofar. The controls, however, seem a bit too stiff, but in a way thatalso enhanced the general claustrophobic atmosphere in the game.
  2. 80
    Best parts of survival action are horror moments and online cooperation. RE: Revelations show the potential of 3DS in full scale. [Feb 2012]
  3. Feb 29, 2012
    100
    While survival-horror definitely isn't my best genre, Resident Evil: Revelations is easily one of the best 3DS games I've played to date. Just about any frustrations I've come across is due to my own lack of skill and experience with the franchise as a whole. If you're a Resident Evil fan with a 3DS, this is definitely one to pick up.