• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 28, 2011
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 96
  2. Negative: 25 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    Do not be fooled by IGNorant reviews or those written by foolish "users". Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D is a fun filled action packed little brother to its console companion with a TON of replay value. The game CAN be played repeatedly so if you think that you can only play through once you are way wrong! It is, however, set up like an arcade machine in a sense and the perks and otherDo not be fooled by IGNorant reviews or those written by foolish "users". Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D is a fun filled action packed little brother to its console companion with a TON of replay value. The game CAN be played repeatedly so if you think that you can only play through once you are way wrong! It is, however, set up like an arcade machine in a sense and the perks and other unlocks remain unlocked indefinitely once originally unlocked. That being said the game controls wonderfully and the character models are comparable to the console versions. I ran into some relatively minor frame-rate issues (minor in that they do little to hinder its enjoyment or playability). There are MANY more missions than the critic at IGN claimed (for whatever reason) and the perks, characters and other unlocks were fun to explore with loads of different combinations. Each character can save a rating to the game and each time your previous rating is beat it will save the new one (typical of most arcade type games) Each character has unique moves and weapon combinations and can be tweaked with perks and an additional outfit (with a separate outfit score slot) THIS GAME HAS PLENTY OF REPLAY-ABILITY so if you have heard otherwise ignore them and try it out for your self. While it has some issues this is a fantastic handheld version of the Mercenaries mini game we have all come to love. The included demo of Resident Evil: Revelations was indeed very short, however, it did provide players with a strong sense of the setting and environment they can expect from the next title (the ambiance it creates can easily be compared to Dead Space or early resident evil titles) The real verdict is that this game should NOT be overlooked as an empty un-replayable arcade shooter as other critics seem to assume, but as a handheld replica of its console cousins with beautiful visuals, exciting action packed shooting sequences and a substantial amount of added depth. A MUST BUY FOR FANS of the series and Mercenaries mini games as well as 3DS owners who have been itching for an action title. Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    This game deserves much better reviews than people are giving it, it's a 6 at worst. But in My opinion it sits comfortably at seven. It offers enough with the upgrade system to warrant replay, and the gameplay itself is fantastic. The visuals are some of the best on the 3DS so far, and the online co op becomes an absolute bloodbath in seeing who can slaughter more foes. Get it or miss out,This game deserves much better reviews than people are giving it, it's a 6 at worst. But in My opinion it sits comfortably at seven. It offers enough with the upgrade system to warrant replay, and the gameplay itself is fantastic. The visuals are some of the best on the 3DS so far, and the online co op becomes an absolute bloodbath in seeing who can slaughter more foes. Get it or miss out, it's worth the money for a perfect pick up and play game on the go. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    First of all, this game doesn't deserve a score of 10. I am giving it a 10 only to offset all these immature kids who gave it a 0 without even playing the game. Yes, I am aware of that you can't erase your save data. Yes, I know it cost $40 bucks. I am not a big fan of neither of these things. However, the game itself is a lot of fun and it will keep your hands glued to your 3DS for a veryFirst of all, this game doesn't deserve a score of 10. I am giving it a 10 only to offset all these immature kids who gave it a 0 without even playing the game. Yes, I am aware of that you can't erase your save data. Yes, I know it cost $40 bucks. I am not a big fan of neither of these things. However, the game itself is a lot of fun and it will keep your hands glued to your 3DS for a very long time. It's like an elite version of angry bird or doodle jump, the goal of the game is to get higher scores. And we all know how addicting doodle jump or tetris can be. Of course, this kind of game doesn't appeal to all gamers alike. If you are a gamer who doesn't care about story, you like to sharpen your skills and constantly improve your gameplay, then this game is a perfect fit for you. Not to mention the killer graphic on a portable. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    It's annoying to see the metacritic user score at 4.9 because a bunch of people are pissed about one flaw and are giving it a 0. This game deserves a 8.5 or so. I'm giving it a ten to offset all the freaking 0's that this game is wrongly receiving. So Mercenaries is a high score kind of game. There is no story mode and the whole thing is based of the mercenaries mode from RE 4 and 5. IIt's annoying to see the metacritic user score at 4.9 because a bunch of people are pissed about one flaw and are giving it a 0. This game deserves a 8.5 or so. I'm giving it a ten to offset all the freaking 0's that this game is wrongly receiving. So Mercenaries is a high score kind of game. There is no story mode and the whole thing is based of the mercenaries mode from RE 4 and 5. I don't think the game is worth the 40 dollars it's priced at. There is just not enough content; however, the content that is there is super fun and addicting. Once you start mission 1-1 you won't be able to stop. The controls are nice. At first I didn't think I was gonna like them, but they're actually very smooth and responsive. The graphics are some of the best on the system. Some of the enemies can look a tad rough if you get real close, but overall the game looks great. There is a weird problem where if you look at an enemy from far a way it looks like it's moving in stop motion or something. It doesn't effect the game, but it does look unnatural. Co-op mode is very fun and works fine. You will only wait like a minute or so until someone starts the game with you. The one flaw I was talking about before I started this over-sized review is the fact that you can't erase your save data. Once you start a file you cannot erase it. This really sucks because if you buy it used your gonna have to start where the other guy left off. This really doesn't matter to much because the game is just a bunch of missions. So even though the previous owners high-scores will be there you can still play it normally. It also takes away the fun of unlocking characters and skills if they are already unlocked. It's definitely a flaw, but not as big a one as people are making it out to be. So there. The game is a little overpriced and has a few frame-rate issues and stuff, but overall the game is very fun and something you should highly consider for your 3ds. Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    As per jl0329, this game is not worthy of a 10 - but given the idiots posting zeros because of a minor gripe, this is to counterbalance that.

    Resi 3D is a solid and addictive arcade game, which (if you enjoyed the Mercs in Resi 4/5 and you like chasing high scores) you will sink plenty of time into. For those after Resi of old, you may just want to wait for Revelations. For fun value
    As per jl0329, this game is not worthy of a 10 - but given the idiots posting zeros because of a minor gripe, this is to counterbalance that.

    Resi 3D is a solid and addictive arcade game, which (if you enjoyed the Mercs in Resi 4/5 and you like chasing high scores) you will sink plenty of time into.

    For those after Resi of old, you may just want to wait for Revelations. For fun value alone this is well deserving of an 8!
    Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    it's really addictive, but i'm just thinking i should be playing resi 4 in 3d with this on the side! kinda hurt by it cause i hate saying bad things about resi, plus what is it with the frame rate, it's a joke when that bat boss is about lol
  7. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    Yes, you can't erase your save data. This doesn't mean you can't replay the game nor that you can't loan or give it to friends. People need to stop spreading bullcrap. You can replay it as much as you like, in fact that's the whole point of the game!
    This game is a lot of fun. It's a fast paced arcade shooter, with no story or narrative. This may not be your cup of tea. The graphics are
    Yes, you can't erase your save data. This doesn't mean you can't replay the game nor that you can't loan or give it to friends. People need to stop spreading bullcrap. You can replay it as much as you like, in fact that's the whole point of the game!
    This game is a lot of fun. It's a fast paced arcade shooter, with no story or narrative. This may not be your cup of tea. The graphics are top notch, easily better than RE:4. The controls work really well with the 3DS and follow the same "tank" format as other RE games. The 3D effect is well done though not as prominent as Zelda:OOT for example. Overall a great game and a great addition to the 3DS line-up. If there were a huge library of competing games out there I might hesitate to recommend it but right now I can easily tell any 3DS owner to pick it up and you won't be disappointed. People who are heavily into trading in their games might have a problem with the re-sale/trade-in value of the game but people who invest in games to play them shouldn't have any problems.
    Expand
  8. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    OK, UPDATED REVIEW! Still a 10 as you CAN repeat CAN have as many save files as you want, you can replay and even start a NEW save for your friends or to trade it in, although you can trade it in already. You need a NDS cart, video tutorial on YouTube on how to... So anyway the game has amazing graphics! It is not just a 5 min play through and tbh anyone who thought this wasn't the sameOK, UPDATED REVIEW! Still a 10 as you CAN repeat CAN have as many save files as you want, you can replay and even start a NEW save for your friends or to trade it in, although you can trade it in already. You need a NDS cart, video tutorial on YouTube on how to... So anyway the game has amazing graphics! It is not just a 5 min play through and tbh anyone who thought this wasn't the same MERCENARIES type game mode through out loads of previous resident evil games are stupid and should not call them selves a fan, in which case why buy it? The gameplay is fun, addictive, and most of all REPLAYABLE, so if anyone is reading this and you like resident evil games then my review is THE one to go by, ALL of the bad reviews are trolls that only follow hyped up games and dint have an opinion of there own just sheep. Also likento add I buy games for the fun and even if you couldn't (although you can) delete your save, it means you rely on trade in so you shouldn't bother anyway and also says that you friend should buy his own game, your friend is a bum! Seriously every bad review I doubt even have a 3DS...either that or are just blind. Mafia 2 had no replay value whatsoever all you could do was buy a suit and drive a car.....yes wow lol. COD=waste of youth just to unlock an extra prestige but loose loads of items OMG AMAZING...sarcasm much?!? Expand
  9. Jun 29, 2011
    9
    This is a great game. Nice visuals and a lot of enjoyable action. It's a shame everybody don't feel the same way . But hopefully people will buy it even if it got some very bland reviews.
  10. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    Hola a todo el mundo.
    Con mi mensaje queria comentar, que realmente, este juego es de lo mejorcito que te puedes encontrar para Nintendo 3DS.
    Si nos ponemos objetivos, Resident Evil 5 es un mercenarios, con puzzles y sin tiempo alguno... Tener un poco mas de lo mismo, ten por seguro que no va a hacer daño. Otra cosa es la capada sobre las partidas guardadas, Pues si un
    Hola a todo el mundo.
    Con mi mensaje queria comentar, que realmente, este juego es de lo mejorcito que te puedes encontrar para Nintendo 3DS.
    Si nos ponemos objetivos, Resident Evil 5 es un mercenarios, con puzzles y sin tiempo alguno...
    Tener un poco mas de lo mismo, ten por seguro que no va a hacer daño.

    Otra cosa es la capada sobre las partidas guardadas, Pues si un juego SE COMPRA, y si se es Coleccionista, Creeme que no lo vas a vender, te lo aseguro.

    Asi pues, no destrocéis la nota, jugadlo y probradlo Un saludo a todos !
    Expand
  11. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    It seems this game is getting low scores due to a few flaws,frame rate,one save file and not much variety. It dose not pretend to have anything else but the mercenary mode and all the reviews tell you that so if it bugs you don't buy it!. The frame rate gets a bit choppy but so what so do ps3 and xbox games and they are so much powerful. The graphics in all are brilliant for a hand held.It seems this game is getting low scores due to a few flaws,frame rate,one save file and not much variety. It dose not pretend to have anything else but the mercenary mode and all the reviews tell you that so if it bugs you don't buy it!. The frame rate gets a bit choppy but so what so do ps3 and xbox games and they are so much powerful. The graphics in all are brilliant for a hand held. The one save is no big deal Why would u want to reset your game data. Fair enough if you buy it second hand I can see the point but again you know this before you buy it. So stop whining and either get cuz u want it or don't because of a few gripes you know what your getting before you get it. Expand
  12. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. if you have got n3ds , you will play REM3D s Expand
  13. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    Very fun to play. People who are complaining about the save problem need to calm down, this isn't a game you would want to reset. Overall the graphics are superb for a handheld, with some minor issues: some slowdown and a few blocky textures here and there. The controls are very intuitive and fluent. What's really nice is the ability to strafe while aiming (finally) and the option toVery fun to play. People who are complaining about the save problem need to calm down, this isn't a game you would want to reset. Overall the graphics are superb for a handheld, with some minor issues: some slowdown and a few blocky textures here and there. The controls are very intuitive and fluent. What's really nice is the ability to strafe while aiming (finally) and the option to aim in first-person view. If you are a 3DS owner looking for a fun and simple action-shooter, this is your best option at the time. Go pick this up and shoot some zombies... Expand
  14. Dec 13, 2011
    9
    I think this game is actually pretty good. It is a lot of fun and has more depth than some critics say. The 3D effect is bad, but the gameplay is really awesome. I don't think the bad 3d effect is a big deal, because I see it as more of an extra feature. The game itself is fun and addictive and the graphics are quite good. It is not perfect but I think it is a great game.
  15. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D is a very fun game, solo or co-op. If you're looking for a great online experience for the 3DS, this is a contender. The Co-Op mode is fun and surprisingly addictive, I highly recommend it if you can find it for a good price.
  16. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    I also am giving this game a 10 to offset the idiots that gave the game a zero without even playing.

    In my opinion this would be an 8 or a 9. This is a great game and worthy of a 3DS sale. There is plenty of content, despite what many have said. 30 standard missions, EX missions, unlockable skills and costumes and characters. This is a score chasers game, so if you go into it knowing
    I also am giving this game a 10 to offset the idiots that gave the game a zero without even playing.

    In my opinion this would be an 8 or a 9. This is a great game and worthy of a 3DS sale. There is plenty of content, despite what many have said. 30 standard missions, EX missions, unlockable skills and costumes and characters.

    This is a score chasers game, so if you go into it knowing what to expect you will be happy with the game. It is a lot of fun, and the controls suit the 3DS well. You change weapon with the touch screen.

    This is another must buy for the 3DS.
    Collapse
  17. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    Great game. Not mind blowing or revolutionary, but toms of fun. It's exactly what I expected the game to be. If you liked Mercenaries mode, then you'll love this.. There's a good amount of maps and a wealth of content to unlock. IGN gave this an 6.5 because it lacked content? Wrong game. There's EX levels and costumes to unlock on top of a progression based perks system. My
  18. Jul 5, 2011
    0
    I also am giving this game a 10 to offset the idiots that gave the game a zero without even playing.

    In my opinion this would be an 8 or a 9. This is a great game and worthy of a 3DS sale. There is plenty of content, despite what many have said. 30 standard missions, EX missions, unlockable skills and costumes and characters. This is a score chasers game, so if you go into it knowing
    I also am giving this game a 10 to offset the idiots that gave the game a zero without even playing.

    In my opinion this would be an 8 or a 9. This is a great game and worthy of a 3DS sale. There is plenty of content, despite what many have said. 30 standard missions, EX missions, unlockable skills and costumes and characters.

    This is a score chasers game, so if you go into it knowing what to expect you will be happy with the game. It is a lot of fun, and the controls suit the 3DS well. You change weapon with the touch screen.

    This is another must buy for the 3DS.
    Collapse
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 69
  2. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. Dec 19, 2011
    70
    Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D is a fantastic experience...while it lasts. Sadly, as with other impressive titles such as Nintendo's own Pilotwings Resort and Steel Diver, Capcom has delivered a high quality product with plenty of thrills and spills, but lacking in the vital longevity stakes for anyone other than die-hard score chasers.
  2. Oct 19, 2011
    67
    A boring minigame stretched to full lenght boots. The idea should have been scrapped at the development table. [Sept 2011]
  3. Oct 7, 2011
    60
    A disappointment. The game seems like a test project on the 3DS for Capcom with the end goal of checking how the engine works on the 3DS hardware.