User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 25, 2012
    8
    As of the writing of this review, SEGA has announced that they will focus more on titles that were based on their successful franchises. That leaves great games such as RHYTHM THIEF in the back burner. Too bad, as it is one of the best 3DS games out there. Its fun, innovative, addicting experience in the vein of SAMBA DE AMIGO. It feels like a mash up between PROFESSOR LAYTON and ELITE BEAT AGENTS, and its great. SEGA used to be a great publisher, and their greatness is still proven by titles such as RT. But the sales of these titles are so low, that they will probably abandon any sort of innovation in the near future. As much as I like SONIC, they need more titles like these. Expand
  2. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Rhythm Thief is a catchy 3DS rhythm puzzle/action adventure game with a noirish narrative motivated structure. The gameplay itself is fast paced when engaging in the nunerous rhythm challenges. The stylus and gyroscope controls are used creatively to make some endearing and fun mini games. Some of the asides to the beat matching gameplay are a bit off though. For example there are puzzles where you have to perform a sequence, which may add to the thievish aesthetic but add nothing to the rhythm gameplay. Some may also find it to be a bit too much like Layton. Whether in the form of the art style or the noirish elements, some may not find a distinction. However, what we have is a perfectly enjoyable and playable rhythm action title that's fun whilst it lasts. Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    I personally think that this game is okay. There is a few things that really turn me off, though. These would be: the collectibles, it seems a waste of time just trying to find the hidden music sheets, it feels like, whenever I try to collect them, the touch screen will not sense where I have clicked, or for some reason I can't re select that same music note. The puzzles, or should I say puzzles with a sarcastic voice, they are much too forgiving, I could finish them a hundred times faster than the ones in the Professor Layton series, so if another installment is put into the series, I would highly recommend making the puzzles a little more challenging, so that I can actually enjoy this part of the game. I also dislike the way they pretty much copied the Professor Layton "Trunk" and SEGA made it their own, this is not a really big thing but I don't remember Sega owning Level 5, or the other way around. Despite these things, I'll give it a 7.5/10 for its amazing rhythm mini games, which are very well executed, and are the best part of this game. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    They doomed this game in the US by releasing it the same month as Theatrerhythm, I mean are people going to buy a new IP or a game celebrating final fantasy music? I got both but few did of course. Rhythm Thief stands on its own as a great game, the music is catchy, the characters are great, the story was really good and it was left open for a sequel. Not sure we will ever see it after that terrible release window but I do hope so, I really enjoyed this game from start to finish. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    A wonderful game. The music is catchy and fantastic, and the rhythm games are brilliant. A unique and interesting story blend the whole thing together with beautifully animated 3D cutscenes. You really should go and buy this now. Congratulations SEGA.
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    Welp after buying and completing Rhythm Thief, I have a lot to say about the game.

    The graphics are fantastic. The cutscenes are definately up to the standard of Professor Layton and look great in 3D. Phantom R's dance moves ingame are matched only by Inspector Cabanella of Ghost Trick. the animation's that good :V All the locations and such have plenty of detail and there's always lots
    to look at; just check out the intermissions during "Show time" in the demo to see what I'm on about.

    The story is definately intreuging enough to keep you playing.
    it's definately not up to the standard of the game it's clearly inspired from; professor layton, but it has its fair share of moments. There are several mysteries that you want to find out the answer to, involving the wherabouts of Raphael's father, Napoleon's return and Marie's mother. I just feel the story and characters...weren't really fleshed out enough. There are only ten chapters and I don't feel like they spend long enough developing characters and adressing their issues and feelings. I feel like Marie's the biggest victim of this, as it seems to very briefly skip through her issues. Some characters, however, do generally become really interesting as you learn more about them. Inspector Vergier is, in my opinion, the best developed character in the game, Good characters and story, just need a bit more fleshing out.


    The voice acting is good overall. I don't care what anyone says; Napoleon's voice is awesome. Raphael's got a good voice, as do most of the main characters. Jean-François's smug british accent is the best voice in the game though. Some voices can be pretty corny but none of the voices are outright bad. They're all tolerable.

    The music is definately the game's strongest point, and good thing too because it's a rhythm game. All of the tracks are very memerable and they've all been stuck in my head at some point~ I found the music rather remeniscent of Sonic games, especially Colours, so Sonic fans will more than likely love it. and there's such a huge variety too. I'd post a bit but it's best to hear it in game because it fits with the games, which I'll get into now

    The rhythm games are incredibly fun, and rather different frome eachother, ranging from elite beat agents style dancing to jumping over cops and sliding through gaps sonic style, to dodging an opponant's attacks and landing punches by tilting the 3DS similar to punchout. And the best part is keeping the rhythm during all these varied events. The only one that wasn't so good was this hang gliding one which took me a while to figure out, but luckily it only appeared once. Most minigames repeat twice throughout the game, but it never feels repetitive as they always differ. For example, one game has you fighting off Napoleon's soldiers in order that they appear. This minigame appears later, only you have to press a different button depending on the soldier's colour. Heck, there are even minigames based on Samba De Amigo and Space Channel 5 in there!

    The world map is very inspired by Layton, borrowing everything from touching people to talk, to tapping suspicious objects to get coins. But surprizingly, it does it better. There's an overhead map which makes navigating different places much easier, and you don't have to tap a foot to walk, the arrows are already there for you. No harm in ripping something off if you do it better now is there~ What this map is used for, however, is a bit pointless. The overworld puzzles are all extremely easy, and if anything, a bit of a waste of time since they're all so obvious and drawn out. I would have liked it if they used the sound recorder gimmick more creatively.

    Bottom line, it's clear from the ending that they want to make sequals. So please; buy this game. support another sega franchise that could grow to be the next samba de amego, phoenix wright, or professor layton.
    Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    really wonderful game,i love both the music and rhythm games,the story is interesting with beautiful cutscene, only downside are the rhythm games with the 3DS gyroscope(but there are only 5 ,so i forgive them) overall i really enjoyed playing it and i really hope they make a sequel.
  8. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the best game I ever played, Raphael is a really cool character also Fondue. SEGA was really talented to make this. Also the Rhythm Games are pretty interesting and it has an engaging storyline. I hope they make a sequel. Also each Rhythm Game as you progress through gets harder and it teaches you French. This is really good and I recommend it for anyone! Expand
  9. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    So, after playing Rhythm Thief and doing everything there is to do in the game, I must say, I'm impressed! The game does to the rhythm genre what Layton does to the puzzle genre: Add a plot to a genre which is normally just minigames. And it does it in an anime style, too, which I love, being a huge anime fan. The plot is basically this: You play as a guy named Raphael who lives a secret life as the famous Phantom R, a thief who steals artwork, artifacts, and a bunch of rare stuff like that from museums around Paris only to return them later.Phantom R's father left him when he was a child and left him with a coin with an unusual mark on it. He looks in the newspaper and sees that the Louvre has a bracelet which has the same mark. Thinking it has something to do with his father, he and his dog, Fondue, set out to steal it and the plot fleshes out from there. I'll go ahead and say that the entire game isn't getting the bracelet. You get it in the first chapter, actually. So it's not one of those kinds of games where the entire game is doing one set goal. Like any good game, the plot has plenty of twists and turns to keep you going, with most of the important parts told in anime cutscenes. It's all incredibly entertaining and the plot is one of the best aspects of the game. As for the main attraction, the gameplay, then it's all excellent. Unlike most rhythm games, there are variations in the gameplay. In the first level, you have to slide the stylus in different directions in time with the beat. In the next, you have to hide behind statues to prevent being caught by guards. In the next, you have to fight the henchmen of the main villain, Napoleon. Yes, Bonaparte. He's the game's main villain. But back to the gameplay, each of the 50 levels in the game are all varied and original. Even though some minigames share gameplay types, then the missions that do are far apart enough to make you not notice. It's all brilliant and the way it's set up makes it create a story that doesn't cut corners. You know how Dragonball Z games skip story to get to the fights? Well, in this game, the story IS the rhythm games. So the plot isn't butchered because of the lack of minigames. None of the segments in the game feel shoved in the plot for the sake of it. As for the games themselves, they all are incredibly fun and the controls are responsive enough to make it be your fault if you mess up and not the game's. The only levels that I have a problem with are the ones that use the 3DS gyroscope. To be specific, the fighting levels. Though, there are only 2 of those in the game. 2 more missions that I hate are the 2 poodle levels. You have to control Fondue and a Poodle both at the same time and unless you have two pairs of eyes, you're going to lose. A lot. The other 46 missions are great, though. Another thing: much like Layton, you move around in a point and click kind of world. You can search for coins in the game, which are much more plentiful than Hint Coins in Layton because there are some on every screen, and purchase things from Auban's shop, like cutscenes you've viewed and help for minigames for those levels where you're just stumped. I like the coin system and I think it works. Also, did I ever mention that Paris is bigger than all of the worlds in Layton combined? It's huge. REALLY huge. In fact, it's somewhat of an issue. Some of the names for the parts of Paris are french, making them hard to tell apart. The game helps with this by making the path to the story colored red on the map. Follow the red, follow the story. Of course, it's great with how its set up and I just love it. Also, as for characters, they're all awesome. Every. Single. One of them. Seriously. A few of our characters other than Raphael and Fondue are Marie, a girl who plays violin and has the same mark on her violin as on the coin and the bracelet, Inspector Vergier, who is a cop who is trying to catch Phantom R and loves Paris and wants to protect it with all his heart, Charlie, Vergier's kid, who wants to help Vergier catch Phantom R, and Napoleon, the main villain, who has control over the world's suckiest army and has supposedly been revived from the dead. All of the characters are lovable and, out of all of them, my favorite is Vergier. His love for Paris really shows in the later half on the game and you have no choice but to respect a guy who goes through a bunch of stuff to protect Paris. The music is also, great. So great, that I'm listening to it as I write this review. Considering that if I talked anymore about how great this game is then I would run out of characters, then I should rap this up. Rhythm Thief is a great game that anyone should check out. Even if you don't like rhythm games. In fact, this is the first rhythm game I've ever played and I love it! Go Moonwalk over to the nearest game store and pick this up. You're sure to love it. I give Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure a 9/10 Expand
  10. Jul 24, 2012
    9
    After 10 hours of game play under the belt. I can say Rhythm thief is a beautifully crafted game, with its lovable characters, colorful environment, and memorable music. One of the first things that caught my attention was the definitive art style and a soundtrack that simply amazed me. The game also references previous Sega games such as; Space Channel 5, Feel the Magic: XY/XX, and Samba de amigo! After experiencing the wonderful and musical world of Rhythm thief, I can confidently say that this game is a must buy for any 3ds owner! Expand
  11. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I think this game was really really cool although it was a little hard. The story really caught my attention. I think the hardest level is R37. I really enjoyed this playing this game and you will too.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Aug 15, 2012
    70
    By the end of the game, I truly felt attached to the characters and was excited to see what would happen next.
  2. Aug 11, 2012
    80
    You don't control a thief that fights Napoleon with dance and music every day.
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    75
    The opening scene of Rhythm Thief professes, "Imagination rules the world," and what it delivers follows suit. For its minor slip-ups, the game still innovates in the rhythm genre by offering a real story. If anything, the final product proves that extra creativity can make a difference, but it needs to be spread through all aspects of a game to make it a top contender.