Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure 3DS

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: "Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure blends rhythm, puzzles and a compelling story set in one of the world's most exciting cities in a way that has never been seen before,"says Gary Knight, Senior Vice President of Marketing at SEGA Europe and SEGA of America. "This"Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure blends rhythm, puzzles and a compelling story set in one of the world's most exciting cities in a way that has never been seen before,"says Gary Knight, Senior Vice President of Marketing at SEGA Europe and SEGA of America. "This unique blend makes creative use of the Nintendo 3DS' technology, offering an engaging, challenging and most importantly fun experience throughout.

    Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure sees players enter the secret life of Raphael, infamous among Parisians as an honorable thief for stealing famous works of art only to return them days later. Dive into Raphael's world and help him find the Wristlet of Tiamat to unmask the mystery behind his father's disappearance. While unravelling the truth players will encounter an assortment of different rhythm challenges to master. Tap the screen, swipe the stylus and control the gyro to the beat of the music to maneuver Raphael through the unique streets of Paris, brought to life by stylish animations and vibrant 3D maps and landscapes.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Apr 24, 2012
    90
    Overall Rhythm Thief & the Emperor's Treasure is a must-buy for all 3DS-owners. You will be treated to a great adventure that you'll want to play over and over again and more crazy minigames than you ever dreamed of. Now I'm waiting for a sequel.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    85
    Ryhthm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure is more than it appears to be. It is not just another music and rhythm game, but an engaging title that will make us play for hours. The story it offers is a right decision, as it invites us to keep playing and advance to unlock more songs.
  3. Apr 3, 2012
    80
    The start of something magical, Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure will no doubt blossom into the next Professor Layton or Phoenix Wright for 3DS.
  4. Jul 10, 2012
    80
    One can complain that Rhythm Thief and the Emperor's Treasure isn't all that new, but it often takes the portable puzzle-adventure genre to new heights via an abundance of addictive minigames.
  5. Jul 13, 2012
    75
    Rhythm Thief's collection of musical minigames is one of the best in recent memory, but the game's bogged down by dull adventure segments and a broken rating system.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 9, 2012
    70
    Catchy mix of music and rhythm game with adventures elements with a specific main hero brings lots of entertainment with very few frustrating moments. [May 2012]
  7. May 21, 2012
    55
    So yes, there's a good game in Rhythm Thief. It's a game that's not shy about its commitment to accurately evoking the skill and dexterity required of a master thief and master dancer, and as a result it's a fun and formidable challenge, regardless of whether Raphael is stomping the yard or stomping some goons. However, that game's built into a story so anodyne, so unimaginative, so resolute in its seriousness, that it's almost not worth the pain.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    A wonderful game. The music is catchy and fantastic, and the rhythm games are brilliant. A unique and interesting story blend the whole thingA wonderful game. The music is catchy and fantastic, and the rhythm games are brilliant. A unique and interesting story blend the whole thing together with beautifully animated 3D cutscenes. You really should go and buy this now. Congratulations SEGA. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I think this game was really really cool although it was a little hard. The story really caught my attention. I think the hardest level isI think this game was really really cool although it was a little hard. The story really caught my attention. I think the hardest level is R37. I really enjoyed this playing this game and you will too. Collapse
  3. Feb 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the best game I ever played, Raphael is a really cool character also Fondue. SEGA was really talented to make this. Also the Rhythm Games are pretty interesting and it has an engaging storyline. I hope they make a sequel. Also each Rhythm Game as you progress through gets harder and it teaches you French. This is really good and I recommend it for anyone! Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    They doomed this game in the US by releasing it the same month as Theatrerhythm, I mean are people going to buy a new IP or a game celebratingThey doomed this game in the US by releasing it the same month as Theatrerhythm, I mean are people going to buy a new IP or a game celebrating final fantasy music? I got both but few did of course. Rhythm Thief stands on its own as a great game, the music is catchy, the characters are great, the story was really good and it was left open for a sequel. Not sure we will ever see it after that terrible release window but I do hope so, I really enjoyed this game from start to finish. Expand
  5. Jan 13, 2014
    9
    really wonderful game,i love both the music and rhythm games,the story is interesting with beautiful cutscene, only downside are the rhythmreally wonderful game,i love both the music and rhythm games,the story is interesting with beautiful cutscene, only downside are the rhythm games with the 3DS gyroscope(but there are only 5 ,so i forgive them) overall i really enjoyed playing it and i really hope they make a sequel. Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    Rhythm Thief is a catchy 3DS rhythm puzzle/action adventure game with a noirish narrative motivated structure. The gameplay itself is fastRhythm Thief is a catchy 3DS rhythm puzzle/action adventure game with a noirish narrative motivated structure. The gameplay itself is fast paced when engaging in the nunerous rhythm challenges. The stylus and gyroscope controls are used creatively to make some endearing and fun mini games. Some of the asides to the beat matching gameplay are a bit off though. For example there are puzzles where you have to perform a sequence, which may add to the thievish aesthetic but add nothing to the rhythm gameplay. Some may also find it to be a bit too much like Layton. Whether in the form of the art style or the noirish elements, some may not find a distinction. However, what we have is a perfectly enjoyable and playable rhythm action title that's fun whilst it lasts. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2017
    8
    There are certainly plenty of excellent rhythm games but not many of them are so focused on narrative as in the case of Rhythm Thief. This isThere are certainly plenty of excellent rhythm games but not many of them are so focused on narrative as in the case of Rhythm Thief. This is an rather fun rhythm game that will test your skill, making you utilize almost every feature of the 3DS. When you aren't playing games or solving little puzzles you'll being exploring Paris and interacting with the locals. In many regards this is a fairly easy game but a couple of times it stumbles and the difficulty spikes up a bit too high. Other then that I had wonderful time with this game and all its various parts.

    Rhythm thief follows the story of one of Paris's most wanted thieves, Phantom R, along with his dog/sidekick Fondue. Your real name is Raphael, your father left you a couple years back and you've recently discovered a lead you're hoping might lead you back to him. On your quest you save a young girl named Marie which leads you to discover a plot to restore a recently resurrected Napoleon Bonaparte to power. Along your journey to stop these madman you'll get to know a quite a few characters like inspector Paul Vergier and the young detective Charlie. Its both a fun and ridiculous story told through a lot of written dialogue and a handful of gorgeous cut-scenes.

    The gameplay is fairly diverse ranging from rhythm games, to a couple of simple puzzles, and exploration of the streets of Paris. The rhythm games are the heart of this experience. They divided up into three progressively hard stages relying on various sounds and visual ques. There are ten or so different games each with three to five variations of increasing difficulty. Some games will have you use the touch screen while others will require use of the face buttons or even the 3DS's gyroscope. On your journey you can collect sounds you hear to solve a few easy puzzles and make a master instrument. I really enjoyed exploring the streets of Paris, talking to a lot of the same people you find meandering about each chapter and seeing what new things they had to say.

    This is really quite an adorable game and despite a couple frustrating moments it was really fun. The game overall is quite easy with the exception of a couple of the rhythm games. Most of the rhythm you have to play a couple times just to get the hang of it and/or make attempts to achieve a high-score. Some of the rhythm games, especially the ones later in the later part of your journey, you are lucky just to be able to beat them. The characters are all really charming and have fun personalities. The music isn't particularly memorable but it is pleasant and enjoyable to interact with. I really love the blatant references to some of my favorite rhythm games, like those found on the Dreamcast.

    Overall, this has been a wonderful break from a lot of the triple A action games and RPGs I've been playing of late. It is a beautiful game and the story is a lot of fun. Each chapter is roughly 45 minutes if you're thorough, I feel like this is a perfect length for a game session. Also every time you load the game up you get a recap so you don't have to worry about forgetting where you left off. You could easy speed through this title but there is a ton of extra content to find from the sound recordings, to the music discs, as well as phantom notes. Really hardcore players might even try to ace all the rhythm games. In-spite of a couple of bumps in the road I did really enjoy this game while it last lasted.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews