User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2011
    4
    Ridge Racer 3D is the definition of a rushed up-port. Visuals are sup-par at best, being directly ported from the iPhone version. Textures are blocky, models lack detail and the framerate isn't brilliant, tending to hover around 30fps. Using nitrous will cause the framerate to suffer on scenes with three or more cars nearby at once. The biggest change is the appearance of helicopters and planes that fly over the course to accentuate the 3D effect. In a rather strange design choice most menus don't work with the slide pad, navigation is almost exclusively handled by the dpad. Similarly, the touch screen is limited to 2 functions, switching the map between zoomed and course overview, and changing camera position.

    If you have one of the previous versions of this game, on PSP or iPhone, then there really is no reason to buy it. However, if you must have a sim racer with your 3DS than it is still better than the alternative.
    Expand
  2. May 26, 2011
    8
    Overall the game is good, graphics could be better though. I compared it too the PSP version I own and in some ways it looks worse, which I found odd. The selection of cars and tracks are great though.
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    To start with, the graphics are top class. The precision and great quality of graphics means that the game looks like a PS3 game, that's how good it is. The game itself is great, with many great characters and uses most of rhe 3DS's functions to good (make that great) use. The only downfall is that there really isn't much new to offer, apart from some new circuits and the like. Very good, worthy of it's current metacritic score, however, could offer something that's slightly more drastically different to other versions. Expand
  4. Mar 27, 2011
    8
    For someone who's more used to playing Sim racers, this kinda feels like a modern day OutRun. There's not that much depth, or subtly - and that's why I like it! It's great on a handheld system. The 3D works well, and the graphics are generally quite good. Of the launch titles, this is in the top 3.
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    The game as a whole feels fairly rushed. The 3D is nice and looks good, and the car models look nice, some of the effects leave alot to be desired. Your car is the same brightness in sunlight and shadow and relfective surfaces are really blocky. I expect a little bit more from the 3DS. The handling is really weird. Instead of the wheels moving the vehicle like in most racing games, the car simply moves forward in space. There are little physics effects and any time you get some air it feels scripted. Running into a wall or griding on a wall moves the camera back and forth in a jittery motion, while also allowing you to continue driving with little speed loss. You can't really crash and you can't even budge other cars, which is a must for driving games in this day and age. Drifting is wonky as well. When you drift, you simply turn faster and your car and camera change direction and add skid effects. You can drift right and immediately turn left afterwards, even though your car is still facing right. If you're expecting a Need For Speed or Burnout type game, prepare to be disappointed. Prepare to be disappointed if you're looking for a good arcade racing game too.
    What i did like was the Slipstream, which allows you to draft other racers and adds a level of complexity when racing; you don't want be directly in front of someone. The Nitrous is a nice touch. You can choose a type of nitrous and they all add variations on the best way to use it. The only problem is that a double nitrous never really feels like a double. They all feel like the same sort of boost.
    All in all, a decent game, but it lacks polish.
    Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I loved this games, and I think that 1UP did too with it's "B-" score. But the Metacritic score of 67 does not show it. The 3D really adds to this game, and it is the 2nd best launch game on the system!

    As a school teacher, an A is 90-100, a B is 80-89, a C is 70-79, a D is a 60-69, and an F is 59 and below. I think your C and D grades are way too harsh and bring down the overall
    Metacritic score even though there are some things that the critics liked in those movies/songs/games. Please consider revising your letter grades. Sincerely, Mr. B Expand
  7. Jun 19, 2011
    9
    Ridge Racer 3D is a great game for fans of racing games. I personally do not play many racing games, but I picked this up because I got bored with Super Street Fighter 4 after about a month. The graphics are great, not excellent, but they do deserve some praise. The game also offers plenty of customization, from changing nitrous packs on a car to the color and design, and allowing you to make your own "logo". My only gripe with this game is the lack of online multiplayer, which takes away from the replayability. The game does offer many tracks and modes to play though, so as long as you don't mind doing it by yourself, there is plenty to keep yourself occupied with. The biggest selling point for this game is the 3D though. It really aids you in your timing and distance perception, both largely important for a racing game. Overall, this game is an enjoyable experience that really demonstrates how 3D can change a game. Expand
  8. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    I didn't really want to buy this game, until I saw the review from Official Nintendo Magazine, then I changed my mind. It's actually a pretty good racer that doesn't take itself too seriously. Negatives: The graphics can look basic (especially on the cars), it is not amazingly long, it doesn't have an on-line mode and is relatively easy (up until the end). Positives: It's fun to play, can play in short or long bursts of time, streetpass adds to the longevity, sometimes the graphics can look pretty and the multi player is OK. I'd recommend this game to anyone who wants a good racing game for their 3DS. Just really a shame about the lack of online and small amounts of polish on the graphics. Expand
  9. Jun 7, 2012
    7
    Despite the lack of online multiplayer which was slightly disheartening, the game as a single player, 3D racing experience holds up extremely well and shows us what ridge racer is supposed to be. Despite recycled content and a HUD style clearly ripped right out of 'ridge racer 7', the core gameplay is fantastic and still as insane as you'd expect from the franchise. Drifting round corners at 300km/h whilst amazingly staying with all 4 wheels planted on the ground. The visuals help create the feeling of speed too, with the tail lights streaking behind you and the second or so of motion blur as you start up your nitrous. Some textures are disappointing, however the 3D more than makes up for it, that extra dimension adds whole new tactics as to 'when do I utilize the drift' as well as looking amazing. The 3D is one of the things the game does best, which is good as it was a launch title. Pros:
    - Best 3D racing experience on the 3DS
    - Great sense of speed
    - Holds the legacy of Ridge Racer up high

    Cons:
    - Heavily recycled content
    - Some poor textures
    - Occasional FPS drops
    Expand
  10. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    Ridge Racer 3D is a solid racer that makes good use of the 3DS' three-dimensional effect capabilities. It's easy to pick up and play and has a decent variety of vehicles and tracks. Fans of the series will want to take on the "career mode", in this case a "Grand Prix Challenge" which is a series of races earning points and trophies to advance. New vehicles and minor upgrades can be purchased with points. RR3D is *not* for anyone looking for a "realistic" racing game; there are no licensed vehicles, the tracks are works of fantasy, and the physics are borderline Mario Kart. You won't take damage from crashing into other racers or obstacles, and the enemy racer AI is not great. Still, the game looks good, is fun to play, and is priced right. Recommended. Expand
  11. Dec 13, 2011
    7
    This game is Ok, but not amazing in my mind. The graphics are not bad, but the gameplay is a little lacking. The gameplay gets a little repetitive at times, it is still fun don't get me wrong but not the best game the 3DS has to offer. I think Mario Kart 7 is a better racing game for the 3DS and if Mario Kart would have been available at the same time as Ridge Racer 3D, I would have probably not bought this game at all. Expand
  12. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Honestly this was one of my primary reasons for investing in a 3DS console. I knew the game would have the tracks that Ridge Racer fans have known and loved over the years, but in 3D. I didn't know that three extra tracks were created just for this installment, which was a pleasant surprise, and really don't feel out of place at all with the rest of the tracks. If you hadn't known previously, you couldn't tell when they were created. Its worth a purchase for Ridge Racer fans just to see these these new areas you can master.

    Graphically the game is on par with the Ridge Racer games from the PS1 era, but you only really notice that when you turn the 3D effect off. If you leave it on the game looks absolutely amazing in motion. The 3D gives certain aspects of the older tracks new life. It's cool to see the confetti flying at you and getting stuck on your windshield, rather than just blowing by as it did in 1993.

    The controls are pretty standard. Analog and D-pad control is supported but I find that the D-pad works better for this particular game. Which is strange because I preferred the analog stick on Ridge Racer 4 and 5. If you are knew to the series it can take a bit to get used too, but the game does a good job of easing you in and is very helpful to newcomers as it explains the drifting mechanics. Really this is the perfect example of a game being â
    Expand
  13. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    I liked this game because you mostly won all the time but when it first came out it had a glitch until they fixed it in June but I thought this game was really thought out alot
  14. Apr 5, 2011
    2
    Shockingly bad, I couldn't believe the awful graphics, and the 3D while sort of nice didn't add enough to me. The single player does seem long but starts off so easy and boring. Unless you love ridge racer I would stay away from this game. Even so I would say pick it up far cheaper on psp. If you love arcade racers and don't own outrun already again you might enjoy this just be aware the game is like 5 year old game with 3d. Expand
  15. Apr 26, 2011
    5
    I would give Ridge Racer on 3DS a great score but it keeps giving me a headache when i play it. I bought it thinking it would be a great showcase for 3d but it keeps giving me a headache. you can turn the 3d off but this diminishes the effect of playing it in 3d. it has decent graphics. fun music but if your looking for a really great game this isn't the one in my opinion. sometimes also its hard to follow the 3d flow onscreen. if it wasn't for the relatively bad headache this causes i wouldn't rate it so low but its the only game on 3DS so far that has done this to me and i own PWR and SSF4....and they don't do this. Expand
  16. May 10, 2011
    5
    You want to to be a RR fanatic to enjoy this one. I can't believe people are claiming the graphics are spectacular... the polygons are tight but BRUTALLY pixelated. You race the same characters over and over and over and over and there aren't all that aren't many tracks, it starts to become work pretty soon. Drifting is the only thing that seems to unique from a point-and-race perspective, and other than that it's just boring racing. Over and over. No damage, no crashes, no real short-cuts, no happenings of any kind. Predetermined paint jobs in predetermined color schemes. I will now list the entire customization tree for all the cars: 3 stages of speed. That's it. Oh unless you count cycles the way your nitrous charges... while you drift. I know we don't get licensed cars in RR, but it would at least give us something to look forward to. The use of 3D is the biggest perk, but it's only because it's the racing genre, it works well with it, all the racing games will look as if you are advancing down the road. This is not as great a launch game as it's being heralded as, unless I am missing something RR fanatics have got.... It may be the 4th or 5th best launch title because of the lack of launch titles, but now that it's May, just buy Dream Trigger or Shadow Wars or SSFIV3D and wait for the NFS game to quell your racing needs.

    It is Lunacy that someone claimed these graphics are comparable to a PS3 game in an earlier review by the way, absolute craziness!
    Expand
  17. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    fun racing game. great 3d effects and lots of cars to unlock. perfect racing for nintendo 3ds. unlock all kinds of stuff when beat such as pac-man music and etc... perfect game for the racing fan
  18. Aug 2, 2011
    6
    To call Ridge Racer 3D a racing game is a bit misleading, it would be far better labeled as a 'car chase' game. At the start of each race the player's car starts on the start line, with the opponants spread across the first quarter of the track. The task at hand over the next three laps is to catch up with and overtake the other seven racers. while quite fun, its not what i expected, and not the only problem the game suffers with. The game suffers from a lot of rubber banding, meaning when the game allows the AI to bend or break the rules (top speed, number of nitro boosts, cornering lines etc) in order to increase the 'challenge'. I first encountered this with the f-zero series, but at least in f-zero you start level pegging on a grid. Finally, the steering and drifting system is ludicrus. As any good driver knows, the best way to regain control from a skid is to ease off the gas, but here letting up the power for even a moment is how you start to drift. worse than that, dispite a skid turning you beyond 90º from your direction of travel, regaining control is not only easy, but practically inevitable. The driving physics of this game really need a lot of work, which is a terrible shame for a driving game.

    graphics on the other hand, are very pretty, the music is nice, and the sound effects fitting. However the commentator lady spouts useless drivel constantly, and there is no option to turn her off (not while keeping the rest of the sound anyway).

    The 3D is definatly the best feature, in that it makes it easy to judge distance and turns.

    Overall its not a bad game, but it does feel like an upgraded tech demo.
    Expand
  19. Dec 6, 2011
    6
    the game is good, but lacks what ridge racer on other consoles has. the graphics are also very muddy in an attempt to allow for the 3d effect or to get ready for launch day. it lacks any real tuning, the insane custimisation options of recent ridge racers, amount of content, and feels like it could do with some online racing. the single player mode feels quite odd, as the races don't really feel like racing in a sense, more gunning after each car in front, and trying to get a good time rather than overtaking. good gameplay compensates for some of this, but like your parents, i'm not angry, i'm a bit dissapointed. the gameplay is good, but lack of features make this a bit of a flat experience, and no matter how awesome the tracks and gameplay is, it should simply have more, and the 3ds is capable of more. overrall, it is good, but still feels rushed beyond belief. Expand
  20. Jan 18, 2013
    6
    Ridge Racer 3D is a good racing game for the 3DS however, it does feel rushed e.g. the graphics could have been better and other small things could have been changed to make the whole game feel and look better.
  21. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    This game is only good, but nothing great or awful. The graphics and 3D are nice, and the sense of speed is awesome. Single player is pretty deep with many modes and unlockable cars. Gameplay is at Ridge Racer's arcade-style best with the crazy drifting it's known for (those that criticize the drifting simply don't know RR's handling). The music is great with some cool tunes, the original Ridge Racer theme, and some Pac-Man remixes. The track selection is varied with their many different layouts. Some downsides did weigh this game down a bit, though. There is no online, which makes the multiplayer weak. The AI does rubber -band in boss battles where I couldn't distance myself, and in races where they speed up immediately and bump you mercilessly. The announcer woman, while I do praise her enthusiasm, gets fairly annoying at times. The frame rate also suffered at times in the racing. A good racer for the 3DS that does feel slightly rushed, but nowhere near the Vita version in those regards. 7.3/10 Expand
  22. Sep 8, 2013
    9
    I'll kick off by stating my love for the classic Ridge Racer drift mechanic and arcade style old school gameplay. Love it! Colourful and bright with great cheerful sounds to boot, you can tell this games roots are from a time when arcade machines were played regularly and people stuffed pocket fulls of ten pence pieces in them to have 'just one more go'.
    Though the graphics do not
    showcase the full potential of the 3DS, they do run quickly and smoothly and they look great in stereoscopic 3D.
    There is a lot of depth here too because not only is there an extensive single player mode but for those of us who like our time trials there are four versions of each track to master in each class. That's some serious gameplay right there. Not only that but the game has that classic, 'one more go' vibe to it. Short enough to pick up and play, lasting enough to really get stuck in to. A great handheld title.
    I got mine at launch with my 3DS and it's still a firm favourite of mine to play.
    It should be quite cheap to pick up now.. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  23. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This game is really good. Although there is no online multiplayer, the single player campaign is over 15 hours of gameplay. There are a good amount of cars and tracks to race with/on, and the gameplay is astounding, The game has a brilliant emphasis on drifting, and once you get the hang of it and you get to the class 3/2/1 cars, you'll have a load of fun drifting around courses like you're on a roller coaster. I highly recommend this game to people in general, and for 3ds racing fans this is a must have!!

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Story: N/A
    Music: 7/10
    Presentation: 8/10
    Length: 7.5/10
    Overall: 8.5/10
    Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Oct 20, 2011
    75
    Ridge Racer 3D is a fast and relaxed arcade racer, but the cars and tracks are much prettier on big consoles. [May 2011]
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    80
    Arcade-racing fans should take a look at Ridge Racer 3D. The game is funny, challenging and a real arcade-racing game with the good old Ridge Racer features & sounds.
  3. May 25, 2011
    70
    There's fun to be had with Ridge Racer 3D, and it's a decent showcase of what the 3DS can do. There's room for improvement but there's nothing fundamentally wrong with it. We'd definitely recommend it to fans of the series and newcomers alike.