Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Ridge Racer series returns to set the racing world on fire with brand new features, breathtaking stereoscopic 3D visuals, a wider variety of machines, new environments, expanded customization and updated drift mechanics. Ridge Racer 3D will be the hottest racing game on the Nintendo 3DS. Drift through hairpin turns at blistering speeds to edge out the rest of the pack with powerful drift-tuned cars. Using the stereoscopic 3D power of the Nintendo 3DS, players will be able to experience a level of intimacy with the on-screen races like never before. Players can now accurately judge the distance between them and the competition with 3D depth of field for some of the most intense arcade racing available. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    90
    I have to hand it to Namco-Bandai: With the exception of omitting online multiplayer, it really put together a solid entry in the series for the 3DS launch, one that's easily high on the list of best titles available for the new system.
  2. Apr 3, 2011
    80
    When it comes down to it, Ridge Racer 3D is a familiar comfort that new 3DS owners can turn to if they want a safe launch game that they're likely to enjoy.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    80
    Arcade-racing fans should take a look at Ridge Racer 3D. The game is funny, challenging and a real arcade-racing game with the good old Ridge Racer features & sounds.
  4. Mar 31, 2011
    75
    It's lacking in a few areas but it all comes down to gameplay, where Ridge Racer shines. [May 2011, p.69]
  5. May 25, 2011
    70
    There's fun to be had with Ridge Racer 3D, and it's a decent showcase of what the 3DS can do. There's room for improvement but there's nothing fundamentally wrong with it. We'd definitely recommend it to fans of the series and newcomers alike.
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    70
    A good arcade driving game, although it reuses too much content from prior entries in the Ridge Racer series, lacks online multiplayer and has dissapointing graphics.
  7. Mar 30, 2011
    50
    It's hardly groundbreaking or exceptional in any way, for me it felt like the very definition of average.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    I loved this games, and I think that 1UP did too with it's "B-" score. But the Metacritic score of 67 does not show it. The 3D really adds to this game, and it is the 2nd best launch game on the system!

    As a school teacher, an A is 90-100, a B is 80-89, a C is 70-79, a D is a 60-69, and an F is 59 and below. I think your C and D grades are way too harsh and bring down the overall Metacritic score even though there are some things that the critics liked in those movies/songs/games. Please consider revising your letter grades. Sincerely, Mr. B
    Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2011
    10
    Honestly this was one of my primary reasons for investing in a 3DS console. I knew the game would have the tracks that Ridge Racer fans have known and loved over the years, but in 3D. I didn't know that three extra tracks were created just for this installment, which was a pleasant surprise, and really don't feel out of place at all with the rest of the tracks. If you hadn't known previously, you couldn't tell when they were created. Its worth a purchase for Ridge Racer fans just to see these these new areas you can master.

    Graphically the game is on par with the Ridge Racer games from the PS1 era, but you only really notice that when you turn the 3D effect off. If you leave it on the game looks absolutely amazing in motion. The 3D gives certain aspects of the older tracks new life. It's cool to see the confetti flying at you and getting stuck on your windshield, rather than just blowing by as it did in 1993.

    The controls are pretty standard. Analog and D-pad control is supported but I find that the D-pad works better for this particular game. Which is strange because I preferred the analog stick on Ridge Racer 4 and 5. If you are knew to the series it can take a bit to get used too, but the game does a good job of easing you in and is very helpful to newcomers as it explains the drifting mechanics. Really this is the perfect example of a game being â
    Expand
  3. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    To start with, the graphics are top class. The precision and great quality of graphics means that the game looks like a PS3 game, that's how good it is. The game itself is great, with many great characters and uses most of rhe 3DS's functions to good (make that great) use. The only downfall is that there really isn't much new to offer, apart from some new circuits and the like. Very good, worthy of it's current metacritic score, however, could offer something that's slightly more drastically different to other versions. Expand
  4. Nov 23, 2011
    8
    I didn't really want to buy this game, until I saw the review from Official Nintendo Magazine, then I changed my mind. It's actually a pretty good racer that doesn't take itself too seriously. Negatives: The graphics can look basic (especially on the cars), it is not amazingly long, it doesn't have an on-line mode and is relatively easy (up until the end). Positives: It's fun to play, can play in short or long bursts of time, streetpass adds to the longevity, sometimes the graphics can look pretty and the multi player is OK. I'd recommend this game to anyone who wants a good racing game for their 3DS. Just really a shame about the lack of online and small amounts of polish on the graphics. Expand
  5. Jan 7, 2013
    7
    This game is only good, but nothing great or awful. The graphics and 3D are nice, and the sense of speed is awesome. Single player is pretty deep with many modes and unlockable cars. Gameplay is at Ridge Racer's arcade-style best with the crazy drifting it's known for (those that criticize the drifting simply don't know RR's handling). The music is great with some cool tunes, the original Ridge Racer theme, and some Pac-Man remixes. The track selection is varied with their many different layouts. Some downsides did weigh this game down a bit, though. There is no online, which makes the multiplayer weak. The AI does rubber -band in boss battles where I couldn't distance myself, and in races where they speed up immediately and bump you mercilessly. The announcer woman, while I do praise her enthusiasm, gets fairly annoying at times. The frame rate also suffered at times in the racing. A good racer for the 3DS that does feel slightly rushed, but nowhere near the Vita version in those regards. 7.3/10 Expand
  6. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    The game as a whole feels fairly rushed. The 3D is nice and looks good, and the car models look nice, some of the effects leave alot to be desired. Your car is the same brightness in sunlight and shadow and relfective surfaces are really blocky. I expect a little bit more from the 3DS. The handling is really weird. Instead of the wheels moving the vehicle like in most racing games, the car simply moves forward in space. There are little physics effects and any time you get some air it feels scripted. Running into a wall or griding on a wall moves the camera back and forth in a jittery motion, while also allowing you to continue driving with little speed loss. You can't really crash and you can't even budge other cars, which is a must for driving games in this day and age. Drifting is wonky as well. When you drift, you simply turn faster and your car and camera change direction and add skid effects. You can drift right and immediately turn left afterwards, even though your car is still facing right. If you're expecting a Need For Speed or Burnout type game, prepare to be disappointed. Prepare to be disappointed if you're looking for a good arcade racing game too.
    What i did like was the Slipstream, which allows you to draft other racers and adds a level of complexity when racing; you don't want be directly in front of someone. The Nitrous is a nice touch. You can choose a type of nitrous and they all add variations on the best way to use it. The only problem is that a double nitrous never really feels like a double. They all feel like the same sort of boost.
    All in all, a decent game, but it lacks polish.
    Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2011
    2
    Shockingly bad, I couldn't believe the awful graphics, and the 3D while sort of nice didn't add enough to me. The single player does seem long but starts off so easy and boring. Unless you love ridge racer I would stay away from this game. Even so I would say pick it up far cheaper on psp. If you love arcade racers and don't own outrun already again you might enjoy this just be aware the game is like 5 year old game with 3d. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews