• Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Oct 16, 2012
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 11 out of 14
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    55
    Although RollerCoaster Tycoon 3D can be fun, its shortcomings prevent it from being the immersive experience the series is famous for. [May 2012, p.86]
  2. Nostalgia-seekers need not apply: this is easily outdone by the 13-year-old game from which it is derived. A shame. [Christmas 2012, p.111]
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    50
    Roller Coaster Tycoon 3D is disappointing in every key respect, and not recommended - unless you have a morbid curiosity and are interested to see how they managed to mess it up.
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    45
    Fans of the Rollercoaster Tycoon series may find some level of nostalgia playing Tycoon 3D, but if they were waiting for a genre defining entry, this certainly isn't what they're looking for.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    45
    RollerCoaster Tycoon (3DS) is everything but not a stunning and thrilling game! The optics, the sound, the handling, the boring and unentertaining gameplay and bad use of the 3DS possibilities are the major weak points. On the other side RollerCoaster Tycoon is the first but probably the one and only tycoon game on the 3DS.
  6. 40
    With such a solid heritage to draw upon, its almost unbelievable how little of the original games that remain here. A hollow experience that quickly falls apart.
  7. 40
    One especially glaring issue is the game's lack of a way to save your progress mid-challenge in the campaign mode-you must complete the entire challenge in one go. Even more confusing is that the save function is present in the sandbox mode. All of this is especially infuriating when you know the game was delayed for half a year-time that apparently wasn't used to fix its myriad of problems.
  8. Nov 7, 2012
    40
    Manage a theme park and build grand roller coasters. A poorly designed user interface, old-fashioned graphics and the lack of certain mechanics makes sure that this game never lives up to its PC predecessors.
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    40
    The original game is still more complete, and more fun, than the 3DS version, and it is 15 years old.
  10. Oct 30, 2012
    30
    Haven't we all once loved RollerCoaster Tycoon? We too were all cheery and happy when we heard about a new 3DS version of the game. RollerCoaster Tycoon 3D proved to be a bummer though, not good at all. Say goodbye to your dreams.
  11. Oct 30, 2012
    30
    Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D does little to capture the magic and joy of Chris Sawyer's original theme park simulator. Everything's been dumbed down and compacted to fit onto a 3DS game card, and the game ends up feeling severely stunted because of this.
  12. Dec 18, 2012
    29
    Grab the sick bags for this one. [Jan 2013, p.86]
  13. Oct 16, 2012
    25
    Even if the series had never existed, and this was hypothetically the first game in a new franchise, it would still be a boring mess. This coaster deserves to rust.
  14. Nov 7, 2012
    20
    Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D shouldn't be sold as a new part in the classic series. It's so full of bugs, bad graphics and boring design that it shouldn't have been released at all. Both fans of the original and newcomers will do best in staying as far away as possible.
User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 4 out of 4
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    2
    I remember playing this game all the time, spending countless hours building and making the perfect theme park. But this is not what i loved to play, yet while playing i found out that it could have been so much better. it has many of the pieces that could have made this game great, but in the end like many hand held ports this is a lazily produced game for a quick cash grab. Dont pick it up show Atari that we dont want this, we want a full fledged game! Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2014
    1
    I never played a game in the RollerCoaster Tycoon series before in my life and I did want to get a game from the series but I was afraid that the main RollerCoaster Tycoon games on the computer wouldn't work on my computer due to them being supported by earlier versions of Windows, so I decided to try this one out due to me getting a 3ds recently and it was terrible. I absolutely hated it! It looked like it made within a day with very little effort. Not too mention there is so many limitations, it's like i'm not allowed to have fun just because I couldn't put a certain park attraction in a certain place. Luckily I won't judge the series by this awful game, I do believe the first 3 RCT games were quality games, but this was complete garbage. This is probably the worst game I ever played, it was the worst $30 I ever payed and I didn't even keep the game for a week. Do not buy this game even if it's like $5. Full Review »
  3. Dec 1, 2013
    1
    This is the worst game made for the 3DS. Its so hard to play, the camera angles are very hard to control, the graphics are bad, building anything is way to frustrating and hard to control, and the storyline is weak. The past 3 games are 10 years old and up, and those are still more fun. Very disappointed with this game. Full Review »