• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The next installment of the hit RollerCoaster Tycoon franchise is hereand this time, its in 3D!

    Meet the Rocket Coaster Company, an energetic and small group of coaster fanatics. Run by your father, a world-renowned roller coaster genius, the RCC is poised to change the world with its
    incredible designs and style. Unfortunately your father is a bit of a scatterbrain and is far too busy dreaming up new rides and roller coasters to get the company off the ground.

    This is where you, the player comes in as your father has decided that spending your time helping him out is more important than your summer vacation! Aided by a friend of the family and an old retired theme park industry veteran, the player is tasked to take the reins to get a foothold in the theme park world. Take on jobs, help design coasters, and even manage your own theme parks as you push the RCC to the top!
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 11 out of 14
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    55
    Although RollerCoaster Tycoon 3D can be fun, its shortcomings prevent it from being the immersive experience the series is famous for. [May 2012, p.86]
  2. Nostalgia-seekers need not apply: this is easily outdone by the 13-year-old game from which it is derived. A shame. [Christmas 2012, p.111]
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    50
    Roller Coaster Tycoon 3D is disappointing in every key respect, and not recommended - unless you have a morbid curiosity and are interested to see how they managed to mess it up.
  4. Oct 31, 2012
    40
    The original game is still more complete, and more fun, than the 3DS version, and it is 15 years old.
  5. Nov 7, 2012
    40
    Manage a theme park and build grand roller coasters. A poorly designed user interface, old-fashioned graphics and the lack of certain mechanics makes sure that this game never lives up to its PC predecessors.
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    30
    Haven't we all once loved RollerCoaster Tycoon? We too were all cheery and happy when we heard about a new 3DS version of the game. RollerCoaster Tycoon 3D proved to be a bummer though, not good at all. Say goodbye to your dreams.
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    20
    Rollercoaster Tycoon 3D shouldn't be sold as a new part in the classic series. It's so full of bugs, bad graphics and boring design that it shouldn't have been released at all. Both fans of the original and newcomers will do best in staying as far away as possible.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 4 out of 4
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    2
    I remember playing this game all the time, spending countless hours building and making the perfect theme park. But this is not what i loved to play, yet while playing i found out that it could have been so much better. it has many of the pieces that could have made this game great, but in the end like many hand held ports this is a lazily produced game for a quick cash grab. Dont pick it up show Atari that we dont want this, we want a full fledged game! Collapse
  2. Nov 30, 2013
    2
    and one may say we waited for a new rollercoaster tycoon game, and this is what we got.
    YES there was a teaser for RCT4, but that was
    "German" according to the video and YouTube and their Facebook page. While Germans MAY be getting RCT4 soon, THIS IS WHAT WE GOT.
    (I hope that trailer wasn't fake)
    Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2013
    1
    This is the worst game made for the 3DS. Its so hard to play, the camera angles are very hard to control, the graphics are bad, building anything is way to frustrating and hard to control, and the storyline is weak. The past 3 games are 10 years old and up, and those are still more fun. Very disappointed with this game. Expand
  4. Mar 28, 2014
    1
    I never played a game in the RollerCoaster Tycoon series before in my life and I did want to get a game from the series but I was afraid that the main RollerCoaster Tycoon games on the computer wouldn't work on my computer due to them being supported by earlier versions of Windows, so I decided to try this one out due to me getting a 3ds recently and it was terrible. I absolutely hated it! It looked like it made within a day with very little effort. Not too mention there is so many limitations, it's like i'm not allowed to have fun just because I couldn't put a certain park attraction in a certain place. Luckily I won't judge the series by this awful game, I do believe the first 3 RCT games were quality games, but this was complete garbage. This is probably the worst game I ever played, it was the worst $30 I ever payed and I didn't even keep the game for a week. Do not buy this game even if it's like $5. Expand