Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Oct 6, 2013
    91
    Rune Factory 4 is a game that you could easily dive into for twenty minutes or two hours at a time, and it seemingly never ends. There’s always one more thing you can do to improve your station in the town, or the town’s station in the world.
  2. Oct 20, 2013
    90
    Whether you come for the adventure, the romance, or simply the turnips, Rune Factory 4's inviting world will draw you in and give you plenty of reasons to stick around for many, many seasons to come.
  3. 90
    Rune Factory 4 provides an infinite amount of gameplay that doesn’t end once the main story does.
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    85
    Rune Factory 4 is a game I did not expect to like as much as I did, proving that it's nice to be wrong about things from time to time. Its addictive blend of farming, fighting, and friend-ing makes for a fun, lighthearted experience that's easy to get lost in for hours at a time.
  5. Jan 10, 2014
    80
    I spent 70 plus hours in Selphia — and I could've easily spent 70 more.
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    Rune Factory 4 is probably the most polished and well-crafted Rune Factory to date.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    80
    Just be prepared to pack your patience and reign in your expectations of what wearing a crown means. You'll still be toiling in the fields like everybody else, but at least you can do so with a smile on your face.
  8. Oct 17, 2013
    80
    Rune Factory 4 isn't the deepest or most structured game out there, but it more than makes up for it with its charm and wide-open freedom. If you are willing to put in the time to learn its varied systems, I think you'll find that this game is an absolute delight.
  9. Oct 12, 2013
    80
    Rune Factory 4 certainly isn’t a game for everyone. The intended audience is rather niche, but if you’ve enjoyed past games in the franchise or are looking for a solid RPG to hold your attention for several days you can rest assured your time with Rune Factory 4 will be well spent.
  10. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    If your Animal Crossing: A New Leaf town fell into disrepair weeks after everyone's summer obsession faded away, consider giving Rune Factory 4 a try. While Neverland can't offer the pure craftsmanship of a Nintendo product, their little world contains the same abundance of options and customization, but in a package that offers goals beyond the simple pleasures of hoarding.
  11. Oct 1, 2013
    80
    It may not be the best 3DS roleplaying experience, but it’s a darn fine one all the same.
  12. 79
    It’s got the charm and outward appeal, as well as simple but fulfilling gameplay to draw in new comers, but it’s also got the depth and versatility that keeps veterans coming back time and time again. What it lacks in the form of a gripping story, it makes up for with rewarding, fun, and simple gameplay that can be enjoyed by everyone.
  13. Oct 11, 2013
    78
    A genre blend that's enjoyable enough in spite of its dated look.
  14. Nov 22, 2013
    75
    Unsurprisingly, Rune Factory IV doesn’t need its much-vaunted combat side to get by. In fact, it’s more than interesting enough without it. What with its impressive writing, ridiculous variety of activities, and leisurely pace, Rune Factory IV‘s a nice break from the more hardcore crowd.
  15. Oct 14, 2013
    75
    I definitely think Rune Factory 4 is worth a look, whether you’re a fan of the series or not, as it offers up a pretty unique experience on the 3DS.
  16. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    Never short on content, Rune Factory 4 is full of things to do that'll keep players engrossed for a long while.
  17. Oct 28, 2013
    70
    While all of its pieces could definitely benefit from more production and polish, Rune Factory 4 is a fun, addictive game that enjoyably combines taming the earth with taming the creatures that walk upon it.
  18. Oct 11, 2013
    70
    Sure, it plays things safe, but there's a surprising amount of fun to be had crafting items, taming monsters, and building relationships in between sometimes-bland dungeon runs.
  19. Oct 9, 2013
    70
    The franchise's matchmaking elements return and let players get down to business with all kinds of folk. Before anyone asks if the player can take someone to the barn house, Rune Factory 4 is rated E10+ which means players of all ages and backgrounds can enjoy the game so long as they like animé-styled art and big talking dragons.
  20. Oct 1, 2013
    70
    Still, the formula is still entertaining and I found myself enjoying my daily chats with locals and finding ways to increase my profits. I even appreciated the small enhancements, which are steps in the right directions. Unfortunately, the areas that need the most improvement – like dungeons and the core battle system – are relatively untouched.
  21. Oct 23, 2013
    60
    It's a solid 3DS title with tons of content to explore, but while the refinements are minimal, it doesn't do enough to launch itself into greatness.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    This may be the best Rune Factory or Harvest Moon yet. I can nary find anything wrong with it, and I just can't stop playing. I tried to start playing Pokemon X, but couldn't give up Rune Factory to do it. There's so much to do, so much variety, great characters, a charming story. The controls are really well done, there's no stupid touch screen controls like previous Harvest Moon games. It's very difficult to get bored, as you're constantly looking for more time to do things; to spend a day giving gifts to all the villagers or to expand your farm or to do all the requests or to go dungeon crawling or to go out into the map and forage... If only this game were more popular in the mainstream and not consistently overshadowed and labelled "niche". There's are lots of dungeon crawlers, lots of action RPGs, and some sim games out there all of which could benefit from the influence of Rune Factory. Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    9
    A fantastic game and much better than any other Harvest Moon style game we have yet to get on 3DS.. Thankfully someone still knows how to do this right!.. I was pleasantly surprised at how awesome the game is as the early screens looked sub par.

    The graphics may be modest but its in the charm and solid gameplay mechanics where this game shines brightly. Unfortunately with the latest installments of Pokemon overshadowing the release of this game I am worried it wont get the attention it deserves. I can personally say that I have both and have found plenty of time to enjoy the two of them simultaneously.

    My only gripe with the game is the forceful heterosexual gameplay. Where there could have easily existed relationships between the characters of the same gender the developers have opted not to allow it. This however is a minor concern and not one that effects the games score in my mind.

    I know you are probably all still drooling over Pokemon as am I but this little gem from Xseed deserves some of your attention as well this month
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    My fears before buying Rune Factory 4 were that it would be too easy and that the farming/sim aspects from Harvest Moon would be overshadowed by the dungeon crawling. But both elements are very well done! On hard mode, the challenge is akin to Dark Souls or Monster Hunter and the farming is as good as any of the Harvest Moon games, maybe even better.

    The characters, in contrast to the down to earth types from the HM games, are very anime/RPG inspired which might turn some people off. Personally, I found everyone to be charming and it wasn't too long before I felt like a part of the community.

    The numerous cliches are quite satirical and entertaining if you are a fan of JRPGs. The story actually gets pretty good later on, which was a nice surprise.

    The graphics could be better. The 2d portraits are nice but the 3d is lackluster. After playing this fro a bit, I bought Rune Factory Frontier and the graphics in that game are so nice compared to RF4. I hope the next portable installment gets the Frontier treatment. It's not a big deal though and it still looks great compared to the previous Rune factory games on the DS.

    This is a great game that I recommend to anyone who has ever thought: "Harvest Moon is really fun, but I want to fight monsters too!"
    Full Review »